The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 Review

Print page
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Sony Ericsson Xperia X10

Average Customer Rating:
3.812 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(117 Reviews) 110
79 of 117(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

WIN UEFA Champions League Final tickets

Say hello to the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10, an innovative, intuitive Android smartphone.

This stylish, sophisticated handset is powered by a Snapdragon processor and has masses of internal memory; so you can multitask and access features instantly.

The brilliant 4 inch display is so crisp and clear that it's perfect for viewing videos or web browsing on the go. Make sure to invest in a screen protector to keep your smartphone's display free from scratches, dust and fingerprints.

See all your communications in one place with Timescape - an infinite conversation between you and your contacts. Select a friend's contact card from the virtual rolodex, press their photo to see details, and tap the infinite button to toggle between texts, emails, Twitter tweets, Facebook updates and photos they're tagged in.

Mediascape manages your music, photos and videos. Swipe the screen to see local and online content, then tap to select and play. Press the infinite button while playing a track to pull information about the artist from the web. Listen via the sharp stereo speakers, wirelessly with a stereo Bluetooth headset, or through your favourite pair of headphones.

With a pure 854 x 480 pixel display that's perfect for gaming and movie playback, as well as a 1GB memory and an 8GB microSD card included in the box, the Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 can be used as an all-in-one entertainment centre. If you're a movie buff or a music fan then you'll need to invest in a larger microSD memory card,up to 32GB, which will provide lots more storage space for your favourite files and photos.

Get online in an instant via 3G or WiFi, where a hotspot's available, and browse websites easily with intuitive touch scrolling. HSDPA enhances data transfer rates, so you can quickly download media content, games and apps from Android Market to customise your handset with.


One of the X10's Android-exclusive features is the quick search app, which lets you launch a search for info from your home screen. Ask X10 to find anything, from a phone number to gig times, and your smartphone will hunt for details locally, then go online and pull results down from the web. Search for something more than once and X10 will learn which results are most relevant to you, then display those first next time.

The advanced 8.1 Megapixel camera can turn great moments into lasting memories. Capture crisp pictures and high quality video clips to share with friends. X10's multiple face recognition software automatically scans photos for familiar faces, and can tag up to five of your contacts. Tapping on a tagged contact in an image lets you call or text them.

The Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 takes mobile entertainment and multitasking to the next level. From Bluetooth to Assisted GPS satellite navigation, X10 has everything you could need on the move. Seeing as your new smartphone will be your portable web browser, MP3 player, camera and more, make sure to keep it safe from bumps and scratches, with an Xperia X10 case.

 

Taste card
  Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 front Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 angleSony Ericsson Xperia X10 back Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 walkman  
Customer Reviews for Sony Ericsson Xperia X10
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next
Review 1 for Sony Ericsson Xperia X10
FEATURED REVIEW
great phone!!!
from south west
,11 September 2010
great phone once you have set everything up! easy to use once you get the hang of it great for added protection keep unauthorised people out! great for wifi and bluetooth and the andriod market is great too couldnt really ask for a better phone apart from a quicker camera and a light to be put on like the aino and the k750i and k800i :)
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
59 of 67 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony Ericsson Xperia X10
Okay phone
from edinburgh
,26 May 2011
I got this phone on contract last year and only on my second one. battery is poor at most lasting 2 days and for a phone worth over £300, it shoiuld have a flash instead of the light because its rubbish at night
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Review 3 for Sony Ericsson Xperia X10
FAN-blooming-TASTIC!
from Near Leeds.
,20 February 2011
I would 100% deffinately recommend this phone. I recieved the phone on Friday 18th Feb, 2011 at 9.25am and I haven't been able to put it down since! It is such an easy phone to get used to and does just about everything. I recently had an iPhone 3GS and I rate the Xperia X10 1000x more better! It kinda does what an iPhone does, but much much more and it has BLUETOOTH!!!! Which I am over the moon about! :) It has an amazing 8.1mp camera and flash!! (Also over the moon about) iPhone has a 3mp camera, no flash, no bluetooth, basically iPhone is rubbish! Can you see why I bought the X10? :D I am really happy with the X10 and think I will be sticking with it for a long long time. I find the texting easy, the graphics are amazing. Games are brilliant too! Goodness, I could go on and on and on about how FANTASTIC this phone is! HIGHLY recommended, Sony Ericsson have done a brilliant job! Thank you :)
 
My Product Recommendations
Sony Ericsson Xperia X10
3.8 out of 5(117)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony Ericsson Xperia X10
gr8 fone
,17 February 2011
best fone ive ever used.only problem ios battery life...lasts for max 4 days without being used
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 5 for Sony Ericsson Xperia X10
turns it self off every minute
from liverpool
,14 February 2011
this phone is the worst phone ever it turns it self off every minute . THE KEY PAD SWITCHS AROUND EVERY TIME with out you doing any thing . it is poor 0/10
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony Ericsson Xperia X10
brilliant A* :) best purchase ever
from suffolk
,02 February 2011
i have only had thus phone for a couple of days but im finding it a great purchase. everything on it is so easy to use... the handset is a brilliant size especially for using the apps from the android market.
its generally quick and sensitive to touch, the internet is so quick and easy to use. when turning the phone on you use the set up scheme which asks you for a email address or your facebook or twitter account so all your messages or notifications get sent straight to your phone and when going on these sites saves all the hassle of logging in.
has a brilliant camera although it is quite slow to use, and takes a few seconds to capture a picture which is the only downside.
i could talk for ages about this phone but i think i covered the most important bits.
i would although recommend that you get Geek Squad to your bill although it may cost a bit it covers theft and damage on your phone. also i would recommend a screen protector and a case for your phone to stop any chips or scratches...
thanks cpw x
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony Ericsson Xperia X10
Sony Ericsson Xperia X10
from Portsmouth
,02 February 2011
This phone has these problems. First the Keyboard does not function in Landscape for all operations, like entering contacts, changing Wi-Fi Key etc. It will only operate for messaging and Web Browsing in The LANDSCAPE mode. The Font size is too small to read easily and select phone and e-mail, web sites details. The only positive thing is the Camera Quality, but as a Business Person, I need it as a Communication device, not for taking Pictures. Overall a bad choice. The T-Mobile G1 was MUCH better.
 
My Product Recommendations
Samsung Galaxy S
4.4 out of 5(166)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony Ericsson Xperia X10
Worst fone ever
from UK
,26 January 2011
ive had this fone now since july 2010 and when i first got it i thought yes woo amazing fone soo mch better than the iphone........... BIG mistake over the past month i have had 4 replacement as it keeps getting fault after fault after fault. previusly i had the sony ericsson w705 and i thought that was bad this is worse yeah it looks good the camera is great the apps you can get are very good (most of them) but after the experience ive had with this fone its not worth the hassle ive read some of the other comments and it seems im not the only one who feels this way.
good points (there are a few);
camera, apps, screen quality.
Bad points
everything else realiability poor, battery rubbish but same for most smartphones call sound garbage.
if u think about getting this fone then dont as u will spend most of ur time waiting in line to ur compant trying to get it fixed.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony Ericsson Xperia X10
epic failure
from wales
,17 January 2011
i got this phone in july last year and allready it has completely broke it wont charge or turn on when it did work it crashed and would rarely work much any way when i playe the music it wasnt very loud and would freeze if too much was opened i wouldnt call it good i'd call it bad its going back to the shop tomorrow as i have a warranty on it i didnt get it on contract and wasted £400 on it.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony Ericsson Xperia X10
Very dissapointing
from cambridge
,11 January 2011
this phone looks good but it just doesnt work , its got many faults such as freezing crashing , and the battery life is just poor compared to some other models in its price range , if you want reliability dont buy , its only good for the apps which arent that great and the fact it has a big screen and it looks beautiful i prefer my blackberry bold 9700 . the buttons also sometime stick together too much
 
My Product Recommendations
BlackBerry Torch 9800
4.1 out of 5(195)
 
 
 
BlackBerry Bold 9780
4.4 out of 5(161)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Review 11 for Sony Ericsson Xperia X10
poor battery it can't last for a day
from london
,06 January 2011
This phone battery is sooo poor thet it can't last for a day even at all you didn't play music .
 
My Product Recommendations
iPhone dock
3 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
HTC Desire
4.3 out of 5(188)
 
 
 
HTC Desire Z
4.2 out of 5(17)
 
 
 
Samsung Galaxy S 16GB
4.8 out of 5(11)
 
 
 
BlackBerry Bold 9780
4.4 out of 5(161)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony Ericsson Xperia X10
Looks good, performs bad
from Manchester
,23 December 2010
A great looking smartphone packed with lots of good features but is shockingly bad when it comes to actually functioning as a phone. Do not buy for the following reasons:
1) In call volume is much too low (even at highest setting) rendering any call outside or in a busy place almost impossible as you cannot hear the other person.
2) Texting via the touchscreen Qwerty keyboard is a very very very frustrating affair, despite having a big screen the keyboard layout is terrible compared to iPhone (3 & 4) and similar HTC models. The spacebar is too small and frequent mistypes occur. It is interesting to see the HTC Desire Z incorporating a keyboard, this is definitely what this phone needed.
3) Battery life is horrible, having to charge everynight even after minimal use and a propensity to switch itself off cause further rage!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony Ericsson Xperia X10
awsome phone
from london
,22 December 2010
Hi there i have had this phone for 5 weeks and it is the best phone i have had in years i think it beats the HTC, nokia N8 by far if you are a big fan of apps then this is the perfect phone for you, you will have no problems its very fast working and the screen size is brilliant for watching movies and using the internet my advice is if your buying a phone buy this one
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony Ericsson Xperia X10
A+
,19 December 2010
this phone is amazing i love it and would urge anyone to get it ! :) its easy to use and has great features such as timescale (which can be turned off) the internet is fast and looks great on the big screen. The litle light that flashes when you have recieved a text/missed call is very useful. if you use facebook a lot this is the phone for you, you can update your status on timescale without even visiting the website. the market is great for games and apps. i found this phone easy to use , reliable and just a godsend i would urge you to buy you wont be dissapointed + the camera - the only thing i the keyboard when typing a text the send arrow is so close to the space key i have often sent texts early while accidently pressing the arrow instead of the space.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony Ericsson Xperia X10
Worlds Worst Phone
from England
,15 December 2010
I'v had this phone for a wile now, the back's fallen off, battery falls out when ever it drops, freezes, poor battery life, rubbish at reseving texts and poor wifi. And it's been like this from day one. Do not buy this phone.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
1 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony Ericsson Xperia X10
beast of a phone
from Warminster
,13 December 2010
everything about this phone is amazing, the only problem is the battery it last about 1 day and thats when it been fully charged.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 17 for Sony Ericsson Xperia X10
AMAZING
from London
,11 December 2010
This phone is amazing. its soooooooo easy to use and is a perfect size. I LOVE IT !!!!!!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 18 for Sony Ericsson Xperia X10
Excellent Handset
from Bristol
,10 December 2010
the phone is perfect. i just recieved the 2.1 android update and the phone is much more responsive. It was very quick before but now the phones software is flawless.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony Ericsson Xperia X10
worst phone ever
from birmingham
,08 December 2010
This phone has continually broke on me the 3rd time i was told i wasn't allowed a completely different phone until it was the fourth time that it had broken. The people who repair the
phone have had this phone longer then i actually have. Would not recommend at all.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony Ericsson Xperia X10
X10
from Newcastle
,08 December 2010
It is confirmed that the X10 WILL receive MULTI TOUCH Q1 2011
Great phone, will impress your friends just by the size of the screen.
What can you say, 8mega pixel camera ,HD video recording. Brilliant clarity on the photos.
Google Android OS is amazing, better than Apple iOS due to the fact Android lets you do more and you're not restricted. Battery life has vastly improved but like any Android it does require charging once every other day/daily.
It looks nice simple to use.. great phone, the only thing letting it down isnt the hardware, its the software, Sony Ericsson have not been fast enough to keep up with the latest Android releases, but now i think they have learnt their lesson, this was the flagship phone for 2010, new flagship phone 2011 due in march, if you cant wait then this is a great phone. :) Peace
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next