The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Samsung Galaxy Fame Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews

Samsung Galaxy Fame

Average Customer Rating:
4.062 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
175 of 209(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

Samsung Galaxy Fame

The Samsung Galaxy Fame is a stylish, affordable smartphone that's perfect as a first time smartphone – it's also super easy to use.

The essential tech specs.

When it comes to battery life, you'll get 420 hours of standby time and up to 8 hours of talk time out of the 1,300mAh battery. The software is Android Jelly Bean 4.1, which is excellent for customisation, while the processor is a mid-range 1GHz single core. The medium-sized 3.5" screen has a sharpness score of 165 pixels per inch (PPI), at a resolution of 320x480. 4GB of on board storage can be upgrading using a microSD card (sold separately) up to 32GB, and there's a mid-range 5MP camera on the rear.

Samsung Galaxy Fame
Samsung Galaxy Fame

Advanced yet simple features.

Samsung smartphones are famous for their ingenious features, and the Samsung Galaxy Fame is no different. It understands your movements with its intuitive Motion UI. Simply shake your Samsung Galaxy Fame to refresh and update your homescreen widgets and other content. If you are unable to take a call, you can just turn over the device to mute the ringer, perfect for if you're in the middle of a conversation, or in a meeting.

Android Jelly Bean 4.1.

The software that powers the Samsung Galaxy Fame is Android Jelly Bean 4.1. This comes with loads of features. It let you fully customise the wallpaper of your homescreens and add shortcuts and widgets that display information from you apps. It's as simple or advanced as you want. Android also gives you access to the Google Play™ Store. Inside there are over 1 million apps, everything from games and news apps, to programs that give your Fame more features.

Samsung Galaxy Fame
Overview Image

Enjoy your content for longer.

Inside the Samsung Galaxy Fame is 4GB of storage, enough for a fair few songs, loads of photos or a handful of movies. If you need more space, you can use slot microSD cards (sold separately) into the Galaxy Fame. These can be any size up to 32GB, giving you acres of extra space. There's also a 1,300mAh battery, which means you've got plenty of power to enjoy content on the go.

Loads of games to choose from.

When you're waiting for a friend or just having a lazy hour on the weekend, the Samsung Galaxy Fame comes preloaded with Samsung Game Hub Lite. This gives you easy access to fully optimised games made just for the Fame. There are hundreds to choose from, so you'll always have something to do.

Samsung Galaxy Fame
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Fame
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 Next
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Best purchase ever
Dolce&Banan
from Kings Lynn
,30 March 2014
The best phone!I love it!Lovely shape,small size so you can put it to the smart bag on parties.Useful wi-fi,for me it is like mini computer.Very good phone.I really recommend it.Definately I will buy this phone for my daughter on her 10th birthday:)Thanks
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Samsung Galaxy Fame
greenfields
from Shropshire
,29 March 2014
Phone looks good and is quite easy to use. Battery life does not last more than a day,if used quite a bit in one day.
Good for checking email and texts messages.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Not the best.
truss
from Shropshire
,29 March 2014
Had this phone for nearly 6 months now, I find it too small and too fragile. The insides of the phone have broken and it wont register the sim card properly, it is too small so I rrecommend not getting this smartphone as it is cheap and not reliable so I wont be getting another low end smartphone again as the contracts up in and 18 months and I drastically need a new phone. I want to upgrade and get a better and more expensive smart which I know will work!!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
galaxy fame
sonza
from soham
,27 March 2014
good on whole but i tryed to call some one while out and it wouldnt let me said network not recognised. ten mins later let me so .... but that was only problem ather than that fantastic phone
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Happy kid
Ben
from Filey
,27 March 2014
I bought this for my child and she is very happy which makes me very happy and I get a tablet.I do not have anything else to say but I need to write 150 characters so I hope that I have achieved this?
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Below Average purchase but just acceptable
harry
from Bradford
,26 March 2014
If you need cheap and cheerful then this phone just ok to use. The battery life is just acceptable but not very good. Although the camera is 5mp but its not good at all I will rather like Samsung Galaxy Ace.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
really easy to use
rob ynwa
from pentre
,26 March 2014
I am new to the smart phone market , and am not technical in any way , so it was nice to receive a phone that is very easy to set up and use, with all the features that I need ,the camera although not the best does the job ,. the phone is of good quality .I feel this is an excellent phone for those new to the smartphone market.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
6 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Very Good Value
Nicknameless
from Fort William
,26 March 2014
If you need long battery life and sharp images then this isn't for you, however if you want a neat functional phone that does all the basics well, then you won't be disappointed.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
disappointed
toddzy
from derby
,26 March 2014
Nice little phone but keeps crashing and going really slow but apart from that it's sound good little model but I'm an iPhone man love them shouldn't of got rid of mine :0(
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
great price
sunnyburnley
from burnley
,26 March 2014
Bought for my son and he loves it.much better than other phones at this price super fast delivery too...........................................................
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Great phone
fryboy1234
from South west
,26 March 2014
Really good phone. So much like the s3 without a few features that are not a necessity. The phone never freezes or lags. Good value for money, would recommend to anyone.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Poor Smart phone
mjar2010
from Birmingham
,23 March 2014
The battery life is very poor, the touch response is very slow, ok as first smartphone but advoid if previous smartphone user, dont be tempted by price.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
17 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Fame
Lou
from Hereford
,22 March 2014
Very good phone ideal for what I needed only problem is the power button plays up. Does what I need it to and as access to Facebook and apps which is all I need
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
23 of 37 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Not to bad
scooby doo
from Leigh
,20 March 2014
If your after something for calling and texting this mobile is great but if like me you take a lot of pictures and games it's not the best. After downloading 3 game's it's also slowed the phone's speed right down
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
27 of 49 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Galaxy Fame
Fone Boy
from Cambridge
,20 March 2014
You get what you pay for...it suits me just fine..if you want a better phone pay money...I use it for calls and texts, checking emails...perfect for me.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
15 of 41 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
great purchase
B ernie
from birmingham
,19 March 2014
great phone easy to use good camera main thing great price cheapest per month deal you can get shame theirs no headphones included like i got with my nokia and my son got with his galaxy ace.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
24 of 40 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Looks good so far
Jake
,19 March 2014
This was bought as a gift for my wife who is not very "techie" in outlook. So far she seems to like it a lot and it will be interesting to see how she uses this - her first contracted phone. I am very happy with the phone as I have a Samsung Galaxy Ace and I am very happy with that.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
31 of 54 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
its a great simple to use phone
bobo
from mansfield
,19 March 2014
The fame was easy to get used to only have had one problem second day it wouldnt turn on. Geek squad helped me out. They just took battery out and put it back in . No trouble since. I have worked out how to down load games ect and it is quite simple. The key pad is a nice size and at my age I need a key pad I can see. The voice comands also are a grest idea easy to use . Great phone for all ages .
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
29 of 53 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Review
lulu
from Manchester
,16 March 2014
Overall I enjoy using the phone but I find that sometimes it can be a little slow and the battery life isn't as good as I was expecting. I am charging it almost every night if not at least every second night.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
18 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Fame
jay22
from hertfordshire
,13 March 2014
this phone is very easy to use and can be set up to suit your needs. very light and small, easy to hold. needs smart link/ Samsung link though, s you need a separate app to do so.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
61 of 116 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 Next