The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Sony Xperia E Review

Print page
Product Reviews

Sony Xperia E

Average Customer Rating:
3.464 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
58 of 84(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

Sony Xperia™ E

The Sony Xperia™ E is an affordable smartphone with loads of useful features built-in. Like your photos? The 3.2MP camera is all yours, and sharing your shots is easy over Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and much more.

The essential tech specs.

You’ll be getting up to 530 hours of standby and up to 6 hours 18 minutes of talk time out of the Xperia™ E’s 1,530mAh battery, and because it runs Android Jelly Bean 4.1, it’s got loads of features right out of the box. It’s 3.5” screen uses a resolution of 320x480, meaning the sharpness is 165 pixels per inch (PPI). A 1GHz Snapdragon S1 processor is enough for web browsing and high quality gaming, while the 3.15MP camera is ideal for everyday use. There’s also 4GB of memory built-in, plus a microSD memory card slot which takes microSD cards up to 32GB in size (sold separately).

Easily control your battery and data usage.

The Sony Xperia™ E has also been designed to make it easy to stay on top of your cost and power consumption. The data usage application monitors how much internet data you're using, while the extended standby mode can increase your standby times by up to 4 times! It works by making the Wi-Fi, data traffic and apps inactive when the screen has been in sleep mode for a few minutes. Calling and messaging still work as normal, and as soon as you touch the screen to wake the device up from standby, all functions turn back to normal.

Built-in WALKMAN®.

As a music machine, the Sony Xperia™ E is pretty much perfect. With the built-in WALKMAN® application you'll have xLOUD™ audio technology, 3D surround sound and a manual equaliser that all combine to give you fantastic sound quality. It's super easy to use, and with slick styling and cool visualisations, it looks great too. With access to millions of music tracks2 from the cloud based streaming service, Music Unlimited from Sony Entertainment Network3, you'll have loads of new music right at your fingertips.

Carry your photos and videos with you everywhere.

Over time, all your photos and videos get spread out over Facebook™, your phone, tablet and computer. With the PlayMemories apps, you can carry all your albums with your, without storing them all on your phone. PlayMemories Online lets you collect all your photos and videos in one place, then relive memories wherever you are. See the perfect shot? Upload pictures automatically over Wi-Fi from your phone to PlayMemories Online. Then view your photos on any device – tablet, phone, computer, or BRAVIA® TV.

2. Sony Entertainment Network services are subject to availability by region, please see www.sonyentertainmentnetwork.com for more details.
Customer Reviews for Sony Xperia E
1 2 3 4 5 Next
Review 1 for Sony Xperia E
If i were you i wouldn't !
Butterflie phone
from France
,25 March 2014
I am frustrated and disappointed with this phone . It tends to freeze all the time and sum times so much that i am forced to take out the battery because i can't turn the phone off. It has a music play back error witch is when you have to turn it on and off the for music to play , its a very long , slow and annoying process to deal with. When you turn it on it takes a wile to load the images, music or other content. The headphone jack gives up on you after a bit, it starts to crackle and then you can no longer listen to music with your headphones or earphones. But it has a long battery life and a strong screen. Over all this phone gives up on you after just 6 months . DO NOT GET THIS PHONE ! It becomes rely hard to deal with! I am not satisfied of this it at all !
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
7 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony Xperia E
Meenoo
from Bedfordshire
,24 March 2014
It is a ok mobile. It is a bit difficult on how to add new contact. Also a bit complicated to work out some features. The turn out turn off button is a bit fiddly. It maybe as I am a beginner with touch screen mobiles.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
12 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony Xperia E
worst phone ever
heva22
,18 March 2014
Iv had a fair few phones in my time but this far the worst from the moment I switch it on it would crash or restart itself and if I went on something it would just be a black screen then tell me it wasnt working. I couldnt even set an alarm without this happening. Would of expected more out of a sony phone
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
21 of 40 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony Xperia E
awesome phone
bats90
from denbighsire
,13 March 2014
for someone who doesnt really use smartphones its a great phone its better than my old galaxy s its fast and the battery is brilliant.. i'd recomend this phone
however two small problems i suppose its personal preference
1. it sometimes freezes
2.the memory id like it if i was 8gb standard
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
35 of 64 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony Xperia E
Not as Good as I expect
Ade
from London
,12 March 2014
A good product from sony, however, often have its own problems. Not enough memory to download all your essential Apps, but you can buy larger memory card to back-up all your downloaded stuff
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
35 of 71 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony Xperia E
Eddie
from Nottingham
,12 March 2014
Great phone, camera is good,easy to use .battery life is excellent .i might up grade in time the more I get use the phone. A white phone might look a bit better.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
34 of 62 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony Xperia E
what the provided sim
Mr.M
from Coventry
,12 March 2014
I bought the Sony Xperia E to replace an existing phone for a Vigin sim only contract.
When I replaced the new provide sim into my old phone and tried to make a call, it just stated that I had NO credit remaining. Not too concerned but spent 10 quid on nothing.
Anyway, the new phone is quite good, can't compare with any other smart phone as I have not had one before.
Easy to work through and easy to handle. I guess I will find out more about it as time goes on.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
38 of 75 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony Xperia E
Great for an Entry Level Smartphone
GaryP1960
from North Wales
,12 March 2014
Absolute bargain of a phone HD screen and very quick with different processes. For £55 i can't complain and i'd recommend a Sony Smartphone to anybody!!!!
Runs all the apps i need, easy to use even though i'm not the most tech savvy person!!!!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
36 of 76 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony Xperia E
Attractive budget phone
Mum
from South Yorks
,12 March 2014
Bought this phone for my 12 year old. I didn't want to make a large investment due to her age. This phone looks like an high end one and has good functionality, apps, Facebook etc. the operating software is quicker than her previous budget phone. She is delighted with it and back on Instagram with friends. I'm more than happy. I would suggest an after sales case to keep it safe but the beauty of this phone is that there are plenty to choose from as it's the same size as other Xperia models.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
37 of 69 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony Xperia E
Nice liitle phone , more than worth for the money
Grapes
from London
,11 March 2014
For £45 you can't find a better looking / device anywhere
if you are in the market for a budget / gift phone look no further
bought this for a gift , but planning to buy another one for a backup phone
can't expect the quality of iphone but we are only paying 1/10 of it's price
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
36 of 71 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony Xperia E
Horrible phone
badgertoffle
from Luton
,08 March 2014
I've had this phone for a year now and i don't think that this phone is any good. Its a low budget phone but sony could of done better. It restarts without warning when it freezes,causing me to loose many saves. It cannot run most apps without lag that makes the app unusable and most off the time its just comes up with error codes.they talk about how this phone has 'crystal clarity speakers' when calling but its very poor. If you want to see the good things about this phone the go look at someone else's review because i can't find any good things. bad phone
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
50 of 102 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony Xperia E
sony xperia e
goodby
from birmingham
,05 March 2014
a lot of phone for very little money i wonder how sony manage to do it .it can take a little while to work how to use this but one of the better low budget phones
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
54 of 103 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony Xperia E
Juli
from Abbey wood
,05 March 2014
This product is going to indoor is good for me for others A test message and the battery last longer peace? And everybody loved it because it's fun I bought one for my daughter is using it is really amazing
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
44 of 96 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony Xperia E
poor media
Steven79
from London
,01 March 2014
Truly disappointed in media part. Fm radio does not work at all, only frost the device. About the music section, if you remember the mp3 file name, you can search and play it, but you cannot browse among the mp3s cause you cannot find the library. Funny...Sent back.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
39 of 80 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony Xperia E
Good first smartphone
Kinkyking
from Barnoldswick
,19 February 2014
This is a good phone, bought it after my last phone broke after having it 5 years. The only thing about this phone is for someone not experienced in smart phones it can get a bit confusing. Which if you're only going to be using it for calls and texts then not to worry but if someone using it for more purposes such as internet it would be a bit tricky to use. The security on it is good letting you have a back up of security questions which is rare. And the lights that flash when you have a text are an added bonus. Overall If this is your first smartphone purchase i'd recommend it for you!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
62 of 108 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony Xperia E
Good phone, easy to use
Cat
from Leicestershire
,16 February 2014
This is my first smartphone. I've found it easy to use and it has all the features I need. It has been easy to install new apps. Battery life seems fine and the phone is responsive. Good value for money.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
47 of 93 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony Xperia E
Great Little Ringer
Gray
from London
,15 February 2014
Great phone for doing quick phone calls and texts. The screen is a bit small for my liking and I would have liked there to be a focus button on the camera side button. Can be quite laggy when turning on but what else would you expect for a £70 phone.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
31 of 67 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony Xperia E
A good quality phone
Abunwasi
from Ilford
,29 January 2014
The Sony Xperia E phone is a cute smart phone with easy to use features. It takes sharp pictures and the screen is wide enough for easy navigation and scrawling.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
68 of 120 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony Xperia E
Great Mobile
Jaguar
from South Wales
,29 January 2014
I am not an expert by any means. I use my phone as a phone to text and occasionally to take photos. I don't play games although may use phone GPS. This phone is super easy to use. The touch screen is great and the predictive text I think is amazing. I had a far more expensive mobile which would not connect to my car's blue tooth other than very occasionally which was so frustrating. This phone has connected no problem at all. I love it!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
57 of 102 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony Xperia E
Main Problem
nudgebar
from Rochester
,29 January 2014
I have tried all I know to get the phone to connect to my desk top computer but it will not communicate. It's fine with my old laptop but I rarely use this so it's rather inconvenient.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
46 of 92 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 Next