The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Samsung Galaxy Ace Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews

Samsung Galaxy Ace

Average Customer Rating:
4.038 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
1,044 of 1,303(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Overview Image

Samsung Galaxy Ace

An excellent starter smartphone, the Samsung Galaxy Ace is also great as a spare phone. With a great design and impressive feature list for the price, it's practical, easy to learn and use, and has a strong 5MP camera and bright touchscreen.

Overview Image

The essential tech specs.

Inside the Samsung Galaxy Ace is a 1,350mAh battery that powers the phone on standby for up to 420 hours and 6.5 hours for calls. The software in the Ace is Android Gingerbread 2.3, the most popular version, and it still has access to over 850,000 apps. The 800MHz processor is plenty fast enough for most activities, and the 3.5" screen is good for its class. A resolution of 320x480 gives 165 pixels per inch (PPI), while the 5MP camera is also good and sharp. Built-in memory is 158MB, but there's space for a microSD card (sold separately) up to 32GB for more space for photos and your music.

Overview Image

5MP camera.

Capture the world around you in sharp 5MP photos and videos. The dual LED flash ensures that your photos stay well lit and clearly visible, even when you take them in low lighting conditions. You can then quickly and easily share your snaps via Facebook™ or YouTube™.

Overview Image

Samsung services.

With access to the Samsung app store and the exclusive Samsung social widget, it's easy to immerse yourself in apps, chats and updates from your favourite social networks. Facebook™ posts, Twitter™ tweets, calls and texts are all delivered to your screen throughout the day. There's also the Google Play™ Store, home to 850,000+ apps. It's also got thousands of films, magazines, books and music tracks, so you'll always be entertained.

Overview Image

Easy messaging with Swype™.

Galaxy Ace comes pre-loaded with Swype, which lets you create messages and social updates just by sweeping your finger across the keys in one continuous motion. Swype cuts the fiddly bits of typing out, so you can spend more time chatting and less time typing.

Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy Ace
1 2 3 4 5 ... 66 Next
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
FEATURED REVIEW
Excellent Phone, Excellent Price.
Blueshift
from London
,26 October 2012
Ask yourself one question. Why spend £25+ pm for a top of the range iphone-ish handeset, when you can get this for £7.50 a month?! It only misses 5* because the battery life could be better. Having said that, turn the brightness down, use a black screen saver, turn off some of the background apps and use 2g where you can, and bingo - double your battery life!
This is an excellent phone for the money. If you can't be seen alive with one year old technology, then this won't be for you. For non narcissists, it's all you need. Oh, and did I mention it's £7.50 a month? (5000txt, 500mb, 250mins).
Highly recommended.
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3,071 of 5,830 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Average
ChrissySantos
from London
,29 March 2014
This phone is good because it is cheap and easy to use. It has a decent camera, for a cheap smartphone. However, there are problems such as it lags, and memory get filled up quite quickly. My solution to this would be that they should provide more memory and have a system upgrade to Android ICS as Gingerbread is dated.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Great, easy to use phone for young people!
Neymar
from Middlesbrough
,28 March 2014
I like the apps and the size of the screen. This phone is easy to use for a young person and it's quick to find things. The camera is good! I bought this phone as my sister has the same one in white. This is my first proper smartphone and I would recommend it to a friend.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
10 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Not A Bad Phone, But Hardly the Best Deal
theyoungtechowiz
from Newcatle Upon Tyne
,20 March 2014
This is a nice phone with a design and quality unbecoming of a phone that costs £7.50 p/m with the least expensive contract. The battery life on standbye and with spare usage is outstanding clocking in at over 2 days with basic usage. The Gingerbread operating system is very old but makes it easy to use and you can get thousands of apps in the Play Store. The 5MP camera is brilliant for the price and if you get the 832MHz edition, then you get decent performance for the price (but a single-core is hardly powerful in this day and age!).
That presents the basic problem, the competitors. For the same price however, you could bag yourself the more moden Galaxy Fame or Galaxy Young. Or if you could afford the extra pounds p/m, then you'll be rewarded with the S3 Mini and the Ace 2/3, all better then the Ace spec wise.
For the same price as the Ace, the Galaxy Y is worse then the Ace spec wise however so it isn't all doom and gloom for the Ace. The maximun costs p/m is comparable to the iPhone 5S at it's cheapest p/m. Anything over roughly £10 is a deal breaker for an older, budget phone like this depending on what you get with it (unlimited data would be worth maybe £20 for example).
Get this if you must as it is a decent phone in it's own right but the comptition makes this look quaint!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
115 of 229 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
avoid
paul
from london
,18 March 2014
I know it's cheap but wasted my time with this. It lags, hangs, bad screen quality, very poor battery and needs restarts. I swapped it to a nokia Lumia which costs £30 more and what a breath of fresh air. Best to avoid pay few £ more and get something that works.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
122 of 232 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Stuck with this phone for duration of contract
Claire
from Lichfield
,12 March 2014
I expected more from this phone. I'm more than happy with my contract deal for minutes texts and data but the phone falls short. The graphics are poor and not what I'm used to. The phone is ok but the main problem is the memory. Even with a large sd the memory for running stuff will not let me have Facebook and instagram on my phone it's one or the other. I have to constantly clean my cache throughout the day. Not happy with this phone at all but stuck with it now. :-(
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
243 of 490 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Help!
aharv
from Kidderminster
,12 March 2014
The phone is very pretty and I am sure it is very good but I did not receive much in the way of instructions with it. I am sure that many pensioners are very good at coming to grips with new technology but I am not one of them! Fortunately there is a nice young man at my local branch who does not treat me as if I am a complete idiot when I ask him to show me how to do things,; I just wonder how much longer I will need to go visiting him.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
232 of 450 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Good Purchasse
Victor Meldrew
from lincolnshire
,12 March 2014
Great little phone so far ! Time will tell as only purchased it a week ago.
DO NOT buy it if your on Vodafone sim, the internet wont work.
The codes that are supposed to go in automatically don't.
Vodafone couldn't give me the right ones but did confirm they had problems before. Nightmare !!!!
Spent hours on Google trying to find them. Sorted in the end.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
228 of 455 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
My first smart phone.....LOVE IT!
Patterdoodle
from DEVON
,12 March 2014
I am really pleased with my new phone. This is my first smart phone and I was a bit dubious about getting one, but it's great.
So simple to use. It's great having my emails easily accessed when I'm out. And it's pretty too!
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
227 of 450 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Good first smart phone
Gazza
from South Yorks
,04 March 2014
Incredibly cheap to buy or contract and does most basic functions, so great as a first smart phone. However, I can't wait to upgrade for 2 main reasons: the battery runs out so quickly, at best I get a day and and half with little usage and even with a battery efficiency app running. Secondly the internal storage is totally inadequate and most apps can't be switched to the memory card. So if you want to load more than 4-5 apps, this phone will be no good for you.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
341 of 664 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
samsung galaxy ace
psam14
from portsmouth
,01 March 2014
nice looking phone does what I need. delivered quickly, cheap contract but still get unlimited texts and 500 minutes with it. Would recommend it to a friend.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
315 of 625 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
galaxy ace
ukjjs
from west midlands
,28 February 2014
Avoid this phone runs really slow only good point is you can use it as a wifi hotspot camera is ok just let down by the processor.operating system good and easy to use.just doesnt live up to expectations which is shame
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
288 of 578 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
1st smartphone
wil
from Aberdenshire
,20 February 2014
I like it so far. Getting easier as I get more aquainted with phone. Typing a bit awkward as letters too small for my fingers but using stylus fixes this. I guess those who use smartphones might not think too much of its battery or size of processor but I am having fun with it.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
286 of 579 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
very good purchase
lianne
from tilbury essex
,19 February 2014
but would of found you should of got a free gift with this phone as well well for maybe a higher price per month i would of sooner had a more up to date phone with a free gift this would be fine for a teenager someone like that but i woud of preferred a more up to date model
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
249 of 499 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
very good mid-range phone
Phonetech.
from Chester
,15 February 2014
the Samsung galaxy Ace is a classic device, small and compact, very comfortable in the hand. when i had this phone I had no problems with it whatsoever the display was very clear for the price your getting it for, the only one thing that let it down was the outdated android software, 4.0.0, however this shouldn't be a very big issue if you aren't that bothered about having the top end games, Overall I loved this phone, very easy to use and a decent camera. Would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a stylish, comfortable and easy to use handset for a relatively cheap price.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
307 of 610 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
waste buy
kim
from london
,12 February 2014
complete waste of money, the battery life doesn't last for one day, need to recharge battery every night, I am pretty sure there's some better buys. I think I stays off Samsung in future, this is the second time I had Samsung.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
245 of 482 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Great, but needs more memory!
Notmuchado
from Isle of Wight
,11 February 2014
The Galaxy Ace is a great introduction to smartphones. I bought mine 15 months ago, and now I have got another for my wife, which pretty much says it all. It is easy to use, and has a lot of surprising gadgets. I have dropped mine a few times; luckily I keep it in a silicone case, or it might have got broken, as I find it quite slippery in the hand. Anyway, it keeps soldiering on. I think my only criticism would be that the internal memory is a bit small. This isn't too much of a problem, because you can fit a nice big SD card in the slot; I've got a 16gb in mine with over 700 pictures on it, which hardly makes a dent. The problem comes with apps. the vast majority of mine are pretty essential, and are stuck in the internal memory, which is small, and they can't be transferred to the SD card. Thus when I try to install another app, I get the dreaded message "insufficient storage available" which is a pain. I then have to cycle through the apps section, emptying caches, and uninstalling pointless updates, to make some more room. That gripe aside, I love my Ace. It will soon be discontinued, I guess, so in the meantime you can grab a bargain for monthly pay or pay-as-you-go.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
239 of 475 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Worse than poor.
Rice cake
from Milton Keynes
,08 February 2014
Turns off for no reason, unable to answer calls, needs reporting daily, lost photos and ring tones never to be seen again. Worse phone ever in a two year contract with 1 year left. Best thing for this phone is the bin.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
110 of 230 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Birthday gift
Yakil
from Nottingham
,07 February 2014
Money's hard to come by, my little boy damaged a Galaxy Tab 3 I bought for the Mrs and her little phone broke at the same. I thought this would be a "manna" from heaven. For someone as demanding as my wife, I've heard no complaints... yet! She must like it or she's just being polite.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
112 of 237 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy Ace
Not recommended
underwhelmed
from London
,07 February 2014
I have had the phone over a year now. the memory soon gets full, so can have very few apps. No games at all on the phone. Except for very basic use pay a bit more. I know that it is cheap but I am longing to change the phone but will cost me at the moment. I am on talk mobile and there is a long phone call to the centre to get onto the internet.
Would not recommend this phone worse than my previous one.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
119 of 235 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 66 Next