The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Samsung Galaxy S Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Samsung Galaxy S

Average Customer Rating:
4.404 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(166 Reviews) 157
139 of 166(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

Walk Out Working


The Samsung Galaxy S i9000 is a stellar Android smartphone packed with powerful technology. Whether you’re new to smartphones or a seasoned pro, you’ll enjoy using this beautiful, state-of-the-art device.

Part of what makes Galaxy S so special is the 4 inch super AMOLED display, which is brighter, faster and less reflective than a traditional touchscreen. It’s great for watching HD movies or browsing detailed websites. As you’ll be tapping away on your mobile all the time, make sure to invest in a screen protector, which will ward off dust, scratches and fingerprints.

It’s easy to get to grips with Galaxy S, even if you’re new to touchscreen phones and Android features. The speedy 1GHz processor and simple Touchwiz 3.0 interface let you quickly find features, set shortcuts, and personalise each of the 7 home screens with your favourite apps.

Samsung social hub makes communicating easier. This online widget sits on your homescreen and works in the background, delivering text messages, emails, social network updates and IMs as soon as they arrive. Social hub syncs two ways with your phone and your PC, so it will show you up-to-date contact information and calendar events, in one simple view.

Received a message? Respond in seconds with the easy editor, which features Swype for text. This simple yet brilliant app allows you to hold your finger over the keyboard and swipe from letter to letter; constructing whole messages in one go!

Tap the shopping bag icon to visit Android Market™, the online store with over 70,000 apps, games and smartphone services. Galaxy S also gives you one-touch access to Samsung Apps, where you’ll find lots of tailor made content for your Samsung phone. Adding a microSD memory card, up to 32GB, will give you more storage space for apps, movies and fun stuff.

The Samsung Galaxy S lets you enjoy a better internet experience while away from your laptop or PC. The large, bright screen and fast Wi-Fi connection make it easy to comfortably view websites, download content or stream videos. You can also open multiple websites, switch between tabs, and zoom in or out of details just by pinching the screen!

Discover thousands of best-selling titles with the pre-installed e-book reader, and turn your phone into a digital library of brilliant books. If you’re partial to reading during the morning commute, why not purchase a battery extender pack (sold separately), and enjoy hours more reading power while on the move.

Samsung Galaxy S is everything you need to enjoy life on the go. It’s a great phone that will keep you in sync with all of your contacts and networks, but it’s also more than that. Whether you want to visit your favourite websites, take flawless photos and make HD videos, or relax with your favourite tunes and movies, Galaxy S puts everything you love right at your fingertips. The powerful Samsung sound engine, awesome built-in speakers and Divx-compatible media player take mobile media playback to a whole new level. As this mobile marvel is about to become your new best friend, make sure to protect it with a Samsung Galaxy S case, designed especially for your smartphone.

 

 

Network Price Promise
  Samsung Galaxy S front Samsung Galaxy S side Samsung Galaxy S back Samsung Galaxy S open  
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 Next
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy S
FEATURED REVIEW
Great for beginners or experts
from Bath
,20 April 2011
Its easy to navigate software and home screens make it ideal for a first time smart phone user. A highly recommended first touch screen due to the size and clarity.
For those a bit techy, you can customize practically everything! It looks great, the music player is the nicest i've seen on the android phones and the video picture is fantastic - perfect for watching films or episodes on a long train journey.
Would highly recommend to everyone.
 
My Product Recommendations
BlackBerry Torch 9800
4.1 out of 5(195)
 
 
 
Samsung Galaxy S
4.4 out of 5(166)
 
 
 
Case-mate Samsung Galaxy S Screen Protector - twin pack
 
 
 
Sony Ericsson Xperia arc
4.3 out of 5(23)
 
 
 
Kit Mobile Visor Go Ultra
2 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
116 of 128 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy S
FEATURED REVIEW
galaxy s
,04 September 2010
What can you say, simply awesome. The best phone i've had. There's app's for almost everything. The internet connection is very fast and the screen is big enough to make watching video worthwhile. I'd recommend this to anyone.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
372 of 401 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy S
Excellent all round phone
from Birmingham
,05 October 2011
Purchased this phone 3 weeks ago on a 20.50 Contract. Excellent all round phone. A good variety of android apps and a good camera. A very easy phone to get your head around. Comes with 8gb of space which is brilliant for music and apps. Only bad point of the phone is you have to charge the phone every night but this doesnt really bother me:)
So, overall great phone and I recommend it to everyone!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy S
samsung galaxy s
from cheshire
,30 September 2011
ive now had this phone for 3 months and find it a superb and easy phone to navigate, all apps are easy to find camera is sharp but the downside the battery drains quickly especially after internet use. I tried alongside the S2 in the shop and although the S2 was noticebly quicker u wont be disappointed with this phone. get ascreen cover straight away , I got a leather one with protectors off ebay for £4 posted
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy S
,16 September 2011
this is a nice and easy phone i like it and it helps with my work kidds would kinda like it but it has a short battery life that doesnt last a day :) NICE
Age group: 30 - 39
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy S
Good phone, but standard flaws from Android
from London
,01 September 2011
Samsung Galaxy S is a great phone, pretty much an inexpensive iPhone. The capabilities of the phone are great and there's so much on it to keep you occupied and to fulfil every need you could want from a smartphone.
However, being made by Android, there are some technical "glitches" that have made me stop using this phone. Tne first would be general freezing or when going to press an app just loading a blank screen. This has proved very annoying on apps that I use a lot, such as Messaging and email.
My biggest complaint with the phone, is the battery life. If your using a smartphone as a smartphone and going on facebook, maybe playing Angry Birds every now and again, or taking photos and sharing them online then expect to have to charge you battery every evening. This is annoying, because if I'm not home one night then in the morning I have no phone to call with!
Seriously, after having the phone 6 months I don't think it's worth the price I paid. Everyday, I get a little but more disappointed.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy S
the best phone ever
from London
,26 August 2011
the best phone i have ever had it has loads of memery .
I have had my galxey s for 4 or 5 monthes. the phone that i had before was a was a lg pop it is the WOREST PHONE EVER.
 
My Product Recommendations
Casemate Samsung Galaxy S 2 Screen protector
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy S
Good Pruchase
from London
,18 August 2011
I really like this phone, simple to use and easy to work round, the only negative thing I would say about this product is the battery life does not last a day.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy S
very good for arthritic hands
from EAST YORKSHIRE UK
,17 August 2011
very easy to use but poor instruction book, only able to find out things by trial and error. Plenty of features , clear vision, good foto's. VERY DISAPPOINTED IT DOESN'T KEEP REPEATING NOTIFICATION OF TEXT UNTIL YOU OPEN.IT
ALSO BEEN UNABLE TO ENLARGE TEXT FONT.
Maybe this is just me because I haven't found the correct button to press.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy S
Best Phone ever
from Liverpool
,16 August 2011
Carphone warehouse just awsome- nothing too much trouble, got a really good deal and loads more call time and cheaper than previous package with another supplier
this is my first smart phone and the best phone i have ever owned- easy to use even for 50 somethings.Camera is better than my Olympus digital camera and i now dont have to carry two thing aroudn when on holiday - Picture quality is amazing.
Love the market place and never of the phone - highly recommended.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy S
Amazing
from Brimingham
,09 August 2011
I have had Samsung Galaxy S i9000 now for 1 year and it has just flow by, the way that this phone has suited to my lifestyle is perfect! the screen is awesome (outdoors not as good) the screen is so responsive it is unbelievable. some times I think it knows where I want to go before i do. when i updated my android system to 2.3.4 I had another amazing few weeks with my phone where I just was not off it. although the battery is very big it does not least for ever and you may find yourself charging your phone every day.. but that is the only bad point to this phone. so if you are thinking of getting this phone then do. it just AMAZING and with the newly reduced prices it just get better. well done android and Samsung for this collaboration it was a big big brake through.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy S
best phone ave had
,07 August 2011
i got this phone for christmas and its very good its responsive and very fast the camera is good and it has android so it has android market its a very good phone!
 
My Product Recommendations
Samsung Galaxy S 16GB
4.8 out of 5(11)
 
 
 
Apple iPhone 4 16GB on T-Mobile
4.3 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
Apple Smart Cover leather for the new iPad/iPad 2 - Black
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy S
love it!
from bradford
,06 August 2011
this phone is amazing,its easy to use and has a brilliant screen.im so addicted to the games on this phone,and overall the live wallpapers are brilliant.would recommend this to my friends and family.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy S
Let down
from Yorkshire
,01 August 2011
Although at first i was impressed with this phone the battery life is so bad i have tried replacing the battery with no hope. Easy to use but it is also slow and often crashes. I am tied into a 2 year contract with this phone and i am now having to fork out money to buy a new phone. Do not make the same mistake i did in buying this phone.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy S
Best Phone Ever
from bradford
,27 July 2011
ive had this phone since april and its the best phone ever.
the battery life isnt the best it can last around 12 hours using it all day. the apps are great can really download anything, i dont think it changes the battery by having loads of apps or make it slower.
the camera is fab so is the video recorder front camera is fine for a 2megapixle (i think).
i recommend downloading an app called 'wheres my android' as if any one trys stealing your phone you can find it staight away as the phone is worth quiet alot. :¬)
my overall thoughts of the phone is its the best phone ever i wouldnt change it for the world! :¬)
 
My Product Recommendations
Samsung Galaxy S
4.4 out of 5(166)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy S
Bettery Time
from london
,27 July 2011
Perfomance is excellent... But Bettery is ZERO... I am very happy about the phone , i am very satisfy with perfomance of the phone but not happy with bettery time.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy S
What to say?
from Gloucester
,22 July 2011
Good phone......BUT if u have to many apps its really slow, battery life alright not the best, want to change phone already because of the slowness!!!!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy S
Worse purchase ever
from Manchester
,30 June 2011
Had been excited about upgrading my phone for 4 weeks. Did research and it was between this phone, an HTC or an iphone. In the end i chose this cos i wanted to be different as almost all my friends have got an iphone. Now i wish i got the HTC. I have now had this phone for 2 days ONLY and wont let me on facebook via shortcut button as keeps force closing all the time. Also, everytime i click on any function button, after 5mins tops it freezes switches itself off and back on again and the phone downloads stuff when not been asked to download in the first place. HIGHLY NOT RECOMMENDED if you actually want a phone to use apps for longer than 5 mins. USELESS!!!!!!!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy S
good but battery life is rubbish
from colchester
,29 June 2011
brilliant phone love everything abt it apart from the battery its awful, the features are remarkable, you never get bored of playing with it, this would be the perfect phone if the battery was better but still great phone
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy S
Amazing
,18 June 2011
it is really an amazing fone... easy to use. But the only thing is that the battery dies out a bit quickly when you keep using it. But for the rest is very nice.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 Next