The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Samsung Galaxy Fame Review

Print page
Product Reviews

Samsung Galaxy Fame

Average Customer Rating:
3.901 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(284 Reviews) 284
223 of 284(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

Samsung Galaxy Fame

The Samsung Galaxy Fame is a stylish, affordable smartphone that's perfect as a first time smartphone – it's also super easy to use.

The essential tech specs.

When it comes to battery life, you'll get 420 hours of standby time and over 6 hours of talk time out of the 1,300mAh battery. The software is Android Jelly Bean 4.1, which is excellent for customisation, while the processor is a mid-range 1GHz single core. The medium-sized 3.5" screen has a sharpness score of 165 pixels per inch (PPI), at a resolution of 320x480. 4GB of on board storage can be upgrading using a microSD card (sold separately) up to 32GB, and there's a mid-range 5MP camera on the rear.

Samsung Galaxy Fame
Samsung Galaxy Fame

Advanced yet simple features.

Samsung smartphones are famous for their ingenious features, and the Samsung Galaxy Fame is no different. It understands your movements with its intuitive Motion UI. Simply shake your Samsung Galaxy Fame to refresh and update your homescreen widgets and other content. If you are unable to take a call, you can just turn over the device to mute the ringer, perfect for if you're in the middle of a conversation, or in a meeting.

Android Jelly Bean 4.1.

The software that powers the Samsung Galaxy Fame is Android Jelly Bean 4.1. This comes with loads of features. It let you fully customise the wallpaper of your homescreens and add shortcuts and widgets that display information from you apps. It's as simple or advanced as you want. Android also gives you access to the Google Play™ Store. Inside there are over 1 million apps, everything from games and news apps, to programs that give your Fame more features.

Samsung Galaxy Fame
Overview Image

Enjoy your content for longer.

Inside the Samsung Galaxy Fame is 4GB of storage, enough for a fair few songs, loads of photos or a handful of movies. If you need more space, you can use slot microSD cards (sold separately) into the Galaxy Fame. These can be any size up to 32GB, giving you acres of extra space. There's also a 1,300mAh battery, which means you've got plenty of power to enjoy content on the go.

Loads of games to choose from.

When you're waiting for a friend or just having a lazy hour on the weekend, the Samsung Galaxy Fame comes preloaded with Samsung Game Hub Lite. This gives you easy access to fully optimised games made just for the Fame. There are hundreds to choose from, so you'll always have something to do.

Samsung Galaxy Fame
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Fame
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 Next
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Frustratingly awful
from England
,07 September 2014
was a brilliant phone for the first 3 weeks after that it started going downhill, terrible phone lags way too much and worst of all just crashes all the time, previously took me 10 minuets to just change a song! takes it 2 minuets to just register that i've pressed the lock button and that's when the lock button decided to work only good thing about this phone is the battery life honest opinion is to avoid this phone it's not Samsung's best creation.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
25 of 38 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
the worst phone that i have ever had.
from Sheffield
,05 September 2014
i got this as a quick replacement for my old phone that had broken. as soon as i switched it on for the first time i knew there was something wrong, as it froze up straight away when i was trying to set it up. whenever i tried to view my photos it lagged, and i ended up having to take the battery out every time because of it being slow. i couldn't even use any of the features properly because when i tried to use the camera, access the music player, write a text or even answer a call it froze! also, when i had it in my pocket, the screen is so sensitive it used to come up with emergency dialler constantly. it is so unreliable, i highly recommend you stay away from this phone at all costs! my daughter bought me a second-hand phone the same as the one i had before this (galaxy y) and i am so happy i could get rid of this one. not worth the £60 plus £10 top-up i paid for it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Slowest phone!
from Bristol
,05 September 2014
My husband got this phone and gave up after a week to go back to a very old one he had in the drawer. It is so slow it borders on unusable. I gave it a go as my galaxy ace was slowing down so I thought it might be preferable. Wrong! I can't believe anyone has the patience for this. Yes it is cheap, but so was my galaxy ace and that was much much better.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
This phone has to have been a joke
from London
,02 September 2014
This phone never worked from day 1. Poor memory, randomly crashes, freezes or switches off. Very slow. Very disappointing. Samsung definitely had to deliberately try to make the phone this terrible. To do so in this age of technology is harder than making a phone that is competent.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Great mobile
from kent
,27 August 2014
My first Samsung I am very pleased with it ,easy to use better than my sony experia battery time very good
Lots of extra features I use it mainly for business and can only say how good it is
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
14 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Abysmal
from Cumbria
,22 August 2014
I was looking forward to an upgrade on my Ace, which never let me down in any way apart from the memory as it got older.
However this Fame is absolute rubbish. The camera is so slow it misses the moment you are trying to capture, and eventually loading the photo takes too long. The phone has a mind of its own and switches on and off willy-nilly. It opens up features I haven't asked for, More often than not Facebook switches off before it actually opens. When texting, the keyboard keeps disappearing and it takes ages to get it back. This phone was supposed to have a bigger memory than the ace. I have only installed a flashlight, facebook and whatsapp(as advised by the shop!) and it still doesn't work quickly. I only wonder how frustrating it would be if I was using any of the preloaded office apps, which I am not. A total disappointment and worrying that I still have 20 months left on the contract! I fear it won't last that long!!!!!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
It is epic
from Surrey
,15 August 2014
The phone is excellent . For those starting secondary like me it is your best option unlike the young which supplies you with 250 GB. If you have an itouch use it for the pictures as the camera can get worn out. The charge isn't the best charge it every night an you'll be fine. Also if you have an itouch use it as your alarm because the phone doesn't always ring.
But it's very useful
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
16 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
from Swansea
,12 August 2014
Had the phone less than a week with problems,screen freezing,not uploading pictures to Facebook,had a replacement,same problems with the replacement.
Got to go back a third time,not happy!
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
absolute pain in the bum
from Rochester, Kent
,10 August 2014
This is the the 3rd phone I have had and all three have got stuck at start-up, they dont get passed the Samsung sign,then the phone repeats itself and fails to turn on. I have rebooted and done master resets to all three which have made no difference whatsoever, gutted cos when it worked, I loved it.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 2-5 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Best upgrade ever
,07 August 2014
After reading some of the negative comments about the Fame I nearly returned my upgrade without even trying
It. We'll I am glad I kept it. I previously had an Ace and the Fame is far superior to it, more memory, longer battery life. I love it.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Good to begin with...
from Leicester
,31 July 2014
Initially it felt like a good budget phone but after the days turned into weeks,it got slower and slower and slower,must be the 4! apps i installed straining the single core processor
The worst phone i have ever owned primarily because it looks like it can do everything but sadly it can't.
I would recommend this phone but only to people i don't like.
Dreadful.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
9 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Slow
from Newcastle
,27 July 2014
I got so frustrated with this phone that I went back to my old one after a month. Poor ringtone volume, unreliable signal, unresponsive apps and very slow internet. Even when connected to wi-fi, internet searches take minutes rather than seconds.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Great bargain.
from London
,20 July 2014
This is a very practical phone with fantastic features to play with. It's downside is the battery apart from that it's a brilliant phone on a budget price. I'll recommend this phone to anyone interested in a basic android phone and I'm definitely enjoying it.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
11 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
One of the best phones out there
from London
,16 July 2014
I simply just love this phone, is very easy to use and is very cute for my liking but I think the battery life could have been more better than it is.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
16 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
disappointing
from Bridgend
,10 July 2014
had this phone for about 4 months with an upgrade plus tablet..(it was the tablet I was after). The phone randomly enables/disables things like gps/ringer/sends random messages/blocking mode bla bla the list really is endless. hanging on until my other line is upgraded in Oct but just noted that the headphones when plugged in great for listening to music but if someone calls I have to unplug the plugin the heaset to chat...I have tried another headset but exactly the same???
The processor is very slow and as such the camera is also rubbish. Slow to get going then takes awful pics unless the subject is sitting still, otherwise you miss the shot!!
I would not recommend this phone it really isn't very good and that is being really kind. My wife has the Galaxy S2 and it is great that is why I thought this one would be ok but very let down.
Samsung you get a Boo! from Dunny
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
16 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
rubbish
from Glastonbury
,09 July 2014
Its like going backwards iv had to put my dim in my Nokia lumia as better phone the tablet not much better keeps sticking and is very slow would of much rather had the tv or laptop
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
9 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Recent upgrade
from London
,09 July 2014
Very pleased with new phone and new tablet; would certainly recommend Samsung Galaxy Fame especially if customer has had a smartphone before.
Easy to use and very compact.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
9 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
fame or ace
from swansea
,09 July 2014
Bit on the small side . Takes a bit of getting used to .Stil lhavent found navigation app This has 4g thats a plus .Neat little handling device but changing fonts is a must.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
3 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
good phone
from newcastle
,09 July 2014
it is a good little phone yeah it might not have the big fancy 5 inch screen or a snapdragon quadcore processor (i didnt want a pc in my pocket) for watching youtube, texting, calling, app support and navigating the phone is good, smooth and reasonable for the price im paying. im happy with it and totally recommend it to anyone not wanting to pay a fortune on a contract.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Best purchase ever!
from Mansfield
,07 July 2014
I had an HTC wildfire previously to this which was driving me insane saying the memory was full etc. I am so pleased with my galaxy fame :) it's so easy to use and I'm still dicovering little features it has.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
18 of 31 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 Next