The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Samsung Galaxy S II Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Samsung Galaxy S II

Average Customer Rating:
4.673 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(287 Reviews) 287
271 of 287(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Samsung Galaxy S2 essential accessories pack

NEW Super AMOLED plus display

Galaxy S II is the first phone to have Samsung’s latest display technology, Super AMOLED plus. The 4.3” touchscreen panel is slimmer and more efficient than previous Samsung displays, giving you an amazingly bright, crisp and clear picture with deep blacks and vivid colours.

NEW Android™ and Samsung Touchwiz technology

Powered by Android 2.3 (Gingerbread) and Samsung Touchwiz 4.0, Galaxy S 2 gives you access to more than 250,000 apps and great Samsung content services, as well as the latest version of Social Hub – Samsung’s exclusive live communications widget.

2x the power

The first Samsung phone to have a Dual Core 1.2Ghz processor and a Dedicated Graphics Processor, Galaxy S 2 is super fast and super powerful. It makes multitasking, web browsing and gaming even more of a pleasure.

Optimised for entertainment

  • NEW HSDPA+ technology makes your 3G internet connection faster, for a better browsing experience
  • Watch 1080p HD movies on your phone, choose from 100s of titles available to rent or buy, and catch up on TV with BBC iPlayer and YouTube™.
  • Capture beautiful photos & videos with the 8 Megapixel camera and full 1080p HD video recorder, then share your masterpieces over Facebook™.
  • Purchase your pick of over 11 million tracks from Samsung Music Hub, & download tracks straight to your phone.
  • Make video calls or snap self portraits using the front-facing camera.
  • Play console-quality games on the stunning screen, including multiplayer titles you can enjoy with friends over Wi-Fi. The built-in Gyroscope and Accelerometer give you lots of control over the action.
  • Love reading? Use the Readers hub to find your next favourite amongst millions of books and thousands of magazines and newspapers! You can download and read content on your phone, zoom in on detail and copy text to look up online.

Productivity tools

Galaxy S II comes with a pre-loaded Mobile Office solution that lets you edit word documents, spreadsheets and PDFs. It also comes with great business tools such as Cisco, Sybase and Juniper.

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S II
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 Next
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy S II
FEATURED REVIEW
Samsung Galaxy s 2
from Warrington
,07 December 2011
As phones go they don't get any better than this. The screen quality and the speed of the phone and the camera are what impressed me the most. I used to own the original Samsung galaxy s, if you put the phones together you can see how much sharper the screen is on the SGS2. the phone takes great photos and the battery using it moderately last me about two days. My only negative point is the battery cover is quite thin, this is a downside to me because I Swap battery's rather than leave the phone plugged in to charge,
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
114 of 119 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy S II
Great Purchase
from Reading
,07 January 2013
This is the first android phone I have purchased, I am very pleased with it. The screen is large,clear and easy to navigate. Downside is the battery life, you have to charge it everyday.
I would definitely recommend this phone and I will be updating to the new Galaxy SIII.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy S II
happy with purchase
from Birmingham
,29 November 2012
first time gone for a contract and first time had a smart phone and decided to go for this one as looks similar to Iphone but not to much for monthly payments and really happy that I did as I love it. Apart from the battery not lasting too long I am really pleased with the rest of the functions and its so light and easy to use.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy S II
Best phone ever
from Wiltshire
,29 November 2012
This phone is easy to operate,especially as I have arthritis in my hands.
Very clear screen,nice large numbers with contacts,easy to see.
Wish I had bought it a long time ago.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy S II
from Rotherham
,14 November 2012
Just love everything about this phone..its response is very fast, clear vibrant colours,It's really easy to use., I would recommend this phone to everyone, I just love it
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy S II
Amazing phone
from Northern Ireland
,09 November 2012
This phone is incredible, with a great camera and hundreds and thousands of apps to choose from and has 3g. It's battery life isn't amazing but it is to be expected with such a great phone as i have so many apps. The back casing is a bit flimsy but that is the only things negative about the phone. It is very reliable as i have dropped it 15-20 times, both outside and inside, even falling from 7ft and there is not a scratch. Brilliant product and highly recommmended A++++++
 
My Product Recommendations
Samsung Galaxy Europa on Three
4.1 out of 5(130)
 
 
 
Samsung Galaxy Ace
4 out of 5(1,346)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy S II
First Smartphone
from South West
,07 November 2012
This is my first ever smartphone and I am not disappointed. It does everything I want, when I want and with sublime ease. I can leave my laptop at home now.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy S II
iPhone 4 is better
from Manchester
,07 November 2012
I find this phone pretty hard to use but I'm used to the iPhone 4s, I'm sure I'll work it out in time. I think all apps should be free aswell if ur on contract.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy S II
Best purchase ever
from Leicester
,26 October 2012
This phone is great i haven't had a touch screen before and was a bit unsure whether to have one but its very easy to use it loads very quickly it as a very good camera the screen is very clear its the best phone that i have ever had .
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy S II
best thing i've bought in a long time
from sheffield
,26 October 2012
When i got the phone i have to admit, it was anoying setting the phone up but when you think about it, its all for saftey and security. Now that my phone is set up, its just so easy to use. The phone is light weight, very entertaining and looks sexy. I'd recomend this phone to anybody and everybody in all honesty.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy S II
Samsung Galaxy S3
from Manchester
,24 October 2012
Good phone, battery only lasts about a day though. Obviously the more apps you use/download, the less your battery life will be.
Very reliable phone.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy S II
Great!
from london
,23 October 2012
I've had this phone around 5 days and it is amazing! , it could definitley maatch up to an i phone.The screen resolution is so amazing ,good features,slim,nice design and tons of apps available ! it's battery lasts long enough for a days use and the phone is very reliable I love it! (get insurance on it though!)
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy S II
Samsung Galaxy S2
from Barnsley
,18 October 2012
-Good phone and easy to use.
-Plenty of apps to download.
-No reliabilty issues to date
-Battery life is fairly good considering the the performance of the phone.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy S II
Worst Customer Service Ever
from London
,18 October 2012
Bought this phone last year and it keeps dropping the network, took it to the local Samsung service center, they changed the antenna but the problem still persisted. They suggested I sent it to Samsung,which I did. They returned it with a letter saying they found the problem and fixed it. The problem persisted. They asked me to send it back to them, which I need 3 days after I had received it from them. This time, they sent it back with a letter saying that an unauthorised repair was done on the phone and that the warranty was now void. I sent it back again and they said the same thing again. So now I have no phone, thanks Samsung, this is the last time I buy a Samsung product. I knew I should have bought the iPhone instead...
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy S II
AMAZING PHONE
from London
,18 October 2012
I absolutely LOVE this phone! It looks great and is brilliant at doing what it's meant to. Here's a list of the good and bad things I found with it:
Pros:
+ Very responsive to touch
+ Excellent camera, produces really clear images
+ Great reverse camera feature, though images don't come out as clearly as the camera on the back
+ Love how big the screen is
+ Easy to navigate your way around
+ Fairly lightweight considering its size
+ Easy to directly download apps using the Play Store feature on the home screen
+ Social Hub feature on home screen indicates how many notifications you have throughout text messages/email/Facebook etc. so you always know if there's things to check
Cons:
- Predictive text is good but not useful when it predicts the next word and you sometimes have to backspace to delete the word that you didn't want in the first place (there might be a way to stop this though, need to look into this further)
- Battery life isn't great as it drops by 10% in about an hour or so without doing anything, so I try to keep it charging when not using it, but it could be worse I suppose
- Sometimes it takes a few attempts to unlock the screen using the 9-dot grid feature
Overall the pros far outweigh the cons, and I've never been so happy with a phone before. I now always have it to hand and it's just brilliant!! Definitely recommend!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy S II
Samsung SII
from Reading/London
,18 October 2012
a quality looking high spec light smartphone.
Screen cleans well leaving it looking brand new each time.
It's a great size and weighs substantially less than it's counterparts.
Not much diff to the S3, but as it's the older model, great deals to be had.
In a nutshell - Very impressed + pleased with my choice.
Have had smartphones for 10 years+, this is a 'player'.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy S II
Good android device
from london
,18 October 2012
A very good and reliable phone! I recomend it anytime. The only poor feature is the battery. But then again, what would you expecr from such a large consummer.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy S II
best phone
from batley
,14 October 2012
I have had many phones and i recently upgradedto the samsung galaxy s2. It is a very good phone, it is fast, the camera is great, the games and apps are great. bets phone i have ever bought.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy S II
Good but not perfect
,12 October 2012
Don't get me wrong I love this, the features are great and most of the apps work without a problem. But it does sometimes lag a bit and take time to catch up. Also the screen isn't as sensitive to touch as it could be.
The screen is such a good size, I have stopped using my pc for browsing for the majority of the time. Some sites don't work but most of the time it's better, as it's instant.
The kindle app works a treat as well, I can read all my books that I've bought for my kindle, quickly and easily.
The only thing is that the quality of the music player doesn't seem as good as the HTC or blackberry I had.
But these are just minor points, video playback is excellent from iplayer, bbc news and sky news, the quality of video playback is very very good.
When I think of all the people on the news rushing to be the first to give apple a ridiculous amount of money for something so restricted and 'closed' as the new iphone.
And having tried an iphone, I have to say it would be SII every time.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy S II
Read if you consider getting the phone
from london
,05 October 2012
This phone is amazing, i have got this for a suprise on my birthday. i have had it for 1 month now and i really like it.
Moving on...
Camera:
Is amazingly brilliant. it is 8megapixels so people who like there pictures and videos will be amazed :D
Memory:
When i first got the phone i was scared because i really like my apps and gadgets. But I have already added many stuf and yes it is good :D So if you get this phone You have nothing to worry :D
Wi-Fi:
Yes, It has wi fi.
Camera:
has front and back camera
I reccomended more for women not teenagers. Women need this more :D
If you need to know more let me know :D
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 Next