The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews

Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini

Average Customer Rating:
4.445 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(519 Reviews) 519
477 of 519(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini

Designed for those that want a powerful and feature packed phone in a smaller size and cost effective price, the Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini is a great all-rounder.

Samsung Galaxy SIII

The essential tech specs.

The 1,500mAh battery is big enough to power the S3 Mini for 430 hours of standby time and up to 7 hours of talk time. With a 4” screen it’s easier to hold than it’s big brother, and with a resolution of 480x800 it’s still nice and sharp with a pixels per inch score of 233ppi. Android Jelly Bean 4.1 is the software it runs, while the processor is a 1GHz dual core variant. On the back the camera is 5MP, while the front facing camera is 1.3MP. For storing your files there’s 8GB, plus a slot for microSD cards up to 32GB (cards sold separately).

4" touchscreen for a smaller, easier to use shape.

The touchscreen on the Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini is a great blend of viewing area and portability. At 4" you can reach every corner of the screen with your thumb for easy one handed use, but it's still a great size for looking at the news on the BBC website, streaming videos on YouTube or looking at your photos from last night. Built using Super AMOLED technology, the screen not only gives vividly bright colours, but also gives better battery life than other technologies.

Samsung Galaxy SIII
Samsung Galaxy SIII

Mini in size, but not on power.

Inside the Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini is a 1GHz dual core processor and 1GB RAM. This enables the S3 Mini to handle any apps you want from the app store, stream HD video content and handle multiple tasks at once. There's also HSPA wireless internet technology, which is a faster version of 3G. This means that your internet connection when on the move is faster and more reliable, letting you get on with whatever you want online.

Smart thinking.

The Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini is designed to be practical for everyday use. Smart Stay recognises when you're looking at it and maintains a bright display until you look away so you can keep reading or browsing. Best Photo takes a fast burst of eight photos so you can choose your favourite. Smart Alert even gives a brief vibrating nudge to notify you of messages and missed calls you may have missed when you pick it up.

Samsung Galaxy SIII
Samsung Galaxy SIII

Stylishly social.

A range of great services make it easier to stay closer to friends. The 5MP camera gives you sharp and clear photography whenever you need and Social Tag can then link the faces in photos to people's social media streams, so you'll see your friends' current status when viewing their picture. Buddy Photo Share recognises a friend's face in a photo, so you can share it with them instantly while Samsung's ChatON messaging service makes it possible to chat with friends using all kinds of devices all over the world.

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Previous 1 ... 19 20 21 22 23 ... 26 Next
Review 401 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Samsung Galaxy S III Mini :)
from Manchester
,23 February 2013
Phone arrived very quickly. The phone is very easy to use, easy to move from icon to icon, the screen is perfect for viewing. The sound is very clean. I would recommend it to others.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
13 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 402 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Geek Squad Expert
Samsung Galaxy S III Mini Geek Squad expert review
,22 February 2013
The Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini is the little brother to the flagship S3 handset. The screen size has been reduced to 4” from 4.8” making it much easier to handle if you like to use your phone with one hand. The resolution is 480x800 so it’s not the clearest display available but the colours are bright and vibrant. The processor is only 1 GHz but this is fast enough for most apps and extends battery life. The phone comes in either 8GB or 16 GB options which will be more than enough for most but there is the option of using a micro SD card up to 32 GB if you need more room for your media. As far as software is concerned, the S3 Mini comes installed with Android 4.1 which is the quickest and smoothest version yet. The whole OS has been made more efficient which helps to make up for the limitations of the 1 GHz processor.
My biggest surprise while using the handset was how little of a difference there was between this and the full size S3 in terms of speed. The only time I did notice a slowdown was when using the camera which takes a lot longer to save a photo that the S3. This shouldn’t be an issue for most people though unless you take a lot of photos at once. Compared to other mid-range Android phones, the S3 Mini is definitely one of the stands outs.
To see the full review and read our Samsung S3 Mini user guide please visit: http://www.geeksquad.co.uk/articles/Mobiles/2012/10/samsung_galaxy_s3_mini_expert_review
Expertise: expert
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3,504 of 5,804 people found this review helpful.
Review 403 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Very easy to use
from Newcastle upon Tyne
,21 February 2013
After having used a Samsung before this was an extremely easy next step. I'm impressed with the camera quality and the quality of the display. So far I have no hesitation in recommending this phone to others.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 404 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
excellent s3 mini.
from Nottingham
,21 February 2013
Overall very pleased a few minor niggles however. Such as battery life not quite as good as anticipated. Disabling some of the built in bloatware helped somewhat though. Also text on the screen not quite as sharp as my old Motorola defy but still more than adequate. The battery cover also feels very cheap and flimsy when removing. On the plus side the phone is very fast great latest android os. Feels very slick to use. Bags of features and very customisable. Niggles aside overall very happy and a worthy upgrage from my aging Motorola defy.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
7 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 405 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
love it
from merseyside
,20 February 2013
Best phone I've ever had!!!!!!! So easy to use and has everything I need from a phone,easy to hold. The white cover is proper girlie and smart...the camera Is class and the s3 has really good apps
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
10 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 406 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Cracker wee phone
from Newtownabbey
,20 February 2013
I got this for my wife who hates using the phone just messages or talks, but now she is on the Internet, Facebook, games she loves it . Good looking wee phone as she said its a cracker and would recommend it to anyone .
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
12 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 407 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
galax sIII mini
from Nottinghamshire
,20 February 2013
I thought my last smartphone was pretty good,but this phone just takes things to a whole new level!Greatly Impressed.. The backup service is also exceptional.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 408 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Great phone
from Alder shot
,20 February 2013
Very pleased. Got for my daughter and she loves it. The screen quality is excellent. Uses for games, texting and music downloading. Looks very smart. Excellent value.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
7 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 409 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Most Practical
from Birmingham
,17 February 2013
I thought the S3 was just too big, so opted for this mini. It was a great decision. More features than you really need but very practical. Doesn't fall out my shirt pocket when I bend over, unlike the S3 or other similar screen size mobiles. Very easy to use and comfortable in the hand. Battery life is not as good as you would hope but otherwise I couldn't be happier.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
9 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 410 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Very Happy
from Essex
,16 February 2013
Having always had a iPhone wow so glad I made the change I'm very happy with everything about this mini easy to use easy to understand so many apps to choose from, easy to make calls and texts. Email direct to your phone and reply without any hassle, great camera and features takes a good picture and video,
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
9 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 411 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
cool and good looking
from hants
,16 February 2013
great phone, like all things new, needs to be worked out, but once you do its really good. only little niggle is no voice dialling, even though it does have voice search on google, whihc is easy to use. Thoroughly recommend it.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 412 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Good bye iphone
from Manchester
,15 February 2013
Had this a few weeks now and it's simply amazing its like a computer in your hand.
I go through about 4 phones a year due to being bored with them. I've had blackberrys windows phones and I phones. So far this takes the trophy!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 413 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Best Purchase Ever
from mk
,15 February 2013
Best Purchase Ever!
but battery live could be better
recomended for all users!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 414 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Excellent Offer
from gateshead
,15 February 2013
V easy to use, much prefer this mini size to the larger one and has all the benefits of an iphone at a fraction of the cost. I purchased mine instore at the metrocentre and there was an offer on for £125 cashback straight on my card into my bank account the next day, couldnt be happier with the service and the phone overall.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 415 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
samsung galaxy s111 mini
,15 February 2013
Great phone had an IPhone before I find this phone very good to use no problems at all apart from the odd app that seem to appear on the phone. The battery life last as long as an IPhone i suppose its how long your on your phone.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 416 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Best phone in years
from Barnsley
,15 February 2013
Very happy with this purchase. Had a blackberry before and couldn't wait to get rid. It's easy to use and fantastic apps etc. the only thing I have a problem with is the keyboard when texting as I think my fingers are too fat. But apart from that its everything I wanted.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
7 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 417 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Samsung Galaxy S III Mini
from Sunderland
,15 February 2013
The Galaxy S III Mini is a great phone especially if you are upgrading or buying it after using a Samsung Galaxy Ace. The layout and apps are practically the same just updated. The screen, sound and image quality are also superb. It is a fantastic product in the Mini or the oringinal Samsung Galaxy S III. I have already recommended it to many people and will keep recommending it.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 418 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Great Mid range Phone
from Manchester
,15 February 2013
Hi,
Ordered the S3 Mini On Weds 13/02/13 at 5.05pm, it came the next day at 3pm, now thats service.
As for the phone, its very good overall.
The screen is excellent and sharp and colours are vivid, Phone is quick and the menus are buttery smooth.
Quick to change between apps with dual core processor.
Camera is fairly standard with low light shots grainy but daytime shots generally acceptable if not fantastic.
If you own a DLNA Tv or Smart TV, nice feature to share movies, photos etc via screen share, easy too.
Not tested music playback through handset nor included headphones yet so cant comment.
Phone is perfect size for most users and feels bigger than it is due to large screen area vs handset size, its very light too.
Overall i'd say this is a great mid sized phone with great features and good screen, perfect for social/media and light browsing.
As for CFW, i cant fault them, as a previous VODA customer i can say that choice of handsets and the fact i received a "Free" Samsung Tab 2 7inch Tablet in the deal, was a great incentive to switch, they didnt dissapoint.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 419 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
in love with this fone
from co durham
,15 February 2013
Really good fone easy to use good memory i have no faults with this fone its tbe same size as my old fone the samsung galaxy ace which i love about it i did think i would be smaller which would of been a dwnfall but happy its not :)
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 420 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
She can't put it down
from Corby, Northamptonshire
,15 February 2013
Got this for my 14 year old daughter and she thinks its the best thing ever. Especially like the face tracking feature. Its fast, easy to use and has lots of little gizmos Reception is good and as long as wifi isn't on, the battery life isn't too bad (but could be better).
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Previous 1 ... 19 20 21 22 23 ... 26 Next