The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews

Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini

Average Customer Rating:
4.459 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
473 of 512(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Trade-in Store Finder View deals View deals

Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini

Designed for those that want a powerful and feature packed phone in a smaller size and cost effective price, the Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini is a great all-rounder.

Samsung Galaxy SIII

The essential tech specs.

The 1,500mAh battery is big enough to power the S3 Mini for 430 hours of standby time and up to 7 hours of talk time. With a 4” screen it’s easier to hold than it’s big brother, and with a resolution of 480x800 it’s still nice and sharp with a pixels per inch score of 233ppi. Android Jelly Bean 4.1 is the software it runs, while the processor is a 1GHz dual core variant. On the back the camera is 5MP, while the front facing camera is 1.3MP. For storing your files there’s 8GB, plus a slot for microSD cards up to 32GB (cards sold separately).

4" touchscreen for a smaller, easier to use shape.

The touchscreen on the Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini is a great blend of viewing area and portability. At 4" you can reach every corner of the screen with your thumb for easy one handed use, but it's still a great size for looking at the news on the BBC website, streaming videos on YouTube or looking at your photos from last night. Built using Super AMOLED technology, the screen not only gives vividly bright colours, but also gives better battery life than other technologies.

Samsung Galaxy SIII
Samsung Galaxy SIII

Mini in size, but not on power.

Inside the Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini is a 1GHz dual core processor and 1GB RAM. This enables the S3 Mini to handle any apps you want from the app store, stream HD video content and handle multiple tasks at once. There's also HSPA wireless internet technology, which is a faster version of 3G. This means that your internet connection when on the move is faster and more reliable, letting you get on with whatever you want online.

Smart thinking.

The Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini is designed to be practical for everyday use. Smart Stay recognises when you're looking at it and maintains a bright display until you look away so you can keep reading or browsing. Best Photo takes a fast burst of eight photos so you can choose your favourite. Smart Alert even gives a brief vibrating nudge to notify you of messages and missed calls you may have missed when you pick it up.

Samsung Galaxy SIII
Samsung Galaxy SIII

Stylishly social.

A range of great services make it easier to stay closer to friends. The 5MP camera gives you sharp and clear photography whenever you need and Social Tag can then link the faces in photos to people's social media streams, so you'll see your friends' current status when viewing their picture. Buddy Photo Share recognises a friend's face in a photo, so you can share it with them instantly while Samsung's ChatON messaging service makes it possible to chat with friends using all kinds of devices all over the world.

*Any smartphone is classed as a smartphone purchased in the UK in the last 10 years with an operating system running iOS, Android, Windows or Blackberry OS. This offer is valid on selected Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini pay monthly contracts or upgrades purchased from Carphone Warehouse since 2nd July 2014. Trade-in process must be initiated through promotional link www.carphonewarehouse.com/tradeinpromo in order to receive additional £25. £25 will be automatically added to the value of the Trade-in. Maximum of one Trade-in in per connected Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini. Trade-in amount will be sent to customer via cheque or BACs transfer once approved.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Previous 1 ... 19 20 21 22 23 ... 26 Next
Review 401 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Great phone
from Alder shot
,20 February 2013
Very pleased. Got for my daughter and she loves it. The screen quality is excellent. Uses for games, texting and music downloading. Looks very smart. Excellent value.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
7 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 402 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Most Practical
from Birmingham
,17 February 2013
I thought the S3 was just too big, so opted for this mini. It was a great decision. More features than you really need but very practical. Doesn't fall out my shirt pocket when I bend over, unlike the S3 or other similar screen size mobiles. Very easy to use and comfortable in the hand. Battery life is not as good as you would hope but otherwise I couldn't be happier.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
9 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 403 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Very Happy
from Essex
,16 February 2013
Having always had a iPhone wow so glad I made the change I'm very happy with everything about this mini easy to use easy to understand so many apps to choose from, easy to make calls and texts. Email direct to your phone and reply without any hassle, great camera and features takes a good picture and video,
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
9 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 404 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
cool and good looking
from hants
,16 February 2013
great phone, like all things new, needs to be worked out, but once you do its really good. only little niggle is no voice dialling, even though it does have voice search on google, whihc is easy to use. Thoroughly recommend it.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 405 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Good bye iphone
from Manchester
,15 February 2013
Had this a few weeks now and it's simply amazing its like a computer in your hand.
I go through about 4 phones a year due to being bored with them. I've had blackberrys windows phones and I phones. So far this takes the trophy!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 406 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Best Purchase Ever
from mk
,15 February 2013
Best Purchase Ever!
but battery live could be better
recomended for all users!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 407 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Excellent Offer
from gateshead
,15 February 2013
V easy to use, much prefer this mini size to the larger one and has all the benefits of an iphone at a fraction of the cost. I purchased mine instore at the metrocentre and there was an offer on for £125 cashback straight on my card into my bank account the next day, couldnt be happier with the service and the phone overall.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 408 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
samsung galaxy s111 mini
,15 February 2013
Great phone had an IPhone before I find this phone very good to use no problems at all apart from the odd app that seem to appear on the phone. The battery life last as long as an IPhone i suppose its how long your on your phone.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 409 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Best phone in years
from Barnsley
,15 February 2013
Very happy with this purchase. Had a blackberry before and couldn't wait to get rid. It's easy to use and fantastic apps etc. the only thing I have a problem with is the keyboard when texting as I think my fingers are too fat. But apart from that its everything I wanted.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
7 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 410 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Samsung Galaxy S III Mini
from Sunderland
,15 February 2013
The Galaxy S III Mini is a great phone especially if you are upgrading or buying it after using a Samsung Galaxy Ace. The layout and apps are practically the same just updated. The screen, sound and image quality are also superb. It is a fantastic product in the Mini or the oringinal Samsung Galaxy S III. I have already recommended it to many people and will keep recommending it.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 411 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Great Mid range Phone
from Manchester
,15 February 2013
Hi,
Ordered the S3 Mini On Weds 13/02/13 at 5.05pm, it came the next day at 3pm, now thats service.
As for the phone, its very good overall.
The screen is excellent and sharp and colours are vivid, Phone is quick and the menus are buttery smooth.
Quick to change between apps with dual core processor.
Camera is fairly standard with low light shots grainy but daytime shots generally acceptable if not fantastic.
If you own a DLNA Tv or Smart TV, nice feature to share movies, photos etc via screen share, easy too.
Not tested music playback through handset nor included headphones yet so cant comment.
Phone is perfect size for most users and feels bigger than it is due to large screen area vs handset size, its very light too.
Overall i'd say this is a great mid sized phone with great features and good screen, perfect for social/media and light browsing.
As for CFW, i cant fault them, as a previous VODA customer i can say that choice of handsets and the fact i received a "Free" Samsung Tab 2 7inch Tablet in the deal, was a great incentive to switch, they didnt dissapoint.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 412 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
in love with this fone
from co durham
,15 February 2013
Really good fone easy to use good memory i have no faults with this fone its tbe same size as my old fone the samsung galaxy ace which i love about it i did think i would be smaller which would of been a dwnfall but happy its not :)
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 413 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
She can't put it down
from Corby, Northamptonshire
,15 February 2013
Got this for my 14 year old daughter and she thinks its the best thing ever. Especially like the face tracking feature. Its fast, easy to use and has lots of little gizmos Reception is good and as long as wifi isn't on, the battery life isn't too bad (but could be better).
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 414 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
EXCELLENT NEARLY !
from PETERBOROUGH
,15 February 2013
THIS IS THE PERFECT PHONE...NEARLY !
IT UNLOCKS ITSELF TOO EASILY.
YOU TAKE THE PHONE FROM YOUR POCKET AND OFTEN IT IS UNLOCKED - THAT APART, PERFECT.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 415 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Exactly what I wanted!!
from Norfolk
,15 February 2013
I got the 'mini' instead of just the s3 because i preferred the size, it is a lot easier to hold and in my opinion looks amazing. It is very easy to use, and the touch screen responds very quickly, which is something I always wanted. The only problem I found with the phone (which isn't really a problem, just a down point) is the battery life. I was used to a phone that lasts about 5 days, but the s3 mini only lasts about 1 and a half days, depending on the amount you use it.
All in all, I am very happy with this phone. It is reliable, and everything I wanted in a phone! Would recommend to anyone:)
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 416 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
,15 February 2013
A really nice looking phone which is smaller than the normal s3 which I found to be too big, however the screen is still a good size and the graphics are clear. As of yet I have found no problems with this phone.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 417 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
samsung mini
from nottingham
,15 February 2013
nice phone easy to use compact and powerfull, im a biginner and not a young user but i found it easy to use once i got it in my hands its got many features on it all good to use a small phone with a big punch
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 418 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
I think better than the iphone
from Southampton
,15 February 2013
I still don't know what half the apps are about but definitely beats a blackberry and in my opinion is easier than the iphone. Only downfall is the battery loses charge fast.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 419 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Great little phone
from northallerton
,13 February 2013
After having the iPhone 3gs and then the iPhone 4 (first one) i started to feel the screen was a little on the small size however not wanting to pay iPhone 5 money for basically the same phone as the 4 just with a bigger screen i came across this little beauty i have it in pebble blue and its brilliant very easy to use great features very fast although the screen isn't up to retina display it is very very clear overall a great little phone defently recommend and for 18 pounds a month (my contract) what more do you want? :)
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 420 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Beautiful Phone
from London, UK
,12 February 2013
I had read reviews about this phone before purchasing and already knew that the battery life was not great, i am lucky if i get a full day's use. However, overall, I am extremely happy with this phone. It is very fast and responsive. The screen is crystal clear and the phone itself looks pretty slick. It has some very nice features. This is my first time with android, previously, I had a Blackberry Bold, which I was very happy with, and have to admit that I am very taken with it.
Over all, a good purchase.
 
My Product Recommendations
Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7" Wi-Fi 8GB
4.6 out of 5(121)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Previous 1 ... 19 20 21 22 23 ... 26 Next