The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Sony Xperia J Review

Print page
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Sony Xperia J

Average Customer Rating:
3.684 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
25 of 38(66%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

The Sony Xperia™ J is a powerful and feature-packed smartphone that looks awesome too. With great apps for music, videos and photos, it's great for multimedia.

A screen you can't take your eyes off.

Smack in the centre of the Sony Xperia™ J is a crisp, sharp and bright 4" touchscreen that's perfect for your favourite videos, most visited websites, and photos you take on the built-in 5MP camera. The screen size is a great mix of functionality and portability, and when you blend it with the sleek and slender body of the Xperia™ J, it's a great looking smartphone.

The portable sound machine.

Big music fan? Then you'll love the WALKMAN® app. Great sound software means all your tracks have great clarity, and not only can you grab songs from your PC, you can also view a list of songs that your Facebook™ friends have 'liked'. There's even a free 60 day trial of Music Unlimited, Sony's streaming music service that gives you access to millions of tracks.

Keep in the know with your friends.

The Sony Xperia™ J is designed with social networking in mind. Twitter™ and Facebook™ are built-in and integrated throughout the phone's software so it's easy to keep track of status updates, share content and update your Facebook™ or Twitter™. The Xperia™ J also has smart illumination, a cool light at the bottom of the phone that flashes when you get a text, incoming email or Facebook™ message.

Take snaps or do some video calling.

With the 5MP of the Sony Xperia™ J you can take snaps wherever you go, and with features like autofocus, flash and image stabiliser they'll come out superbly. The new Album app is perfect for sharing to Facebook™ and even lets you sort by the photos that appear on social networks. Have friends all over the world? Use the front facing camera and video chat apps like Skype to keep in touch.

Movies and videos galore.

Movie lovers will love the large screen and Movie app for watching movies on the go, but with DLNA functionality it's easy to share music too. You can stream any videos you have on your phone quickly and easily to any DLNA enabled devices like TVs and computers.

Loads of memory for everything you need.

The Sony Xperia™ J comes with over 2GB of useable on-board memory, and you can slot in a microSD card up to 32GB in size to give you more storage for your music, photos, videos and apps on the Google Play Store.

Qualcomm® Snapdragon™ processors

Mobile that’s more powerful, more personal, and less power hungry. Did you know that different technologies work faster, smoother and more efficiently when they’re designed to work together? We think that’s a pretty smart approach, so that’s how we designed our Qualcomm® Snapdragon™ processors. Qualcomm Snapdragon processors use best-in-class technology and deliver what your friends will envy— quick, smooth surfing, visually stunning graphics, and robust performance. Being power-smart, they deliver the precise amount of power you need right when you need it, ensuring consistently great performance without compromising battery life. Snapdragon processors make it possible for you to fully enjoy all the reasons you’d wanted a Smartphone in the first place. Click here to Learn more about Snapdragon.

Looking for a smartphone that won't break the bank but still offers on the go internet, a great screen for multimedia and loads of entertainment features? The Sony Xperia™ J could be your perfect match.

Customer Reviews for Sony Xperia J
1 2 Next
Review 1 for Sony Xperia J
Amazing!
ConCon
from Blackpool
,02 August 2013
I took the opportunity to upgrade my old phone "Sony Xperia Miro" to the "Sony Xperia J" And I can safely say that was a top-notch decision. Sony Xperia J has great apps, good battery life and a vast array of customisable options that appeals to everyone. I would definitely advise people to upgrade to this phone. I have only had it one day but I am very happy with it and it has allowed me more scope than my previous phone. Definitely a great choice.
 
My Product Recommendations
Sony Xperia J
3.7 out of 5(38)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
44 of 88 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony Xperia J
Worse phone ever:(
Sunny girl
from Preston
,25 July 2013
After just two weeks, I had to send phone back, as it wouldn't charge.
I have now had it for three months and once again I need to return it, as I have not been able to get a signal for the last three weeks!
I have asked if I can upgrade, even happy to pay towards a better handset, but been told no, as I have 20 months to go on my contract!
I hate this phone and wish I'd never got it!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
49 of 101 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony Xperia J
Sony Xperia J
SISOout
from Dorset
,24 July 2013
Everything about this phone is good (camera,stylish,quick to navigate around,mp3 function,ease of use) apart from the one thing that makes a smartphone 'smart'...the internet. I don't know whether it is the network or the phone itself but it is seriously slow on the internet. So slow that facebook rarely loads as it times out, you can wait literally minutes for a google search to provide results. This is often when the phone is indicating that it has full signal. I had a HTC Wildfire before this phone and that was infinitely quicker on the net, which is very disappointing. I have only had the phone for a week and have not spoken to the network yet about the internet problems but so far I am underwhelmed!
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
47 of 98 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony Xperia J
brilliant!
Kayla
from N.Ireland
,15 July 2013
brilliant phone! i upgraded from the 'xperia ray' and its definitely worth the buy, fantastic camera, great speakers and clear, crisp screen.
Like an iPhone but just an Android, also the battery lasts longer than an iPhone!
Can download great apps like Instgram, Whats App, Twitter etc. great job!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
59 of 107 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony Xperia J
AWFUL!
nat
from CHESTERFIELD
,11 July 2013
THIS IS THE WORST PHONE EVER I HAVE HAD IT FOR 3 DAYS AND IT STARTED CRASHING AND TURNING ITSELF OFF AFTER ONE. THE SCREEN HAS STARTED GOING FUZZY. DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE IT IS A WASTE OF MONEY AND SHOULDN'T EVEN BE ON THE MARKET, I AM TAKING THIS PHONE BACK TO THE SHOP IMMEDIATLY!
MANY OF MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY HAVE SONYS, SAVE YOURSELF THE TROUBLE AND BUY A SMALLER ONE OTHER THAN THE J BECAUSE THE BIGGER THE SONY THE MORE RUBBISH IT ACTUALLY IS.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
51 of 108 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony Xperia J
So annoyed!!
Lynchyo
from manchester
,03 July 2013
This is the worst phone I have ever bought, its freezes all the time, when i try to type messages to people it takes a million years to write the sentence because the processing speed is on its backside!! it randomly turns off when im using it, I unlock it to check the time and it still says the time from 4 hours before and takes about 15 seconds for it to catch up to the right time!! I'm taking this back to the store.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
10 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony Xperia J
do NOT get this phone
ellavix
from birmingham
,01 July 2013
I think this is the worst phone on the market on the moment. I cannot believe manufacturers and sellers think it is acceptable to sell this phone at all especially in this day and age when it has the likes of the iphone 5 to compete with. The one star rating I have given is way too much.
This phone is awful, in a matter of weeks the system had ground to a halt including the touch screen. Typing a mere line of text takes around 10 minutes due to the incredibly slow processing speed of the phone and it also thinking you're touching the screen in random places (when you're not), also scrolling down pages such as your messages or facebook is impossible as it thinks you're clicking on everything. Then from time to time it stops receiving any type of communication.
As stated previously this hone shouldn't be allowed to be sold and it should definitely be taken off the market and production stopped.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
5 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony Xperia J
The SONY
The phone critic
from london
,30 June 2013
this phone is extremely easy to use the apps are brilliant such as temple run, need for speed and more phone takes high quality photos. Thephone battery does fade away fast however.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony Xperia J
Excellent Purchase
RJ
from Dumfries
,27 June 2013
The Xperia J is a slick looking handset, feels great and easy to use, takes excellent quality pictures (for a phone), it's an excellent size for messaging, media and playing games. The sound quality for music and video is fantastic thanks to the Walkman app, if you wish you can add up to 32GB which means you can have over 2000 of your favourite songs on your phone. All in all if you don't want to pay through the nose for a great smartphone the Xperia J is an option you should definitely consider.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
11 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony Xperia J
bad phone
wispa
from luton
,19 June 2013
ive had this phone nearly 2 months and the battery life is just getting shorter and shorter. it continuously freezes and the phone just randomly switches off. im definitely going back to the store to change it. my friends that also have Sony phones have similar problems so i dont recommend sony phones to anyone. it has good sound, good screen resolution and is easy to use other than it freezing. games are almost impossible to play
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
4 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony Xperia J
wouldnt bother
coote34
,20 May 2013
Ive had this phone 6 months, at first it was an awsome phone but after about a month to 2 months worth of use the batteryy life became very short and kept freezing, as a result of the freezing and the faulty connection charge. I would say it was a waste of time buying this phone. Never getting a sony again
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
12 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony Xperia J
dissapointed
chezza
from merseyside
,03 May 2013
sadly will have to wait until contract is up but will never be getting an xperia again battery life also poor not happy with phone at all only benefit I have with phone is its pink
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
5 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony Xperia J
Xperia j
busky42
from cambridge
,01 May 2013
nice little phone good internet speed via my home hub awesome colour on screen good resolution sound quality is also excellent light weight stylish and best of all I got a free XBOX360 console not bad at all for just £34 I also put 1000 minutes landline calls on it but still £34 for 2 years is well worth it and if you are thinking of getting this phone DO IT DO IT NOW
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
12 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony Xperia J
amazing
dibdab
from didcot
,21 April 2013
really good quality phone, very very easy to use. loved all the apps that we're able to be downloaded, clear screen and good sound system. i would reccomend this to many people. its just amazing.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony Xperia J
not happy
jimbo
from barnoldswick
,20 April 2013
I have had the phone for about 3 weeks and i have already had to send it back for repair as it was faulty, when i spoke to someone on the phone all i could hear was a vibrating sound.This is not the quality i expected to get with it being made by sony. however the phone is easy to operate but the key pad is a little small for my fingers.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony Xperia J
Not bad!!
moore3
from Hazel Grove
,28 March 2013
The phone is not bad for money but i was very dissopointed with the camera seem that sony make cameras i don't usually get a day with the battery but for gaming this phone is perfect with the android market because most of the apps are free.
 
My Product Recommendations
Apple iPhone 4s 16GB
4.6 out of 5(607)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony Xperia J
VERY good value for money.
Nish
from Birmingham
,14 March 2013
I switched to this after using a BlackBerry for three years.
Best purchase ever. Pros; amazing apps, easy to get used to, easy access, looks nice, fits nicely in hand and play music loudly.
Cons; cameras not too great, abit slow to start up and pictures always look slightly edited, This is slightly disappointing as it is a phone by SONY which also makes cameras, but heyho . The battery life isn't the best, but it may depend upon amount of apps open/being used.
Overall I think it's worth more money then the actual price tag, its easy to use and all my friends are impressed by it! Good to communicate with and would suite all kinds of people. Buy it!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
17 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony Xperia J
Frustrating!!!
Viktrex
from Edinburgh
,11 March 2013
I bought this to replace my Xperia mini pro and can honestly say this is the WORST phone I've ever owned. It freezes constantly, turns itself off, the touch screen stops working and can only be sorted by removing the battery, the sound turns itself on by itself and randomy goes off when you least expect it, the camera is terrible even when it decides to load. When I load my SD card gallery, I actually leave it to load for a minimum of 5 minutes and even then swiping through my photos is NEVER seemless, always laggy at best or runs out of juice and turns itself off at worst. Can only give one compliment - the battery life is good. Don't waste your money, or your voice - all I seem to do with this is scream at it in frustration.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
14 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony Xperia J
BRILLIANT IN EVERY WAY
anonymous
from scotland
,07 March 2013
despite all the bad things people have said about this phone.. i still think those bad points were a load of bullocks.. this phone is incredibly brilliant in every way possible.. the battery can last up to 3 days for me or more.. the gaming experience is amazing although the game can stutter because of open apps.. the overall design of the phone is stylish and beautiful.. the phone is extremely good for the price! buy and you wont regret it! :)
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
21 of 33 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony Xperia J
Excellent!
Bobalong
from Norfolk
,24 February 2013
It is a really good phone and has a really good battery life but can be difficult to get used to typing at first but it is easy to get used to after a while. I have used this phone for one day and I already love it !
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
18 of 30 people found this review helpful.
1 2 Next