The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Samsung Galaxy Ace Review

Print page
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Samsung Galaxy Ace

Average Customer Rating:
3.984 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(1346 Reviews) 1346
1,053 of 1,346(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Overview Image

Samsung Galaxy Ace

An excellent starter smartphone, the Samsung Galaxy Ace is also great as a spare phone. With a great design and impressive feature list for the price, it's practical, easy to learn and use, and has a strong 5MP camera and bright touchscreen.

Overview Image

The essential tech specs.

Inside the Samsung Galaxy Ace is a 1,350mAh battery that powers the phone on standby for up to 420 hours and 6.5 hours for calls. The software in the Ace is Android Gingerbread 2.3, the most popular version, and it still has access to over 850,000 apps. The 800MHz processor is plenty fast enough for most activities, and the 3.5" screen is good for its class. A resolution of 320x480 gives 165 pixels per inch (PPI), while the 5MP camera is also good and sharp. Built-in memory is 158MB, but there's space for a microSD card (sold separately) up to 32GB for more space for photos and your music.

Overview Image

5MP camera.

Capture the world around you in sharp 5MP photos and videos. The dual LED flash ensures that your photos stay well lit and clearly visible, even when you take them in low lighting conditions. You can then quickly and easily share your snaps via Facebook™ or YouTube™.

Overview Image

Samsung services.

With access to the Samsung app store and the exclusive Samsung social widget, it's easy to immerse yourself in apps, chats and updates from your favourite social networks. Facebook™ posts, Twitter™ tweets, calls and texts are all delivered to your screen throughout the day. There's also the Google Play™ Store, home to 850,000+ apps. It's also got thousands of films, magazines, books and music tracks, so you'll always be entertained.

Overview Image

Easy messaging with Swype™.

Galaxy Ace comes pre-loaded with Swype, which lets you create messages and social updates just by sweeping your finger across the keys in one continuous motion. Swype cuts the fiddly bits of typing out, so you can spend more time chatting and less time typing.

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Ace
1 2 3 4 5 ... 68 Next
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
FEATURED REVIEW
Excellent Phone, Excellent Price.
from London
,26 October 2012
Ask yourself one question. Why spend £25+ pm for a top of the range iphone-ish handeset, when you can get this for £7.50 a month?! It only misses 5* because the battery life could be better. Having said that, turn the brightness down, use a black screen saver, turn off some of the background apps and use 2g where you can, and bingo - double your battery life!
This is an excellent phone for the money. If you can't be seen alive with one year old technology, then this won't be for you. For non narcissists, it's all you need. Oh, and did I mention it's £7.50 a month? (5000txt, 500mb, 250mins).
Highly recommended.
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4,238 of 8,164 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Disappointing
,30 October 2014
Like other reviewers, I found this phone perfectly fine to start with but it soon became unreliable, freezes regularly, and the keyboard goes on strike frequently. Taking photos causes it to have a hissy fit and refuse to work until I switch off and turn it back on. It takes to turning itself on and off without prompting from time to time. Can't wait for next week's upgrade. All in all, I wouldn't recommend this phone to anybody.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Never ever buy this phone
,20 October 2014
Bad memory, can do absolutely nothing on the phone apart from text (when the phone isn't frozen). Would not be worth it even if it was free! To much stress and frustration!!!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Simply rubbish
,12 October 2014
When I first got this phone, I was really impressed but then after about 6 months of use it would always crash , only holds so many photos before it won't let u take anymore , very hard to download anything. Would never recommend it .
 
My Product Recommendations
Samsung Galaxy S3
4.6 out of 5(949)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Waste of my money
from Manchester
,11 October 2014
I baught this phone so excited since it looked like a great phone and it was at first but then problems started to occur it kept saying 'emergency calls only' so it wouldn't send my texts and I couldn't recive any calls. I got this sorted but it still happens every once in a while. I think if you want this phone I would only use it as an emergency phone not a phone you can rely on.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
not great
from london
,05 October 2014
I've had this phone for 7 months and it calls people at random, makes my voice sound weird and sometimes doesn't text people even if there are full bars.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
,04 October 2014
The actual phone s incredibly slow, battery life is okay, the camera is quite bad although it is strong as an actual phone as someone like me who drops everything all the time it has lasted me and never cracked a screen. It's very old fashioned to the phones right now, pay a little more and you can get something 100 times better.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
The worst piece of technology I have ever used
from london
,01 October 2014
It's painfully slow. The keyboard takes a noticeable time period to register hits. It crashes all the time. The battery life is pathetic - as little as 5 hours from charged. It deleted all of my contacts 5 months ago, they can't be added back even manually so I have to use the text logs to call people. The memory is laughable - I have only the most basic apps like twitter, facebook, etc and it's close to full. Utterly useless phone, I wouldn't accept it even if it were free.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Samsung Ace
from LONDON
,21 September 2014
WORST TOUCH-PHONE.. NOT IMPRESSED WITH SAMSUNG AT ALL... VERY VERY LOW BATTERY LIFE, KEEPS FREEZING WHILST TEXTING EVEN AFTER 5 MONTHS USE, JUST RETURNED IT FOR REPAIR WITHIN ITS WARRANTY, AFTER IT SUDDENLY SWITCHED OFF ITSELF AND NEVER MAGNAGED TO SWITCH BACK ON AGAIN.... AWFUL PHONE CANT WAIT TO GET RID OF..
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
You DO get what you pay for
from London
,18 September 2014
This is by far the worst phone ever! When I fist purchased this rubbish phone, everything was working smoothly. However, the next day, the internal memory was running out. This phone simply has the same specs as the iPhone 3GS and is simply not a competitor. If you are looking to buy this phone for your child, it shouldn't be too bad but for yourself, LOOK AWAY!!
 
My Product Recommendations
Nexus 5 16GB
4.7 out of 5(390)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 2-5 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
worst phone ever
from manchester
,10 September 2014
no internal memory so cant download any apps came with a corrupt memory card so had to buy a new one but still have problems with insufficient memory
very bad reception
very difficult to end calls
uses a lot of data when I have not been on line
been stuck with this phone for over 14 months of my 2 year contract and cant wait to get shut
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Cannot wait to switch phones
from Plymouth
,07 September 2014
I'm just coming to the end of my two year contract with this phone, and I cannot wait to get rid of it. The battery life is terrible; it lasts less than a day, and the internal memory is non-existent, which meant that I couldn't even have Facebook downloaded as an app because it kept complaining of low internal memory. Also the messaging centre often crashed and I had to 'force close' it and then reopen it before I could send a text. So time consuming! I'm not sure which phone I want to get next but having this phone has made me hesitant about buying a Samsung again.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Regretting getting one of these
from Leeds
,21 August 2014
I got one of these as part of a deal & put it away as a back up phone.
A few months ago my trusty HTC Desire S died a death & because I am still outside of my upgrade period (typical), I had no choice but to fall back on the Samsung Ace, just to get me through to upgrade time.
I have to say I'm not that impressed. First impressions is that it feels cheap. But to be fair, I'm using it as a fill in phone so I can forgive this i suppose. But being honest, it does not feel in anyway substantial.
Feature wise it does do what a smart phone should, but I have to warn you that it's slow, opening your pictures during a conversation in the pub has now become a thing of the past because of the slow response time, just makes is pointlessly slow, I just dont bother anymore.
The touch screen can sometimes seem over sensative, scrolling through facebook will often zoom in on things I wasnt expecting, other times it just freezes for no reason & I have to re-load and start again. i also cant see if I have a private message at all. So using the internet on it is a waste of time & effort. again i've stopped trying.
Connecting to wi-fi hotspots is a random affair, sometimes it works, other times it just doesn't bother, The other day my phone was saying that there was no network connections, even when I was sitting less than a foot away from my home router!!!
Sending something by bluetooth is a impossable task for it. it just doesnt seem to find anything, tablet, phones or even a PC.....again I dont try now.
The camera is ok & does take good pictures, but again the operation of the camera isnt great because of the screens random operational weirdness.
Last but not least, the phone often fails to work as a phone, I sometimes call people & the phone disconects before they pick up, other times it fails to dial altogether. Basically you cant rely on this phone to do what it should.
I have to say this phone is just a total frustration. It's randomly unreliable, slow & fussy. The phone has become a running joke with my friends as I randomly swear at it & come up with strange and wonderful names for it.
In short I would not recommend this phone, even as a back up, It's like swimming in honey with your arms tied behind your back.
This phone has put me off Samsung for life. I hope their newer phones have improved but I'm not willing to consider them when I do take my upgrade, it's just not worth the effort or risk.
Sorry to be negative. I've had much better phones than this, but using it on a daily basis is annoying to say the least......save your blood pressure & get a differant phone.
thanks for reading my review.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Goodbye friend...
,19 August 2014
I have had this phone for 2 years now, and I regret buying it. The storage is horrible and the battery life is definitely not great, I only got this phone because of the price (And it wasn't that cheap). Its updates do not work for me so I will have to be saying good bye to my old chum soon and replacing it with a Motorola Moto E or G. I made that horrible mistake of not reading the reviews, don't you do the same.
 
My Product Recommendations
Motorola Moto G™
4.7 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 2-5 years
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
My first smartphone - definitely out of date now.
from Sheffield
,18 August 2014
Im writing this review on my hopefully soon to be replaced Samsung Galaxy Ace. This has been the first and only smartphone i have owned and, tbh, its been ok. Having read some of the other reviews, i have mixed feelings, I've not had this phone out of my hand for nearly two years and its served me pretty well, esp considering i bought it outright at £89! I will agree with most, the lack of internal memory is its biggest flaw, i only have a handful of apps on it and it screams at me about those. For some reason my ebay app saved onto my memory Card, as does Facebook but otherwise you have no options as to where to save. Samsung pre loaded some apps, which take up valuable space, these cant be removed! Other than phone has been very reliable, its slow sometimes but it needs a reset. I miss not having a front facing camera and the fact it still runs on gingerbread! At £105 for the handset i still think its expensive, for what it is, a very out of date handset. Id go for one of the other aces personally.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Don't Buy
from London
,14 August 2014
Galaxy Ace is at least 4 years old. Why is this still being sold? I struggled with it for over a year back in the day. Hardly any internal memory. You will soon get memory errors, even if you have an SD card with loads of spare capacity. Old Android version 2.3.
Go for something like the Galaxy Fame instead which is newer, later Android version 4.x, cheaper, faster, much bigger internal memory and still has the same screen size.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Awful phone: never again
from London
,10 August 2014
It is really bad as the memory on this is catastrophic, as it always freezes and I cant install many apps without the phone freezing. In addition to this, it freezes, lags, is sluggish, not sleek and interesting and features are very minimal. I personally would never get this phone again and I will encourage you all to do the same.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Worst phone ever
from London
,05 August 2014
Have had this phone for nearly two years. My husband and sister also got one as it was on offer. All of us have had so much trouble with the phone freezing constantly and not receiving messages. Have taken back to car phone warehouse and had it reset twice still the same. Can't wait till contract finish to terminate.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Avoid at all costs!!!!
from chesterfield
,04 August 2014
This phone is the worst phone i have ever had the displeasure of using. it has barely any memory on it at all. take a couple of pictures and download an app then thats it! samsung should have discontinued this phone 2 years ago. go for a galaxy s3 mini instead, a little more expensive but a lot less hassle
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Rubbish phone
from Edinburgh
,04 August 2014
I wouldnt recommend its really bad i have had to years of it and i wish i never got it. It jas rubbish memory. Bad software. Really slow. And the camera was a big dissapointment.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 68 Next