The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home
Shop Now At The Carphone Warehouse

Sony Ericsson Xperia arc Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Sony Ericsson Xperia arc

Average Customer Rating:
4.348 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
20 of 23(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

Walk Out Working

Sony Ericsson Xperia arc is a beautiful, sculpted smartphone with Sony display technology and Android™ apps. Add to that a powerful web browser, an award-winning camera and a social media player that connects with Facebook™, and you've got an amazing entertainment experience.

Powered by Android
Xperia arc is powered by Android 2.3 (Gingerbread) and enhanced by Sony Ericsson features. There are over 150,000 apps to choose from online at Android Market™, from Google Maps™ navigation to YouTube™ and thousands of great games.

Designed to be beautiful
Xperia™ arc is comfortable to use and feels great to hold. Just 8.7mm at its thinnest point, arc is one of the slimmest smartphones ever. It's also incredibly light, especially for a phone with a 4.2" display panel and all the latest must have mobile features.

4.2" Reality display
Xperia arc has an extra-wide, extra-brilliant touchscreen that gives you the same great picture quality as a Sony TV! The bright, crisp screen is optimised for your movies, photos and videos, by an exclusive Sony BRAVIA® mobile engine. You'll see the difference in picture quality when flicking through your pics, visiting websites or watching videos.

Award-winning camera
Xperia arc is the first phone to have an 8.1 Megapixel camera lens with an award-winning Exmor R™ sensor, for sharper, clearer photos - even in low light. You can capture your favourite moments in high resolution photos or 720p HD videos, then share them with your friends over Facebook™ just by touching a button.

HD entertainment
You can connect Xperia arc to your home HDTV using the FREE HDMI cable that came with your phone! Watch HD movies with your family and friends in the comfort of your living room, and see the 720p video clips and high-resolution photos you've taken on your phone in their full brilliance.

High speed internet
Xperia arc comes with tons of connectivity options, social networking features and a powerful web browser, so you can stay in sync with your updates, emails and live feeds on the move. There's a fast 3G connection, support for your Wi-Fi home network, and if you have a package that includes internet tethering then you can even use your arc's 3G connection to get your Wi-Fi laptop, netbook or tablet online!

Network Price Promise
  Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc front Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc back  Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc side  Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc angle  
Customer Reviews for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc
1 2 Next
Review 1 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc
FEATURED REVIEW
iPhone Destroyed!
from Nottingham
,17 June 2011
Excellent in every way!
CPU: 1ghz makes it as fast if not faster than the iPhone 4 only beaten by some new dual core devices.
Storage: SD Memory Card, 8GB included and can be increased up to 32gb
Screen: the 4.2" capacative touchscreen is excellent, very bright even in direct sunlight. Very smooth scrolling and pinch to zoom as good as the iPhone.
Battery: I have moderate use each day and can easily get 2 days, if you hammer the features then expect a charge each night. The same goes for any large screen smartphone though
Call Quality: Excellent, the mic on the back of the phone works as a noise cancelling mic when on a call. My clients have no complaints even when calling from a busy train station
Apps: Android so well over 50'000 to choose from so no problems there!
Browsing: With Android 2.3 you get full Flash support so you can watch flash movies within the websites much like you do on your desktop or Laptop computer. Pinch to zoom and auto rotate as well.
Media: I have not had to convert any files yet I have dragged and dropped AAC, MP3, Xvid and Avi files direct onto the memory card and they just worked straight away.
Email: Full exchange and POP/IMAP Support including calendars. I have my Exchange account synced including email, contacts and calendars and my hotmail account synced.
Camera: 8.1 megapixel with the Exmor R sensor, this is the same sensor tech as they use in their digital camera's. As a result the images are crisp and bright even in low light conditions, the LED flash is also nice and bright too. 720p HD movie recording is also fantastic and can be played direct to your TV via the included HDMI cable.
Connectivity:
HMDI, Quad Band, WiFi N, Bluetooth, HSPDA, 3G
Overall I am very impressed, I have had many phones in the past including iPhone 3GS/4G and also the Motorola Milestone but this is the best overall package.
I would shortlist this if you want a top end phone but don't want to be a iClone and like the freedom of not being tied to iTunes for all your music/Movie needs etc.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
54 of 58 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc
Great phone.
from London
,18 October 2011
The only thing i hate is the wifi on this phone. When you connect it to a wifi it drops off after a few minute, sometimes it last a few hours. When I connect it to my home wifi, I have to keep restarting my router. I end up using way more than the internet limit on the contract every month. The camera is reaaly good but it cant zoom in or out... which is a waste. Theres no voice recorder. Other than a few little thing overall its a great phone.. very comfortable to use. Looks great.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 3 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc
Great Phone
from Bedfordshire
,15 October 2011
As I said great phone once you spend about six hours working out all its functions. Have download some great apps with it and can even connect it to my telly via a HD lead (suppiled with phone) to view pictures/videos . Also connects to my hi fi for playing my music.
Dont be taking in by CPW extras sales pattern as it comes with a screen protecter, all touch display phones do. saved myself a tenner there.
Canceld my web pack as I only connect it Via my home wifi or there are lots of free wifi hotspots out and about that is another saving of a fiver a month over 24 months
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 4 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc
style,look, multimedia and updates
from Birmingham
,26 September 2011
My sonyericsson arc is wonderful, I find it easy to use and I have set it up the way I want. With my apps in folders and music and video playlist shortcuts located on my homepages.
The screen is really clear; I watch HD movies and music videos all the time. My arc is a part of my everyday life, I use it at work to communicate (whatsapp, Skype, Gmail, yahoo and business email) and listen to music (albums and playlists on my phone and the radio) In the gym I listen to music and watch videos while I’m working out, in the car I listen to music and talk. On public transport I play games and read apps.
I also use my arc to test apps that i have created. its brill
My kids play on my phone for hours; watch movies and iplayers through the television via my playstation or the hdmi cable. I keep my phone up to date with the sonyericsson pc companion and I have backed up my calendar and all my contacts on my sonyericsson account on the sonyericsson website.
 
My Product Recommendations
SanDisk memory stick micro (M2) 16GB
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 5 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc
BEST PHONE I HAVE EVER HAD
from UK
,25 September 2011
i got this phone 1 month ago and waited b4 i wrote a review to be sure it was good x
bettery is goood i get 2 or even3 days depending on how much u use the apps or social networking.
i use facebook A LOT and still only have to charge once every 2 days
i would defo reommend this phone.
sorry i phone lovers but this phone is (in my opinion) better than the iphone.xx
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc
Grrrrrreaaat!
from Manchester
,25 September 2011
I used to have an iphone4, i would,ve kept it but the microsim issue was annoying, so i brought this phone...and you can call me THE HAPPIEST KID IN THE WORLD!!!!!!!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 7 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc
Good
,22 September 2011
A good little phone. pros, lots of apps in the android market. Small, and fast wifi and 3G, cons screen small battery life could be a bit longer. overal a great phone.
 
My Product Recommendations
Sony Ericsson Xperia Neo
4.8 out of 5(20)
 
 
 
Sony Ericsson Xperia arc
4.3 out of 5(23)
 
 
 
Samsung Galaxy S
4.4 out of 5(166)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc
Terrible, unreliable, crashes, awful
from Somerset
,26 August 2011
Had a iPhone 3g. This is terrible, no comparisson, took back after a week and refunded. What other reviewers are saying about as good as an iphone?? Ridiculous!
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc
Battery better than others have said
from Uk
,17 August 2011
A great Android phone running gingerbread. After reading reviews i expected the battery to be terrible but it lasts a day or two with average use. Just as long as any other smartphone including iphones. Sorry iphone lovers but there is nothing wrong with the arc's battery.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc
Sony Erricson Arc
from London
,16 August 2011
Ive had this phone for about 1 week and ive loved it so far apart from the battery life which is awfull. Also it is easy to use and i reccomend u 2 get it.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc
from staffordshire
,11 August 2011
This Phone is really easy to use and looks great would highly recommend there is 1 fault with the phone the battery life is very poor but if buy another battery it would be fine :)
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc
Incredible! Love Sony Ericsson
from London
,10 August 2011
Extremely easy to use and does pretty much anything you could want a phone and laptop to do.
This is my 7th Sony Ericsson phone. Was very tempted to switch to HTC but very happy that I did not.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc
Impressed
from East midlands
,26 July 2011
I've had the phone for two weeks now after returning a HTC phone while the HTC was a good phone there was a few glitches with it mainly the network reception, i have found the Arc a lot easier to use the screen is bright and clear to view whilst the HTC's screen was larger and the phone was larger over all the Arc is a better size to work with. The Battery life is not the best it is about average for the smartphones due to the apps being used.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc
Great phone
,22 July 2011
Very easy to use and does pretty much anything you could want a phone to do. This is about my 8th Sony ericsson phone on the trot. Was very tempted to switch to an iphone or HTC but very happy that i did not.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc
Great phone, ridiculously poor battery
from london
,18 July 2011
This phone is great, the screen is fantastic. The touch screen isn't as fast as the iphone but is still very good. It's also a bit plasticy compared to the iphone but it's thinner. The battery is terrible, you will charge it everyday with very light use. To sum up the phone is excellent, I got it for £250 and for that it's amazing. I wouldn't pay the £400 most places want as for that price you mights as well wait for the new iphone even though it will be ridiculously overpriced even on contract. If you can always buy the phone outright and get a sim only contract that is 1 month or 12 months long. Buying a phone on a 24 month contract is always very expensive and you are stuck with it for 2 years. Getting a phone on contract for 18 or 24 months is like buying a car on finance "only £35 and pay nothing for the phone", you will pay a lot more for the phone in the end, don't rationalise it with "but I get 3000 minutes and 3000 texts" no-one uses that much the phone companies trick you into thinking your contract is a really a good one, it very very rarely is. Also carphone is probably the best place to get a contract if you are too impatient to save up and buy the phone outright.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc
Happy customer
from Liverpool
,12 July 2011
i have only had the xperia arc for a couple of hours and already i am in love with this phone. it is so easy to use, looks great, is even child friendly with its downladable childlock app. would definitely reccomend to any1. very happy with this product
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc
arc
from ilfracombe
,04 July 2011
I've had my Arc for a month now, having received it on the day of release. My favourite aspect of the phone is how it manages to pack such a large screen into a relatively small frame. The 16:9 aspect ratio also makes the phone easier to handle, as it cuts down on the phone's width. The camera button is a bonus, but frankly I don't take photos often enough to care that much.
Personally, I would have swapped the camera button for a search button any day. If I had a search button, I wouldn't need Google's search widget on the home screen as a button would make the widget redundant.
And why is the power/sleep button on the top of the phone? It's used constantly, it should be more accessible. The Galaxy S2 appears to have gotten this right by placing this button on the side of the phone, right where your thumb would be.
On the whole though, I'm rather chuffed with this phone.
P.S. @Ed: 'Exmor' is a technology used by Sony in their CMOS sensors. 'Exmoor' is a national park in Somerset and Devon. Just saying :)
exelent phone every thing is perfect the video cam is perfect it has a very very crisp video and all the features are immense
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc
The Truth!
from London
,27 June 2011
having worked for carphones main rival in the industry for over 4 years ive seen a lot of phoes come and go, ive been around since the nokia N70 and seen many would be contenders but this is by far the best phone ive ever had.
initially i didnt even want it but after seeing some pics i decided to do some research on the handset and i was not so impressed. Its a little 2nd rate in some features when compared to sam galaxy S2 but this phone punches well above its weight. dont let anyone knock the single processor as opposed to a dual, its fast slick and an excellent multi tasker, the bravia display is fluid and vivd and the HD recorder is unrivaled. Be sure to charge your phoe for atleast 12 hours when you first get it to condition the battery. I had to take my first one back as it only gave me 18hrs stand by and thats only after not making phone calls or texts, turning the display right down, turning off all data and putting the phone in 2g mode. factory settings lack some basic features like a note pad or a converter but these can all be purchased free via android market. if you've had a nokia music phone and bought song before 2010 your gonna have some issues other than that all thats left to say is "whats an iphone?" its that good
 
My Product Recommendations
Samsung Galaxy S
4.4 out of 5(166)
 
 
 
HTC HD7 on O2
4.4 out of 5(17)
 
 
 
Nokia E7-00
4 out of 5(24)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc
Simply the best !!!
,25 June 2011
I was waiting for this phone over 3 months , but it was all worthed. I did not want to go with everyone getting an i phone 4 and was so happy my friends couldnt convert me to an i phone user.
As for the ARK is the best looking, probably the fastest.
The cam is amazing...try the EXMOR at night.
The Bravia engine makes the colours so crisp and not artificial like on the Samsung G II. The battery is a let down but with such a big screen and so many fitures...is understandable. Tip: You can download task managers app from the Android market (Free) and disconect all active apps. Also turn og GPS and Data trafic complitely when you dont need it. Reduse Brightnes to 50%.... That will help your battery to last just over 48 hours. Not bad
Hope you enjoy using your ARK
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sony Ericsson Xperia arc
HD Recording
from London
,22 June 2011
Beautiful phone and well equiped. HD recording stutters. I have found about 20 disappointed Arc users due to this issue. All others, check your HD recording now.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
1 2 Next