The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S

Average Customer Rating:
4.59 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
38 of 39(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

Capture stunning 3D photos in a snap, with Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S. The most powerful, brilliant Xperia smartphone yet, it’s super-fast and beautiful, with a slim and stylish design.

1.4GHz Snapdragon™ S2 processor for 25% faster camera action
With the fastest processor of any Xperia smartphone so far, arc S loads up in less time and lets you shoot and save your pictures in a snap. Get the games, apps and videos you want, without the wait. Arc S is 20% faster at web browsing than the original Xperia arc too, so you can access web content and load YouTube™ clips in a matter of milliseconds. Learn more about Snapdragon™.

3D sweep photography
To see amazing 3D details in your photos and videos, select Sony’s 3D Sweep Panorama and catch the scene. Now amaze your friends and family by showing them off on your smartphone’s big, beautiful screen, or on a 3D TV. The award-winning Exmor R™ for mobile CMOS sensor lets you capture high-quality, bright pictures and videos, even in poor light conditions.

Reality Display with Mobile BRAVIA® Engine
Enhanced contrast. Richer colours. Less image noise. The Reality Display with Mobile BRAVIA® Engine makes arc S’s super-wide, 4.2", LED back-lit screen sharp and crisp. And through reduced light reflection, the picture stays clear when you're outdoors, too.

Sony Entertainment Network
Facebook is built right into your Xperia arc S smartphone. See, share, like and comment on tracks and photos straight from your music player or gallery. Share and recommend the apps you like, and like the music you love. Even direct from the FM radio. Check out what your friends are recommending with the Music & Videos app.

Facebook inside Xperia™
Xperia neo has a super fast internet connection over your 3G mobile network or home Wi-Fi hub. It comes with tons of connectivity options, social networking features and a powerful web browser, so you can stay in sync with your updates, emails and live feeds on the move.

Powered by Android™
Xperia arc S is an Android powered smartphone, with access to over 250,000 amazing apps and games, plus the Google services you rely on every day, including Google Maps™, Google web search and Google Talk™ instant messenger.

With advanced GPS to help you navigate, a HDMI port for connection to your TV, Sony Ericsson Timescape™ for easy social networking and a whole heap of Sony content services, arc S is the ideal smartphone for movie buffs and music fans. It looks and feels brilliant.

Why buy from us?
  Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S back Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S angle  
Customer Reviews for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S
1 2 Next
Review 1 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S
FEATURED REVIEW
Fantastic amazing fabulous phone!
from Nottingham
,30 November 2011
Absolutely love this phone. The display is brilliant. It's really easy to use. The sound is fantastic. The camera is exceptional. Cannot find anything negative to say about this phone. So glad I chose this one!
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
28 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S
FEATURED REVIEW
Arc S
from leeds
,21 November 2011
This is great phone. Utilising key exclusive features such as Xperia inside facebook, and the 3D panaramic camera. Really stands out. Dual core isnt supported by android at mo anyway so a 1.4ghz single core is fantastically powerful.
Recommend to anyone wanting high end android. 8mp camera module (the same one thats used in the Iphone4s) But as it is supported by an Exmor R sensor, it performs better in low light conditions. Sony Mobile Bravia engine for more vivid colours. No air gap display so glare is not an issue. Its a great phone to have and I love mine! For those who aren't used to android- you need to expect 1 days usage tops as the devices are mini computers and battery drain on all android is to be expected. Gone are the days of 4 days inbetween charge> Utilise App killers and turn your internet off at night and you will extend your battery life. Using android 2.3.4 and it WILL get 4.0 icrecream sandwich. A fantastic phone, highly recommended. Sony Ericsson + Android = Awesome!
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S
from Dumfries
,05 June 2012
I love this phone got it for christmas as a present and enjoyed using it, I was hoping for the iphone 4 or the iphone 4s but then started to think this is much better..
The screen is massive and very touch sensitive, which makes playing games and fast scrolling very good. Also another feature of the phone is that the camera is very fast when you go to snap a picture. It can be updated to the latest android 4.0, I have updated mine to it and its made it even better but still the same more or less. The only downside to it is that the battery life is not great but came be sorted by turning the brightness down, does not have all the apps like the iphones but android will get there!!
10/10 for this phone would highly recommend to buy it worth every penny..
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S
Let down by lack of ram
from London
,21 May 2012
Had this phone since 1 May 2012...... overall its a great phone...Its slim looks make it look classy and makes the Apple Iphone4S and Samsung SII look boring and square....
In black or dark blue Arc S looks stunning....Has the best 8mp camera around... This camera matches the Iphone 4s.... it also has 720p HD camcorder built in ...
Sound from the phone is brilliant... the screen is brilliant and is pin sharp.
Arc S has lots of great features ... it has a fast single core 1.4 ghz cpu.... touch screen is very responsive....
The Arc S can do anything an Apple Iphone4S or Samsung SII can do ..... its brilliant..
The Arc S uses the same Android apps and operating system as all other Android smartphones and tablets including the supersonic Samsung SII and now the hypersonic SIII.....
Sony have given Arc S some bloatware which is useless .... but thats not that bigger problem.
Instead of bloatware Sony should have built in a backup and restore app such Mybackup (which is brilliant and can be down loaded from Google play)...
Trust me on any smartphone you need this or similar app to backup your entire phone.
There is one huge flaw... lack of onboard ram ... due to this even with its fast cpu and great specs the Arc S slows down to crawling pace or even crashes if you down load lots of apps and forget to move them to SD card as there isn't enough ram to do lots of things at the same time..... thats very annoying.
In comparison the Samsung SII has 16gb of built in ram and same 32 gb SD card slot as Arc S but Samsung flys as 16gb of ram is plenty of space for all apps.
On all Android phones including Arc S and Samsung SII even if you move the apps to SD card some apps refuse to be moved and they stay in ram and slow the phone down.....
This isn't the fault of the phone .... its the fault of programmers who make those apps....
Sony's 1st line support staff are good... but don't know as much they should....
Overall Sony made a great phone and I like it a lot..... but its been very very badly let down by lack of onboard ram.... they should have looked at the Samsung SII and similar phones as they all have loads of ram and run fast....
£400 for this phone is to much .... if it was £200 then even with the above flaw it would still be brilliant value for money...
But for £400 get the Samsung SII .....
 
My Product Recommendations
Samsung Galaxy S II
4.7 out of 5(287)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S
!st Android Phone
from Dorset
,16 May 2012
I am new to using this type of mobile and was very impressed with how easy it is to navigate. Took a well to set some items up but with the help of Youtube and my local Carphone Warehouse store all seems to be working well. The camera is fantastic and all the features that I have used so far are very quick. My only quibble is the battery which doesn't last very long but then this could be that I "play" with the phone alot and that this will settle down.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S
feels cheap
from mk
,16 May 2012
Feels like a Nokia it's just cheap I'd rather spend more money on a iPhone as im on My arc s now and it's so annoying it corrects things for you and even though you spelt it right
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S
this phone is amazing
from Leicester
,14 May 2012
this phone is truly incredible!! bests my friends iphone 4s camera and is sooooooooooo easy to use!!!! only my second phone but is better than anyone else's i have tried!!! is very very slim phone so have to use a case when it is in bag etc but if i dont get my bag thrown about so much it would probably be fine. BEST PHONE EVER!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S
4.6 out of 5(39)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S
FAB
from Bradford
,03 May 2012
I only chose this phone because it was similar to my old one. But once i received it i realized it was symilar but SOOOO much better. The camera is amazing quality and its slim line design gives apple competition! its easy to use and the image quality on the screen is to die for. The qwerty on screen keyboard takes some getting used to but can be changed to a normal one if so desired although i now find typing on it much easier than before. Finally the android market is perfect with thousands of games you can download for free, and you can keep track of their download in the top bar of your home screen, so important information is never too far away.
I would recommend this phone to anyone who wants a good all round phone for games, media and as a camera. but if you want a simple phone with simple features then this is not the one for you... i however love it!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S
phone love
from Oxfordshire
,24 April 2012
I have had many Sony Ericsson phones, some good some bad but the arc is by far the best so fast and easy lots of improvements. So yea im in love again happy happy!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 10 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S
Got this phone abroad
from Camberley
,15 April 2012
Great phone much cheaper abroad came with 2 spare batteries and an extra battery charger under £300. overall very good phone would recommend and can upgrade OS to 4.0
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 11 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S
My best ever phone
from Warrington
,11 April 2012
This is more like a mobile pc than a phone. After coming off a standard phone which quite old, it was amazing to see all the features it has. This phone has everything you need and backs it all up in a beautiful package which is nice to look, navigate and feel in the hand. Worth noting is the camera which is very nice!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 12 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S
I really like this phone
from London
,06 April 2012
I hunted round for a phone which is fast, has a high resolution camera and, crucially, has a good battery life as I don't want it to be running flat during the day. The Experia does all those things. Batteries on smartphones never last that long, but I can get 2 full days of normal use, and can comfortably go a whole day with much more intensive use. I really can't find fault with this phone.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S
Great product
from Bournemouth
,03 April 2012
After using this phone for 2 weeks i have found it to be excellent. It feels nice the hand operates smoothly and has great sound. The battery life is good. I can easily get 2 days out of it (turned off at night) with reasonable use of the MP3 player and apps.
The MP3 player is very good and clear - and despite what i have read will operate with standard headphones.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 14 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S
very good
from london
,29 March 2012
This phone is very good from its massive screen to its hd games and photos memory is very good and last very long you dont have to syn it with a computer to start using it and the apps are so much easy to download then a i phone, i had a i phone 4 s in white and this beats it hands down. very goood phone ideal for a business men.
Expertise: intermediate
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 15 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S
from Bristol
,28 March 2012
A very neat smart phone, after a few teething problems due basically to my ignorance of smart phones have really enjoyed using this phone. CPW staff were incredibly helpful giving me some basic lessons on how to use the phone and apps that I find useful and what to avoid. Bought a spare charger to use at work so I don't find the battery dies on me.
More than happy with my choice
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 16 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S
Excellent phone
from Llanelli
,22 March 2012
I have only had this phone for a few days, and a was reluctant to have this phone as i'd always had nokia handsets. but i am soooo pleased that decided to try the sony ericson arc s!!! So easy to use, camera is excellent and all features are easy to access. My husband has had an i phone and i would say this matches it easily!
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 17 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S
Best Purchase Ever
from Newcastle
,28 February 2012
Xperia Arc S is a unbelievable phone.I am a fan of sony ericsson products. First I brought the T230 color display phone and next i've got the Xperia X8. My next hope is to buy Sony ericsson Xperia S. Recently I update my Xperia Arc S to newest version of android and now it runs smoothly,I love this phone very much.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S
Brilliant smartphone!
from London
,05 February 2012
Great phone, hesatated a little as I was going for the htc desire hd,nbut I'm so glad I did not! Cannot wait for android 4.0 to come out! SONY SONY SONY! Also I would highly recommend this phone, BUY BUY BUY!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 19 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S
Xperia Arc S
from York
,31 January 2012
Overall this phone is great, the battery life is very good and it is easy to use. The Phone looks great and it fits into your hand easily, plus the HD camera is excellent.
However at times the touch screen can be a bit slow and the phone itself can also be a bit slow after the screen has been on standby for a while.
But do not let these small problems stop you from buying this phone because the posatives by far outway the negatives.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc S
Fantastic value!
from Cambridge
,24 January 2012
It's not very often you can get a flagship mobile phone on a £20.50 monthly tariff, so this phone is an exceptionally good value.
The phone itself features excellent call quality, lightweight, very slim profile in the pocket, beautiful bright screen and stunning overall design. Fast, responsive screen, reasonably fingerprint-resistant. The curved back of the phone actually makes it lie very comfortably in the hand - a nice touch.
The camera is, for a phone, quite good at 8 Mpixels with lots of nice features like smile detection. The camera key requires an unusually firm press to activate the shutter however - most users may prefer the screen-touch option instead.
Battery life is typical but not exceptional for this type of phone - a single charge will comfortably get me through a day of fairly heavy use. If I was really hitting the battery hard I would not want to leave home without the recharger. Happily this is a very compact AC plug which connects to the end of the standard USB connector cable, so there's not too much to carry with you.
Connectivity to my home WiFi and PC (Windows 7) was absolutely effortless. Syncing with my Google Mail and Facebook is very fast. Have not tried the phone with Bluetooth devices yet so I can't comment.
As expected, as a music player the phone is excellent and the ability to use Winamp (as on all Android phones) is a joy.
Regarding the Orange plan, a very satisfactory unlimited texts, 500MB downloads and 100 minutes call time. No problem. I have to say Orange coverage is a little patchy in the Cambridge area but this is true of all networks I believe.
Finally, this phone deal was not available directly from Orange, so well done Carphone Warehouse. I could have done without the nagging follow-up call to buy insurance from Carphone Warehouse though - I should only have to say "not interested" once, not three times, for the message to get across!
However, last point notwithstanding, this is an excellent phone and for £20.50/month, an excellent bargain, too.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
1 2 Next