The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Samsung Galaxy Ace Review

Print page
Product Reviews

Samsung Galaxy Ace

Average Customer Rating:
3.965 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(1357 Reviews) 1357
1,054 of 1,357(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Overview Image

Samsung Galaxy Ace

An excellent starter smartphone, the Samsung Galaxy Ace is also great as a spare phone. With a great design and impressive feature list for the price, it's practical, easy to learn and use, and has a strong 5MP camera and bright touchscreen.

Overview Image

The essential tech specs.

Inside the Samsung Galaxy Ace is a 1,350mAh battery that powers the phone on standby for up to 420 hours and 6.5 hours for calls. The software in the Ace is Android Gingerbread 2.3, the most popular version, and it still has access to over 850,000 apps. The 800MHz processor is plenty fast enough for most activities, and the 3.5" screen is good for its class. A resolution of 320x480 gives 165 pixels per inch (PPI), while the 5MP camera is also good and sharp. Built-in memory is 158MB, but there's space for a microSD card (sold separately) up to 32GB for more space for photos and your music.

Overview Image

5MP camera.

Capture the world around you in sharp 5MP photos and videos. The dual LED flash ensures that your photos stay well lit and clearly visible, even when you take them in low lighting conditions. You can then quickly and easily share your snaps via Facebook™ or YouTube™.

Overview Image

Samsung services.

With access to the Samsung app store and the exclusive Samsung social widget, it's easy to immerse yourself in apps, chats and updates from your favourite social networks. Facebook™ posts, Twitter™ tweets, calls and texts are all delivered to your screen throughout the day. There's also the Google Play™ Store, home to 850,000+ apps. It's also got thousands of films, magazines, books and music tracks, so you'll always be entertained.

Overview Image

Easy messaging with Swype™.

Galaxy Ace comes pre-loaded with Swype, which lets you create messages and social updates just by sweeping your finger across the keys in one continuous motion. Swype cuts the fiddly bits of typing out, so you can spend more time chatting and less time typing.

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Ace
1 2 3 4 5 ... 68 Next
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
FEATURED REVIEW
Excellent Phone, Excellent Price.
from London
,26 October 2012
Ask yourself one question. Why spend £25+ pm for a top of the range iphone-ish handeset, when you can get this for £7.50 a month?! It only misses 5* because the battery life could be better. Having said that, turn the brightness down, use a black screen saver, turn off some of the background apps and use 2g where you can, and bingo - double your battery life!
This is an excellent phone for the money. If you can't be seen alive with one year old technology, then this won't be for you. For non narcissists, it's all you need. Oh, and did I mention it's £7.50 a month? (5000txt, 500mb, 250mins).
Highly recommended.
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4,249 of 8,181 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Worst purchase ever
from Musselburgh
,03 February 2016
Don't even think about buying this phone, it's cheap and nasty. For £40 I thought I was going to get a decent phone especially it being a Samsung....I was wrong
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Portability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Dont buy
from Scotland
,02 February 2016
My phone got water in it so I was looking for a cheap alternative until I could save for a more expensive phone....cheap is what I got, I should have kept my £40 and put it towards another phone.....this is without a doubt the worst mobile I have ever had, gave it to my two year old to play with....shocking
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Portability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
No idea why this is still for sale
from London
,21 December 2015
I bought this in 2013 for £29.99, and it was ok. I've come back in nearly 2016 and it's for sale at £64.99? There are way better Lumias for sale at the same price, as well as Androids. In other words: DISMISS THIS PHONE AS A COMPLETE CONFUSION!
See the below for the others that would be much better brand new phones.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Microsoft Lumia 535
4 out of 5(71)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 2-5 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Portability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
good starter phone
,04 November 2015
Internal memory is extremely small so cannot install some Apps, but comes with decent SD card. It is a nice starter phone and good for the price range. Touch screen is very easy to use.
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Portability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Replacing
,28 September 2015
Bought this phone 3 years ago after losing my previous one and looking to get it again after losing my last ace recently. Wouldn't even consider upgrading because I never use 4g and don't have enough committment level anyway for monthly payments, so looking to buy. Best phone I ever had and after using a much older (and seriously downgraded) temporary phone I've decided Samsung ace is my true phone. Wouldn't replace it for anything else as it has everything I need. And fits in my pocket which is important :)
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 2-5 years
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
would not buy
from n ireland
,05 September 2015
Worse phone EVER. No memory watsoever. Lots of data on the phone which I don't need but can't remove. Was only able 2 download one app as I has not enough room even with a memory card. A bad buy.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Portability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
samsaxy galaxy ace
from nottingham
,18 August 2015
it was unfortunate that this phone maybe a one off but it was not very good at all both in the slow loading and scrolling up or down we returned it to the shop and exchanged it for another phone.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Portability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Dont buy
from london
,13 August 2015
Bought this as a secondary phone to make a few international calls. The first month was fine but then it started saying that it has no memory left when it had no downloaded apps, photos or files there were only 20 contacts on the phone. I bought a memory card and went on with it. Then i noticed that after chargring it over night at about 4pm the battery was running short. This has been my firsst and last phone under 100 pounds.
 
My Product Recommendations
Apple iPhone 4s 8GB
4.5 out of 5(319)
 
 
 
Samsung Galaxy S3 Neo
4.5 out of 5(10)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Portability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Don't buy
,11 August 2015
Android os out of date with no upgrade available so u can't download apps. There is no memory on the phone either so u can't download anything as with android they need to be stored to the phone first. I brought it back -don't buy
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Portability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Avoid, avoid, avoid
from Bucks
,27 July 2015
This is an appalling phone. I had mine for about 2 months and grew several more grey hairs due to sheer frustration at how utterly rubbish it was. Slow, miniscule memory and poor camera quality. I dropped it (accidentally I hasten to add), smashed the screen and was in no way tempted to get it repaired. I've lived instead with my son's cast off Samsung Galaxy Y, which has proved okay-ish and far better than this poor excuse for a phone. Roll on October when I can hopefully move on with my life and upgrade.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Portability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
2011 Phone
from London
,20 July 2015
At the time this was a great phone, I am surprised this still sells and for that high price. Ace runs outdated android 2.2, and has only 90 MB of space available for apps (cant install apps onto memory card). The processor is extremely slow, it struggles running facebook app which is obvious because it has single core 800 mHZ processor. Camera is bad as well as poor resolution screen. Battery life struggles to run even half of a day if 3g is used.
Wouldn't recommend this phone at all.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Nokia Lumia 630
4.3 out of 5(62)
 
 
 
Motorola Moto E 4G
4 out of 5(24)
 
 
 
Microsoft Lumia 535
4 out of 5(71)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Portability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Disappointing
,30 October 2014
Like other reviewers, I found this phone perfectly fine to start with but it soon became unreliable, freezes regularly, and the keyboard goes on strike frequently. Taking photos causes it to have a hissy fit and refuse to work until I switch off and turn it back on. It takes to turning itself on and off without prompting from time to time. Can't wait for next week's upgrade. All in all, I wouldn't recommend this phone to anybody.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Never ever buy this phone
,20 October 2014
Bad memory, can do absolutely nothing on the phone apart from text (when the phone isn't frozen). Would not be worth it even if it was free! To much stress and frustration!!!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Simply rubbish
,12 October 2014
When I first got this phone, I was really impressed but then after about 6 months of use it would always crash , only holds so many photos before it won't let u take anymore , very hard to download anything. Would never recommend it .
 
My Product Recommendations
Samsung Galaxy S3
4.6 out of 5(949)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Waste of my money
from Manchester
,11 October 2014
I baught this phone so excited since it looked like a great phone and it was at first but then problems started to occur it kept saying 'emergency calls only' so it wouldn't send my texts and I couldn't recive any calls. I got this sorted but it still happens every once in a while. I think if you want this phone I would only use it as an emergency phone not a phone you can rely on.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
not great
from london
,05 October 2014
I've had this phone for 7 months and it calls people at random, makes my voice sound weird and sometimes doesn't text people even if there are full bars.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
,04 October 2014
The actual phone s incredibly slow, battery life is okay, the camera is quite bad although it is strong as an actual phone as someone like me who drops everything all the time it has lasted me and never cracked a screen. It's very old fashioned to the phones right now, pay a little more and you can get something 100 times better.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
The worst piece of technology I have ever used
from london
,01 October 2014
It's painfully slow. The keyboard takes a noticeable time period to register hits. It crashes all the time. The battery life is pathetic - as little as 5 hours from charged. It deleted all of my contacts 5 months ago, they can't be added back even manually so I have to use the text logs to call people. The memory is laughable - I have only the most basic apps like twitter, facebook, etc and it's close to full. Utterly useless phone, I wouldn't accept it even if it were free.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Samsung Ace
from LONDON
,21 September 2014
WORST TOUCH-PHONE.. NOT IMPRESSED WITH SAMSUNG AT ALL... VERY VERY LOW BATTERY LIFE, KEEPS FREEZING WHILST TEXTING EVEN AFTER 5 MONTHS USE, JUST RETURNED IT FOR REPAIR WITHIN ITS WARRANTY, AFTER IT SUDDENLY SWITCHED OFF ITSELF AND NEVER MAGNAGED TO SWITCH BACK ON AGAIN.... AWFUL PHONE CANT WAIT TO GET RID OF..
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 68 Next