The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Samsung Galaxy Fame Review

Print page
Product Reviews

Samsung Galaxy Fame

Average Customer Rating:
3.974 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
220 of 273(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Trade-in Store Finder View deal View Trade-in deals

Samsung Galaxy Fame

The Samsung Galaxy Fame is a stylish, affordable smartphone that's perfect as a first time smartphone – it's also super easy to use.

The essential tech specs.

When it comes to battery life, you'll get 420 hours of standby time and over 6 hours of talk time out of the 1,300mAh battery. The software is Android Jelly Bean 4.1, which is excellent for customisation, while the processor is a mid-range 1GHz single core. The medium-sized 3.5" screen has a sharpness score of 165 pixels per inch (PPI), at a resolution of 320x480. 4GB of on board storage can be upgrading using a microSD card (sold separately) up to 32GB, and there's a mid-range 5MP camera on the rear.

Samsung Galaxy Fame
Samsung Galaxy Fame

Advanced yet simple features.

Samsung smartphones are famous for their ingenious features, and the Samsung Galaxy Fame is no different. It understands your movements with its intuitive Motion UI. Simply shake your Samsung Galaxy Fame to refresh and update your homescreen widgets and other content. If you are unable to take a call, you can just turn over the device to mute the ringer, perfect for if you're in the middle of a conversation, or in a meeting.

Android Jelly Bean 4.1.

The software that powers the Samsung Galaxy Fame is Android Jelly Bean 4.1. This comes with loads of features. It let you fully customise the wallpaper of your homescreens and add shortcuts and widgets that display information from you apps. It's as simple or advanced as you want. Android also gives you access to the Google Play™ Store. Inside there are over 1 million apps, everything from games and news apps, to programs that give your Fame more features.

Samsung Galaxy Fame
Overview Image

Enjoy your content for longer.

Inside the Samsung Galaxy Fame is 4GB of storage, enough for a fair few songs, loads of photos or a handful of movies. If you need more space, you can use slot microSD cards (sold separately) into the Galaxy Fame. These can be any size up to 32GB, giving you acres of extra space. There's also a 1,300mAh battery, which means you've got plenty of power to enjoy content on the go.

Loads of games to choose from.

When you're waiting for a friend or just having a lazy hour on the weekend, the Samsung Galaxy Fame comes preloaded with Samsung Game Hub Lite. This gives you easy access to fully optimised games made just for the Fame. There are hundreds to choose from, so you'll always have something to do.

Samsung Galaxy Fame
*Any smartphone is classed as a smartphone purchased in the UK in the last 10 years with an operating system running iOS, Android, Windows or Blackberry OS. This offer is valid on selected Samsung Galaxy Fame pay monthly contracts or upgrades purchased from Carphone Warehouse since 2nd July 2014. Trade-in process must be initiated through promotional link www.carphonewarehouse.com/tradeinpromo in order to receive additional £25. £25 will be automatically added to the value of the Trade-in. Maximum of one Trade-in in per connected Samsung Galaxy Fame. Trade-in amount will be sent to customer via cheque or BACs transfer once approved.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Fame
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 Next
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Slow
Stevo
from Newcastle
,27 July 2014
I got so frustrated with this phone that I went back to my old one after a month. Poor ringtone volume, unreliable signal, unresponsive apps and very slow internet. Even when connected to wi-fi, internet searches take minutes rather than seconds.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Great bargain.
Abd007
from London
,20 July 2014
This is a very practical phone with fantastic features to play with. It's downside is the battery apart from that it's a brilliant phone on a budget price. I'll recommend this phone to anyone interested in a basic android phone and I'm definitely enjoying it.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
One of the best phones out there
Pinky
from London
,16 July 2014
I simply just love this phone, is very easy to use and is very cute for my liking but I think the battery life could have been more better than it is.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
13 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
disappointing
Dunny65
from Bridgend
,10 July 2014
had this phone for about 4 months with an upgrade plus tablet..(it was the tablet I was after). The phone randomly enables/disables things like gps/ringer/sends random messages/blocking mode bla bla the list really is endless. hanging on until my other line is upgraded in Oct but just noted that the headphones when plugged in great for listening to music but if someone calls I have to unplug the plugin the heaset to chat...I have tried another headset but exactly the same???
The processor is very slow and as such the camera is also rubbish. Slow to get going then takes awful pics unless the subject is sitting still, otherwise you miss the shot!!
I would not recommend this phone it really isn't very good and that is being really kind. My wife has the Galaxy S2 and it is great that is why I thought this one would be ok but very let down.
Samsung you get a Boo! from Dunny
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
14 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
rubbish
bod102
from Glastonbury
,09 July 2014
Its like going backwards iv had to put my dim in my Nokia lumia as better phone the tablet not much better keeps sticking and is very slow would of much rather had the tv or laptop
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
6 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Recent upgrade
AndyN4
from London
,09 July 2014
Very pleased with new phone and new tablet; would certainly recommend Samsung Galaxy Fame especially if customer has had a smartphone before.
Easy to use and very compact.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
9 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
fame or ace
arty148
from swansea
,09 July 2014
Bit on the small side . Takes a bit of getting used to .Stil lhavent found navigation app This has 4g thats a plus .Neat little handling device but changing fonts is a must.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
3 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
good phone
phone techy
from newcastle
,09 July 2014
it is a good little phone yeah it might not have the big fancy 5 inch screen or a snapdragon quadcore processor (i didnt want a pc in my pocket) for watching youtube, texting, calling, app support and navigating the phone is good, smooth and reasonable for the price im paying. im happy with it and totally recommend it to anyone not wanting to pay a fortune on a contract.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Best purchase ever!
littlestardrop
from Mansfield
,07 July 2014
I had an HTC wildfire previously to this which was driving me insane saying the memory was full etc. I am so pleased with my galaxy fame :) it's so easy to use and I'm still dicovering little features it has.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
14 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
best for me
egghead
from eastleigh
,04 July 2014
i would recomend this phone,its great.i have downloaded all the apps i needed and i havent had a problem with any of them.i am going to buy one for my daughter
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
16 of 38 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
nadine
from plymouth
,02 July 2014
very good quality and very easy to use with good features and nice and easy apps to use, also very quick and a good level of volume while taking a call and and in loud speaker
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
31 of 63 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
fab phone
Louisa64
from derbyshire
,02 July 2014
I just wanted something simple as i have a tablet and just need something for calls and texts.
Very easy to use and set up, i would advise an SD card for those that want to store lots on it, and the wifi does drain the battery a little, but just turn it off when your not using it.
it is like a tiny tablet. and a fab little phone. The camera quality is a lot better than expected,
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
30 of 59 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Has Galaxy Fame found fame with me
Harvestmouse
from Carlisle
,26 June 2014
Looks and feels good. Not the wizziest of phones but ok for talking, texting and use of a few handy apps. Camera just ok. Fits needs for now. Battery life is fine. I have a bells and whistles phone but it is too bulky to fit into pocket of my jeans. The Galaxy Fame is the perfect size for when out shopping or walking the dogs. If you've never had an android phone before it is a good introduction especially if your not much of a techno brain. Overall a good little basic + phone.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
67 of 124 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
nice cheap phone
skip
from edinburgh
,25 June 2014
Lovely phone entry level android phone with lots of features,easy to use and not that difficult to master after a little play.battery seems good if u keep the wifi and Bluetooth off till needed.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
69 of 134 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Don t rely on alarm!!
Tredders
from Birmingham
,25 June 2014
Loved the phone much easier to use than my old one. Charged battery fully, went to bed & woke to find alarm hadn t gone off because battery had completely run down! Re cgarged but got no better. Ordered a new battery & will try again!!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
66 of 126 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
don't get an sd card
spebchob
from London
,25 June 2014
Just like every Jellybean or Kitkat phone, Android will not let you use the sd card for apps, and many apps like Iplayer will not use it. So don't buy an SD card for that purpose. CW shouldn't recommend SD card purchase in such a misleading way
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
69 of 129 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
looks good performs bad
cola bottle
from London
,25 June 2014
Very slow phone. Camera and everything else is fine I had a cheaper samsung that ran faster and brighter. I will say I regret not going for my other choice due to my love of samsung products but that is changing. Battery needs charging daily and it gets hot.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
56 of 115 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Easy to use
Daewoo
from EXETER
,25 June 2014
Phone was brought for someone who had never used an android phone before. They have found it easy to use and have managed to download apps. Very good.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
28 of 62 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Great value phone
Loonyloux
from sussex
,25 June 2014
Good value smartphone, easy to use, enough features not to boggle the mind. Ideal for a new to smartphone user or equally to a more experienced one. I like it.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
31 of 60 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy Fame
Worse Purchase Ever
AquaBabe
from Hertfordshire
,25 June 2014
I couldn't wait to replace my previous phone of two years as it was going really slow. I upgraded last week and I am very disappointed. The Fame isn't as slow as my last phone but I thought getting an updated model would be much faster. Also, the battery life - terrible. I charged my phone last night and this morning it was nearly dead again. I am so disappointed that I am taking the phone back to Carphone Warehouse today to exchange for a different model. It won't be a Samsung.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
49 of 96 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 Next