The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Samsung Wave II 8530 Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Samsung Wave II 8530

Average Customer Rating:
4.535 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(116 Reviews) 116
109 of 116(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

The Samsung Wave II S8530 gives you a clearer view of your world with its Super Clear LCD display and powerful Bada software. Built to be stylish and user-friendly, Wave II helps you to make the most of your photos, movies, apps, maps, chats and games. The connected social networking tools keep you in sync with your contacts.

Super Clear LCD display
Wave II has a large 3.7" display that's brighter than a traditional mobile screen and easier to see in direct sunlight, at any angle. It uses up less power too, improving battery life.

Super-fast typing with Trace
With Trace by T9 you can quickly fire off messages. Instead of typing each individual letter you just slide your finger from one to the next and your phone fills in the word.

Powerful 1GHz processor & faster Wi-Fi
With Wave II's powerful 1GHz processor you can do more, faster. The Wi-Fi b/g/n connection gives you a great web browsing experience, and you can download content quicker.

Samsung Bada software and Samsung Apps
With Samsung Bada things are simpler, easier and more fun. You can easily customise your phone and make it more you. Bada also gives you access to over 2,000 Samsung Apps.

HD video recorder & playback and 5 Megapixel camera
Wave II's HD video player is compatible with DivX and Xvid file formats. You can record your very own 720p HD video clips and watch them back, or snap crisp 5 Megapixel photos.

Samsung Social Hub & live phone book
The Samsung Social Hub brings your friends and family to your homescreen, while the live phonebook displays your contacts' social network updates in one easy view.

Why buy from us?
  Samsung Wave II 8530 front Samsung Wave II 8530 side Samsung Wave II 8530 back Samsung Wave II 8530 angle  
Customer Reviews for Samsung Wave II 8530
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next
Review 1 for Samsung Wave II 8530
FEATURED REVIEW
Excellent
from London
,24 September 2011
Apart from huge price drop ,this phone is brilliantly smooth and offers premium design ,nice screen (comparable to Amoled) and with upcoming update to Bada 2.0 with touchwiz 4 it will be even better .Worth buying !!!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
65 of 67 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Wave II 8530
GREAT
,20 December 2011
Its really good x but it does freeze afew times but its a good phone
coz its a big phone you tend to drop it more
easy to use and works really good
there isnt really any flaws with it i can see with it xx
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 3 for Samsung Wave II 8530
great phone for the price
from South East
,07 November 2011
Excellent phone, Considering the spec you get with it. Its pretty much the same as a galaxy s, but not android operating system. It has a bright screen and a fast processor. apps is very disspapointing as it uses bada platform.
battery life is excellent, web browsing is a doddle.
fantastic screen. and nice size to hold. buy it. Not much built in memory but its expandable buy micro sd.
 
My Product Recommendations
Samsung Galaxy S II
4.7 out of 5(287)
 
 
 
HTC Sensation
4.1 out of 5(37)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 4 for Samsung Wave II 8530
Best Smart Phone !!
from Nottingham
,05 November 2011
With this phone ( my first smartphone) I am in awe with its performance. The camera is brilliant with the pictures crisp and clear, The music player is awesome with a volume and sound quality better than my other expensive player.When watching a video with the inflight mode engaged , all I can say is WOW !!
The video camera is good and the recordings when played back through my laptop once again are brilliant.
I can connect to the internet at any local hotspot and keep up with all my social contacts. Why spend megamoney on "other brand smartphones" when this one does everything that you need? A very contented young 72 yr old man.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Wave II 8530
Recommended
from Strathclyde
,04 November 2011
This phone met all my expectations, The screen is easily read outdoors with great clarity with responsive touch. I've no great need for a million different apps that would be available on Android therefore i've got a great smart phone at a bargain price. No complaints at all.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Wave II 8530
Top smart phone
from Yorkshire
,30 October 2011
Bought this as a fill in phone until my upgrade in March.Having previously had a galaxy s, iphone, blackberry i can highly recommend this phone especially if your on a budget.
Yes it doesnt have the apps of iphone or android but apart from that it wins in every department.
Screen 3.7 inch clear LCD. Looks as good as my galaxy did - quality
Battery life - best i have had on a smart phone. The first phone i havent had to worry about it lasting a full day.You will never get a smart phone that last 2 days unless you dont use it and then you dont need a smart phone.
Apps - small on numbers but there is quality there is you look for it.Most apps are simply web links so with a bit of browsing i have all the stuff i had on my iphone like Flixter, IMDB ,sky sports etc...
Storage - only 1gb to install to but uses mirco sd so the skys the limit.
#size and feel - metal case ozzes quality - feels a good size without being too big.
Best phone you can get for £100 plus bada 2 coming which will add live wallpaper and live panels.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 7 for Samsung Wave II 8530
Great Value
from London
,30 October 2011
Excellent phone, easy to use for a newbie like me, dont expect many great app's but it has everything else, camera is outstanding and wifi, HD video recording , great battery life and 32GB expansion slot are a bonus. You can leave 3G on and the battery will only drain about 15% in 24 hours.Brilliant phone.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Wave II 8530
AMAZING
from ireland
,30 October 2011
YOU HAVE TO GET THIS PHONE AS EVERYONE SAY LOW BATTERY THATS BECAUSE THEY DONT CHARGE IT FULLY ! THIS IS MY 3RD PHONE AFTER THE IPHONE BROKE FAR BETTER THAN THE IPHONE AND BLACKBERRY!
IVE HAD THIS PHONE FOR 1 WHOLE YEAR BRILL NEVER GETTIN ANOTHER PHONE AGAIN!!!! ( P.S dont listen to the bad reveiw)
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Wave II 8530
Good phone, Bad operating system
from London
,30 October 2011
This phone is very good for making calls, sending texts, taking good pictures and using Facebook. The screen size and clarity is also decent.
However, the Samsung operating system, BADA is rubbish and a waste of space. No free google maps and definitely missing loads of free apps and games that are available on Android and iphones.
If you can get similar features and price, opt for an Android phone.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Review 10 for Samsung Wave II 8530
from Leicester
,29 October 2011
good phone overall but only bad things. only Samsung apps and only java support on bada 2.0. so noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo Skype
 
My Product Recommendations
HTC Wildfire S
4.1 out of 5(212)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 11 for Samsung Wave II 8530
Superb phone
from Milton Keynes
,28 October 2011
It's a geat phone, screens is amazing. The only problem I have it restars quite a lot, but i think it's the software problem. I think I will wait for the bada 2.0 and then if the problem repeats, so I will change my phone, but I will change it to wave, cause i really like it.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Wave II 8530
from Nottingham
,28 October 2011
Had the HTC Wildfife before this but found it really complicated. This was mainly due to the very poor manual that was supplied with it, so I returned it and had the Wave 8530. What a difference. The manual explained everything to an old codger like me. Best phone I have ever had and the price was amazing. Screen excellent, battery good, camera fantastic. Buy it.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Wave II 8530
Brilliant Phone! Worth the price
from Derry
,27 October 2011
Brilliant phone with a very easy to use interface. The bigger screen makes it easier to text. Excellent camera and video player. Great apps in app store
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 14 for Samsung Wave II 8530
good phone for price
from kilmarnock
,26 October 2011
very good phone except battery life not so good,got to charge it every day,,,so hopefully samsung will improve the battery life then the phone will be great,,,
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Wave II 8530
suitable but not amazing
from london
,26 October 2011
Nice looking phone and you do get what you pay for, good for those who just want a basic phone to text and call with but not much else. Does have good battery life but the aps arent great.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 16 for Samsung Wave II 8530
Excellent phone
from Leicester
,26 October 2011
After having a Sony Ericsson W595 for 8 years (which died on me) I purchased this phone. I was amazed by its excellent LCD screen and was also amazed by the applications and other features on this phone. The 5MP camera is absolutley superb, and the internet is lightning speed. My friends at College are in love with this phone and can find any excuse to use it. An excellent purchase, I would reccommend it to everyone.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 17 for Samsung Wave II 8530
Who needs a paranoid Android!!?
from North Wales
,25 October 2011
OK. So it isn't an Android phone and you don't have access to hundreds of thousands of apps, only thousands! How many apps do you need on a phone anyway? What you do get is a super stylish phone with a fast processor and a great screen. If you can live without the apps this is the best buy by far. An android phone as good as this will cost you £300 or more. All I can say is Bada Bada Boom!!! ( apologies to fans of The Fifth Element for that pun!)
The screen is great, the camera produces results as good as a compact camera in good light and the video in HD is similarly excellent. The Bada apps really aren't that bad (Sparkle is a great free timewaster!). All I can say is that I am really pleased with my buy. Go get one today!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Wave II 8530
TOO GREAT!
from London
,25 October 2011
Perfect mobile as Bada os market is developing every day. And bada 2.0 to be released!... battery is abit short but never mind and screen is crystal clear and good size.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 19 for Samsung Wave II 8530
OS issue?
from London
,25 October 2011
Buyers beware, OS cannot be upgraded! Otherwise a good phone at a great price. I would have rated higher were it not for OS issue. If you don't mind about OS upgrading, go for it.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Wave II 8530
Good but basic
from Woking
,25 October 2011
Love this phone it do what it need to do and take good picture, update Facebook well, good sound and smart looking phone! Best for touch screen novice.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next