The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Samsung Galaxy Ace Review

Print page
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Samsung Galaxy Ace

Average Customer Rating:
3.984 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(1346 Reviews) 1346
1,053 of 1,346(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Overview Image

Samsung Galaxy Ace

An excellent starter smartphone, the Samsung Galaxy Ace is also great as a spare phone. With a great design and impressive feature list for the price, it's practical, easy to learn and use, and has a strong 5MP camera and bright touchscreen.

Overview Image

The essential tech specs.

Inside the Samsung Galaxy Ace is a 1,350mAh battery that powers the phone on standby for up to 420 hours and 6.5 hours for calls. The software in the Ace is Android Gingerbread 2.3, the most popular version, and it still has access to over 850,000 apps. The 800MHz processor is plenty fast enough for most activities, and the 3.5" screen is good for its class. A resolution of 320x480 gives 165 pixels per inch (PPI), while the 5MP camera is also good and sharp. Built-in memory is 158MB, but there's space for a microSD card (sold separately) up to 32GB for more space for photos and your music.

Overview Image

5MP camera.

Capture the world around you in sharp 5MP photos and videos. The dual LED flash ensures that your photos stay well lit and clearly visible, even when you take them in low lighting conditions. You can then quickly and easily share your snaps via Facebook™ or YouTube™.

Overview Image

Samsung services.

With access to the Samsung app store and the exclusive Samsung social widget, it's easy to immerse yourself in apps, chats and updates from your favourite social networks. Facebook™ posts, Twitter™ tweets, calls and texts are all delivered to your screen throughout the day. There's also the Google Play™ Store, home to 850,000+ apps. It's also got thousands of films, magazines, books and music tracks, so you'll always be entertained.

Overview Image

Easy messaging with Swype™.

Galaxy Ace comes pre-loaded with Swype, which lets you create messages and social updates just by sweeping your finger across the keys in one continuous motion. Swype cuts the fiddly bits of typing out, so you can spend more time chatting and less time typing.

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Previous 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... 68 Next
Review 121 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
my first smart phone!
from surrey
,24 November 2013
This is my first smart phone so I don't have much basis for comparison but I am liking the galaxy fleur! I'm impressed with the battery use - I make a lot of phone calls, text a lot and have used the Nike Run app and I only have to charge her (she is definitely a girl phone!) about every other day. Pretty simple to use - I picked it up fairly quicly.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
37 of 69 people found this review helpful.
Review 122 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
ace
from swansea
,23 November 2013
easy to use, but haven't used much yet. only used emails, texts, talk. great memory for picture, lovely images only down side is no memory for music. had to put memory card in.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
20 of 46 people found this review helpful.
Review 123 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Great wee phone
from Belfast
,20 November 2013
Love it. Handy and you get free music. Lots of free texts and APPS. Camera good but would like to be able to take photos of myself which I can't really do., Can password control which is useful.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
137 of 265 people found this review helpful.
Review 124 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Excellent phone
from Isle of Man
,20 November 2013
Bought this particular phone as a gift so not used this one, but I have this phone from Carphone Warehouse and so does my daughter. I love my galaxy ace la fleur. I primarily use it as a phone and texting, also the occasional photo. It is a lovely looking phone, easy to use. Easy to use e mail. Only criticism is the micro sd card does not work with my iPad so photos do not transfer. My way round this is to e mail the photos to myself. Would recommend this phone.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
114 of 233 people found this review helpful.
Review 125 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
just what i wanted
from kent
,20 November 2013
I have been looking for a mobile, a pay as you go one, thie I have found to be great for what I want. Not too many gadgets light weight and not too big. My old hands need comfort and with this I found it
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
118 of 229 people found this review helpful.
Review 126 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Samsung galaxy ace
from oxfordshire
,20 November 2013
Being an oldie it took me a long time to find out how to answer it and a few other things. But once I found out it was very easy and works well. Don't use apps so not sure how they work. At the end of the day very happy with this phone.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
6 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 127 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Good value contract
from Cornwall
,20 November 2013
This is my first time with a touch screen mobile phone. Just felt my old mobile was embarrassing and wanted something more modern! Admittedly I had to have help from my daughter when setting it up but very pleased with it and find it easy to use now. Specially like the fact that I can get on the internet. So far I cannot find anything negative to say about the phone.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
7 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 128 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
My first Android Phone.
from Arbroath
,20 November 2013
I just love my new Galaxy Ace. As a senior citizen, trying to keep up with modern technology can sometimes be difficult, but my Galaxy Ace is remarkably simple to use and with an excellent touch QWERTY keyboard instead of these old buttons that I had. I am just Delighted,and would certainly recommend this to anyone including Grannies and Granddads. The ease of getting on to the Internet or using APPS is just tremendous. Well done Samsung!!!!!!!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
122 of 245 people found this review helpful.
Review 129 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Rubbish
from dover
,20 November 2013
very slow and avoid this phone !! only good point screen is a fair size.... its slow loading slow on taking pictures and logging on and off facebook ...worse phone ive had
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
119 of 240 people found this review helpful.
Review 130 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
confused
from manchester
,20 November 2013
Bit conused with the fone ! Try to download some apps an i cant move them to the sd card so dont have any more room on the fone for photos !! Apart from that i like it :-)
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
117 of 241 people found this review helpful.
Review 131 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Don't bother
from Shropshire
,20 November 2013
Rubbish Phone, can't download more than two apps as not enough memory, good phone if you just want to make phone calls or text with one extra app, it's very slow to the point it makes you wonder if it's registering your touch, if I'm really lucky the phone jams up completely so have to try and turn phone off and turn it back on again, may as well have got a old Nokia for all the use of this one, very dissapointed,
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
24 of 49 people found this review helpful.
Review 132 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Easy
from Warwickshire
,19 November 2013
I wanted a simple to use smart phone ,that even a techno phobe like me could operate. Doesn't do anything too fancy so not up to the standard most teenagers would require.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
22 of 46 people found this review helpful.
Review 133 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Not the best
,18 November 2013
After using this phone for nearly 3 years, I've noticed that the speed and reliability of it just keeps decreasing, although it's quite simple to use.
¬ Shuts down completely if it's just slightly bumped
¬ Turning back on uses up a lot of batter
¬ Freezes frequently (black screen)
¬ Sometimes slow to respond to touch
¬ Battery finishes VERY fast - I have to charge it daily
¬ Camera quality isn't great & this doesn't have a front-facing camera
For the past week I've been trying to use my apps and other general features but the screen keeps changing back to the dial-pad as soon as I try.
- I can't even set an alarm any more because the screen-change is so fast.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 2-5 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
109 of 219 people found this review helpful.
Review 134 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Basic, Solid and Reliable
from Devon
,16 November 2013
My wife has owned her Ace for getting on for a year and it's been a great phone. It's a pretty basic 'smartphone' by today's standards but it has a good camera and is a great communication tool. The battery life is absolutely fantastic as you'd expect with it's lower processing, memory and screen figures. Don't be put off by those quoted screen resolution figures. It's a relatively small screen and it's plenty sharp enough to read text and view photos and web pages. It's a solidly made little phone which feels good to hold and overall my wife has been very happy with hers. So much so that I recently bought one for myself and signed up for a sim only contract when my old 24 month contract elapsed. I couldn't be more happy and my wallet is pretty impressed too! Highly recommended.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
109 of 219 people found this review helpful.
Review 135 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Excellent purchase
from Watford
,16 November 2013
Brought for my son to use when he started secondary school. Good for people who are new to smartphones. Light, easy to use, good features and a very manageable tariff.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
114 of 224 people found this review helpful.
Review 136 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Beware TOTALLY UNRELIABLE
from UK
,16 November 2013
These phones have major issues:
1.Insufficient memory
2 Loads of apps installed that you may not want but can't delete to free up the ridiculously low memory
3. HAS TWICE DECIDED TO FORMAT THE SD CARD WITH TOTAL LOSS OF DATA - In the case of photo's these can never be replaced
4. Dreadful KIES software that takes over your PC... without which you can't back up your data (see 3)
5. Frequently comes up with EMERGENCY CALLS ONLY - Unable to make or receive calls or texts - Definitely a phone fault as the other identical handset on the same network has full signal.... sometimes lasts for days.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
19 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 137 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Okay
from Hertfordshire
,15 November 2013
It was Okay but very slow and only has 1GB of internal storage so I could not download many apps.
However I would recommend this to someone that only makes calls and sends texts.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
21 of 41 people found this review helpful.
Review 138 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Useless memory
from Glasgow
,14 November 2013
If you like installing apps don't get this phone.the internal storage is almost full with standard apps and even if you put a big sd card in it doesn't let you transfer things over to it.the result being memory 189mb is full and you can't receive text messages. Meanwhile you have 4gb sd card that can't be used. For basic calls texts and internet and simple use its fine but for games or apps it is completely useless.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
31 of 62 people found this review helpful.
Review 139 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
smart
from glasgow
,14 November 2013
this is a super phone great size and very cheap and great internet with free wi fi spots bought for my daughters birthday and she loves it would defo recommend
 
My Product Recommendations
Rocketfish 1Amp Micro USB mains charger
4 out of 5(10)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
31 of 65 people found this review helpful.
Review 140 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Galaxy Ace
from Glasgow
,14 November 2013
lovely wee phone - easy to use - does what I need it for, I dont need all the fancy stuff on other phones so this is ideal for me. would recommend it to people like myself :)
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
33 of 66 people found this review helpful.
Previous 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... 68 Next