The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Samsung Galaxy Ace Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews

Samsung Galaxy Ace

Average Customer Rating:
4.015 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
1,053 of 1,327(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Overview Image

Samsung Galaxy Ace

An excellent starter smartphone, the Samsung Galaxy Ace is also great as a spare phone. With a great design and impressive feature list for the price, it's practical, easy to learn and use, and has a strong 5MP camera and bright touchscreen.

Overview Image

The essential tech specs.

Inside the Samsung Galaxy Ace is a 1,350mAh battery that powers the phone on standby for up to 420 hours and 6.5 hours for calls. The software in the Ace is Android Gingerbread 2.3, the most popular version, and it still has access to over 850,000 apps. The 800MHz processor is plenty fast enough for most activities, and the 3.5" screen is good for its class. A resolution of 320x480 gives 165 pixels per inch (PPI), while the 5MP camera is also good and sharp. Built-in memory is 158MB, but there's space for a microSD card (sold separately) up to 32GB for more space for photos and your music.

Overview Image

5MP camera.

Capture the world around you in sharp 5MP photos and videos. The dual LED flash ensures that your photos stay well lit and clearly visible, even when you take them in low lighting conditions. You can then quickly and easily share your snaps via Facebook™ or YouTube™.

Overview Image

Samsung services.

With access to the Samsung app store and the exclusive Samsung social widget, it's easy to immerse yourself in apps, chats and updates from your favourite social networks. Facebook™ posts, Twitter™ tweets, calls and texts are all delivered to your screen throughout the day. There's also the Google Play™ Store, home to 850,000+ apps. It's also got thousands of films, magazines, books and music tracks, so you'll always be entertained.

Overview Image

Easy messaging with Swype™.

Galaxy Ace comes pre-loaded with Swype, which lets you create messages and social updates just by sweeping your finger across the keys in one continuous motion. Swype cuts the fiddly bits of typing out, so you can spend more time chatting and less time typing.

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Previous 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... 67 Next
Review 121 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Galaxy Ace
auntie al
from Glasgow
,14 November 2013
lovely wee phone - easy to use - does what I need it for, I dont need all the fancy stuff on other phones so this is ideal for me. would recommend it to people like myself :)
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
33 of 66 people found this review helpful.
Review 122 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
LOVE
lalalalallalalalala
from London
,11 November 2013
I love this phone to pieces and for the price is amazing! Would recommend to anyone, its exactly like the IPhone but cheap! I dont think i have any faults with the phone but the only thing i can say is maybe if it was a bit quicker.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 123 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
great phone
sandsuma
from moray
,10 November 2013
This is my first smart phone and I realy like it. 2 downsides are it constantly needs charging and sometimes it wont send texts with pictures. Otherwise I'm very happy with it.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 124 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
good price, rubbish phone
unknown
,10 November 2013
I bought this phone for myself because of the price,
but after 1 mounth of using it it began to break.
I cannot play apps on it because it just freezes.
I cannot search the internet or wach videos becauase it just freezes
And lastley the internal phone strage is rubbish even though i put in a 32gb sd card apps( ones that i can play of cource) wont download onto the sd card they download onto the phone itself so it uses all my memory up wich means i cant recive texts.
overall it is a rubbish phone and i would suggest getting a diffrent phone even if it is a higher price.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 125 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Cool phone
Amyyeah
from Leeds
,09 November 2013
This phone is really good, I have had it for a year and drop it every day from my horse! As well as this I've dropped it in buckets of water multiple times. It has scratches however the screen hasn't smashed and there is no water damage! Real tough phone, not amazing for fanciness etc but it's lasted me!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 126 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
G Ace
JB
from Berkshire
,09 November 2013
Good phone, I had a Samsung before so like this make. Unable to turn on the text repeat alert. Unable to turn on the out door setting, perhaps these are not on this model.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Review 127 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Lynne's view
Mobe
from Lancs
,08 November 2013
Its the first smart phone i've had so has taken a bit of getting used to - but i'm getting there ...
Have to say once you get the hang of it - it's easy !!
Good camera too ...
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 128 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Good phone
spanner
from Leicester
,07 November 2013
Top service and delivered on time. Easy to set up a top phone. Wish i had brought one ages ago, woud recommend this make of phone to all my friends so they can see how good the phone is. ;)
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
41 of 81 people found this review helpful.
Review 129 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Complicated for a novice.
Matrix
from Bradford
,07 November 2013
The ratings I have given are based on the fact that 'features' are not really explained and 'reliability' is not yet known due to having had this mobile only for 1 week. The features themselves assume that the user is proficient in computer terminology and knowledge. For a near 70 year old they assume too much. The information that came with this product
explains very little. However the product looks good but I would suggest not using it as PAYG as this could prove very expensive. Orange is what I plugged for but unfortunately they offer very limited PAYG packages which initially proved expensive in setting up. Still with the help of my children and friends I am learning and hopefully I will learn to like this mobile more. Possibly in a few months time!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
60 of 132 people found this review helpful.
Review 130 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
It lives up to its namesake ... Ace!
nordic walker
from crewe
,07 November 2013
I had an older generation Samsung smart phone that was unstable, temperamental and SLOW as a worn out old donkey.
I waited very impatiently for my new Ace to arrive, and when it did, it was instant love at first sight. I am a dedicated tomboy and did wonder if I could live with the flowery images on the case of the phone, and then my partner pointed out that I had chosen that particular option so i wasn't in a position to complain!
One of the first trials I gave the Ace is my Endomondo app. The old Samsung got breathless at the mere mention of GPS and more often than not couldn't even find GPS, and so I would do a ten mile walk and it would still be searching for a GPS signal: completely useless.
My new Ace hooked up to GPS in the blink of an eye from inside the house: eureka! I nearly wet myself with excitement as I could now go for long walks and map my passage on Endomondo no problem.
I wanted the phone to be just that - a phone and not a portable computer - as I had a Samsung tablet as part of the deal to do the major computery type jobs, but, I do still use lots of the Aces functions as I don't take the tablet out and about and to date it surpasses all expectations of what I want from it.
The beauty of the Ace is that it is smaller than the average smart phone and I prefer its compactness compared to my previous Samsung smart phone.
The only slight issue I have to offer on this is that I have clumsy fingers and the keys are quite small, but I get around that with the qwerty keyboard and swipe - and by turning it on its side, of course.
In all, my little Ace is just that: ACE!
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
67 of 136 people found this review helpful.
Review 131 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
very confy phone
eunibed
from london
,07 November 2013
Its very easy to use and nice, battery life not too good, I know it has a problem of mal functioning when so many apps are running and will switch off. But its a nice cute phone
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
66 of 144 people found this review helpful.
Review 132 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
thought it would do what i wanted it to
KTB
from huddersfield
,07 November 2013
Generally just need to make calls, texts , check emails, occasion sports result check bu this Phone is so slow it should be called galaxy snail.. Not impressed i normally really love samsung products but i can honestly say i wish id have picked the galaxy 3 or 4 mini..
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
63 of 123 people found this review helpful.
Review 133 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
samsung galaxy ace
fireengine
from newcastle
,05 November 2013
I updated this phone and wish I hadn't utter rubbish memory is the lowest ive ever had and ive had cheaper phones than this ,it gets full quick then deleates all yr photos no warning u need a sd card the shop put mine in but it never worked which I didn't no until I lost my photos ,the camera doesn't work without one so I bought a 8gb card my camera worked again but you cant save nothing to the sd card ,taking phone back to complain hate it x do not buy
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
61 of 124 people found this review helpful.
Review 134 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
waste of money
tynesidelad
from Newcastle Upon Tyne
,05 November 2013
i have had this phone for about 2 years yes i said 2 years i have stuck with it because i cannot afford to upgrade yet. it has very poor internal memory ie 181mb , so limited to what you can store on it, i put in a 32gb card but even then it will say no more room as it keeps trying to use internal memory. the battery is rubbish when online it lasts about 2 hours if i am lucky. camera is not bad but could be better, also i have deleted photos and music but when i restart there they are back again so they are using memory. i will be glad to get rid of this phone but at least it has lasted 2 years ..
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
47 of 97 people found this review helpful.
Review 135 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Good phone
Davant
from Wales
,03 November 2013
Easy use, good apps, can access everything in one click, needs charging every other day. Does what it says on box, good screen, easy to touchscreen, But overall great phone
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
47 of 90 people found this review helpful.
Review 136 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Waste of money
Sandy
from Portsmouth
,31 October 2013
Got this 'phone 18 months ago on contract, can't wait to replace it. Very poor signal, have to use landline where we are, never had that problem with Nokia. Was told can't change it if it doesn't work on present network. Too upset to tell anyone as I felt foolish, now have been told should have gone back within 14 days in cooling off period. Now can't even get internet, so am going to try and reset, hoping I don't lose to much. Best bit about it is the camera. Will never buy Samsung again!!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
75 of 148 people found this review helpful.
Review 137 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
first smartphone
Hello
from west midland
,28 October 2013
This is my first smartphone and I don't think I could of picked a better one. It's easy to use which is good because the paper instructions are limited. I've had no trouble finding apps and downloading them. It comes with a 4 gigabyte memory card which is necessary because you need the space for the apps. Have had some problems with the internal memory becoming to full too fast.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
77 of 146 people found this review helpful.
Review 138 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Great phone, shame about internal storage
Iris25
from Swindon
,27 October 2013
Had this phone 16months on a 24mth contract. POSITIVES- works well as a general phone, great camera, lots of apps available, sat Nav fantastic. Wi-fi works well, 3G slow at times but works. Straightforward to set up and use, looks & feels nice to handle, great £7.50 contract with talkmobile and excellent reception in most places. NEGATIVES- unable to reply to emails from current BT provider. Had to set up a separate google email address. Secondly, poor internal storage. Most updates cannot be stored on external storage. I have tried buying a meaty microSD card but still over time programs require updating that eats into the small internal storage. After 1 year every few weeks I have to delete data content from each app, delete apps completely and restore some features to factory settings in order to run the basic functions. By the time this contract is up, I imagine I will only have a few downloaded apps installed. I don't even use Facebook. For the price alone, I can strongly recommend this as a basic smartphone for first time users like I was. For my next phone I will be looking for one with larger internal storage.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
71 of 142 people found this review helpful.
Review 139 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
wonderful
kid.
,25 October 2013
great phone, excellent deal with carphone werehouse, would definitely recommend to anyone who wants a decent android phone but doesnt particularly want a complicated one
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
52 of 101 people found this review helpful.
Review 140 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
ok
chorlton
,23 October 2013
I really liked this phone but you can't change the font size which would mean I'd have to carry a magnifying glass wherever I went. Took it back and staff were very helpful and exchanged for a more suitable phone for my needs.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
34 of 66 people found this review helpful.
Previous 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... 67 Next