The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Sony Xperia E Review

Print page
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Sony Xperia E

Average Customer Rating:
3.389 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(90 Reviews) 90
59 of 90(66%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

Sony Xperia™ E

The Sony Xperia™ E is an affordable smartphone with loads of useful features built-in. Like your photos? The 3.2MP camera is all yours, and sharing your shots is easy over Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and much more.

The essential tech specs.

You’ll be getting up to 530 hours of standby and up to 6 hours 18 minutes of talk time out of the Xperia™ E’s 1,530mAh battery, and because it runs Android Jelly Bean 4.1, it’s got loads of features right out of the box. It’s 3.5” screen uses a resolution of 320x480, meaning the sharpness is 165 pixels per inch (PPI). A 1GHz Snapdragon S1 processor is enough for web browsing and high quality gaming, while the 3.15MP camera is ideal for everyday use. There’s also 4GB of memory built-in, plus a microSD memory card slot which takes microSD cards up to 32GB in size (sold separately).

Easily control your battery and data usage.

The Sony Xperia™ E has also been designed to make it easy to stay on top of your cost and power consumption. The data usage application monitors how much internet data you're using, while the extended standby mode can increase your standby times by up to 4 times! It works by making the Wi-Fi, data traffic and apps inactive when the screen has been in sleep mode for a few minutes. Calling and messaging still work as normal, and as soon as you touch the screen to wake the device up from standby, all functions turn back to normal.

Built-in WALKMAN®.

As a music machine, the Sony Xperia™ E is pretty much perfect. With the built-in WALKMAN® application you'll have xLOUD™ audio technology, 3D surround sound and a manual equaliser that all combine to give you fantastic sound quality. It's super easy to use, and with slick styling and cool visualisations, it looks great too. With access to millions of music tracks from the cloud based streaming service, Music Unlimited from Sony Entertainment Network, you'll have loads of new music right at your fingertips.

Carry your photos and videos with you everywhere.

Over time, all your photos and videos get spread out over Facebook™, your phone, tablet and computer. With the PlayMemories apps, you can carry all your albums with your, without storing them all on your phone. PlayMemories Online lets you collect all your photos and videos in one place, then relive memories wherever you are. See the perfect shot? Upload pictures automatically over Wi-Fi from your phone to PlayMemories Online. Then view your photos on any device – tablet, phone, computer, or BRAVIA® TV.

Get a 2014 FIFA World Cup official match ball replica*

Get one of Sony's fantastic Xperia smartphones and you'll get a 2014 FIFA World Cup official match ball replica. With the BBC and ITV covering this summer's competition, a smartphone is the perfect gadget for following matches live on iPlayer and ITV Player while you're on the move. Click here to claim your FREE ball.

* T&Cs apply: Offer open to UK & N Ireland residents only on purchase of Sony Xperia device from Carphone Warehouse between 30/05/2014-14/07/2014. One claim per purchase. Full terms & conditions available at www.sonyfootballpromotion.com. Sim free sales to do not apply. FIFA, the FIFA logo, the emblems and mascots of FIFA events, including the emblem and mascot of the 2014 FIFA World Cup BrazilTM and other FIFA logos, FIFA event marks and product and service names are trademarks and copyright material of FIFA (the "FIFA Marks"). ©2014 Sony Mobile Communications AB. "adidas, the 3-Bars logo and the 3-Stripes mark are registered trademarks of the adidas Group, used with permission. brazuca is a trademark of the adidas Group, used with permission.

Customer Reviews for Sony Xperia E
Review 21 for Sony Xperia E
mixed emotions
,01 May 2014
i got this phone in august and to be honest ive had mixed results. i wanted the phone for the usual photos music and apps and so had a 16gb memory card however after a short time of having the phoene i was told it was full so i bought a 32 and still it says its full. in all honesty if i could turn back time i would of wited for something else even a more expensive sony as my friend has xperia sp and its perfect for her. but with the E being under £100 i can see why its not brill
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
154 of 308 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Sony Xperia E
what the provided sim
from Coventry
,12 March 2014
I bought the Sony Xperia E to replace an existing phone for a Vigin sim only contract.
When I replaced the new provide sim into my old phone and tried to make a call, it just stated that I had NO credit remaining. Not too concerned but spent 10 quid on nothing.
Anyway, the new phone is quite good, can't compare with any other smart phone as I have not had one before.
Easy to work through and easy to handle. I guess I will find out more about it as time goes on.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
64 of 130 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Sony Xperia E
Great Mobile
from South Wales
,29 January 2014
I am not an expert by any means. I use my phone as a phone to text and occasionally to take photos. I don't play games although may use phone GPS. This phone is super easy to use. The touch screen is great and the predictive text I think is amazing. I had a far more expensive mobile which would not connect to my car's blue tooth other than very occasionally which was so frustrating. This phone has connected no problem at all. I love it!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
63 of 114 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Sony Xperia E
Nice Phone
from Berkshire
,05 December 2013
Quite happy with this phone.
I spent a bit of time to get use to the Android OS and its different options and to transfer my settings from my previous phone, but everything is pretty clear.
Life time of the battery is pretty decent (need to be plug-in every 2 days in row). Overall quality (design, sounds, speed) is very good.
Sometimes the handset is a bit slow, but enabling the data sync on the back seems to solve this issue.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
90 of 175 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Sony Xperia E
simple yet stylish
from sheffield
,17 April 2013
I was "told" by my son to get this phone as I don't really ue them for much other than cals texts and the occasional facebook update. I'm very impressed with the sixe, the speed it operates and at the moment the clarity of pictures and the screen. overall a good starter phone for the android newbie and it has encouraged me to get some music downloaded and get some pictures taken - happy mother of 3 here
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Sony Xperia E
You get what you pay for
from Kent
,17 January 2014
Wanting to save some money, I opted for this phone on a cheap (£12) tariff. Being Sony, I didnt think cheap would be too much of a problem. Its easy to use, looks nice but dreadful noise distortion and photo colours meant it lasted a day before I packed it up and sent it back.
I imagine it would be great as a first phone for a child but too low quality otherwise to live with on a 2 year contract.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
56 of 110 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Sony Xperia E
Decent Phone
from Bristol
,20 June 2013
a decent phone for the prize range.
Good looking, good speed, decent battery life.
Not satisfied with screen though. Looks very ordinary screen.
But Carphone warehouse delivery was very much messed up. Delivery agency did not deliver and CW asked us to come to with photo ID. While I was trying to resolve issue over continuos phone calls suddenly delivery guy came and delivered
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
349 of 711 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Sony Xperia E
sosa love sony
from southgate north london
,06 May 2013
sosa is loving this phone, it is very easy to use, it's a long journey to school about 1hr, 1.30hr, times that by 2 and I use it for text and music for 1hr at school and by the time I get home its at about 50% or 60%. but my old phone would be dead while im getting home. it's really good I would recommend this to any teenager or casual user. it's really good on wiki as well
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Sony Xperia E
battery life really 1%
from london
,23 October 2013
bought this in Sept and it was great at the beginning but battery keeps dying, charge it at night on full and in the mornin g its back to 2% i hate the battery life and iam taking it back if they change it and it doesn't work, i will try nokia, very disappointing battery life, iam so angry with it right now. CPW i'm in tomorrow, no sigle free game on it at all whatsoever
 
My Product Recommendations
Sony Xperia Z
4.5 out of 5(130)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
98 of 201 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Sony Xperia E
worse phone I ever had
,06 October 2013
Way over priced phone worse phone i've had I dont think theres is a slower phone. So time it just does what it want like just close apps then lock are when locked just wont open and stay blank screen battery life is poor I hardly use it and half way threw day it goes down to 5%. and buttons are way to small for the price I cant believe how poor it is
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
126 of 249 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Sony Xperia E
Great Little smartphone
from nottingham
,07 August 2013
Just got one simple bright loud easy to use pocket friendly not to big like new smartphone s music sounds great on loud speakers and through head phones I like small pocket freindly phones so much easier to carry and no fear of breaking if you're on hols or out on an evening great try it simple does everything a large smartphone can do just smaller.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
157 of 298 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Sony Xperia E
worst phone I've had!!!
from Rotherham
,30 April 2014
I wouldn't recommend this phone to anyone, I've lost count of the number of times I've had to take the back off to release the battery as the phone freezes alot, often half way through writing a text out, it also freezes when trying to go go through my contacts when phoning someone, there's not enough app space, and it vibrates alot, DO NOT BUY ONE
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
150 of 299 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Sony Xperia E
Easy to use
from Hyde
,19 June 2013
I am very happy with this purchase.
Easy to use,
i got rid of a htc phone once
,as it was so difficult.
My fingers always seem too big texting, but the keyboard is fine and the word check is brill.
I am only using for text and calls, so cannot comment on battery life if using the apps, but I find it fine, for what I need it for.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
61 of 118 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Sony Xperia E
Good basic smartphone
from Ayr, Scotland
,15 August 2013
Although it does freeze and run slowly quite frequently, it is a good basic smartphone with all you need for social networking, basic Google searches and of course calling amd texting. The screen has really good colours and definition and the quality of sound during calls is great. Really like this product.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
74 of 142 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Sony Xperia E
worst phone ever
,18 March 2014
Iv had a fair few phones in my time but this far the worst from the moment I switch it on it would crash or restart itself and if I went on something it would just be a black screen then tell me it wasnt working. I couldnt even set an alarm without this happening. Would of expected more out of a sony phone
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
85 of 164 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Sony Xperia E
Really nice but do you want it?
from London
,05 September 2013
A good looking and well priced smart phone.
I bought this then realised i what I need is an ordinary phone.
I have a laptop and a tablet, and I work largely at home. I sold this on and (great relief) bought a simple Nokia 100.
I don't want to watch movies on my phone - I just need good functional mobile.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
117 of 226 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Sony Xperia E
Good little phone
from Newcastle
,27 November 2013
Not the best screen but easy to navigate. Graphics arent very good. I only got the phone as i have had nothing buttrouble with my iphone 5 always breaking and just wanted a cheaper phone. But being used to an iphone for a couple years is quite difficult to change. But overall an easy enough phone to use
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
93 of 184 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Sony Xperia E
awesome phone
from denbighsire
,13 March 2014
for someone who doesnt really use smartphones its a great phone its better than my old galaxy s its fast and the battery is brilliant.. i'd recomend this phone
however two small problems i suppose its personal preference
1. it sometimes freezes
2.the memory id like it if i was 8gb standard
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
95 of 177 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Sony Xperia E
Rubbish Phone
from lasgow
,09 October 2013
I thought the deal I was getting was good with the free laptop but for a 2 year contract the phone is very slow facebook crashes and doesnt work sometimes if I could swap my phone and keep the contract I would be very greatful and recommend car phone warehouse . thanks for reading
Meeshy
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
122 of 241 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Sony Xperia E
from london
,22 August 2013
THIS PHONE IS A DISAPPOINTMENT I RETURNED THE FIRST ONE I EVER BOUGHT, BECAUSE IT KEPT FREEZING, AND TAKES LONG TO LOAD UP, AFTER THE SECOND EXCHANGE I HAD TO GET A THIRD PHONE, WHICH NOW IS ENCOUNTERING THE SAME PROBLEM, RUBBISH PHONE. AND NOW THEY WANT TO SEND IT IN FOR REPAIRS.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
49 of 105 people found this review helpful.