The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home
Shop Now At The Carphone Warehouse

Sony Xperia M Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews

Sony Xperia M

Average Customer Rating:
4.523 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
42 of 44(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

The Sony Xperia™ M

The Sony Xperia™ M is a phone with loads of style, loads of features, and a handy 5MP camera too.

Quality craftsmanship.

From the aluminium power button to the premium glass screen, the Sony Xperia™ M combines loads of great design details with an innovative and sleek skeleton frame. Designed to look great from all angles, it’s a real looker. The body also has a customisable illuminating light at the bottom which will notify you of incoming calls, Facebook updates and more - perfect for subtle notifications.

Stunning 4” display.

Those amazing moments you’ve captured. Your favourite sitcoms. Or that music video you love watching again and again. The Xperia™ M comes with a bright 4”, high quality display that’s perfectly sized for immersive entertainment – all without being bulky. You can reach each corner of the screen with your thumb when using one handed, but it’s still large enough to enjoy your favourite games.

One touch functions from Sony.

Sharing with friends and connecting to accessories has never been easier with this NFC phone. Based on NFC (near field communication) technology, the one-touch functions enable your Xperia™ M to connect to other devices in a single tap. No wires, cables, or fiddling with settings. This means you can send photos or music to other NFC phones by bumping them lightly together, connect to wireless speakers and headphones with a bump, stream movies from your phone to your BRAVIA TV, and even use the Sony Personal Content Station™ (sold separately) to wirelessly and instantly back up your data.

Every photo, in stunning HD.

Built with the same modules as leading Sony cameras, the Sony Xperia™ M comes with a 5MP camera that lets you record in HD. It also includes excellent Auto Focus, a dedicated camera key that can shoot from a locked screen, plus a fast capture function that goes from sleep to snap in under one second – meaning you’ll never miss a photo again. Your Xperia™ M’s camera can also take HDR photos to capture natural colours in any light. HDR (High Dynamic Range) is an imaging technology used to capture clear photos against strong backlight. With HDR, photos will look perfect no matter what the lighting conditions.

Huge battery life with Battery STAMINA Mode.

Battery STAMINA Mode saves you wasted battery drain. It recognises when you’re not using your display and automatically turns off the functions you don’t need, while keeping the notifications you want. As soon as you press the power button to wake up your screen, everything is up and running again. You still receive incoming calls, texts, and alarms. And since everyone has different needs, you can easily customise which apps you want to receive push notifications from even in standby mode. Facebook notifications on or off? It’s up to you.

Sony Entertainment Network – anytime, anywhere.

Owning an Xperia device has never been so much fun. You can open up a world of entertainment and grab your access all areas pass to the hottest titles, latest tunes and the world of PlayStation® gaming by creating a Sony Entertainment Account. You’ll get thousands of movies in Video Unlimited and millions of songs in Music Unlimited. And don’t forget, because the Sony Xperia™ M runs Android Jelly Bean 4.1, you’ll get access to 850,000 apps in the Google Play Store. If you’re looking for a phone that looks stunning, has a powerful camera and processor, NFC connectivity for ease of use and a great battery life, the Sony Xperia™ M could be your perfect companion.

Customer Reviews for Sony Xperia M
1 2 3 Next
Review 1 for Sony Xperia M
before i buy it
,08 July 2014
does it come with a charger and headphones I really like the phone and want to buy it but would like to know what it comes with before I do get it otherwise I will have to buy separate accesories?
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
7 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony Xperia M
Great with style
from Harrogate
,18 May 2014
What a great product.Never had one that does so much,but it is so easy to use and not heavy.A very stylish phone.Good camera images,with good colour and clarity.I couldn't have picked a better product.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
52 of 90 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony Xperia M
really good!!
from Gloucester
,23 April 2014
I bought this for my daughter and she loves it, shes on it 24/7 And she hasn't said anything bad about it, but the battery goes down when she has the Wi-Fi on. Its a lovely size and she's dropped it a few times and it hasnt smashed.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
63 of 125 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony Xperia M
Great battery life, but poor memory
from Hornchurch, Essex
,22 April 2014
I've been using Apple iPhones for quite a while now so had got used to their really easy user interface and great range of apps. However, the battery life was a real problem for me as I needed to charge the phone after only four hours use!
I did some research online and found that the Sony Xperia M had an impressive standby time, which was exactly what I was looking for in a handset, as well as the sort of functionality I was used to on my iPhone.
The phone arrived and I was soon setting it up. The PC companion made it really easy to transfer over my contacts and the ability to customise the layout of menus meant I could have things pretty much the same as I'd had on my iPhone. The screen display was really clear and the phone was so much lighter and slinkier than the iPhone. In addition, not being entirely made of glass meant the phone felt more sturdy; soon proven when I dropped it! Most importantly, having been using it for a while, I can confirm the battery life is as good as I'd hoped for and even with reasonably heavy usage, I get a whole day out of the battery.
But it's not all brilliant. Sadly the camera quality is very poor, especially the front facing camera, so selfies are out. Also, if you've not got good natural sunlight, most images come out looking rubbish.
Apps wise, there are plenty of apps available via Android, but this is where the big problem lies. The handset comes with only 4GB of inbuilt internal memory. You can expand the memory by getting an external SD card (up to 32GB), but there's not a lot of point if you're hoping to use this for apps. That's because the phone is set up so that apps can only be saved on the internal memory. All you can transfer to the external memory are photos, music and videos.
Another massive drawback is that the phone comes pre-loaded with some apps from Google that you can't get rid of, even if you have no intention of using them, so a lot of the internal memory is being wasted already.
Sound wise, it's pretty clear for speaking to people and works fine with bluetooth devices. The touch screen is pretty sensitive though and I've ended calls on a number of occasions with my cheek, so make sure you lock the screen as soon as you connect your call!
Basically, this is a great phone for people who just want decent battery life and to check their emails or social networks on the move, but its no good if you want to download more than five apps or use the camera a lot for taking pictures. If you're a techy type, it is possible to "root" the phone and manually remove stuff, but bear in mind, this will invalidate your warranty! There are plenty of articles and guides to this online, but its not something I'm brave enough to try myself!
Hopefully the Sony Xperia M2, which is due out soon, will deal with these shortcomings as I believe it will have double the internal memory, so if you can, wait for that. The battery life still makes this a great handset if you're out and about all day without access to a charger.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
72 of 132 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony Xperia M
sony experia m
from Sussex
,26 March 2014
This is an excellent introduction into the world of smart phones easy to use and work out only criticism is i would have liked some sort of instructions ! but fab phone getting better every day
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
59 of 109 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony Xperia M
,24 March 2014
I absolutely love this phone. It's easy to get used to, it's very fast and it's great for using the internet too. The only downside of this phone is the quality of the front camera, but the back camera is brilliant. Would recommend this phone to anyone looking for a reliable and cheap smartphone.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
68 of 126 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony Xperia M
from west midlands
,19 March 2014
as someone who is not as young as id like to think i am i found this phone very easy to use and the delivery time was excellent.the free gift that came with it a 40 inch tv was also very good and i would recommend shopping at carphone warehouse any time.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
48 of 92 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony Xperia M
best purchase
from South East
,18 March 2014
Lovely phone fits in my hands perfect and fits snug in my bag . I'm not keen on big phones, great battery and reliable. Great phone for beginners too.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
29 of 53 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony Xperia M
Solid
from Bath
,07 March 2014
Features are standard android, easy to use and very compatible with everything. Office works well on this phone, but the keyboard is something that takes getting used to (unless you always use on-screen keyboards)
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
34 of 70 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony Xperia M
Voicemail
from Glenrothes
,02 March 2014
I cannot turn off the voicemail from the handset, this means I have to phone Orange and have the service disabled, All previous handsets I have had allow me to change setting to disable voicemail
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
32 of 69 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony Xperia M
from Sauchie
,28 February 2014
Love the large screen, and so easy to use. Battery life is excellent. Would recommend this phone for either business or personal use. It's also good to be able to charge your phone from either your computer or mains.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
46 of 76 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony Xperia M
Sony m and s
from Oxford
,28 February 2014
Old one even if doesn't have few extras -picture quality is better/s/ T9 work better and colors. Experia m is very sensitive -when talk on the phone -any touch can turn off or on futures. Disappointed !
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
26 of 51 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony Xperia M
xperia m
from dorset
,19 February 2014
my first smart phone so a steep learning curve , not had it long but i enjoy getting to know it. very nice to handle , good size fits in pocket a treat.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
40 of 78 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony Xperia M
What youd expectia
from Bedford
,19 February 2014
Nothing really to say. Quality is exacfly what youj'd expect from Sony. Everything worked first time. Fairly intuitive to use, no real frustrations. Superb quality screen. It would have been nice if there was a manual in the phone box or downloadable from the phone itself or somewhere but the only one I can find in a 2-minute search is obviously a bit out of date.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
22 of 45 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony Xperia M
Fab Phone
from Bury Saint Edmunds
,29 January 2014
I wanted to keep a Sony phone as the camera's are so good and this doesn't disappoint. It's then really easy to share any pics that you do take
It has loads of flexibility to customise the phone to how you want it to look and sound and is light and easy to use.
The best thing is that I got it free on an upgrade and can't believe it!
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
45 of 85 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony Xperia M
Easy to use - excellent
from Manchester
,29 January 2014
This phone is ideal for what I need and very easy to use. It is lightweight and not too big. The camera is better than my last phone and easy to use the internet etc. I would recommend to anyone
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
39 of 75 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony Xperia M
Excellent Phone
from Stalybridge Cheshire
,28 January 2014
The Experia X1 is in my opinion one of the best mobile phones I have purchased from carphone warehouse always get the best quality phone on the market as they are so reliable. Thanks to carphone warehouse I am able to do this
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
32 of 64 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony Xperia M
from Birmingham
,23 January 2014
I am not used to smart phones yet. I am finding the predictive text unexpectedly challenging. I am hoping I will get used to it. I would also have liked a stylus that comes as part of the phone (pudgy fingers).
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
23 of 50 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony Xperia M
NEW PHONE
from ROTHERHAM
,23 January 2014
THIS IS MY FIRST TOUCH SCREEN PHONE, MY DAUGHTER HAS SHOWN ME HOW YO USE IT. I THINK IT IS GREAT EVEN THOUGH I HAVE LOTS MORE TO LEARN. WISH I WOULD HAVE HAD ONE SOONER.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
31 of 55 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony Xperia M
from doncaster
,22 January 2014
only had this a while but think it really easy to use got all the fearures i think anyone needs my husband also has a sony as has my son we couldnt find anything to match them
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
18 of 37 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 Next