The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews

Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini

Average Customer Rating:
4.411 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(533 Reviews) 533
483 of 533(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini

Designed for those that want a powerful and feature packed phone in a smaller size and cost effective price, the Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini is a great all-rounder.

Samsung Galaxy SIII

The essential tech specs.

The 1,500mAh battery is big enough to power the S3 Mini for 430 hours of standby time and up to 7 hours of talk time. With a 4” screen it’s easier to hold than it’s big brother, and with a resolution of 480x800 it’s still nice and sharp with a pixels per inch score of 233ppi. Android Jelly Bean 4.1 is the software it runs, while the processor is a 1GHz dual core variant. On the back the camera is 5MP, while the front facing camera is 0.3MP. For storing your files there’s 8GB, plus a slot for microSD cards up to 32GB (cards sold separately).

4" touchscreen for a smaller, easier to use shape.

The touchscreen on the Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini is a great blend of viewing area and portability. At 4" you can reach every corner of the screen with your thumb for easy one handed use, but it's still a great size for looking at the news on the BBC website, streaming videos on YouTube or looking at your photos from last night. Built using Super AMOLED technology, the screen not only gives vividly bright colours, but also gives better battery life than other technologies.

Samsung Galaxy SIII
Samsung Galaxy SIII

Mini in size, but not on power.

Inside the Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini is a 1GHz dual core processor and 1GB RAM. This enables the S3 Mini to handle any apps you want from the app store, stream HD video content and handle multiple tasks at once. There's also HSPA wireless internet technology, which is a faster version of 3G. This means that your internet connection when on the move is faster and more reliable, letting you get on with whatever you want online.

Smart thinking.

The Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini is designed to be practical for everyday use. Smart Stay recognises when you're looking at it and maintains a bright display until you look away so you can keep reading or browsing. Best Photo takes a fast burst of eight photos so you can choose your favourite. Smart Alert even gives a brief vibrating nudge to notify you of messages and missed calls you may have missed when you pick it up.

Samsung Galaxy SIII
Samsung Galaxy SIII

Stylishly social.

A range of great services make it easier to stay closer to friends. The 5MP camera gives you sharp and clear photography whenever you need and Social Tag can then link the faces in photos to people's social media streams, so you'll see your friends' current status when viewing their picture. Buddy Photo Share recognises a friend's face in a photo, so you can share it with them instantly while Samsung's ChatON messaging service makes it possible to chat with friends using all kinds of devices all over the world.

^UK's lowest price on pay monthly applies to the price of the monthly line rental on new subscriptions, where there is no upfront cost for the handset. Prices are correct at time of print and excludes all online retailers without high street presence and other promotional offers.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Previous 1 ... 19 20 21 22 23 ... 27 Next
Review 401 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
so sick for a budget smart phone
from bradford
,12 March 2013
I have been through them all over the years iphone 4, 4s 5 through work and personally had a cheap payg Samsung Android phone then tried the windows 7 phone and to be honest I loved the windows handset (nokia lumia 710) but the app store is severely lacking some a decent range of apps. The iphone 5 did not blow me away it is not much of a leap forward from the 4/4s and I really liked the s3 but I was put off by the size of it. Yes the s3 mini has less storage out of the box. No problem you can expand that with a micro sd card. So the camera is not very high spec so what the camera is decent enough. The app store is great. More choice than windows and not as restricted as apples. The touch screen is very slick and responsive. Battery life is ok but its a smartphone so what do you expect when its checking for emails, updating updating Facebook, playing music etc I can get a days use out of it and at least if the battery does eventually die a death I can replace it. So yes I am very happy with this phone and would recommend it to anyone
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 402 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
s3 mini
from rotherham
,12 March 2013
excellent phone cannot fault it. battery life good and easy to download and install apps. the screen size is just right and is of excellent quality. would recommend
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 403 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
from Lancashire
,12 March 2013
Good phone easy enough to use but the battery isn't great even when you don't seem to be doing much. Apps are easy to download and store and the camera is good too.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 404 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Almost Perfect
from Cardiff
,12 March 2013
Everything about this product is great except that on a couple of occasions when I've gone to go into my inbox to read messages it has said that there aren't any even when there are. This hasnt happened for about a week now though so hopefully it has stopped
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 405 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
H0TT phone
from west midlands
,12 March 2013
Looks and feels much better than a brick-y Iphone, but I haven't got the hang of using it properly yet as I'm so used to my blackberry lol
Touch screen is super sensitive and takes the strain out of tapping constantly on touch phones (I really don't like touch phones, but with the samsung galaxy s3 mini, ill make an exception :p )
I like the curvey and slim appearance of the phone... I love the pebble blue color ... What can I say I love it :)
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 406 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
from oxford
,12 March 2013
Had to ask the kids at first but a great phone and Im so glad I got it now. So many helpful features. I will reccomend this phone to all my family and friends.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 407 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Great phone!
from London
,12 March 2013
I bought this phone for £17 a month. It is very easy to use and I keep finding new features. It is light with a lovely big screen.
Only a small niggle. The key board is very small.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 408 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
love my mini
from cheshire
,12 March 2013
i love my new phone siple to work good camera good settings long battery life features are great ease to use it has been very reiabile its just a lovely phone thanks
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 409 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Best phone ever
from South Yorkshire
,12 March 2013
I've had my s3 mini for 2 weeks now and absolutely love it :D I'm still finding things to amaze me it's so easy to use and the camera is really good that's one of the features I use most being an amateur photographer and it's amazing my pictures are so clear I would definitely recommend it :D. I love how easy the apps are to find too
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 410 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Excellent
from Stalybridge
,12 March 2013
Excellent item, features are brilliant. Good battery life also the android is very good and the quality of the qpps are brilliant. I have had one of these phones before but the mini is very good.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 411 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Excellent Purchase
from Cumbria
,01 March 2013
Having bought this phone on contract about a month ago now i can truly say it is a fantastic phone! To say this is the mini version of the Samsung Galaxy S3 does not degrade from the absolutely amazing functionality and style of this phone.
To be honest i was worried about purchasing this phone as, lets face it, if its not great your stuck with it for 2 years unless you return it within the given amount of time from purchase.
Thus far, i have no huge problems with the phone. However i will display some minor things that have happened as any information is handy when buying. (This is not to say that every phone will have these niggles).
- Crashing.
It sounds so dreadful that word doesn't it! But i have experienced some MINOR crashing. This has included my widgets disappearing and taking a good while to reload. But in the 4ish weeks i have had it; it has happened maybe 2 or 3 times. Which considering i never turn my phone off...isn't bad.
Also i have had it occur in a couple of large games. (nothing too dreadful though) :)
- Battery Life
Battery life unfortunately is never going to be incredible like the old Nokia's of the "olden days", but mine does last all day ... usually. Of course this is heavily dependant on whether you use your phone a heavy amount or a small amount. With the newness of this phone, i have to admit, i have been using apps an excessive amount and browsing the Internet a lot. Never the less the phone does give a handy option for power saving and if you turn off your Bluetooth and wireless when not using them you save battery. Also i find myself dimming the screen a lot also to conserve power when it is not needed. I charge my phone over night and this is more than enough to fully charge...probably too much.
- Touch screen keyboard
Undeniably compared to Apple products the keyboard isn't as sensitive to what you are wishing to select while messaging. This is probably one of my largest complaints because the amount of times i am having this problem is ridiculous. However (ever the positive person) the swype function is very good and i find myself using this all the time. Also the predictive style text is also very useful for when it hasn't quite got the letters you typed, (It usually guesses). In this case its "not bad, could be better."
This phone is quick and sleek. It may not be top of the line but that doesn't mean its rubbish. Its the best phone i personally have had thus far. A number of friends of mine have purchased this little phones larger brother the "s3" and have commented on the preference for this size. And are shocked at just how many features this one has considering its a "budget" phone. I don't think i could have gone for any other phone.
If you are a first time android buyer, i would say this would be a good buy as its not too complicated (especially if you don't mess with settings too much).
I bought this phone on a £15 tariff which includes:
200 mins
unlimited texts
500mb data
Dont be misled : 500 mb data is more than sufficent for your apps if you are an average user...especially if you have wifi at home and friends houses. If you average it out on a 30 day basis you have 16.6mb to use each day. Thats not a small amount really. I do turn my data off when im not using it but even now after four weeks of doing that i have used 37mb. NOT MUCH.
Hope you buy this phone...its worth it and not as mini as you think!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Samsung Galaxy S3
4.6 out of 5(949)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
34 of 53 people found this review helpful.
Review 412 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
samsung galaxy s3 mini
from blackburn
,28 February 2013
my first smartphone and what a belter.. for £15;50 a month on o2. sublime user interface fast responce to touch screen commands and hooks up to facebook in 3 seconds wow. the battery life i find is brill but i dont cane online use or talk for hours... people who complain about battery life get a life !!! how hard is it to plug in overnite !!! the camera is not the best on the market that will be a nikkon d90..... get my point.......tons of apps and really easy to use a brilliant phone and well worth a look if you only want to pay £15 qiud a month..... i dont do reviews but felt compelled to about this phone coz i was so impressed with it ....oh n get a flip case aswell there brill
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
24 of 46 people found this review helpful.
Review 413 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Very Impressed!
from Kent
,26 February 2013
I previously owned an iPhone, and never thought another phone would impress me more. I was wrong! I would now never part with my Samsung! Can not find one fault.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
23 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 414 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Touchscreen
from Ipswich
,24 February 2013
I just love touchsceen phones. My first was samsung taco lite when i was 17 but i been using it for 4 years. so i brought Samsung galaxy s3 mini on contact.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
24 of 49 people found this review helpful.
Review 415 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Samsung Galaxy S III Mini :)
from Manchester
,23 February 2013
Phone arrived very quickly. The phone is very easy to use, easy to move from icon to icon, the screen is perfect for viewing. The sound is very clean. I would recommend it to others.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
13 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 416 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Geek Squad Expert
Samsung Galaxy S III Mini Geek Squad expert review
,22 February 2013
The Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini is the little brother to the flagship S3 handset. The screen size has been reduced to 4” from 4.8” making it much easier to handle if you like to use your phone with one hand. The resolution is 480x800 so it’s not the clearest display available but the colours are bright and vibrant. The processor is only 1 GHz but this is fast enough for most apps and extends battery life. The phone comes in either 8GB or 16 GB options which will be more than enough for most but there is the option of using a micro SD card up to 32 GB if you need more room for your media. As far as software is concerned, the S3 Mini comes installed with Android 4.1 which is the quickest and smoothest version yet. The whole OS has been made more efficient which helps to make up for the limitations of the 1 GHz processor.
My biggest surprise while using the handset was how little of a difference there was between this and the full size S3 in terms of speed. The only time I did notice a slowdown was when using the camera which takes a lot longer to save a photo that the S3. This shouldn’t be an issue for most people though unless you take a lot of photos at once. Compared to other mid-range Android phones, the S3 Mini is definitely one of the stands outs.
To see the full review and read our Samsung S3 Mini user guide please visit: http://www.geeksquad.co.uk/articles/Mobiles/2012/10/samsung_galaxy_s3_mini_expert_review
Expertise: expert
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4,333 of 7,051 people found this review helpful.
Review 417 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Very easy to use
from Newcastle upon Tyne
,21 February 2013
After having used a Samsung before this was an extremely easy next step. I'm impressed with the camera quality and the quality of the display. So far I have no hesitation in recommending this phone to others.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 418 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
excellent s3 mini.
from Nottingham
,21 February 2013
Overall very pleased a few minor niggles however. Such as battery life not quite as good as anticipated. Disabling some of the built in bloatware helped somewhat though. Also text on the screen not quite as sharp as my old Motorola defy but still more than adequate. The battery cover also feels very cheap and flimsy when removing. On the plus side the phone is very fast great latest android os. Feels very slick to use. Bags of features and very customisable. Niggles aside overall very happy and a worthy upgrage from my aging Motorola defy.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
7 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 419 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
love it
from merseyside
,20 February 2013
Best phone I've ever had!!!!!!! So easy to use and has everything I need from a phone,easy to hold. The white cover is proper girlie and smart...the camera Is class and the s3 has really good apps
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
10 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 420 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Cracker wee phone
from Newtownabbey
,20 February 2013
I got this for my wife who hates using the phone just messages or talks, but now she is on the Internet, Facebook, games she loves it . Good looking wee phone as she said its a cracker and would recommend it to anyone .
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
12 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Previous 1 ... 19 20 21 22 23 ... 27 Next