The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Samsung Galaxy S 16GB Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Samsung Galaxy S 16GB

Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
11 of 11(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

The Samsung Galaxy S i9000 is a stellar Android smartphone packed with powerful technology. The 4" super AMOLED touchscreen is bright and cuts glare whilst also being very responsive. Plus you'll get access to both Android Market and Samsung Apps, meaning more content to choose from. This is a brilliant phone that's easy to use and extremely exciting.

A great screen.
Part of what makes Galaxy S so special is the 4" super AMOLED display, which is brighter, faster and less reflective than a traditional touchscreen. It's great for watching HD movies or browsing detailed websites. As you'll be tapping away on your mobile all the time, make sure to invest in a screen protector, which will ward off dust, scratches and fingerprints.

Simple to use.
It's easy to get to grips with Galaxy S, even if you're new to touchscreen phones and Android features. The speedy 1GHz processor and simple Touchwiz 3.0 interface let you quickly find features, set shortcuts, and personalise each of the 7 home screens with your favourite apps

Socialising is easy.
Samsung social hub makes communicating easier. This online widget sits on your homescreen and works in the background, delivering text messages, emails, social network updates and IMs as soon as they arrive. Social hub syncs two ways with your phone and your PC, so it will show you up-to-date contact information and calendar events, in one simple view.

Simple typing.
Received a message? Respond in seconds with the easy editor, which features Swype for text. This simple yet brilliant app allows you to hold your finger over the keyboard and swipe from letter to letter; constructing whole messages in one go!

Apps, games & more!
Tap the shopping bag icon to visit Android Market™, the online store with over 250,000 apps, games and smartphone services. Galaxy S also gives you one-touch access to Samsung Apps, where you'll find lots of tailor made content for your Samsung phone. Adding a microSD memory card, up to 32GB, will give you more storage space for apps, movies and music.

Awesome internet experience.
The Samsung Galaxy S lets you enjoy a better internet experience while away from your laptop or PC. The large, bright screen and fast Wi-Fi connection make it easy to comfortably view websites, download content or stream videos. You can also open multiple websites, switch between tabs, and zoom in or out of details just by pinching the screen!

Samsung Galaxy S is everything you need to enjoy life on the go. It's a great phone that will keep you in sync with all of your contacts and networks, but it's also more than that. Whether you want to visit your favourite websites, take flawless photos and make HD videos, or relax with your favourite tunes and movies, Galaxy S puts everything you love right at your fingertips.

Why buy from us?
  Samsung Galaxy S 16GB front Samsung Galaxy S 16GB front Samsung Galaxy S 16GB front Samsung Galaxy S 16GB front  
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S 16GB
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy S 16GB
FEATURED REVIEW
The One for Me
Smudger
from Ashford, Kent
,20 February 2011
Firstly I have to say I have never seen a better mobile than the Galaxy S16, I spent a year looking as models of different manufacturers changed from Christmas 2009 to January 2011, I liked the alternatives but I could find fault with most, I needed a mobile that I could use the internet to view micro text clearly to my satisfaction, write texts without hunting for my glasses, navigate its applications without waiting ages for the processor to catch up, and use the phone with best possible signal available.
If you want as much as I do from a mobile and don't want to do things the Apple way, it will take something new and exciting to beat the Galaxy S 16.
 
My Product Recommendations
Samsung Galaxy S 16GB
4.8 out of 5(11)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
32 of 32 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy S 16GB
this phone it AMAZING!!!!!
crystal
from London
,08 January 2012
omg this phone is totall amazing i love it, iys so easy to use and the screen is big the camera is really good buh would hve been better is it had a flash onnn it but oh wel its good.
i would recomande people to get this its really good i dont have this ohone no more im going to get s ll beacuse i love it. i cnt really say anything bad about this phone because there nothing wrong with it its jus to good :)
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy S 16GB
Very good phone
chaxsk
from Manchester
,30 December 2011
I have now had this phone since it came out,
Galaxy s i9000 is great ,heres a better view.
Pros
Great apps
Great camera
Features are excellent
Very good display
Cons
Bad battery life - maximum 1 and a half day
Freezes from time to time and not just on apps
sometimes can be quite slow
Overall I think this was a very good purchase, and i recomend it to people who enjoy editing txting and surfing the net the most!
Hope this review helps!
:)
 
My Product Recommendations
Nexus S from Google
4.4 out of 5(92)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy S 16GB
Brilliant Phone! Best Buy Yet!
wbajoe
from Birmingham
,02 December 2011
Heyy
Had this phone now about 3 months, what can I say? I truly brilliant phone. With the 16gb storage, I can fit around 80 apps plus some music. This is my first android mobile and android is just brilliant. The phone is very fast and has only crashed once due to too many apps opened at once. The only downside to this phone is the battery life which you have to charge every night usually but doesn't really bother me. So, overall, a great buy and a great mobile!
- Joe
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy S 16GB
great phone
TK
from london
,15 November 2011
has this phone for over 6months have to say aint got bored of it. normally I buy a phone get bored but this is a complete package easy to use and the screen is amazing. love it. would recomend recommend for a beginner.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy S 16GB
Samsung galaxy 16GB
ian
from england
,01 February 2011
i have had this phone for 4 months now and i have reached the limit of what to do all thought the batt has a good life i get 14 hours out of it it is not at all a weak phone i have droped it many times and its still good dose not lag much other then when your viewing adult material
 
My Product Recommendations
BlackBerry HS655 bluetooth headset
 
 
 
BlackBerry Curve 3G
4.3 out of 5(493)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
1 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy S 16GB
claire1107
from mansfield
,05 January 2011
this phone is amazing. i have had mine a couple of months now and i am still finding new things to do with it. plus with the thousands of new apps you can change your phone and make it a new one each week. so much better than the iphone. well worth it
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy S 16GB
great phone
jaii
,05 January 2011
in my eyes its the best phone ever .the screen is amazing and the apps available are great.it is very easy to use phone
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy S 16GB
donna cimla
from neath
,30 October 2010
0ne word amazing..
this product has everything that you could want
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
8 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy S 16GB
col 1
,23 October 2010
this phone is unbelievable its much better than the i phone the android is so fast it blows your mind!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
19 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S 16GB
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Average Customer Rating : 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5