The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Sony Xperia E Review

Print page
Product Reviews

Sony Xperia E

Average Customer Rating:
3.464 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
58 of 84(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

Sony Xperia™ E

The Sony Xperia™ E is an affordable smartphone with loads of useful features built-in. Like your photos? The 3.2MP camera is all yours, and sharing your shots is easy over Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and much more.

The essential tech specs.

You’ll be getting up to 530 hours of standby and up to 6 hours 18 minutes of talk time out of the Xperia™ E’s 1,530mAh battery, and because it runs Android Jelly Bean 4.1, it’s got loads of features right out of the box. It’s 3.5” screen uses a resolution of 320x480, meaning the sharpness is 165 pixels per inch (PPI). A 1GHz Snapdragon S1 processor is enough for web browsing and high quality gaming, while the 3.15MP camera is ideal for everyday use. There’s also 4GB of memory built-in, plus a microSD memory card slot which takes microSD cards up to 32GB in size (sold separately).

Easily control your battery and data usage.

The Sony Xperia™ E has also been designed to make it easy to stay on top of your cost and power consumption. The data usage application monitors how much internet data you're using, while the extended standby mode can increase your standby times by up to 4 times! It works by making the Wi-Fi, data traffic and apps inactive when the screen has been in sleep mode for a few minutes. Calling and messaging still work as normal, and as soon as you touch the screen to wake the device up from standby, all functions turn back to normal.

Built-in WALKMAN®.

As a music machine, the Sony Xperia™ E is pretty much perfect. With the built-in WALKMAN® application you'll have xLOUD™ audio technology, 3D surround sound and a manual equaliser that all combine to give you fantastic sound quality. It's super easy to use, and with slick styling and cool visualisations, it looks great too. With access to millions of music tracks2 from the cloud based streaming service, Music Unlimited from Sony Entertainment Network3, you'll have loads of new music right at your fingertips.

Carry your photos and videos with you everywhere.

Over time, all your photos and videos get spread out over Facebook™, your phone, tablet and computer. With the PlayMemories apps, you can carry all your albums with your, without storing them all on your phone. PlayMemories Online lets you collect all your photos and videos in one place, then relive memories wherever you are. See the perfect shot? Upload pictures automatically over Wi-Fi from your phone to PlayMemories Online. Then view your photos on any device – tablet, phone, computer, or BRAVIA® TV.

2. Sony Entertainment Network services are subject to availability by region, please see www.sonyentertainmentnetwork.com for more details.
Customer Reviews for Sony Xperia E
Review 21 for Sony Xperia E
easy-to-use phone
skoda
from london
,21 January 2014
Very easy phone to use would recommend for youngster as first phone features are on same lines as Samsung galaxy s2 easy to download yr music and games
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
57 of 101 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Sony Xperia E
grat phone
jay
from leicester
,17 January 2014
I got the phone for my mam coz her old phone did not work. so I got her this one and it better and it easy to use she love it sooo much. if u wont to buy this phone for ur mam then go on lol.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
66 of 122 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Sony Xperia E
You get what you pay for
Emmielou
from Kent
,17 January 2014
Wanting to save some money, I opted for this phone on a cheap (£12) tariff. Being Sony, I didnt think cheap would be too much of a problem. Its easy to use, looks nice but dreadful noise distortion and photo colours meant it lasted a day before I packed it up and sent it back.
I imagine it would be great as a first phone for a child but too low quality otherwise to live with on a 2 year contract.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
54 of 106 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Sony Xperia E
sony Xperia E
rach
from wales
,01 January 2014
excellent phone ,,had 1 very happy son christmas morning ,will defo come back soon and purchase another phone with carphone warehouse excellent sevice .
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
83 of 159 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Sony Xperia E
Just awful - avoid at all costs
Dididve
from London
,28 December 2013
Bought or my mother as her first smartphone. Personally am an iPhone user but have used several android phones. Whilst android is not quite as slick and intuitive as ios it is normally fairly traight forward to use. So was quite happy to go for an android phone. This phone however makes he phone soooo frustrating to use. Touch screen is inaccurate slow and unresponsive. The Sony version of android is horrid really unobvious, has loads of unnecessary Sony baggage apps and makes everything 3times more complicated to do than any ther android phone I've tried. I find it hard to use with miss hits impossible to use keyboard and illogical men's and operation. I struggle and find it frustrating, my mother can not make head nor tail of it. Complete waste of money. Interestingly, she also bought an iPad air and even though she is a technophobe got to grips with he iPad with no trouble sending emails, messages, FaceTime etc. she cannot use this phone to even answer a call let alone read a text. Will ditch this phone and get a proper phone, not this cheap bottom if the range pile of junk. Ok it's cheap but that shouldn't make it unusable. The most frustrating phon it as been my misfortune to use.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
86 of 190 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Sony Xperia E
great phone
lauren01
from leeds
,23 December 2013
Easy to use, nice smartphone, has everything that I need in a phone.I would recommend this phone to a friend or family member and tell them my experiance with this phone and How much i really like the phone.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
100 of 193 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Sony Xperia E
good quality??
notahappygirl08
from Leeds
,22 December 2013
I've had this phone for a while now. I've gone from a blackberry 9320 to this Sony experia e. At first I thaught it was alright for what it was. About a month in it is freezing, slow, alarm doesn't work etc... I went back to the shop and asked for the same phone but a new one. And so they did. Now my contacts are not showing, alarm doesn't work, touch screen does what it wants, slow. I could be here all day. I am writting this on the phone and has took me about 20 mins just to make sure everything was out in right. Thank god I'm getting an iPhone!!!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
104 of 202 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Sony Xperia E
Avoid
needbe
,08 December 2013
Sony's lowest-end smartphone. This is such a sluggish phone that takes forever to react to touch commands. Practically every time I've used it I've wanted to throw it across the room in sheer frustration. Not one to rely on in an emergency.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
127 of 245 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Sony Xperia E
Poor
Just pants
from Lincolnshire
,06 December 2013
Didn't like my first comment but waste of money and time don't buy over have on contact I'm always updating my phone I've used a memory card but still
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
119 of 237 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Sony Xperia E
Nice Phone
The Londoner
from Berkshire
,05 December 2013
Quite happy with this phone.
I spent a bit of time to get use to the Android OS and its different options and to transfer my settings from my previous phone, but everything is pretty clear.
Life time of the battery is pretty decent (need to be plug-in every 2 days in row). Overall quality (design, sounds, speed) is very good.
Sometimes the handset is a bit slow, but enabling the data sync on the back seems to solve this issue.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
89 of 174 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Sony Xperia E
xperia E
kazzybabe
from leeds
,05 December 2013
Excellent phone great designs and very easy to use, looks good too the touch screen is easy to understand and very good to use and the tech side is easy ,as well as the instructions are easy to understand excellent phone overall
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
93 of 177 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Sony Xperia E
Features and space size
Phil
from Bradford
,01 December 2013
The space size for this phone is so small that after downloading some few apps you can get enough space to update. I tried saving some of my apps on my external storage but not all the apps could be saved on external storage. Hence I had to delete some of them but still as apps keep on updating it tells me I have insufficient space to install updates. Also the phone keeps on freezing to the extend that sometimes if there is call coming you can hear it ringing but you don't see the call to answer till the call cut and you have to wait for about 5mins before you see who called. When you receive a call too, in the middle of the call it will freeze so you can only hear the other end talking but they can't hear you and when they cut the call to call you back they have to wait for about 3 to 5mins before they can call back else all call back go to voice mail straight away. This is the worst phone I have ever had.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
102 of 199 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Sony Xperia E
Good little phone
LayaliMohamed
from Newcastle
,27 November 2013
Not the best screen but easy to navigate. Graphics arent very good. I only got the phone as i have had nothing buttrouble with my iphone 5 always breaking and just wanted a cheaper phone. But being used to an iphone for a couple years is quite difficult to change. But overall an easy enough phone to use
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
93 of 184 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Sony Xperia E
Unreliable
LilGazza
from Matlock
,14 November 2013
I would not recommend this phone at all, ever since i got mine it always froze, glitched out and lagged a lot! This isn't acceptable from a new phone. The audio jack didn't work a lot of the time, it took 2 minutes sometimes to load up the menu or page. The screen would often glitch and move to the left leaving a repeated image in the empty space. The screen broke after i was trying to get it to work with my speakers, squoze obviously too hard and the screen broke which simple isn't acceptable. Its not like i'm a weight lifter
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
112 of 214 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Sony Xperia E
Useless
ollyhinge
from London
,13 November 2013
Loads of problems. Firstly, you cannot record videos portrait using the built in camera. Secondly, videos don't save. Thirdly, when recording videos, after two minutes the videos stop recording and delete themselves forever. Fourthly, keypad is enormous so when I'm writing on BlackBerry messenger I can't see what I'm writing our the chat itself. Finally, the screen is terribly calibrated and will not press the right buttons on Google chrome. The only good thing is the x Loud audio. I hope you read this Sony and change immediately. Waste of £80 and I want a refund.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
102 of 203 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Sony Xperia E
Frustrating start...
Stickman
from Ludlow
,07 November 2013
I've really warmed to this phone after an extremely frustrating day trying to set it up as I want it. I could have cheerfully thrown it at a wall several times. Nothing seemed intuitive, There were several incomprehensible set-up questions - why do manufacturers assume everyone is technically savvy with these things? It was impossible to import Contacts from my old phone or my laptop via Sony PC Companion for some unfathomable reason. Internet connection was a frustrating few hrs of trial and error. I could go on - oh, and the battery cover removal instructions with the phone show a thumb sort of hinging up the smaller back cover. Don't try it! The online user guide correctly shows two thumbs sliding up the larger cover. Now that my blood pressure is back to normal and it's set up at last I can see what a remarkably good phone this is for the money. I'm growing to love it after an unexpectedly difficult start.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
93 of 191 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Sony Xperia E
rubbish phone
bikerchick
from Northern Ireland
,24 October 2013
rubbish phone, apps keep crashing, turns data traffic of from time to time, very slow, takes forever to access messages emails etc. basically I would not recommend this, Sony really has went downhill.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
104 of 205 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Sony Xperia E
battery life really 1%
harri
from london
,23 October 2013
bought this in Sept and it was great at the beginning but battery keeps dying, charge it at night on full and in the mornin g its back to 2% i hate the battery life and iam taking it back if they change it and it doesn't work, i will try nokia, very disappointing battery life, iam so angry with it right now. CPW i'm in tomorrow, no sigle free game on it at all whatsoever
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
98 of 201 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Sony Xperia E
Rubbish Phone
Meeshy
from lasgow
,09 October 2013
I thought the deal I was getting was good with the free laptop but for a 2 year contract the phone is very slow facebook crashes and doesnt work sometimes if I could swap my phone and keep the contract I would be very greatful and recommend car phone warehouse . thanks for reading
Meeshy
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
122 of 241 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Sony Xperia E
Sony Xperia E
brownbeach
from Northumberland
,09 October 2013
An excellent phone and a very good package. With a android jellybean operating system I find it easy to work as it has the same features as my 7'' tablet.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
118 of 237 people found this review helpful.