The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Samsung Chat 357 Review

Print page
Product Reviews

Samsung Chat 357

Average Customer Rating:
3.533 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
10 of 15(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

Samsung Chat 357

The Samsung Chat 357 is a stylish, social feature phone made for fast and easy communication. With mobile internet and Wi-Fi you can get online anywhere for instant updates making it perfect for anyone wanting to stay up to date on the move.

The essential tech specs.

With a large 1,000mAh battery, the Samsung Chat 357 has a 400 hour battery life on standby and can survive for 11 hours 40 minutes when making phone calls. There's a spacious 2.4" screen with a good resolution of 320x240 that gives a pixel density of 167 pixels per inch. You'll get a 34MB memory that can store up to 1,000 contacts. You can expand the memory by up to 32GB with a microSD card, perfect for saving the photos you take with the 2MP camera.

Sophisticated & slim design.

The Samsung Chat 357 is super thin so you can enjoy QWERTY comfort and convenience with sleek style. The large screen has fine resolution giving ample room and detail to view all your pictures, read long messages or surf the internet. The smooth design with rounded edges provides a compact form factor that takes you everywhere from morning till night.

Designed for messaging.

The Samsung Chat 357's physical QWERTY keypad is generously sized for more comfort and usability. It's also ergonomically designed for seamless inputting so you can message faster without a second thought. There's also a slick optical trackpad for swift, smarter navigation and expert control no matter what you're doing.

Customer Reviews for Samsung Chat 357
Review 1 for Samsung Chat 357
Satisfactory
from Manchester
,26 April 2014
Have just purchased the Samsung Ch@t357 and it's reasonably easy to use. However, after being used to touchscreen I find the qwerty keyboard a bit fiddly! The only disappointments I have up to now are that you can't set your own photo as wallpaper and the handset keeps locking. Otherwise a worthwhile purchase.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
38 of 68 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Chat 357
Great phone
from Wales
,17 January 2014
I bought this instead of the smart phone that I had and couldn't use. Because I was on pay as you the smart phone just drained my money so I had to turn a lot of the features off. I decided to go for this phone because it had a querty keyboard. I am absolutely delighted with this phone. If your looking for a non smart phone that is easy to set up and a long battery life, then this is the one for you. It looks good and I admit I am a bit of dunce when it comes to modern technology, but I managed to set this phone up with no problem at all. Very happy customer.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
57 of 101 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Chat 357
Good Blackberry Killer
from London, Dulwich
,15 January 2014
This phone is a very good alternative to Blackberry although I find it is very expensive compared to an Orange Barcelona, as it has android and touchscreen well as this has not got things like google play and chrome. And the WiFi on this is also very poor.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
41 of 84 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Chat 357
Excellent little phone
,16 October 2013
Just got this phone a few weeks ago as I had problems with touchscreen phones and wanted something simplier than that. This is an excellent little phone, that does what it needs to do, very easy use, lightweight and looks fashionable too! Features are also very good, more than I expected, would recomment this to anyone.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
56 of 101 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Chat 357
samsung
,13 October 2013
I had this phone for about 3 months and ive been taken it back in store because the screen went black without me doing anything to it and also it isn't very reliable because the phone doesn't feel strong like other phones that I had which lasted me 8 years with no problem and I still have them in fully working condition I don't recommend this phone to anyone not even to a beginner. don't waste your money.
 
My Product Recommendations
Alcatel OT 903
4 out of 5(39)
 
 
 
Alcatel OT 10.10
3.7 out of 5(12)
 
 
 
LG G2
4.8 out of 5(115)
 
 
 
LG Optimus L5 II
4.3 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
JCB Tradesman TP121
3.4 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
Samsung E2121B
4.4 out of 5(222)
 
 
 
 
 
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
53 of 104 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Chat 357
,09 August 2013
only had this product for two days and it stopped working, customer service at a local store is diabolical and we have been waiting for a call for 7 days now regarding a replacement and still nothing.
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
32 of 62 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Chat 357
Excellent phone
from Derbyshire
,24 July 2013
Fab phone, the only criticism I have is the key pad lights up orange and therefore can be tricky to see the keys you need to type a message, other than that it's a brilliant little phone, would definitely recommend this phone.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
29 of 50 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Chat 357
samsung
from swansea
,12 June 2013
this is a nice little phone and it has a lot of nice features like Wi-Fi
and a good camera
it has a nice keyboard and it has also a good Wi-Fi speed.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
30 of 52 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Chat 357
worst phone ever
from leicester
,29 May 2013
i bought this phone as temporary phone until i get a new one and i have already had to take it back 2 times because the first time the screen was faulty and the second time the scroller thing onit kept sticking and the phone kept freezing and turning on and off by itsself.
the only good thing about this phone is the battery life.
the internet browser isnt good at all and the wifi on the phone is terrible aswell so if i was you i would save your money and not bother buying this phone because you will just have problems with it
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
17 of 34 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Chat 357
My first ever phone - I love it!!
,27 April 2013
I bought this phone today. So far, it has been great!! This is my first phone. It is really easy to use, although it does take a few minutes to master all of the controls. It has an FM radio, can connect to Facebook and twitter and receive email. There are shortcuts on the home screen, and you can add favourite contact shortcuts so you can dial and text contacts easily. There is also games to play, although they are free trials and if you want the full game you have to pay for it.
It's very reasonably priced for what it is. I would definitely recommend this phone!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20 of 33 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Chat 357
,09 April 2013
LOVE IT! Best phone ever! the battery is good and the features are very useful. This phone is good for socialising with people as being personal. I would recommend this to a lot of people.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Chat 357
Nice phone
from Widnes
,08 April 2013
I bought this phone last week to replace my old touchscreen phone. I think it's a neat little phone that's packed with useful features. The scroll tab that is used to move between the on screen icons is a good idea. Battery life is very good.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
11 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Chat 357
Brilliant keyboard
from Shropshire
,06 April 2013
After using an android phone with an on screen keyboard, I found this phone much less frustrating and easier to use. Plenty of good features on it too, through Nokia.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
8 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Chat 357
Worst phone EVER
,03 April 2013
Bought this as temporary fix until I can upgrade, old iPhone broken. Thought this was ideal, as I planned to pass it onto my 10 yo daughter in a month or so come upgrade time, as she's desperate for a phone. Absolutely awful device - first phone I've had in my life ( had many nokias, blackberrys and iPhones) that I can't intuitively use out of the box. Even upon reading the instructions, it seems I can't turn off the (totally dreadful and erratic) autocomplete/autocorrect text facility, which I KNOW will drive my daughter nuts too. Doesn't accept photos via text, and the menu is clunky and extremely limited. Facebook interface is the worst I've ever seen.
The battery life is the only positive, but even as a first phone for a child, this totally sucks. Seriously. Don't bother.
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
14 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Chat 357
don't waste your money
from liverpool
,31 March 2013
i have had this phone less than a week i have had to take it back once and have it replaced and as soon as the shop is open again i will be taking the second handset back keeps switching it's self on and off worst phone i have ever had my £15 old hand set is a lot better .
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
12 of 26 people found this review helpful.