The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Samsung Galaxy Ace Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews

Samsung Galaxy Ace

Average Customer Rating:
4.038 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
1,044 of 1,303(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Overview Image

Samsung Galaxy Ace

An excellent starter smartphone, the Samsung Galaxy Ace is also great as a spare phone. With a great design and impressive feature list for the price, it's practical, easy to learn and use, and has a strong 5MP camera and bright touchscreen.

Overview Image

The essential tech specs.

Inside the Samsung Galaxy Ace is a 1,350mAh battery that powers the phone on standby for up to 420 hours and 6.5 hours for calls. The software in the Ace is Android Gingerbread 2.3, the most popular version, and it still has access to over 850,000 apps. The 800MHz processor is plenty fast enough for most activities, and the 3.5" screen is good for its class. A resolution of 320x480 gives 165 pixels per inch (PPI), while the 5MP camera is also good and sharp. Built-in memory is 158MB, but there's space for a microSD card (sold separately) up to 32GB for more space for photos and your music.

Overview Image

5MP camera.

Capture the world around you in sharp 5MP photos and videos. The dual LED flash ensures that your photos stay well lit and clearly visible, even when you take them in low lighting conditions. You can then quickly and easily share your snaps via Facebook™ or YouTube™.

Overview Image

Samsung services.

With access to the Samsung app store and the exclusive Samsung social widget, it's easy to immerse yourself in apps, chats and updates from your favourite social networks. Facebook™ posts, Twitter™ tweets, calls and texts are all delivered to your screen throughout the day. There's also the Google Play™ Store, home to 850,000+ apps. It's also got thousands of films, magazines, books and music tracks, so you'll always be entertained.

Overview Image

Easy messaging with Swype™.

Galaxy Ace comes pre-loaded with Swype, which lets you create messages and social updates just by sweeping your finger across the keys in one continuous motion. Swype cuts the fiddly bits of typing out, so you can spend more time chatting and less time typing.

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Previous 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... 66 Next
Review 121 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
really good handy purchase
shanxx
from bristol
,23 October 2013
i have had this phone less than two weeks and i know how to use it like i have had it for years. i do recommed this phone to people its a lot easier to work than any other phone i have had:)
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 122 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Disappointing
Veejay
from Wiltshire
,23 October 2013
Handset was faulty, so never got to use it! Screen size quite small! Didn't like that the on/off button the right side of the phone was opposite volume level buttons on other side, so couldn't help pressing those at the same time as the on/off button!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 123 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Basic but good if u want a cheap phone
Gazza
from Stockton on Tees
,23 October 2013
Good phone very easy to use but as I'm used to iPhone it seems very basic. Does everything I need and is good value for money spent. Samsung camera that came with it is stunning and is worth the monthly fee alone! Samsung tablet is good but again not as reactive or as user friendly as the iPad. But the deal is an excellent one for anyone who wants a decent phone, tablet and a very good camera!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 124 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
great phone BUT ?
marty63
from brighton
,23 October 2013
not to be unfair the team at carphone warehouse have been great but Vodafone have just been abusive my phone has been added to my partners account on the plus side Vodafone have sent her the bill ,the whole Vodafone thing has been a nightmare
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 125 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
rest Product
nanaminta
from Stoke-on-Trent
,22 October 2013
Brilliant product that does all I require a mobile phone to do for me. However, it would be even better when the battery life is improved to last a bit longer.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 126 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
waste of money
sukie
from ireland
,22 October 2013
bought this phone about 3 months- ago - nothing but bother with it from day 1 - charges itself at times with no lead - keep bleeping as if its out of charge and this could go on all night - had to turnof f power to make it stop - and this morningwoke up and phone started showing samsung and kept doing this as if it was about to come on - but never came on cant even dial a number any more - pure disaster.dont buy one - because you will be wasting your money.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 127 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
fab phone
squidge505
from Bexhill on Sea
,22 October 2013
This phone is an excellent product it has excellent features and has a range of text fonts.
The only down side is that you have to download most of these fonts.
Also the Samsung Galaxy Ace is ace, it is an exquisite and elegantly moving phone and is extremely quick and has major detail.
I highly recommend this product as my friends also have the same phone and they love it to.
Anyone that uses this phone will be hugely satisfied as am I .
I recommend this product as a phone for all ages as it is simple and easy to use.
This product is wonderful and anyone who reads this should buy this product for definite.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 128 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
just so slow
vik17
from east yorkshire
,18 October 2013
Fantastic quality phone but so just slow when txting and using the internet so depends what u want it for. I have it in the fleur design its a beautiful phone and great offer with the Samsung tab for 13 pound a month im not using the contract just wanted the phone and have put the tab away for a xmas present hope this helps :)
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
53 of 103 people found this review helpful.
Review 129 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Language Support
DeeAberdeen
from Aberdeen
,18 October 2013
Some areas of functionalities, for instance, multi language support i.e. choices of other languages input/keyboard set up are not available. Although they say users can download program, I think it is less effort if all of these done by the engineer and bundle or set up for customers. I know that in Thailand, customer get Thai language suppoprt set in the phone and ready to use. I was wondering if that is too difficult for the Carphone Warehouse brances/offices to service their customer like that!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
71 of 142 people found this review helpful.
Review 130 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
not that good
bhaal
from wales
,18 October 2013
bought this phone as my first touchscreen phone and let down majorly, the main feature I was looking forward to was using the BBC iplayer but it does not support this phone. not even Samsung Apps which comes pre-loaded is compatable. add to that a very short battery life and my mistake of getting the talk mobile network which doesn't seem to work anywhere and its a 2 year waste of money for me.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
86 of 170 people found this review helpful.
Review 131 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Great deal
Marge
from Leicester
,18 October 2013
My first touch phone, easy to use and navigate through features. Camera is easy, and quality fine. Great little phone, good looks and modern. Talk Mobile deal is such good value and suits my current needs.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
65 of 130 people found this review helpful.
Review 132 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Easy to use & reliable
Momathome
from Nottinghamshire
,18 October 2013
This is my 2nd Galaxy Ace. Whilst it's not as sexy as some of the latest phones and doesn't have as many features it is easy to use, reliable and does the basic job of a smartphone very well.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20 of 41 people found this review helpful.
Review 133 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
worst phone ever
Lhhjhui
,16 October 2013
had this phone a day. a definite downgrade from the samsung galaxy s. very slow, crashes, picks and chooses when to open files/apps, and deleted pictures and music i stored onto it when i restarted it. can't wait to get rid already
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
56 of 113 people found this review helpful.
Review 134 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
No memory, no battery
Isothio
,12 October 2013
158MB of internal memory - most apps won't run on sd card so you are massively limited. Also needs charging everyday.
Shame as it could be great - Samsung trying to force you to buy a much more expensive phone.
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
102 of 202 people found this review helpful.
Review 135 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
same but better
nipnips
from sheffield
,11 October 2013
chose based on previous model. more of the same but better.
Feels newere but still has same useability handy as not had to learn another phone. Above all else its samsung and the quality is exceptional feels it.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
114 of 231 people found this review helpful.
Review 136 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Not so sure next time
Lexicon
from Hampshire
,11 October 2013
The phone is great if only there was enough internal memory storage. I had to buy a sd card to hold some apps as my internal memory could not store the apps due to lacking of space. Even now after buying the sd card i still get messages saying not enough internal memory. Quite disappointing. :-(
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
109 of 218 people found this review helpful.
Review 137 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Other positive reviews? Why?!
MissP
from Brighton
,11 October 2013
Seemed great when I started out but I have struggled with this phone for a year now. It cuts calls, doesn't make calls, switches itself off when it feels like it, crashes, deletes messages (and I have my settings correct), pictures and video as it sees fit, the zoom doesn't work on the camera, bluetooth cuts out, changes my settings as it sees fit e.g. screen rotate or other settings, the calendar is now doing wierd things and won't let me have my original view and work from it and only gives me agenda view. It gets worse and worse, probably with all the updates. I have had far bigger, more important fish to fry in the past year which is why I haven't done anything about it sooner but today it's deleted something else I really wanted, for no reason and I have had enough. This is a terrible phone and I will have to resort to buying one outright as it's cheaper than getting out of my contract.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
64 of 126 people found this review helpful.
Review 138 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
great purchase
kazzy
from devon
,09 October 2013
best buy ever,easy to use especially for a novice like me,stylish,size and weight are perfect.would strongly advise anyone who was thinking of purchasing a new phone,to go for this model.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
68 of 130 people found this review helpful.
Review 139 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Easy to use
Reggie
from Nth West
,09 October 2013
Easy to use, does what it says on the tin!! Light to carry, not loaded down with unwanted applications. Simple to discover and user friendly. Fast with loading internet.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
49 of 99 people found this review helpful.
Review 140 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
galaxy ace
bazf33
from norfolk
,09 October 2013
overall a nice looking phone, good build quite straight forward in operation. the return or back button isn't quite sensitive enough, you have to tap it a few times before it works and press it harder than you would for the screen buttons. its not immediately obvious how to delete apps either.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
46 of 96 people found this review helpful.
Previous 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... 66 Next