The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Samsung Galaxy Ace Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews

Samsung Galaxy Ace

Average Customer Rating:
4.015 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
1,053 of 1,327(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Overview Image

Samsung Galaxy Ace

An excellent starter smartphone, the Samsung Galaxy Ace is also great as a spare phone. With a great design and impressive feature list for the price, it's practical, easy to learn and use, and has a strong 5MP camera and bright touchscreen.

Overview Image

The essential tech specs.

Inside the Samsung Galaxy Ace is a 1,350mAh battery that powers the phone on standby for up to 420 hours and 6.5 hours for calls. The software in the Ace is Android Gingerbread 2.3, the most popular version, and it still has access to over 850,000 apps. The 800MHz processor is plenty fast enough for most activities, and the 3.5" screen is good for its class. A resolution of 320x480 gives 165 pixels per inch (PPI), while the 5MP camera is also good and sharp. Built-in memory is 158MB, but there's space for a microSD card (sold separately) up to 32GB for more space for photos and your music.

Overview Image

5MP camera.

Capture the world around you in sharp 5MP photos and videos. The dual LED flash ensures that your photos stay well lit and clearly visible, even when you take them in low lighting conditions. You can then quickly and easily share your snaps via Facebook™ or YouTube™.

Overview Image

Samsung services.

With access to the Samsung app store and the exclusive Samsung social widget, it's easy to immerse yourself in apps, chats and updates from your favourite social networks. Facebook™ posts, Twitter™ tweets, calls and texts are all delivered to your screen throughout the day. There's also the Google Play™ Store, home to 850,000+ apps. It's also got thousands of films, magazines, books and music tracks, so you'll always be entertained.

Overview Image

Easy messaging with Swype™.

Galaxy Ace comes pre-loaded with Swype, which lets you create messages and social updates just by sweeping your finger across the keys in one continuous motion. Swype cuts the fiddly bits of typing out, so you can spend more time chatting and less time typing.

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Ace
1 2 3 4 5 ... 67 Next
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
FEATURED REVIEW
Excellent Phone, Excellent Price.
Blueshift
from London
,26 October 2012
Ask yourself one question. Why spend £25+ pm for a top of the range iphone-ish handeset, when you can get this for £7.50 a month?! It only misses 5* because the battery life could be better. Having said that, turn the brightness down, use a black screen saver, turn off some of the background apps and use 2g where you can, and bingo - double your battery life!
This is an excellent phone for the money. If you can't be seen alive with one year old technology, then this won't be for you. For non narcissists, it's all you need. Oh, and did I mention it's £7.50 a month? (5000txt, 500mb, 250mins).
Highly recommended.
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4,218 of 8,127 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
rubish phone
brown
from staffordshire
,22 July 2014
I have had this phone for 2 years and it as been RUBBISH I would not recomend Samsung or talkmobile to anyone.
Dont be fooled by the cheap contract Talkmobile offer because I have found that you cannot use the phone because there is no signal,be prepared and buy a PAY AS YOU GO phone then you will be able to keep in touch
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
INSUFFICIENT MEMORY
Mama
from Plymouth
,21 July 2014
Your Galaxy Ace will protest constantly if you allow all the inbuilt apps to update. Learn to uninstall updates, delete apps and keep your expectations low. Shame that a phone that could have been great for those on a budget is ruined by a TINY intetnal memory.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Don't Buy! Poorly Designed!
Unhappy User
from London
,20 July 2014
Summery: Terrible, there's plenty of alternative phones on the market that are better than this.
---Speed---
In terms of performance, this phone just won't cut it for any one who want's to do something besides make calls.
The phone will hang at times and applications will crash.
This phone certainly wasn't optimized for internet browsing either. Pages feel heavy and clunky, when browsing. Loading times for pages are long as well. Due to the fact the phone is slow anyway, installing alternative internet browsers won't help either.
--Music And Video--
The phone plays music fine with 5.1 Channel Support making listening to music nice through headphones.
Video is another story. Remember how I told you the phone was slow. Playing video it is a big ask. Videos will almost certainly crash every time whiles trying to watch them on the phone, unless they have been recorded with the phone it's self. So don't bother trying to watch videos on your phone, like through Facebook.
---Memory---
The Phones internal memory is substandard compared to nearly every phone on the market. With the measly 128MB is insufficient in storing more than one social media application, you'll certainly have a frustrating experience. Some of the most popular apps can't even be installed on this device due to insufficient memory.
Not to mention that 35MB of that memory is already taken up by irremovable junk apps pre-installed with the phone. Adding an SD card will not allow you to install more applications!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 2-5 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Never buy this Phone!
CheapFone
from Hampshire
,15 July 2014
Two years ago i bought this phone because it seemed a bargain and i have had to suffer it for two years. If you plan on buying for this or your 13 year old child, Dont! The only good feature about this phone is it doesn't smash easily.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
17 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
RUBBISH PHONE NEVER BUY IT
E
,13 July 2014
This is a RUBBISH phone it hasn't got anywhere near enough memory in it for anything the Snapchat doesn't work properly and it doesn't have any social networking site' built into it so then those use up all your memory. Also it never receives any of the texts you are sent so then you always need to turn it of and on again before they come through. The phone has a good quality camera but then every time a take photo's the next day the phone deletes them!!! DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
20 of 39 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Nice Looking Phone
Biker
from Stoke-on-Trent
,09 July 2014
As this is my first Android phone and not being known for my technical abilitiesI didn't want one which was too difficult for me to understand. After the initial setting up of the phone I have found this easy to manage, looks good and offers a lot for the money.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
21 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Low Memory
moonfairy
from Yorkshire
,09 July 2014
Took this on holiday and after taking a few photographs, it messaged "no memory" !! Did not expect that!
I am not very good with Tech,
I have said that I would recommend this product, because it may be alright i with someone with more tech knowledge :)
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
5 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
why no texts from abroad?
tom
from malton
,08 July 2014
like the phone but have sent international texts ok but have not recived back! but told that I have been sent them! and the phones ok can recive phone calls from abroad but not had a text any sugestions?
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
66 of 125 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
DO NOT GET THIS PHONE IF YOU LIKE APPS
hannah
from london
,07 July 2014
i've had this phone for nearly two years, i got it to replace my blackberry because i wanted to have more apps like instagram, snapchat etc. But this phone is so rubbish that even when i have no apps with very little photos or music, and with all of my texts cleared it still says i don't have enough memory to look at any of my photos or music or to download anything, sometimes it doesn't even let me text or recieve texts because of not enough memory. My sd card says that it is full even though ive deleted everything off it! CANT EXPRESS HOW ANNOYING IT IS WHEN I BOUGHT THIS PHONE TO DOWNLOAD APPS AND IT DOESNT EVEN LET ME DOWNLOAD ONE SMALL APP!!!! however, if you want the phone for nothing but texting/calling its alright i guess
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 2-5 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
68 of 123 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
It's okay
Ben
from Middlesbrough
,03 July 2014
The battery has been very poor for me, i find myself recharging it everyday even though it will be locked for most of the day with the odd texting and calls in between, which is frustrating after a while.
Also simple things such as looking at my pictures is such a slow process in my experience, which is annoying, and in other activities such as youtube, facebook and twitter are also slow and frustrating. Which made me avoid using them altogether.
But these don't make it awful, though it's lack luster, the things it falters at are not terrible, it's just not the best I've used and could be better.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
120 of 237 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
bruno
from manchester
,25 June 2014
the phone is lovely and slim it does everthing you ask of it very fast lovely and clear easy to use, which is a must for me as i am not very good, would recomend it to my friends. sue
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
301 of 597 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
It's okay.
Hybrid21
from London
,17 June 2014
For the price, it's an okay product to have, but if you are used to using an iphone then this might not be the product for you.
The first thing you'll notice is that the screen is a bit sluggish and maybe a bit slow in comparison to the iphone 5 or prior but it just takes a bit of time to get used to it.
In terms of battery life and reliability, it's a pretty nice product. The battery will last for quite a bit of time and it is mostly reliable and won't freeze up, though the processor might leave you hanging if you're going to play games on it.
It is pretty easy to use and the features are pretty much standard of any handset now a days so there's that.
Overall I'd recommend you try another handset if you have the money otherwise this would be a good purchase for you if you're looking for a first time smart phone.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
430 of 842 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
not good enough
panyan
from lincoln
,14 June 2014
I was really pleased when I got this phone but it didnt last, I keep getting the message internal memory full I have hardly any downloads deleted most of my text and still no memory, I would not recommend, its back to Sony for me.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
461 of 949 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Worst phone I had
Bucky
,07 June 2014
Dont get this phone. I had it and it's terrible. If you thinking about getting this phone, DON'T. It doesn't even update and it is really slow. It isn't even ace
I have used this product for: 2-5 years
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
590 of 1,177 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
As we see it
Getting Ancient
from Perthshire
,06 June 2014
As people of advancing years my wife and I decided to attempt to keep up with technology, as far as possible, by purchasing a modest Smartphone (Samsung Galaxy Ace.)
Now confirmed as "Cool" by our grandchildren we are disappointed that the elderly so often continue to shun such technology when it has so much to offer them in terms of convenience and connectivity. The products many features plus excellent CWH support ensure that, with a little time spent reading the comprehensive online manual ease of use is assured for all.
No we are not paid sponsors of Samsung, or CAW, simply try it for yourself.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
486 of 955 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Garbage!!
Pheasant Plucker
from manchester
,04 June 2014
Phones as shyte as lfc! Only got the thing cos i needed a temprary phone smashed it straight away sooner have a 3310!! No memory to install apps constant messages to delete things that cant be deleted, trash speaker trash battery, signal failures need i go on.. just dont bother!!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: over 5 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
450 of 917 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Great
Chant
from Redditch
,26 May 2014
I have had this phone for two years and i cant fault it, the only problem is that the past couple of months it freezes when i try to phone people but considering i have had it two years i can't complain. I have never had to have the phone replaced and it is easy to use unlike many off the over complicated phones out there.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 2-5 years
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
621 of 1,247 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Samsung Galaxy Ace
Dee
from Doncaster
,20 May 2014
Great little Smart Phone.Nice size and easy to understand.Good size alphabet board.Making it allot easier to use than my last phone.great value phone.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
638 of 1,266 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Best purchase Ever
tom
from London
,14 May 2014
Lots of features,fun to use phone,interesting,easy to use. would much recommend this product to others.price is good value for money. Battery life is long lasting,between charging also.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
580 of 1,158 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 67 Next