The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Samsung Galaxy Ace Review

Print page
Product Reviews

Samsung Galaxy Ace

Average Customer Rating:
3.994 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(1339 Reviews) 1339
1,053 of 1,339(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Overview Image

Samsung Galaxy Ace

An excellent starter smartphone, the Samsung Galaxy Ace is also great as a spare phone. With a great design and impressive feature list for the price, it's practical, easy to learn and use, and has a strong 5MP camera and bright touchscreen.

Overview Image

The essential tech specs.

Inside the Samsung Galaxy Ace is a 1,350mAh battery that powers the phone on standby for up to 420 hours and 6.5 hours for calls. The software in the Ace is Android Gingerbread 2.3, the most popular version, and it still has access to over 850,000 apps. The 800MHz processor is plenty fast enough for most activities, and the 3.5" screen is good for its class. A resolution of 320x480 gives 165 pixels per inch (PPI), while the 5MP camera is also good and sharp. Built-in memory is 158MB, but there's space for a microSD card (sold separately) up to 32GB for more space for photos and your music.

Overview Image

5MP camera.

Capture the world around you in sharp 5MP photos and videos. The dual LED flash ensures that your photos stay well lit and clearly visible, even when you take them in low lighting conditions. You can then quickly and easily share your snaps via Facebook™ or YouTube™.

Overview Image

Samsung services.

With access to the Samsung app store and the exclusive Samsung social widget, it's easy to immerse yourself in apps, chats and updates from your favourite social networks. Facebook™ posts, Twitter™ tweets, calls and texts are all delivered to your screen throughout the day. There's also the Google Play™ Store, home to 850,000+ apps. It's also got thousands of films, magazines, books and music tracks, so you'll always be entertained.

Overview Image

Easy messaging with Swype™.

Galaxy Ace comes pre-loaded with Swype, which lets you create messages and social updates just by sweeping your finger across the keys in one continuous motion. Swype cuts the fiddly bits of typing out, so you can spend more time chatting and less time typing.

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Previous 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... 67 Next
Review 121 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
My first Android Phone.
from Arbroath
,20 November 2013
I just love my new Galaxy Ace. As a senior citizen, trying to keep up with modern technology can sometimes be difficult, but my Galaxy Ace is remarkably simple to use and with an excellent touch QWERTY keyboard instead of these old buttons that I had. I am just Delighted,and would certainly recommend this to anyone including Grannies and Granddads. The ease of getting on to the Internet or using APPS is just tremendous. Well done Samsung!!!!!!!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
122 of 245 people found this review helpful.
Review 122 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Rubbish
from dover
,20 November 2013
very slow and avoid this phone !! only good point screen is a fair size.... its slow loading slow on taking pictures and logging on and off facebook ...worse phone ive had
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
119 of 240 people found this review helpful.
Review 123 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
confused
from manchester
,20 November 2013
Bit conused with the fone ! Try to download some apps an i cant move them to the sd card so dont have any more room on the fone for photos !! Apart from that i like it :-)
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
117 of 241 people found this review helpful.
Review 124 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Don't bother
from Shropshire
,20 November 2013
Rubbish Phone, can't download more than two apps as not enough memory, good phone if you just want to make phone calls or text with one extra app, it's very slow to the point it makes you wonder if it's registering your touch, if I'm really lucky the phone jams up completely so have to try and turn phone off and turn it back on again, may as well have got a old Nokia for all the use of this one, very dissapointed,
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
24 of 49 people found this review helpful.
Review 125 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Easy
from Warwickshire
,19 November 2013
I wanted a simple to use smart phone ,that even a techno phobe like me could operate. Doesn't do anything too fancy so not up to the standard most teenagers would require.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
22 of 46 people found this review helpful.
Review 126 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Not the best
,18 November 2013
After using this phone for nearly 3 years, I've noticed that the speed and reliability of it just keeps decreasing, although it's quite simple to use.
¬ Shuts down completely if it's just slightly bumped
¬ Turning back on uses up a lot of batter
¬ Freezes frequently (black screen)
¬ Sometimes slow to respond to touch
¬ Battery finishes VERY fast - I have to charge it daily
¬ Camera quality isn't great & this doesn't have a front-facing camera
For the past week I've been trying to use my apps and other general features but the screen keeps changing back to the dial-pad as soon as I try.
- I can't even set an alarm any more because the screen-change is so fast.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 2-5 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
109 of 219 people found this review helpful.
Review 127 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Basic, Solid and Reliable
from Devon
,16 November 2013
My wife has owned her Ace for getting on for a year and it's been a great phone. It's a pretty basic 'smartphone' by today's standards but it has a good camera and is a great communication tool. The battery life is absolutely fantastic as you'd expect with it's lower processing, memory and screen figures. Don't be put off by those quoted screen resolution figures. It's a relatively small screen and it's plenty sharp enough to read text and view photos and web pages. It's a solidly made little phone which feels good to hold and overall my wife has been very happy with hers. So much so that I recently bought one for myself and signed up for a sim only contract when my old 24 month contract elapsed. I couldn't be more happy and my wallet is pretty impressed too! Highly recommended.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
109 of 219 people found this review helpful.
Review 128 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Excellent purchase
from Watford
,16 November 2013
Brought for my son to use when he started secondary school. Good for people who are new to smartphones. Light, easy to use, good features and a very manageable tariff.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
114 of 224 people found this review helpful.
Review 129 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Beware TOTALLY UNRELIABLE
from UK
,16 November 2013
These phones have major issues:
1.Insufficient memory
2 Loads of apps installed that you may not want but can't delete to free up the ridiculously low memory
3. HAS TWICE DECIDED TO FORMAT THE SD CARD WITH TOTAL LOSS OF DATA - In the case of photo's these can never be replaced
4. Dreadful KIES software that takes over your PC... without which you can't back up your data (see 3)
5. Frequently comes up with EMERGENCY CALLS ONLY - Unable to make or receive calls or texts - Definitely a phone fault as the other identical handset on the same network has full signal.... sometimes lasts for days.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
19 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 130 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Okay
from Hertfordshire
,15 November 2013
It was Okay but very slow and only has 1GB of internal storage so I could not download many apps.
However I would recommend this to someone that only makes calls and sends texts.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
21 of 41 people found this review helpful.
Review 131 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Useless memory
from Glasgow
,14 November 2013
If you like installing apps don't get this phone.the internal storage is almost full with standard apps and even if you put a big sd card in it doesn't let you transfer things over to it.the result being memory 189mb is full and you can't receive text messages. Meanwhile you have 4gb sd card that can't be used. For basic calls texts and internet and simple use its fine but for games or apps it is completely useless.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
31 of 62 people found this review helpful.
Review 132 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
smart
from glasgow
,14 November 2013
this is a super phone great size and very cheap and great internet with free wi fi spots bought for my daughters birthday and she loves it would defo recommend
 
My Product Recommendations
Rocketfish 1Amp Micro USB mains charger
4 out of 5(10)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
31 of 65 people found this review helpful.
Review 133 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Galaxy Ace
from Glasgow
,14 November 2013
lovely wee phone - easy to use - does what I need it for, I dont need all the fancy stuff on other phones so this is ideal for me. would recommend it to people like myself :)
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
33 of 66 people found this review helpful.
Review 134 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
LOVE
from London
,11 November 2013
I love this phone to pieces and for the price is amazing! Would recommend to anyone, its exactly like the IPhone but cheap! I dont think i have any faults with the phone but the only thing i can say is maybe if it was a bit quicker.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 135 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
great phone
from moray
,10 November 2013
This is my first smart phone and I realy like it. 2 downsides are it constantly needs charging and sometimes it wont send texts with pictures. Otherwise I'm very happy with it.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 136 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
good price, rubbish phone
,10 November 2013
I bought this phone for myself because of the price,
but after 1 mounth of using it it began to break.
I cannot play apps on it because it just freezes.
I cannot search the internet or wach videos becauase it just freezes
And lastley the internal phone strage is rubbish even though i put in a 32gb sd card apps( ones that i can play of cource) wont download onto the sd card they download onto the phone itself so it uses all my memory up wich means i cant recive texts.
overall it is a rubbish phone and i would suggest getting a diffrent phone even if it is a higher price.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 137 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Cool phone
from Leeds
,09 November 2013
This phone is really good, I have had it for a year and drop it every day from my horse! As well as this I've dropped it in buckets of water multiple times. It has scratches however the screen hasn't smashed and there is no water damage! Real tough phone, not amazing for fanciness etc but it's lasted me!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 138 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
G Ace
from Berkshire
,09 November 2013
Good phone, I had a Samsung before so like this make. Unable to turn on the text repeat alert. Unable to turn on the out door setting, perhaps these are not on this model.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Review 139 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Lynne's view
from Lancs
,08 November 2013
Its the first smart phone i've had so has taken a bit of getting used to - but i'm getting there ...
Have to say once you get the hang of it - it's easy !!
Good camera too ...
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 140 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Good phone
from Leicester
,07 November 2013
Top service and delivered on time. Easy to set up a top phone. Wish i had brought one ages ago, woud recommend this make of phone to all my friends so they can see how good the phone is. ;)
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
41 of 81 people found this review helpful.
Previous 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... 67 Next