The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home
Shop Now At The Carphone Warehouse

Sony Xperia E Review

Print page
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Sony Xperia E

Average Customer Rating:
3.389 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
59 of 90(66%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

Sony Xperia™ E

The Sony Xperia™ E is an affordable smartphone with loads of useful features built-in. Like your photos? The 3.2MP camera is all yours, and sharing your shots is easy over Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and much more.

The essential tech specs.

You’ll be getting up to 530 hours of standby and up to 6 hours 18 minutes of talk time out of the Xperia™ E’s 1,530mAh battery, and because it runs Android Jelly Bean 4.1, it’s got loads of features right out of the box. It’s 3.5” screen uses a resolution of 320x480, meaning the sharpness is 165 pixels per inch (PPI). A 1GHz Snapdragon S1 processor is enough for web browsing and high quality gaming, while the 3.15MP camera is ideal for everyday use. There’s also 4GB of memory built-in, plus a microSD memory card slot which takes microSD cards up to 32GB in size (sold separately).

Easily control your battery and data usage.

The Sony Xperia™ E has also been designed to make it easy to stay on top of your cost and power consumption. The data usage application monitors how much internet data you're using, while the extended standby mode can increase your standby times by up to 4 times! It works by making the Wi-Fi, data traffic and apps inactive when the screen has been in sleep mode for a few minutes. Calling and messaging still work as normal, and as soon as you touch the screen to wake the device up from standby, all functions turn back to normal.

Built-in WALKMAN®.

As a music machine, the Sony Xperia™ E is pretty much perfect. With the built-in WALKMAN® application you'll have xLOUD™ audio technology, 3D surround sound and a manual equaliser that all combine to give you fantastic sound quality. It's super easy to use, and with slick styling and cool visualisations, it looks great too. With access to millions of music tracks from the cloud based streaming service, Music Unlimited from Sony Entertainment Network, you'll have loads of new music right at your fingertips.

Carry your photos and videos with you everywhere.

Over time, all your photos and videos get spread out over Facebook™, your phone, tablet and computer. With the PlayMemories apps, you can carry all your albums with your, without storing them all on your phone. PlayMemories Online lets you collect all your photos and videos in one place, then relive memories wherever you are. See the perfect shot? Upload pictures automatically over Wi-Fi from your phone to PlayMemories Online. Then view your photos on any device – tablet, phone, computer, or BRAVIA® TV.

Get a 2014 FIFA World Cup official match ball replica*

Get one of Sony's fantastic Xperia smartphones and you'll get a 2014 FIFA World Cup official match ball replica. With the BBC and ITV covering this summer's competition, a smartphone is the perfect gadget for following matches live on iPlayer and ITV Player while you're on the move. Click here to claim your FREE ball.

* T&Cs apply: Offer open to UK & N Ireland residents only on purchase of Sony Xperia device from Carphone Warehouse between 30/05/2014-14/07/2014. One claim per purchase. Full terms & conditions available at www.sonyfootballpromotion.com. Sim free sales to do not apply. FIFA, the FIFA logo, the emblems and mascots of FIFA events, including the emblem and mascot of the 2014 FIFA World Cup BrazilTM and other FIFA logos, FIFA event marks and product and service names are trademarks and copyright material of FIFA (the "FIFA Marks"). ©2014 Sony Mobile Communications AB. "adidas, the 3-Bars logo and the 3-Stripes mark are registered trademarks of the adidas Group, used with permission. brazuca is a trademark of the adidas Group, used with permission.

Customer Reviews for Sony Xperia E
Review 21 for Sony Xperia E
Good first smartphone
Kinkyking
from Barnoldswick
,19 February 2014
This is a good phone, bought it after my last phone broke after having it 5 years. The only thing about this phone is for someone not experienced in smart phones it can get a bit confusing. Which if you're only going to be using it for calls and texts then not to worry but if someone using it for more purposes such as internet it would be a bit tricky to use. The security on it is good letting you have a back up of security questions which is rare. And the lights that flash when you have a text are an added bonus. Overall If this is your first smartphone purchase i'd recommend it for you!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
71 of 126 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Sony Xperia E
Good phone, easy to use
Cat
from Leicestershire
,16 February 2014
This is my first smartphone. I've found it easy to use and it has all the features I need. It has been easy to install new apps. Battery life seems fine and the phone is responsive. Good value for money.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
54 of 105 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Sony Xperia E
Great Little Ringer
Gray
from London
,15 February 2014
Great phone for doing quick phone calls and texts. The screen is a bit small for my liking and I would have liked there to be a focus button on the camera side button. Can be quite laggy when turning on but what else would you expect for a £70 phone.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
36 of 80 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Sony Xperia E
A good quality phone
Abunwasi
from Ilford
,29 January 2014
The Sony Xperia E phone is a cute smart phone with easy to use features. It takes sharp pictures and the screen is wide enough for easy navigation and scrawling.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
74 of 132 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Sony Xperia E
Great Mobile
Jaguar
from South Wales
,29 January 2014
I am not an expert by any means. I use my phone as a phone to text and occasionally to take photos. I don't play games although may use phone GPS. This phone is super easy to use. The touch screen is great and the predictive text I think is amazing. I had a far more expensive mobile which would not connect to my car's blue tooth other than very occasionally which was so frustrating. This phone has connected no problem at all. I love it!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
63 of 114 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Sony Xperia E
Main Problem
nudgebar
from Rochester
,29 January 2014
I have tried all I know to get the phone to connect to my desk top computer but it will not communicate. It's fine with my old laptop but I rarely use this so it's rather inconvenient.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
51 of 103 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Sony Xperia E
easy-to-use phone
skoda
from london
,21 January 2014
Very easy phone to use would recommend for youngster as first phone features are on same lines as Samsung galaxy s2 easy to download yr music and games
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
61 of 110 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Sony Xperia E
grat phone
jay
from leicester
,17 January 2014
I got the phone for my mam coz her old phone did not work. so I got her this one and it better and it easy to use she love it sooo much. if u wont to buy this phone for ur mam then go on lol.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
68 of 126 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Sony Xperia E
You get what you pay for
Emmielou
from Kent
,17 January 2014
Wanting to save some money, I opted for this phone on a cheap (£12) tariff. Being Sony, I didnt think cheap would be too much of a problem. Its easy to use, looks nice but dreadful noise distortion and photo colours meant it lasted a day before I packed it up and sent it back.
I imagine it would be great as a first phone for a child but too low quality otherwise to live with on a 2 year contract.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
56 of 110 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Sony Xperia E
sony Xperia E
rach
from wales
,01 January 2014
excellent phone ,,had 1 very happy son christmas morning ,will defo come back soon and purchase another phone with carphone warehouse excellent sevice .
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
85 of 162 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Sony Xperia E
Just awful - avoid at all costs
Dididve
from London
,28 December 2013
Bought or my mother as her first smartphone. Personally am an iPhone user but have used several android phones. Whilst android is not quite as slick and intuitive as ios it is normally fairly traight forward to use. So was quite happy to go for an android phone. This phone however makes he phone soooo frustrating to use. Touch screen is inaccurate slow and unresponsive. The Sony version of android is horrid really unobvious, has loads of unnecessary Sony baggage apps and makes everything 3times more complicated to do than any ther android phone I've tried. I find it hard to use with miss hits impossible to use keyboard and illogical men's and operation. I struggle and find it frustrating, my mother can not make head nor tail of it. Complete waste of money. Interestingly, she also bought an iPad air and even though she is a technophobe got to grips with he iPad with no trouble sending emails, messages, FaceTime etc. she cannot use this phone to even answer a call let alone read a text. Will ditch this phone and get a proper phone, not this cheap bottom if the range pile of junk. Ok it's cheap but that shouldn't make it unusable. The most frustrating phon it as been my misfortune to use.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
87 of 193 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Sony Xperia E
great phone
lauren01
from leeds
,23 December 2013
Easy to use, nice smartphone, has everything that I need in a phone.I would recommend this phone to a friend or family member and tell them my experiance with this phone and How much i really like the phone.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
101 of 194 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Sony Xperia E
good quality??
notahappygirl08
from Leeds
,22 December 2013
I've had this phone for a while now. I've gone from a blackberry 9320 to this Sony experia e. At first I thaught it was alright for what it was. About a month in it is freezing, slow, alarm doesn't work etc... I went back to the shop and asked for the same phone but a new one. And so they did. Now my contacts are not showing, alarm doesn't work, touch screen does what it wants, slow. I could be here all day. I am writting this on the phone and has took me about 20 mins just to make sure everything was out in right. Thank god I'm getting an iPhone!!!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
105 of 203 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Sony Xperia E
Avoid
needbe
,08 December 2013
Sony's lowest-end smartphone. This is such a sluggish phone that takes forever to react to touch commands. Practically every time I've used it I've wanted to throw it across the room in sheer frustration. Not one to rely on in an emergency.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
127 of 246 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Sony Xperia E
Poor
Just pants
from Lincolnshire
,06 December 2013
Didn't like my first comment but waste of money and time don't buy over have on contact I'm always updating my phone I've used a memory card but still
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
119 of 238 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Sony Xperia E
Nice Phone
The Londoner
from Berkshire
,05 December 2013
Quite happy with this phone.
I spent a bit of time to get use to the Android OS and its different options and to transfer my settings from my previous phone, but everything is pretty clear.
Life time of the battery is pretty decent (need to be plug-in every 2 days in row). Overall quality (design, sounds, speed) is very good.
Sometimes the handset is a bit slow, but enabling the data sync on the back seems to solve this issue.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
90 of 175 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Sony Xperia E
xperia E
kazzybabe
from leeds
,05 December 2013
Excellent phone great designs and very easy to use, looks good too the touch screen is easy to understand and very good to use and the tech side is easy ,as well as the instructions are easy to understand excellent phone overall
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
93 of 177 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Sony Xperia E
Features and space size
Phil
from Bradford
,01 December 2013
The space size for this phone is so small that after downloading some few apps you can get enough space to update. I tried saving some of my apps on my external storage but not all the apps could be saved on external storage. Hence I had to delete some of them but still as apps keep on updating it tells me I have insufficient space to install updates. Also the phone keeps on freezing to the extend that sometimes if there is call coming you can hear it ringing but you don't see the call to answer till the call cut and you have to wait for about 5mins before you see who called. When you receive a call too, in the middle of the call it will freeze so you can only hear the other end talking but they can't hear you and when they cut the call to call you back they have to wait for about 3 to 5mins before they can call back else all call back go to voice mail straight away. This is the worst phone I have ever had.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
102 of 199 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Sony Xperia E
Good little phone
LayaliMohamed
from Newcastle
,27 November 2013
Not the best screen but easy to navigate. Graphics arent very good. I only got the phone as i have had nothing buttrouble with my iphone 5 always breaking and just wanted a cheaper phone. But being used to an iphone for a couple years is quite difficult to change. But overall an easy enough phone to use
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
93 of 184 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Sony Xperia E
Unreliable
LilGazza
from Matlock
,14 November 2013
I would not recommend this phone at all, ever since i got mine it always froze, glitched out and lagged a lot! This isn't acceptable from a new phone. The audio jack didn't work a lot of the time, it took 2 minutes sometimes to load up the menu or page. The screen would often glitch and move to the left leaving a repeated image in the empty space. The screen broke after i was trying to get it to work with my speakers, squoze obviously too hard and the screen broke which simple isn't acceptable. Its not like i'm a weight lifter
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
112 of 214 people found this review helpful.