The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Samsung Galaxy Mega Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Samsung Galaxy Mega

Average Customer Rating:
4.643 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
13 of 14(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

Samsung Galaxy Mega

The Samsung Galaxy Mega has one of the biggest screens of any smartphone, making it ideal for if you love movies when you're on the move and enjoying visual content, but also perfect for typing and working on spreadsheets.

The essential tech specs.

Inside the Galaxy Mega is a 3,200mAh, a huge battery, giving 420 hours of standby and 10 hours of non-stop talk time. Running Android Jelly 4.2 and with an advanced Snapdragon 400 1.7GHz dual core processor, it's extremely slick. The 6.3" display is one of the biggest of any smartphone, and the resolution of 720x1280 means a sharpness of 233 pixels per inch (PPI). The 8MP camera is good in all conditions, while there's 8GB of built-in storage, which is expandable with a microSD card up to 64GB (sold separately).

Overview Image
Overview Image

A super sized screen.

The Samsung Galaxy Mega is going to be famous for its screen. At 6.3" it's one of the biggest of any smartphone, and with 720p HD resolution it's sharp too, so it's stupendous for enjoying your favourite movies, TV episodes, and enjoying photos on Facebook®. Even though the Galaxy Mega has such a large screen, it's still perfectly usable with one hand. Light for its size and only 8mm thin, there's also built-in software that makes it easy for one hand use. There's a special keyboard option that squishes the keys to one side, as well as a number pad that can be shrunk, making for easier selection with one thumb.

Split screen mode.

That huge screen is also great for using multiple apps at once for increased efficiency. This means you can have an email open in one half of the screen, and be reading an internet page on the other half. You can also be making notes on S Planner while reading a text message from a friend giving you directions. Or, use the Pop up play feature. This means you can have a small window playing a movie or video clip floating on top of any other screen, so you can be writing some Tweets, and still watch your video clips from last night's party.

Overview Image
Overview Image

Air View – using the screen without touching.

The screen of the Galaxy Mega is so sensitive you can control it without touching it, using a feature called Air View. Hover your finger a few millimetres from the screen and you can do things like preview folders in your gallery, preview entire messages without having to open a text, preview sections of video to find the exact moment you want to watch and even magnify the screen to make hitting web links easier.

Group Play and S Translator.

The great software in the Samsung Galaxy Mega doesn't stop there either. Group Play is a feature that lets you wirelessly connect to other compatible devices so you can share music and have it playing from multiple devices at once, share pictures, documents, and connect to play multiplayer games. It's fast and really easy to set up too. S Translator is a built-in app that lets you translate from and to English from nine other languages including Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Spanish, and English. Cameras front and back.

Overview Image
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Mega
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy Mega
samsung mega 6.3
from taunton
,12 February 2014
so far it has been a great phone only had it a couple of days and has been what I expected lovely large screen just got to find the right type of case for it and I will be well happy
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy Mega
best phone ever
from peterbourgh
,07 November 2013
This is the best phone ive had it has so many features that I find useful and so easy to use.the only thing im not jeen on is the phone is alot bigger then I thought it would be but having said that its a brilliant phone and I would recomend it to anyone
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
61 of 101 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy Mega
Everything I need
from Cardiff
,27 October 2013
Thrilled with my Galaxy Mega. My son said I should upgrade to an iPhone but having been using the original Galaxy Tab why would I want to go back to a small screen? This is phone and tablet in one small neat package. I'm home.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
50 of 99 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy Mega
in love with it
from preston
,23 October 2013
Only had it for 2 days and I can glady say this is easily the best phone ive ever owned, fits in pockets fine, the size is great if your always on the internet like I am, got a ballistic sg maxx case for it and I love it even more feels well protected, I woild recommend this phone to anyone.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
50 of 97 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy Mega
Good Phone
from Manchester
,09 October 2013
It is a easy to use phone....excellent to watch videos on and it is very fast. I am happy with my purchase. I would recommend this product to friends.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
64 of 123 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy Mega
Best Phone I've Ever Had
from Manchester
,01 September 2013
Took some getting used to with size of phone, but found it so easy to use and a complete doddle to set up, Always had blackberry's, never going back to them again
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
80 of 139 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy Mega
Mega or iPhone?
from South Yorkshire
,29 August 2013
Until last week I was a very strong Apple supporter.
This phone has completely changed my view. The mega took some getting used to having been used to ios since the release of the original iPhone.
The battery life of the Samsung Galaxy Mega is much better than that of the iPhone 5. On a single charge I can get more than a full days use out of the phone. I could never manage that with the iPhone.
The camera features are far better than those on the iPhone and the screen is amazing.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
37 of 64 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy Mega
Very glitchy
,09 August 2013
Very glitchy, screen rotated when it wants,web pages freeze, could not get good signal. I had 3 in the space of two weeks. Samsung really got it wrong
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
31 of 71 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy Mega
Mega phone and mega features
from Wallington
,06 August 2013
After years of using an IPhone I thought it time to take the plunge and try a different device and don't regret it... It took me a few days to get use to the Android operating system and size is just right for me.
Storage while not being huge had been expanded with a memory card and using third party software I have sync'd the phone with iTunes.
The screen is crisp and video playback is smooth. Sound quality is excellent and the device is nicely balanced to hold for long piteous of time though as a phone I would recommend a bluetooth headset for long conversations or hands free.
Not managed to use all the features yet but easy to set up and the large screen makes reading emails, text messages and Internet pages a breeze.
The device is also the right size for commuting and trading eBooks as well.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
34 of 60 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy Mega
Amazing!!!!!
from Birmingham
,23 July 2013
Samsung mega is simply amazing. I was going to get the note 2 but saw this in store and I knew it was made for me. The big screen means I can watch all the videos I want without squinting. A tablet and a phone all combined in one. The snap and sound feature is great. Is well worth the money.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
57 of 94 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy Mega
The mega
from Aylesbury
,17 July 2013
I have had this phone for about a week or so now and its not much different to the note 2 or s3/4. The best features are obviously the screen size im always looking for a big screen, perfect quality is definition and stupidly light. Most reviews will tell you its uncomfortable in a pocket I disagree I carry mine in jeans and work trousers and I hardly feel it. The camera is only 8mp but its good enough and the features and edits are amazing. It even includes the snap and sound! The battery life isn't what I expected for the screen size and performance its actually better! Over all I give it five stars! Definitely worth it!!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
42 of 78 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy Mega
BEST SMARTPHONE EVER
from Llantrisant
,15 July 2013
This is the best smartphone i've ever owned. 10x better than the s4, IPhone 5, BlackBerry Q10 and BlackBerry Z10! Amazing !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
44 of 76 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy Mega
excellent technology
from nottingham
,08 July 2013
I just got my mega yesterday and in 5 mins i realised that its the best phone , best screen and not that heavy and big as it seems . in anycase better then and tablet. Very good for games and apps , much better then s3 or s4. Superb battery as didnt charge since out of box. Also CPW people made me understand the functions. I am using I5 but wanted a tablet but then as i saw this in store its better then having a tablet.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
51 of 82 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy Mega
Amazing phone
from London
,02 July 2013
This is the best phone that I have ever used. It is so much better than the s4 and the huge screen is amazing for watching videos and surfing the web as it allows you to see clearly what you're doing and android jelly bean is amazing for gaming
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
84 of 125 people found this review helpful.