The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Sony Xperia E Review

Print page
Product Reviews

Sony Xperia E

Average Customer Rating:
3.464 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
58 of 84(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

Sony Xperia™ E

The Sony Xperia™ E is an affordable smartphone with loads of useful features built-in. Like your photos? The 3.2MP camera is all yours, and sharing your shots is easy over Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and much more.

The essential tech specs.

You’ll be getting up to 530 hours of standby and up to 6 hours 18 minutes of talk time out of the Xperia™ E’s 1,530mAh battery, and because it runs Android Jelly Bean 4.1, it’s got loads of features right out of the box. It’s 3.5” screen uses a resolution of 320x480, meaning the sharpness is 165 pixels per inch (PPI). A 1GHz Snapdragon S1 processor is enough for web browsing and high quality gaming, while the 3.15MP camera is ideal for everyday use. There’s also 4GB of memory built-in, plus a microSD memory card slot which takes microSD cards up to 32GB in size (sold separately).

Easily control your battery and data usage.

The Sony Xperia™ E has also been designed to make it easy to stay on top of your cost and power consumption. The data usage application monitors how much internet data you're using, while the extended standby mode can increase your standby times by up to 4 times! It works by making the Wi-Fi, data traffic and apps inactive when the screen has been in sleep mode for a few minutes. Calling and messaging still work as normal, and as soon as you touch the screen to wake the device up from standby, all functions turn back to normal.

Built-in WALKMAN®.

As a music machine, the Sony Xperia™ E is pretty much perfect. With the built-in WALKMAN® application you'll have xLOUD™ audio technology, 3D surround sound and a manual equaliser that all combine to give you fantastic sound quality. It's super easy to use, and with slick styling and cool visualisations, it looks great too. With access to millions of music tracks2 from the cloud based streaming service, Music Unlimited from Sony Entertainment Network3, you'll have loads of new music right at your fingertips.

Carry your photos and videos with you everywhere.

Over time, all your photos and videos get spread out over Facebook™, your phone, tablet and computer. With the PlayMemories apps, you can carry all your albums with your, without storing them all on your phone. PlayMemories Online lets you collect all your photos and videos in one place, then relive memories wherever you are. See the perfect shot? Upload pictures automatically over Wi-Fi from your phone to PlayMemories Online. Then view your photos on any device – tablet, phone, computer, or BRAVIA® TV.

2. Sony Entertainment Network services are subject to availability by region, please see www.sonyentertainmentnetwork.com for more details.
Customer Reviews for Sony Xperia E
Review 21 for Sony Xperia E
Great Mobile
Jaguar
from South Wales
,29 January 2014
I am not an expert by any means. I use my phone as a phone to text and occasionally to take photos. I don't play games although may use phone GPS. This phone is super easy to use. The touch screen is great and the predictive text I think is amazing. I had a far more expensive mobile which would not connect to my car's blue tooth other than very occasionally which was so frustrating. This phone has connected no problem at all. I love it!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
57 of 102 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Sony Xperia E
Nice Phone
The Londoner
from Berkshire
,05 December 2013
Quite happy with this phone.
I spent a bit of time to get use to the Android OS and its different options and to transfer my settings from my previous phone, but everything is pretty clear.
Life time of the battery is pretty decent (need to be plug-in every 2 days in row). Overall quality (design, sounds, speed) is very good.
Sometimes the handset is a bit slow, but enabling the data sync on the back seems to solve this issue.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
89 of 174 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Sony Xperia E
simple yet stylish
deirds
from sheffield
,17 April 2013
I was "told" by my son to get this phone as I don't really ue them for much other than cals texts and the occasional facebook update. I'm very impressed with the sixe, the speed it operates and at the moment the clarity of pictures and the screen. overall a good starter phone for the android newbie and it has encouraged me to get some music downloaded and get some pictures taken - happy mother of 3 here
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Sony Xperia E
You get what you pay for
Emmielou
from Kent
,17 January 2014
Wanting to save some money, I opted for this phone on a cheap (£12) tariff. Being Sony, I didnt think cheap would be too much of a problem. Its easy to use, looks nice but dreadful noise distortion and photo colours meant it lasted a day before I packed it up and sent it back.
I imagine it would be great as a first phone for a child but too low quality otherwise to live with on a 2 year contract.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
54 of 106 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Sony Xperia E
Decent Phone
Chin
from Bristol
,20 June 2013
a decent phone for the prize range.
Good looking, good speed, decent battery life.
Not satisfied with screen though. Looks very ordinary screen.
But Carphone warehouse delivery was very much messed up. Delivery agency did not deliver and CW asked us to come to with photo ID. While I was trying to resolve issue over continuos phone calls suddenly delivery guy came and delivered
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
349 of 711 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Sony Xperia E
sosa love sony
chief keef
from southgate north london
,06 May 2013
sosa is loving this phone, it is very easy to use, it's a long journey to school about 1hr, 1.30hr, times that by 2 and I use it for text and music for 1hr at school and by the time I get home its at about 50% or 60%. but my old phone would be dead while im getting home. it's really good I would recommend this to any teenager or casual user. it's really good on wiki as well
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Sony Xperia E
battery life really 1%
harri
from london
,23 October 2013
bought this in Sept and it was great at the beginning but battery keeps dying, charge it at night on full and in the mornin g its back to 2% i hate the battery life and iam taking it back if they change it and it doesn't work, i will try nokia, very disappointing battery life, iam so angry with it right now. CPW i'm in tomorrow, no sigle free game on it at all whatsoever
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
98 of 201 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Sony Xperia E
worse phone I ever had
phil
,06 October 2013
Way over priced phone worse phone i've had I dont think theres is a slower phone. So time it just does what it want like just close apps then lock are when locked just wont open and stay blank screen battery life is poor I hardly use it and half way threw day it goes down to 5%. and buttons are way to small for the price I cant believe how poor it is
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
126 of 249 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Sony Xperia E
Great Little smartphone
peter
from nottingham
,07 August 2013
Just got one simple bright loud easy to use pocket friendly not to big like new smartphone s music sounds great on loud speakers and through head phones I like small pocket freindly phones so much easier to carry and no fear of breaking if you're on hols or out on an evening great try it simple does everything a large smartphone can do just smaller.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
157 of 298 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Sony Xperia E
Easy to use
Dinosaur
from Hyde
,19 June 2013
I am very happy with this purchase.
Easy to use,
i got rid of a htc phone once
,as it was so difficult.
My fingers always seem too big texting, but the keyboard is fine and the word check is brill.
I am only using for text and calls, so cannot comment on battery life if using the apps, but I find it fine, for what I need it for.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
61 of 118 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Sony Xperia E
Good basic smartphone
Kate
from Ayr, Scotland
,15 August 2013
Although it does freeze and run slowly quite frequently, it is a good basic smartphone with all you need for social networking, basic Google searches and of course calling amd texting. The screen has really good colours and definition and the quality of sound during calls is great. Really like this product.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
74 of 142 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Sony Xperia E
worst phone ever
heva22
,18 March 2014
Iv had a fair few phones in my time but this far the worst from the moment I switch it on it would crash or restart itself and if I went on something it would just be a black screen then tell me it wasnt working. I couldnt even set an alarm without this happening. Would of expected more out of a sony phone
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
21 of 40 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Sony Xperia E
Really nice but do you want it?
MartinB
from London
,05 September 2013
A good looking and well priced smart phone.
I bought this then realised i what I need is an ordinary phone.
I have a laptop and a tablet, and I work largely at home. I sold this on and (great relief) bought a simple Nokia 100.
I don't want to watch movies on my phone - I just need good functional mobile.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
117 of 226 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Sony Xperia E
Good little phone
LayaliMohamed
from Newcastle
,27 November 2013
Not the best screen but easy to navigate. Graphics arent very good. I only got the phone as i have had nothing buttrouble with my iphone 5 always breaking and just wanted a cheaper phone. But being used to an iphone for a couple years is quite difficult to change. But overall an easy enough phone to use
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
93 of 184 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Sony Xperia E
awesome phone
bats90
from denbighsire
,13 March 2014
for someone who doesnt really use smartphones its a great phone its better than my old galaxy s its fast and the battery is brilliant.. i'd recomend this phone
however two small problems i suppose its personal preference
1. it sometimes freezes
2.the memory id like it if i was 8gb standard
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
35 of 64 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Sony Xperia E
Rubbish Phone
Meeshy
from lasgow
,09 October 2013
I thought the deal I was getting was good with the free laptop but for a 2 year contract the phone is very slow facebook crashes and doesnt work sometimes if I could swap my phone and keep the contract I would be very greatful and recommend car phone warehouse . thanks for reading
Meeshy
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
122 of 241 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Sony Xperia E
elijah
from london
,22 August 2013
THIS PHONE IS A DISAPPOINTMENT I RETURNED THE FIRST ONE I EVER BOUGHT, BECAUSE IT KEPT FREEZING, AND TAKES LONG TO LOAD UP, AFTER THE SECOND EXCHANGE I HAD TO GET A THIRD PHONE, WHICH NOW IS ENCOUNTERING THE SAME PROBLEM, RUBBISH PHONE. AND NOW THEY WANT TO SEND IT IN FOR REPAIRS.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
49 of 105 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Sony Xperia E
Nice liitle phone , more than worth for the money
Grapes
from London
,11 March 2014
For £45 you can't find a better looking / device anywhere
if you are in the market for a budget / gift phone look no further
bought this for a gift , but planning to buy another one for a backup phone
can't expect the quality of iphone but we are only paying 1/10 of it's price
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
36 of 71 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Sony Xperia E
Good
KeepCalm:)
from England
,21 April 2013
Well, i had to get a new phone and got this one! I find this phone good because you can completely personalize it, the quality is all so good . However i find the keyboard to small but you can change the layout however im a VERY picky person!
I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PHONE!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Sony Xperia E
JN
JN
from Warwixk
,24 July 2013
very easy to use, good features my wife especially liked the automated text repose sent while I was driving also has a very clear screen this is an excellent phone for any people who like there Tec simple you just switch it on and follow the set up guide and away you go
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
284 of 556 people found this review helpful.