The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Samsung Galaxy Young Review

Print page
Product Reviews

Samsung Galaxy Young

Average Customer Rating:
3.607 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
19 of 28(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

The Samsung Galaxy Young

The Samsung Galaxy Young is an affordable device that’s perfect as a first smartphone. There are loads of cool features, and even some of the motion features from the mighty Samsung Galaxy S 3.

Slick design and ultra portable.

Designed for portability, the Samsung Galaxy Young is small and light weight, so it’s easy to throw it in a pocket or bag, and it won’t weigh you down. Despite the small size, the screen is still 3.27”, so it’s large enough for photo and video playback, and even a decent size for webpages.

Motion UI from the Galaxy S3.

That’s right, even though the Samsung Galaxy Young is super affordable, it still has some really handy features. Smart Alert is a feature that alerts you to missed calls and notifications. If you missed something, as soon as you pick the Galaxy Young up it’ll vibrate. There’s also Shake to update. Just shake the phone to update things like widgets, making keeping up to date super easy. In a meeting and your phone goes off? Just turn it over to mute the ringer.

Handy camera.

On the back of the Samsung Galaxy Young is a 3MP camera, which is perfect for quick snaps when you're out and about. It'll also take video recordings, so whether you're out with friends, out on a day trip or just at home with your family, photos and videos are easy to shoot.

Games on demand.

You have access to loads of games optimised specifically for your Galaxy Young with the Samsung Game Hub Lite. This means you'll have plenty to entertain you whether you’re on a long train journey, waiting for a friend to arrive or just having a break.

Impressive processor and memory.

The Samsung Galaxy Young has some impressive hardware, including a 1GHz processor and 768MB RAM, around 25% more than in most similar phones. This means you get a faster, snappier phone that's able to run more advanced apps and better games. It's also better at multitasking as it has more RAM, so you can open up a number of apps at once and switch back and forth.

Android Jelly Bean 4.1.

Samsung Galaxy Young uses the Android Jelly Bean 4.1 operating system and it's packed with features and gives access to 750,000 apps. It allows loads of customisation, like changing wallpapers and ringtones, as well as choosing and placing your own shortcuts and widgets for accessing apps and viewing the latest updates. You can also do advanced things like use Google Now. This is an app that automatically tells you about train times and delays when it's time for you to go to work, or notifies you of football results after matches. It can even tell you about nearby restaurants when you're on the move. Looking for a solid smartphone that packs loads of features but won't break the bank? That’ll be the Samsung Galaxy Young then!

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Young
1 2 Next
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy Young
Called Young for a reason
from Hampshire
,22 September 2014
The on-screen keyboard on this phone is designed for tiny children's fingers, not grown-up fingers. My experience with this phone nearly put me off smartphones for ever as getting it to do anything was such a chore- I'd tap away at it and find the apps all around the one I was aiming for had started up, and texting was just impossible as it would select every key in the region of the one I wanted, except the one I wanted. Even the swype feature wasn't accurate enough. I thought a budget smartphone would be a good introduction to them, as I wasn't persuaded I really needed to check my emails or watch videos on the move, but I'd strongly recommend spending a bit more and getting a phone designed for grown-ups as this is more likely to put you off than hook you in, unless you're 12 or have extremely dainty fingers. I got Nokia Lumia instead, which has been great. Another major downside to the Galaxy Young is poor memory usage- the phone's memory will fill up instantly so you need a memory card and the instructions for how to send your downloads to that instead of the phone's memory.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy Young
not intuitive
from Birmingham
,01 August 2014
This is my first Smartphone - yes I know behind the times, but I did not find it at all intuitive - We spent fruitless, very frustrating hours trying to figure out how to answer the phone, and could not work it out - and missed several very important calls. In the end we had to go on to the website once home to understand how to do it. To me if this simple action is not intuitive - whats the point in having the phone!
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
6 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy Young
Not worth the money
from London
,06 May 2014
Bought this phone reduced to £40.00 came with no headphones youd expect this with any handset bought new. Nice design but not enough memory, slow, and has problems within a month or 2 such as stuck on the samsung loading screen and saying low on storage when youve deleted nearly every file and app and is now not letting me into my phone. Overall 2 out of 10. I'd chhose anouther handset if I were you.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
43 of 84 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy Young
good phone for great price
from Bristol
,29 March 2014
Very simple little phone for someone that dont want to buy a very expensive phones very easy to use , fits perfectly in to ur hand also fits perfectly into ur coth pocket .amazing little phone I always think that Samsungs are the best smartphones going.would recommend this to a friend xx
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
39 of 76 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy Young
Does what it says on the tin
from Durham
,27 March 2014
Bought this to replace my S3 which had broken and I needed a phone to see me out of my contract. Does almost everything that its big brother does at the fraction of the price. Very happy with the functions and features. Definitely a contender in today's market
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
41 of 84 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy Young
Good first smart phone
from North East
,26 March 2014
Lovely colour, not too big or heavy. Easy to change it around to how I wanted things arranged, especially as I already had a Samsung tablet which works in a very similar way. Battery seems pretty rubbish, only lasts a day before it needs charging and I hardly used the phone a lot! My kids were very excited that Mummy was finally getting a 'modern phone' and that it (now) has Fruit Ninja on.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
38 of 81 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy Young
Little Wonder
from London
,26 March 2014
I bought this phone for my dad to replace his trusty old Nokia 100 and I must say I am happy with my decision.
Screen: You will hear a lot in blogs and reviews criticizing the screen or processing etc. but from what I can see, the 3.2 inch screen is nice and bright, it doesn't have ambient light sensor but you can adjust brightness from the pull down menu from top so the sensor is hardly missed.
Size: The best thing about this phone is its tiny size. It fits the hand nicely and specially for elders who are coming from dumbphones as it doesn't require any special handling skills.
Processing: The phone works like a charm if you are performing basic functions, obviously for the price you don't expect it to blaze through like an S5 and it doesn't but it never frustrates you.
Storage: One thing I should mention that so many reviews fail to mention; Storage space with in the phone. Cheap android have a flaw where they limit the internal memory to a few hundred MBs which would mean that even though you have an SD card, you wouldn't be able to install much apps as there will be no internal storage left. This one comes with 2GB internal memory and out of that about 1GB is free for you to install apps which is plenty for a good set of applications such as WhatsApp, Viber, Skype and Facebook. After all these, there is still around 600MB left so no issues in that regards.
Accessibility Options: One thing where Android lacks is that tiny screen means tiny buttons, the keyboard is pretty much useless. It works but it looks like grains of rice on screen. there is a Samsung supplied option in the menu that makes text with in certain apps larger such as text messaging but you cant change icon size or label size. However I was able to install an app called Start 8 (if i remember correctly) that is basically a launcher and turned the desktop to mimic that of Windows Phone 8 which is brilliant with big 'unmissable' squares for applications. So now the lil Samsung Galaxy Young is running like a champ and Dad loves it.
give it a go, you wont be dissapointed.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
42 of 85 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy Young
good procesor speed
from Littleport
,13 March 2014
simple to use, good processor speed, easy camera, and good screen size, battery life good but only when you use only for texting and calls, nice color
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
34 of 62 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy Young
Samsung Young S6310n
from Leeds
,13 March 2014
Huge system shock coming from a Nexus 5, but if you need the cheapest android handset possible you can't go wrong.
Fast enough for most simple tasks and no problem with Facebook.
Camera is fine for emergencies and battery life is good in standby.
Good value phone.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
27 of 47 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy Young
Nice little phone
from Lincolnshire
,06 March 2014
I have had a couple of smartphones so far and this is far and away my favourite.It is reasonably easy to use and is small enough to slip in a pocket or handbag.It is a really nice looking little phone too.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
25 of 49 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy Young
Young Galaxy
from Manchester
,05 March 2014
Great phone great colour (red),Samsung has lived up to its usual reputation, second Samsung phone and everything runs smooth, internet is fast and all the apps work well, in short the phone is well worth the money and better than some of the high end phones on the market.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
25 of 43 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy Young
samsung gakaxy young
from southampton
,18 February 2014
It is very easy to operate. My 4 years old doughter is playing on it. Shape is nice and it fits to the hand. Easy goes to every pocket. It has everything what smartphones should have. I bought it as a present for my lady and she was as excited as a baby. We both love it. Exelent choise.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
26 of 54 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy Young
OK but a bit small
from London
,10 February 2014
A replacement for an old iPhone 3 - the Samsung has a slightly smaller screen but that makes a big difference to ease of use. The keyboard is tricky for normal sized (male) fingers.
Menu navigation is not as intuitive as Apple's: sometimes the 'delete' key is on the 'menu' button, sometimes it's at the top of the screen; and the 'back' button is really sensitive, easy to catch when you don't want to.
Downloading contacts as a csv file, via gmail, was easy (after some research), as was music, direct from PC.
Some apps don't seem as slick as their iPhone original versions were. The FM radio app reception is too weak to use.
2Gb of memory (actually 1.48Gb) is not much, when Chrome plus a string of default Google stuff and a handful of other apps takes up 500Mb of that, before music (100 mp3 tracks = 500Mb) and photos.
Can't comment on reliability after 1 week.
Generally seems a reasonable piece of kit, but only because it was free with the plan. Can only recommend if it's free, if you've got small hands, and if you already like Android.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
26 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy Young
Ideal phone
from Basingstoke
,24 January 2014
I'm not a fan of large phones and the choice of reasonably sized phones seems to be diminishing. The Galaxy young is a neat little phone that has everything I need. The biggest plus is the battery life, I don't "play" with it much, but the battery life is around 4days. My last phone (HTC Desire C) was 2days.
The sound quality on calls is also better than I've been used to with smart phones.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
33 of 56 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy Young
first mobile
from liverpool
,22 January 2014
very pleased excellent product the delivery was great, next day, the phone is fairly easy to use think internal memory is very limited but for the price its ok.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
17 of 35 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy Young
brilliant
from suffolk
,16 January 2014
I think this phone is brill..i never get touch key pad phones as they drive me mad but this phone turn on side nice big screen...easy to use and love all the features..best phone yet ..
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
31 of 52 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy Young
Cheap Phone.
from Newport
,11 January 2014
OK lets be clear this phone will not set the world alight, it is NOT a high end super sexy smart phone
It is a fair phone to keep a spare SIM in and use as a hub.
I am used to a HTC One X so this pails into a toy by comparison.
Screen OK but a bit small.
Memory This is the biggest fault with budget Samsung phones the lack of onboard memory means you will be forever wiping the data used by Facebook and twitter . It can take a micro SD card and I would recommend you buy a big one. (Mine came with a 4gb card but i have put a 32gb card in instead)
Processor is slow
Battery It lasts a couple of days between charges but I am using another phone for most things.
Summary
Its a fair backup or second phone to keep that PAYG SIM live. Its great to use for orange Wednesdays etc but its even better to be able to throw in a bag an not bother with for a day or two.
My primary use of this phone is a high function MP3 player that happens to receive texts.
I paid £29.99 on an upgrade price and I recommend that you don't pay more.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
21 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy Young
Worst phone ever
from Yorkshire
,31 December 2013
Battery life poor even on standby. Volume not good even at highest.setting. Much more basics on my old LG phone.Keyboard very difficult to use without a stylus pen
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
18 of 39 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy Young
Big Step forward
from Devon
,07 November 2013
Having had only a week to get used to it so far, I find it a big step forward over my old Nokia. I'm still getting used to a few of the features but overall I'm very pleased so far.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
67 of 111 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy Young
Too expensive for what you get
from Suffolk
,23 October 2013
This is quite a basic touchsceen with no flash or predictive text. Easy to use and battery life so far is good. However I get a message regularly saying that my sim is not inserted whern it is, have to keep restarting. Also the alarm does not work. Nice in red, ideally this phone should be round the £50 mark.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
52 of 103 people found this review helpful.
1 2 Next