The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews

Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB

Average Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(567 Reviews) 567
521 of 567(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

Samsung Galaxy S4

The Samsung Galaxy S4 is the ultimate productivity device, designed with the well-connected, multi-tasker in mind, and those that want the latest and greatest tech. You can call a friend, answer the phone, preview and scroll through emails, and control videos without even touching the phone.

The essential tech specs.

Buried inside the S4's body is a 2,600mAh battery giving it impressive battery life of 370 hours of standby and up to 17 hours of talk time. Running Android Jelly Bean 4.2.2, it's also got a top of the range 1.9GHz Snapdragon 600 processor, so it's fast and feature-packed. The 5" Super AMOLED is the most advanced of its type with 1080p HD resolution giving an ultra sharp screen with 441 pixels per inch (PPI). The 13MP rear camera and 2MP front camera are excellent, and with 16GB of built-in memory and a microSD slot for memory cards up to 64GB (cards sold separately), there's loads of space.

Overview Image
Overview Image

Bigger, better specs, but a smaller body.

The Samsung Galaxy S4 is a phone that's been designed to look good from all angles. The styling gives it a premium look, while Samsung has given the phone a larger battery, more features and a bigger screen but kept the body slightly smaller and lighter than the Galaxy S3. The touchscreen is a whopping 5" and uses the latest Super AMOLED technology so it's bright and has fantastic colours. It also uses less power than competing LCD technologies, s is great for batter life. It's a 1080p full HD screen, so it's ultra sharp, perfect for HD videos, photos and browsing the net.

Air View and Air Gesture.

The screen doesn't just look good, it's so advanced you don't even need to touch it. Air View is a feature that means you can control the screen by hovering your finger over it. Hover over emails or images to preview them without opening them, or hover over the time bar in videos to find the exact moment you want to watch. Then there's Air Gesture. Want to skip music tracks? Just wave your hand past the screen. How about scroll a webpage? Just wave downwards. You can even just wave your hand over the S4 to answer calls.

Overview Image
Overview Image

Control videos and webpages without touching the screen.

Smart Pause works when you're watching videos, either ones stored on your S4 or streamed from the net from sites like YouTube™. Once it's activated, if you look away from the screen, perhaps to talk to a friend or pick up your glass of cola, the video will pause. Look back and it'll start playing again. Then there's Smart Scroll. When you're reading an email or web browsing, your Galaxy S4 can recognise when you're looking at the screen and the angle you're holding it at. Tilt the phone and it'll scroll up or down, making for easy one handed use wherever you are.

Advanced 13MP camera that's packed with features.

Not only does the camera take great shots whether it's day or night, it's full of unique features too. There's Dual Camera that lets you take a photo from the rear camera and the 2MP front facing camera simultaneously and merge them into one image. Sound & shot lets you take a photograph and record sound at the same time, so you've got your snapshot and then a snippet of audio to help you relive the moment. Your Samsung Galaxy S4 can also automatically organise your photos and create albums based on specific events with Story Album. You can even apply themes and choose various layouts, then print the photos and hold the memories in your hand.

Overview Image
Overview Image

Samsung Galaxy Gear compatible.

When you get Android 4.3 Jelly Bean for your phone, you'll be able to use the Samsung Galaxy Gear with it. This is Samsung's smartwatch, the ultimate convenient gadget. It lets you control your smartphone, check notifications and make calls all from your wrist. You can even send texts with your phone in a bag.

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB
Previous 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 29 Next
Review 81 for Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB
Great product ever.
from London
,07 May 2014
Inhave being using samsung product for many years but never regret it. Samsung is excellent, reliable value for money uncomperable to other product. Easy access.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
44 of 94 people found this review helpful.
Review 82 for Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB
very pretty and easy but poor battery
from north west
,07 May 2014
i found this very similar to my s2. the camera is faster. it has the eye control thing but i found this too unreliable. Looks better but is a bit large in my hand if just one handed. Also the battery is very poor if not on wifi it just goes .
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
31 of 65 people found this review helpful.
Review 83 for Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB
Samsung Galaxy S4 white
from South Wales
,07 May 2014
Love my new phone. Very user friendly and looks classy. Had S2 before and found transition to this one easy. Lightweight and slim with excellent features, display and photograph quality. Also must mention the service from carphone warehouse (CPW) - I would rate it A* for value, speed, quality and level of communication,. Provided with an hour time slot on next day free delivery and even driver's name! Very impressed and I am fussy!!!. Would definitely recommend both the S4 and CPW to anyone
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 84 for Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB
Best Purchase Ever
from Cardiff
,07 May 2014
I use my Galaxy S4 for 2 weeks.I'm very happy with my phone.Easy to use, brilliant pictures and fast internet. I LOVE MY SAMSUNG GALAXY S4 .I had galaxy s3 before, but galaxy s4 much more faster and brighter.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 85 for Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB
amazing stylish
from newbridge
,07 May 2014
Always stayed with samsung as I find them easy to get used to and they always seem to look more stylish than other products. Classy phone amd easy to hold with plenty of features to offer. I had a great deal with this purchase so overall very happy customer
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
12 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 86 for Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB
S4
from Devonshire
,07 May 2014
Got this after an HTC One V. Picked up the use of the OS seemlesly. Very easy transition. Battery seems to last 2 days in my use which is ok but not great. Over all very pleased.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20 of 37 people found this review helpful.
Review 87 for Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB
One of the best
from llanelli
,07 May 2014
The galaxy s4 is one of the best in my opinion. Great hd screen and 13 megapixel camera it is quite light but does seem a bit fragile. The battery cover is very flimsy and bends a lot as for battery life better than some but still room for improvement I think. The dual band 5ghz wifi is very fast with good upload/download speed depending on the speed of your network. In summary I would whole heartedly recommend this phone.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
18 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 88 for Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB
Its ok
,03 May 2014
I found this to big and the battery life is dreadfull think its overated my self sent it back now have a smaller windows phone which i like its lighter and smoother, the samsung is so difficult to use with so mant features you just dont need that runs down the battery so fast even when your not using it who needs all this in a phone and the screen is just to large it is also supposed to be a very fast phone i found there to be lag when going back to the to the home screen after using apps this is not for me.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
41 of 85 people found this review helpful.
Review 89 for Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB
from Birmingham
,01 May 2014
this is the best phone ever. i think samsung is the best trademark. i used to have a galaxy s. but it was 3 years old. and when i decided to buy a new phone i knew that it would be a samsung again.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
71 of 141 people found this review helpful.
Review 90 for Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB
new phone
from bridport
,30 April 2014
Very good am quite pleased with the samsung galaxy s4.great camera.i lsten to a lot of music and it is very good for that too.it holds a lot of memory, thats before you put in a memory card.only down side I find is that the battery does not last long.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
78 of 156 people found this review helpful.
Review 91 for Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB
excellent
from lancashire
,30 April 2014
Absolutely love it, features graphics ,options etc. Definitely reccomend. Had the galaxy gt about 4 years ago and I hated it, But it looks like this one is different,
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
75 of 152 people found this review helpful.
Review 92 for Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB
galaxy s4
from walea
,30 April 2014
Very pleased with the galaxy s4 its a briliant phone would like to stay with samsung after rhe contract expierd, but not so keen about the battery life thats the only thing that I found straigh away with the phne but otherthan that spoton :)
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
73 of 140 people found this review helpful.
Review 93 for Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB
battery life
,29 April 2014
loses charge quickly..nice phone but i want to change it ASAP...battery life is shocking really for a ONE MONTH old phone...will be contacting you for a different phone altogether.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
57 of 112 people found this review helpful.
Review 94 for Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB
easy to use
from Scotland
,28 April 2014
Very simple to use and very smart great phone .lots of apps and very impressed how quickly it charges I've yet to find a negative point so very happy .would definitely recommend this phone I was worried about the touchscreen texting but it's very easy to use .
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
63 of 129 people found this review helpful.
Review 95 for Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB
Excellent purchase
from Nottingham
,26 April 2014
Very happy with the phone, The delivery was on time and updated constantly which was very good. Phone is amazing and definitely recommend it to others.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
75 of 142 people found this review helpful.
Review 96 for Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB
Samsung s4
from Devon
,25 April 2014
An easy to use phone, this is my first smart phone and it's been so easy to use and set up with two email accounts and facebook. It's very intuitive and I haven't even used all the apps and features such as air view.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
81 of 165 people found this review helpful.
Review 97 for Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB
easier than expected
from london
,23 April 2014
Thought I would find it difficult to get used to an android phone but surprisingly simple . And I bought an hdmi connector and can stream movies to my TV via phone . Very satisfied
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
86 of 174 people found this review helpful.
Review 98 for Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB
from london
,23 April 2014
Just getting used to using it but i am enjoying having lots of different things on it which i didn't have with my old phone so having lots of fun in finding out new things,
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
65 of 135 people found this review helpful.
Review 99 for Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB
Easy
from norfolk
,23 April 2014
Easy to use and set up with no problems. The camera features and effects are great. The battery life is better than some other phones out there and the quick charging time is ideal when you're on the go. I would definitely recommend this to anyone 16+.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
60 of 114 people found this review helpful.
Review 100 for Samsung Galaxy S4 16GB
samsungs4
from st helens
,23 April 2014
Good phone still getting my head round it need to find out how to copy n paste so I can save my cv to my phone its easy to use and good download speed battery life a bit poor but brilliant quickness at charging
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
51 of 103 people found this review helpful.
Previous 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 29 Next