The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Samsung Galaxy Ace Review

Print page
Product Reviews

Samsung Galaxy Ace

Average Customer Rating:
3.965 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(1357 Reviews) 1357
1,054 of 1,357(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Overview Image

Samsung Galaxy Ace

An excellent starter smartphone, the Samsung Galaxy Ace is also great as a spare phone. With a great design and impressive feature list for the price, it's practical, easy to learn and use, and has a strong 5MP camera and bright touchscreen.

Overview Image

The essential tech specs.

Inside the Samsung Galaxy Ace is a 1,350mAh battery that powers the phone on standby for up to 420 hours and 6.5 hours for calls. The software in the Ace is Android Gingerbread 2.3, the most popular version, and it still has access to over 850,000 apps. The 800MHz processor is plenty fast enough for most activities, and the 3.5" screen is good for its class. A resolution of 320x480 gives 165 pixels per inch (PPI), while the 5MP camera is also good and sharp. Built-in memory is 158MB, but there's space for a microSD card (sold separately) up to 32GB for more space for photos and your music.

Overview Image

5MP camera.

Capture the world around you in sharp 5MP photos and videos. The dual LED flash ensures that your photos stay well lit and clearly visible, even when you take them in low lighting conditions. You can then quickly and easily share your snaps via Facebook™ or YouTube™.

Overview Image

Samsung services.

With access to the Samsung app store and the exclusive Samsung social widget, it's easy to immerse yourself in apps, chats and updates from your favourite social networks. Facebook™ posts, Twitter™ tweets, calls and texts are all delivered to your screen throughout the day. There's also the Google Play™ Store, home to 850,000+ apps. It's also got thousands of films, magazines, books and music tracks, so you'll always be entertained.

Overview Image

Easy messaging with Swype™.

Galaxy Ace comes pre-loaded with Swype, which lets you create messages and social updates just by sweeping your finger across the keys in one continuous motion. Swype cuts the fiddly bits of typing out, so you can spend more time chatting and less time typing.

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Previous 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... 68 Next
Review 121 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
from Birmingham
,05 December 2013
Excellent product I would recommend this product to anyone...it's easy to use and an ideal inexpensive Christmas present. The phone arrived the next day and when u called customer service for support with registering the phone and setting up the voucher they were very helpful.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 122 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
nice phone
from Derby
,05 December 2013
I already have a Samsung Galaxy Ace and very happy with it so decided to buy my wife one as a Xmas present,she is very pleased with how easy it is to use compared with her old Nokia.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 123 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Ok Phone
from Manchester
,05 December 2013
Not THE best on the market but does the job ok. Good camera. Easy to use. Bought it for my moms 50th and she finds it very good. I would recommend it if you are looking for a cheap option of a smart phone.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 124 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
excellent product
from Birmingham
,05 December 2013
Purchased for my daughter. it's ideal, easy to understand, simple to use. Fantastic for people of all ages. She wanted something basic with modern features such as watsapp and this phone as these features.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 125 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Sort of ok.
,02 December 2013
I've had this phone for nearly 10 months.
It freezes most of the time, it lags alot. i couldn't have many apps on it as it didn't have enough memory. The only really good thing about it is the fact it has good battery life and doesn't break easily, but when i can get a new phone i am defiantly going to get a newer phone.
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
109 of 225 people found this review helpful.
Review 126 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
It's been a year
from Lincoln
,01 December 2013
I got this phone (with no upfront chnarges) on a bargain tariff £7.50 per month and it is a fairly useful device. I use it every lunch time to read news etc using 3G. Biggest complaint has to be the updates to Android Apps generally. When it tries to update essentials I get told not enough memory space. This despite the fact there is an 8Gb micro card installed with 7gb sat there! I've transferred a fair number of apps over but still get the message. In this respect Android just doesn't cut it. But generally it's been a great phone. Battery life is fine too. Screen size is ok too, although the resolution isn't HD by any stretch of the imagination. But even so, I have no rush to go out and buy a new phone. It does all what I want. Surf the internet, make calls and send texts. It will even send and receive emails too!
 
My Product Recommendations
Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7" Wi-Fi 8GB
4.6 out of 5(121)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
116 of 223 people found this review helpful.
Review 127 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
GET THIS OTHERWISE U WILL REGRET!
from london
,28 November 2013
great phone you can download so many apps.
the battery is great you get 11 hours of talk better than the new i phone 5c (10 hours of talk) cool phone!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
185 of 369 people found this review helpful.
Review 128 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
great product
from belfast
,28 November 2013
good product, does exactly what it says. its used for personal use and battery life is excellent. would highly recommended this phone. good mobile all round
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
123 of 251 people found this review helpful.
Review 129 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
One of the best
from London
,27 November 2013
I bought this samsung galaxy ace phone as a present for my younger sister in West Africa after getting to know how good it can work after speaking to other users.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
122 of 238 people found this review helpful.
Review 130 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
from Lancashire
,27 November 2013
First smart phone I,ve had. Really impressed with ease of use,set up etc and its very good looks. I,ve ordered a case so that I don't get it scratched. The white phone is lovely.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
17 of 37 people found this review helpful.
Review 131 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Great value for money
from Leeds's
,27 November 2013
Super phone. Good entry level smart phone. Compact and easy to carry. Plenty of features and apps.If it has a fault it is a bit short on memory otherwise its fine.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
19 of 37 people found this review helpful.
Review 132 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
my first smart phone!
from surrey
,24 November 2013
This is my first smart phone so I don't have much basis for comparison but I am liking the galaxy fleur! I'm impressed with the battery use - I make a lot of phone calls, text a lot and have used the Nike Run app and I only have to charge her (she is definitely a girl phone!) about every other day. Pretty simple to use - I picked it up fairly quicly.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
37 of 69 people found this review helpful.
Review 133 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
ace
from swansea
,23 November 2013
easy to use, but haven't used much yet. only used emails, texts, talk. great memory for picture, lovely images only down side is no memory for music. had to put memory card in.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
20 of 46 people found this review helpful.
Review 134 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Great wee phone
from Belfast
,20 November 2013
Love it. Handy and you get free music. Lots of free texts and APPS. Camera good but would like to be able to take photos of myself which I can't really do., Can password control which is useful.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
137 of 265 people found this review helpful.
Review 135 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Excellent phone
from Isle of Man
,20 November 2013
Bought this particular phone as a gift so not used this one, but I have this phone from Carphone Warehouse and so does my daughter. I love my galaxy ace la fleur. I primarily use it as a phone and texting, also the occasional photo. It is a lovely looking phone, easy to use. Easy to use e mail. Only criticism is the micro sd card does not work with my iPad so photos do not transfer. My way round this is to e mail the photos to myself. Would recommend this phone.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
114 of 233 people found this review helpful.
Review 136 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
just what i wanted
from kent
,20 November 2013
I have been looking for a mobile, a pay as you go one, thie I have found to be great for what I want. Not too many gadgets light weight and not too big. My old hands need comfort and with this I found it
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
118 of 229 people found this review helpful.
Review 137 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Samsung galaxy ace
from oxfordshire
,20 November 2013
Being an oldie it took me a long time to find out how to answer it and a few other things. But once I found out it was very easy and works well. Don't use apps so not sure how they work. At the end of the day very happy with this phone.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
6 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 138 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Good value contract
from Cornwall
,20 November 2013
This is my first time with a touch screen mobile phone. Just felt my old mobile was embarrassing and wanted something more modern! Admittedly I had to have help from my daughter when setting it up but very pleased with it and find it easy to use now. Specially like the fact that I can get on the internet. So far I cannot find anything negative to say about the phone.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
7 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 139 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
My first Android Phone.
from Arbroath
,20 November 2013
I just love my new Galaxy Ace. As a senior citizen, trying to keep up with modern technology can sometimes be difficult, but my Galaxy Ace is remarkably simple to use and with an excellent touch QWERTY keyboard instead of these old buttons that I had. I am just Delighted,and would certainly recommend this to anyone including Grannies and Granddads. The ease of getting on to the Internet or using APPS is just tremendous. Well done Samsung!!!!!!!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
122 of 245 people found this review helpful.
Review 140 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Rubbish
from dover
,20 November 2013
very slow and avoid this phone !! only good point screen is a fair size.... its slow loading slow on taking pictures and logging on and off facebook ...worse phone ive had
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
119 of 240 people found this review helpful.
Previous 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... 68 Next