The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Samsung Ch@t 335 Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Samsung Ch@t 335

Average Customer Rating:
4.207 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
253 of 310(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

The Samsung Ch@t 335 makes texting and emailing easy. This fun messaging phone gives you fast access to what's important, including your emails, Facebook™ chat conversations, instant messenger contacts and photos.

Both simple and stylish, Ch@t 335 has a very slim, fluid design with metallic accents. Its QWERTY keys are laid out like a laptop keyboard, for a more PC-like typing experience. Want fast access to your favourite features? Program feature shortcuts into the QWERTY keyboard, e.g. 'A' for alarm clock, to get to your content in an instant.

Unlike most QWERTY messaging phones, the Ch@t 335 features multi-key support, so you can press multiple keys at once to quickly and comfortably text, IM and email on the go. There's also an optical trackpad below the bright screen that works like a mini computer mouse, making it easy to scroll through photos, menus and messages.

With social network access and push email on your phone, you can stay up-to-date and in touch with all of your favourite contacts. Ch@t 335 supports Facebook™, Facebook Chat™, MySpace™, Twitter™, Flickr® and all the most popular email accounts, as well as instant messenger clients like MSN Messenger, Yahoo!, Palringo and GTalk™. You can also use the free Bluetooth messaging service to send messages to other Bluetooth-enabled phones.

The Samsung Ch@t 335 will keep you entertained, as it has a built-in FM radio and an MP3 player, with Sound Alive technology to enhance your listening experience. You can add a microSD card, up to 8GB, and store your favourite photos, music and video clips on your phone. Listen via the built in speaker, connect your favourite headphones to the 3.5mm audio jack, or hook up a wireless Bluetooth headset for tangle-free playback.

Want to build up your music collection? The find music feature helps you to identify new songs that are being played on the radio and then easily purchase them on your phone!

The Samsung Ch@t 335 has everything you need from a messaging phone, including push email, Wi-Fi internet, a built in MP3 player and support for microSD cards up to 8GB. You also get access to the Samsung Apps Store, which is full of cool content that you can personalise your phone with.

The Samsung Ch@t 335 is a sleek, stylish messaging phone that's both fun and easy to use. If you love visiting your favourite social networks and sharing your status updates with mates, then this could be the right phone for you.

Customer Reviews for Samsung Ch@t 335
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 Next
Review 1 for Samsung Ch@t 335
best phone
jay.d
from northampton
,09 January 2012
In a nutshell: The Samsung Ch@t 335 is a budget BlackBerry-beater. With a full QWERTY keyboard and an optical trackpad, it's ideal for texting, emailing, facebooking or tweeting. We love its superslim quality feel that fools people into thinking you've bought a high-end handset. The phone comes with Wi-Fi, an FM radio, music player and a 3.5mm headphone jack. It can accept memory cards up to 8GB. The camera may be little more than a toy, but everything else about the S3350 Chat shouts quality. Available in Black, Pink or WhiteMove over BlackBerry, Samsung is here! The Samsung Ch@t 335 (or Samsung Chat if you prefer, since the web isn't very good at @ characters) looks like a BlackBerry, smells like a BlackBerry and does very much what a BlackBerry does. Yet it retails for less than half the cost of the entry-level BlackBerry 8520. Is this for real?
We gave Samsung's first attempt at a budget BlackBerry, the Genio Qwerty, a bit of a thumbs down. But the ch@t is something altogether different. Although it retails as a budget pay as you go phone, Samsung have styled it as if it really were the BlackBerry-beater it yearns to be. It's pretty much the same size as the BlackBerry 8520, but noticeably slimmer, being ultraslim at just 11.9mm. Yet it doesn't feel like it's about to snap in half. It has a metal finish and a quality feel about it. The QWERTY keyboard has been completely re-engineered and is much easier to use. The keys aren't huge, especially the space bar, but they're as big as they can be in a phone this size and they respond nicely to the touch. You can program shortcuts into the QWERTY keyboard for fast access to favourite apps.
The display is completely standard for this kind of phone: 2.4 inches, 320 x 240 pixels, LCD. It's the "correct" display for the phone. Between the display and the keyboard sits the optical trackpad, which differentiates between normal finger movement and fast swipes, helping you to move around the screen and scroll up and down easily. We have to say that QWERTY keyboard + trackpad + slim design = superb ergonomics.
So, we've got a great keyboard, let's start typing. The Ch@t is great for texts, emails and instant messaging, and equally handy if you like to tweet or catch up on facebook. The Chat may not be a 3G phone, but it's about the only sub-£50 phone that comes with Wi-Fi, so it's pretty nippy getting on to the net. As well as Wi-Fi, there's Bluetooth and USB connectivity too.
The Ch@t is no smartphone, but there are a few apps you can install and it comes with 5 embedded Java games. You won't get bored on the bus either, because it has a music player and an FM radio, with the ability to record songs from the radio. The 3.5mm audio connector lets you plug in any standard-fit headphones for the best audio quality.
Like most other phones in this price range, the camera is very limited, being just 2 megapixels and with no autofocus or flash. It can record video, if you really push it, but don't expect much from it. It's fair to say that imaging is not the Chat's strong point, but then the BlackBerry 8520 and the Nokia C3 are no better.
The memory of the phone isn't huge, but is adequate for the job at 60MB. If you're going to use the Ch@t as your music player, you'll want to buy a microSD memory card, and the Ch@t can take cards up to 8GB. The battery isn't very high powered, but the phone manages to eke out enough juice to last a couple of days between charges, even if you use it quite heavily.
i've been quite charmed by the Ch@t 335, despite its silly n@me. It sets out to deliver the power of a BlackBerry for half the money, and we think it succeeds. Corners have been cut in certain places, but not in core functionality, nor in build quality or aesthetics. As a result, we really can't find fault with this phone. If you want to spend more money and get the real thing, then the BlackBerry 8520 is the one to choose, and you might also like to check out the Nokia C3.
Features of the Samsung Chat 335 include:
2 megapixel camera with 2x digital zoom
Video camera (15fps, QCIF)
Display: TFT, 240 x 320 pixels (2.4 inches)
QWERTY keyboard with optical trackpad
Music player with DNSe 3D sound
FM radio RDS
Ringtones: MP3 ringtones, 64 voice polyphonic ringtones
Messaging: SMS, MMS, email, IM
Voice memo & voice mail
Speakerphone
5 embedded Java games
Offline mode
WAP 2.0, GPRS, EDGE, web browser
Connectivity: Wi-Fi, Bluetooth 2.1, USB, 3.5mm jack
Memory: 60MB plus microSD memory card slot (up to 8GB supported)
Personal organiser functions
Quadband GSM (850/900/1800/1900 MHz)
Size: 111 x 61 x 11.9 mm
Weight: 100g
Battery: 1000mAh
Talktime: 720 minutes
Battery standby: 520 hours
Age group: Under 18
Expertise: intermediate
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Samsung Ch@t 335
Truth about Samsung Ch@t 335
Russian
,01 December 2011
Hello everybody,
Sorry guys – my English is not very good, but I will try to tell you all the truth about Samsung Ch@t335 (also known as GT-S3350). I am not lazy to wright it – don`t be lazy to read it. I hope you will understand me and this information will be useful ;)
I have bought this phone 4 months ago and I am very disappointed. I had more than 25 different handsets in my life, but this one is Real Rubish. My Samsung S8300 was broken so I bought Ch@t335 to try what is the phone with QWERTY?
In Menu you can set enything and anyhow you want. That`s Ok, but it is nothing to compare what this phone is able to do in real life. Camera doesn`t have AutoFocus, but Photopictures are not very bad on quality. Video is very bad. There is QWERTY so theoretically you could wright your SMS or E-mail very fast, but Keypad is very unsensitive and small so your fingers should be very small and thin – otherwise all the time what you save on your printing, you will lost on your misprints correcting! It is making me nervous every time! Plus, the letters on E-mail are so small, that even me with my very good sight can`t se nothing. No problems with SMS because there is different screen and normal size letters.
Now is most important thing – there is no 3G, so internet browsing is very very slow. The phone is loading loading loading, you are waiting waiting and waiting… Another problem is that when you get to any internet page you can see only small part of this page or sometimes you can`t see nothing because the memory of this phone is always Insufficient! Always!
If you are O2 user (as myself) you will get additional problems. Very bad connection, very bad signal – to talk to somebody I need ring two or three times because the signal is constantly lost. When I am using the internet I always see a lot of messages on the screen – „Insuficient memory“, „Sorry, the requested item could not be loaded!“, „Lost connection“, Bad connection“, „Sorry HTTP request was Interrupted by the host“, „Connection impossible“ etc. etc. etc. etc....... I am sick and tired of it...
The battery life could be better but isn`t very bad – about two days with non-stop „messaging“,“interneting“, calling...
To buy or not to buy?.. It is up to you of course but I can`t recommend this telephone to anyone, especially who is using Internet. If you need good look of your phone – this phone is for you, but if you need the phone as a phone – don`t buy this one.
Thank you for your attention :)
Russian
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Samsung Ch@t 335
High hopes, but let down
Jimmy 99
from Leeds
,14 February 2012
It may look like a Blackberry, but don’t be fooled – this is no smart phone. The operating system is the standard Samsung offering that is found on its standard handsets, so apart from the keyboard there is no real functional difference between this phone and any other basic Samsung handset.
So there is no email support for anything over 300 bites, no multitasking, no PDF or MS document support. The “conversational” text messaging only shows the first line and a bit of each message and it’s not clear which message is which. A touch in the wrong direction of the tack pad will have you in some other random screen before you realise it. The home screen is far too small for the Smart Home function – especially if you have the Buddy List open. The Facebook App is not an app – it’s a front screen to the basic mobile Facebook web page – click on anything other than status updates and you are fired off to the mobile internet site. There is no Facebook Chat but the MSN Messenger function is good. Plug the phone in to a PC to charge it and it you can no longer use the phone… The battery lasts about a day and half at the most and there is very little warning before it falls of the cliff and the phone dies. The contact list is massively messy – every contact you have had – email, text, call, all jumbled in a list when you press the dial key. The programmable hot keys are good, but why you would to program them when you can access everything from the smart bar thingy I don’t know. The alarm clock is good as you can set it to come go off on certain days – such as only Monday to Friday. Don’t try to watch any form of video over the internet – they don’t load. But if you have one on the memory card it plays OK. The keyboard is OK but the keys are very small.
Overall it’s just a very basic Samsung in a shiny coat. Worth the money? If your in your teens and want a good looking basic phone, properly. But if you want a phone to compete with a Blackberry, buy a Blackberry. But I guarantee for what ever reason you buy this phone it will leave you lacking. There is just that spark missing. It could have been a fantastic phone, but instead it tries too hard to be something it’s not and in the process falls short.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Ch@t 335
Good Blackberry wannabe
aegerinscotland
from Scotland
,05 March 2011
I've had the phone for a couple of weeks and it's my first qwerty keyboard phone - I was tempted by a Blackberry but not at those prices! After looking at the specs, I decided to to try it as the phone was on offer for £50 on PAYG. I put in the sim, micro SD card and battery and it launched into a setup for the date and time and that's it! I then moved onto synchronising and it connects to the PC using Samsung's Kies (for music, video and photo's) and Outlook (for Calendar and Contacts). There are 2 types of screens - you can choose one with a clock or the 'smart screen' which has shortcuts for functions (such as most social networking apps and other apps), frequent contacts and the Calendar.
As for the physical layout, I don't think it's a coincidence that the phone layout is the same as a Blackberry - right down to the swipe button in the centre (which took some time to get used to), screen layout and average camera! Keys are a little bit tricky but you get used to it.
Battery life is quite good (you get nearly a week - dependant on use of course) but it only has a 2MP camera which is bareable, but there's an FM radio, wifi, music player and video player to keep you amused.
So, to sum up:
Pro's - 'smart screen' with all the shortcuts are great, battery life is good and easy sync'ing with Kies and Outlook so you never miss an appointment or lose a contact again (it also updates the firmware as soon as it's released with no fuss).
Con's - Keypad lock/unlock is to press and hold a key and the phone has unlocked itself a couple of times whilst in my pocket, and the swipe button is sometimes too sensitive making it tricky to select a particular function.
All in all, however, this is a very good phone, excellent value and definitely worth considering if you can't afford/don't want a Blackberry. I'm getting another one for the other half!
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Samsung Ch@t 335
Brilliant, Reliable Phone
Emma
from England
,12 January 2012
I have had this phone for almost a year and I have to say it is very impressive!
Battery life is amazing - I only have to charge maybe once every week and a half, sometimes it even reaches two weeks without being charged!
Internet is quick but I recommend using the actual internet button and not the applications given for Facebook and Twitter as they are not very good and slower than using the internet on the phone and typing in the URL and using the websites that way.
Camera quality is okay and produces good photos, but this is not primarily a camera phone, and is good mainly for its social networking features.
The only problem I have found is that when you press 'send' on a message you cannot cancel sending the message, even though there is a 'cancel' button on the screen. It just doesn't work, but I don't know if this is just a fault on my individual phone or a fault on every single one of them. I was also annoyed that it doesn't come with a USB cable but you can buy them very cheap on websites such as Amazon, so this is not really a problem.
In terms of comparing this to a BlackBerry, I'd say this phone is much more reliable. I have friends and family with a BlackBerry and their phone often crashes or turns itself off without warning, unlike this one. Lots of people may prefer a BlackBerry just for BBM but this phone has a Bluetooth messenger that is pretty much the same thing.
The keys are easy to press and typing out text messages is very quick and simple to do. This phone also has useful features such as a dictionary, voice recorder, memo system and FM radio. It even has games installed on it that help you get to know the keypad - which is a great feature for less experienced people with phones!
Overall, I am very happy with my purchase of the Samsung Ch@t 335. I would recommend it to anyone.
Hope this was helpful :)
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Ch@t 335
Well...
Aldiboy
from Birmingham
,17 June 2011
I have now had this fone for 3 and a bit months. It was brilliant when i had it. I loved the keyboard and trackpad, it was another blackberry. However, this was not to carry on.
Now it has frozen on me three times and i had to take the annoying back off and take out the battery. Not very impressive.
Also the keyboard doesnt work if you are a quick typer, like myself so yu have to go back and do it again. Also find that i alsways have a space bar at the beginnig of a text so i have already lost a character. I recommend a nokia slide out or blackberry keyboard. Also predictive text is stupid as it puts words in that yu havent even used before. This is either the fone or the trackpad moving which i will mention next.
Thirdly the trackpad. Well the trackpad can be great or terrible. If its a normal day then the trackpad works fine. But if its a hot day it feel like it will melt and yu have to press it hard for it to work and yu end up pressing down the button. On the other side, if it is to windy then the trackpad moves on its own and yu end up typing several lines up in a text.
Next. The battery is not very good at all. 3 days max if yu are a constant texter like me and if yu use the internet a lot 2 days.
The camera. It isnt the best in the world but expected for a fone like this.
There are some good things about this fone though. The features are brilliant and there are some unexpected ones. The voice recorder is good if yu are a singer like me and styling is brilliant.
I think that samsung have rushed into making a blackberry replacement and have forgot the important things. But they have done a strange thing by making it like the bb curve because it freezes!
Anyway my review is now done and i would and wouldnt recomend this product, it depends on the person yu are and what yu use it for.
 
My Product Recommendations
BlackBerry Bold 9780
4.4 out of 5(161)
 
 
 
Nokia E7-00
4 out of 5(24)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
3 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Ch@t 335
Blackberry wannabe???
Anonymous
from London
,30 December 2010
I bought this phone yesterday from CPW, surprised it was in stock actually. Just released and hardly any user reviews so took a risk based on the specifics.
Pleased with the phone as I was close to buying Nokia C3 before I bought this as I am not particularly a fan of Samsung phones. I wanted a modern phone without paying the extortionate price. My ideal phone would be a blackberry bold but unless you pay on contract its pretty expensive on PAYG.
Anyway pros are definately the optical tracking pad which makes navigating a whole lot quicker and effortless. I like the feel of the phone too. Its light but not too plastic or bulky looking although not quite as metalic as I thought but study enough. The battery life is also appealing lasts, for a long time and the phone doesn't get too hot either like the blackberry. The screen is colourful, large and bright and similarly to all modern phones you can arrange icons and menu as you please. I also like the games on the phone a wide variety and the 3.5mm jack so you can buy any headphones you wish. The FM recording is great! I can record songs I like and use this as a ringtone sounds very clear and the tones are all polyphonic.
However I tried to access yahoo messenger and this failed. Not sure why just message kept saying not available try again which I did on several occasions but did not get through (will try again). I did have access to the internet easily and I have to admit was not superfast like iphone but not ridiculously slow.
All in all I have to say its a good little phone does what it says on the box. If you want a phone with good fast internet access I prob wouldn't get this phone. However if you are like me and have phone envy but cannot afford to buy the high priced phones this is a suitable compromise.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
70 of 75 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Samsung Ch@t 335
Not Bad If You Dont Expect The World
Choccy x
,17 August 2011
I bought this phone, and the minute I put the battery in I was unhappy. The optical trackpad was faulty. When you go up and down it goes left and right and vice versa. Carphone Warehouse were very good about this problem the next day and exchanged it for a new one. On the box it says Samsung Apps are supported on the phone. THEY ARE NOT! We phoned Samsung who said we could download applications from Samsung Kies but this phone was again, not supported. This was a dissappointment in itself, especially as a teenager who wants a little bit of entertainment and games to play (there were none on my second phone). I love the qwerty keyboard and the trackpad and the screen was bright. The speaker to play music was absolutely the best feature as it was very loud, and the music rarely became crackled or distorted. The battery life was very good if charged a long time, but lasts a very long time. The built in wifi application was very good for being on the go because you can connect in any hotspot. But then we come to the downloads option. I downloaded the only free game on the list to find that to play the game, it wants to take usage out of my internet allowance. I cannot afford to do this due to only getting 100mb a month anyway. I inserted a memory card into the slot to find out of around two hundred photos, only forty four of them could be viewed. This was a dissappointment due to my old phone being able to read them and the whole point of getting a new phone was to upgrade not the other way around. The camera is a fairly average one at two megapixels but is perfect for little snapshots when you are out and about. Overall its was a nice phone, but didn't have the features I wanted, but is good for anyone who doesn't expect the whole works of an android ;)
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Ch@t 335
Samsung ch@t 335
S.Gerrard
,13 December 2011
The Samsung Ch@t 335 makes texting and emailing easy with QWERTY keyboard. This fun messaging phone gives you access to many social sites, including your emails, Facebook chat conversations, instant messenger contacts, photos and many more.....
Both simple and stylish, Ch@t 335 has a very slim, fluid design with metallic accents. Its QWERTY keys are laid out like a laptop keyboard, for a more PC-like typing experience. Whereas is very slow..... in times so you have to wait for ages.
There's an optical trackpad below the bright screen that works like a mini computer mouse, making it easy to scroll through photos, menus and messages.
Facebook Chat™, MySpace™, Twitter™, Flickr® and all the most popular email accounts, as well as instant messenger clients like MSN Messenger, Yahoo!, Palringo and GTalk™. You can also use the free Bluetooth messaging service to send messages to other Bluetooth-enabled phones.
The Samsung Ch@t 335 is very easy to use like other phones. it is simple such as it has a built-in FM radio and an MP3 player, with Sound Alive technology to enhance your listening experience at the back of your phone. You can add a microSD card, up to 8GB, and store your favourite photos, music and video clips on your phone.
The Samsung Ch@t 335 has everything you need from a messaging phone, including push email, Wi-Fi internet, a built in MP3 player and support for microSD cards up to 8GB. You also get access to the Samsung Apps Store, which is full of cool content that you can personalise your phone with.
The Samsung Ch@t 335 is a sleek, stylish messaging phone that's both fun and easy to use. If you love visiting your favourite social networks and sharing your status updates with mates, then this could be the right phone for you.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Samsung Ch@t 335
WOW.
Me
from Somerset
,09 April 2011
Bought this phone yesterday and I cant put it down. I had a Viewty Snap but I found texting incredibly annoying; I found that touch screen phones are not the best choice for me. When I first got the phone, I just wanted to play with the amazing Track Pad. I realise that the phone is a Blackberry copy, but the Track Pad is quite amazing to use. I cant believe how I love navigating around the phone. I'm also in love with the QWERTY keyboard. I have previously owned a QWERTY phone, but this is so much better. The keys are good size for texting and its really easy to access all the different symbols, including handy keys for Smilies and Messages, with the added opition of creating Shortcuts, so you easily get to diffferent applications. Its a really nice to look at as well. Really sleek, very thin compared to Blackberry models, and it has the most amazing textured back, so it fits easily into my hand and is a pleasure to hold. The Smart Idle Screen is also a great feature of the phone, with rows of apps, contacts or other features. When you recieve a message it comes up in the screen, and is easy to access. When buying the phone it is recommended you charge it for 12 hours. DO NOT IGNORE THIS. I just wanted to use the phone and unfortunatly the phone needs this charge time as texting and calling doesnt fully funtion until over 12 hours. I also had several problems with voicemail, but this is down to the provider Orange, not the phone. Hint; if on Orange voicemail can be accessed via 123 and dial, not the phones preset 1 and dial.
All in all, I love this phone, I say that you would be a fool not to get it, its better than the Nokia C3, I've tested, and plus it looks so much nicer and sleeker. Buy the phone, thank me later :)
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Ch@t 335
Worst Purchase Ever
nz7
from Walsall
,05 April 2011
When I first bought the samsung ch@t, the product itself was faulty. I then returned the phone and was given a new boxed samsung ch@t for the second time which soon had problems.
Within a few weeks of outdoor use, the trackpad stopped working, which stopped me from being able to simply navigate around the menu and prevented easy access to any of the features. Therefore the trackpad feature and design was a big drawback.
Otherwise before this problem ocurred, the phone was easy to use. The camera was ok. Wi-fi feature was however, very poor with its internet connection and settings. The battery life was great but if the trackpad cant get fixed after damage then there is hardly any use of the phone, its features or battery life.
When using this phone on a rainy day, its circuits can easily get damaged. It is the least water resistant phone when making comparisons to previous phones I have bought. Very vulnerable to water damage so I would not suggest this phone to anyone as it lacks reliability. I was told by phone stores and other phone repair stops that they were unable to fix this problem.
This was my worst phone purchase ever. Just a big waste of time and money for me as I can no longer get my money back or return the phone.Now I'm having to look for a new phone. I would have been better off with a cheaper phone which atleast would have done the job of texting and calling.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Ch@t 335
WORST PHONE!
bonsie
from cheshire
,17 April 2012
when i first got this phone i thourght it was quite good, it was fast, had good security as you can put a password on everythin and a really good batry life, and the wifi setting is good as you can go on the intrenet for free and the key pad was good for typing.
but after about 6 months it started going downhill, the middle button only recognises i press it occasionally, so when writing a text i will press it about 5 times before it lodes the create a text, also it has gone really slow, and if im replying to a text, i have to press the middle button lodes slowely otherwise it sends blank texts. the middle button also thinks i press it twice sometimes as i could click something and it will open 2 things not just one.
also if i type fast of the buttons dont come through that they have been pressed so i have to go back and fill them all in. which was annoying enough but recently the middle button has got worse and DOESNT SLIDE!!! that is how this ohine works and it doesnt! its not even scratched or anything! so i have to delite everything when i relise i spelt a word wrong as the buttons didnt press. also it means i cant go on the internet anymore as you have to use the middle button to move. it also randomly turns its self off. i highky un-reccomend this phone. it is the worst phone!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Ch@t 335
It's a good phone for the price!
boomboomtechno88
from south
,19 November 2011
I brought this phone because I liked the fact that I could use the WIFI setting at home, at friends and in free WIFI hotspots :)
The buttons take some getting used to if you have never had a QWERTY before! but in general it is very easy to use and I love it! and battery last a long time for me but I only text more than phone and use the WIFI on it!
I would say that the ring tones are loud enough but wouldn't suggest for hard of hearing (Nokia music phones are louder!) but it will do.
There is one feature that really pleases me because no one can use my chat unless they have the pin number I can lock everything to pin or lock certain things to pin. no calls can be made without the pin which is great if the phone is in your pocket! and if you want your messages to remain private they can too!
I have noticed there is a downfall that it does not like heavy handling! which is a shame many times I have had to take the battery out because it has said please insert sim as a result to dropping or throwing phone down heavily. oh and the games are rubbish!
if you go into the shop you can get this on pay as you go upgrade for £49.99 as long as you have a pay as you go sim and been with them a bit makes it cheaper and you don't buy credit either!
 
My Product Recommendations
Samsung E2121B
4.4 out of 5(222)
 
 
 
Nokia X2-00
4.4 out of 5(76)
 
 
 
BlackBerry Curve 8520
4.1 out of 5(1,237)
 
 
 
BlackBerry Curve 3G
4.3 out of 5(493)
 
 
 
BlackBerry Torch 9800
4.1 out of 5(195)
 
 
 
BlackBerry Bold 9780
4.4 out of 5(161)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Ch@t 335
Great purchase, totally worth it
Wingardium Leviosa
from Manchester
,10 August 2011
I was hesitating to get this phone, and wasn't sure it would be that good as i used to have the LG Viewty which had a 5mp camera, and the samsung chat only has a 2mp camera.
I have the one in fuchsia, it is not really pink it sort of looks red and it looks much better than the black one as i had never seen the fuchsia one in real life it's a really good colour.
The battery life is great and the internet is pretty fast. Camera is not great but if you're not bothered by that you're fine. The track pad is really cool, it's just like the blackberries. The keyboard makes it easy to text but it's a bit flat, so sometimes you have to go back and re-type the letters or you hit other letters, and i'm 12 with small fingers. But you get used to it and get better at typing.
It does NOT come with a USB cable so you should buy one on ebay or something if you want one. It's got a feature where you type in someone's email and you can just email someone straight away if you have wi-fi.
I love this phone and i can't put it down! Music quality is pretty good.
Memory on the phone is fine but you should put a memory card in that is at least 2gb if you take photos and videos and put stuff on the phone. Definitely recommend this phone, buy it!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Ch@t 335
Great
BristolGyal
from Bristol
,16 December 2011
With a slim, metallic design, the Samsung Ch@t 335 is a stylish phone that is ideal for keeping in contact with your friends and browsing the internet.The Ch@t 335 has a 2.4" screen display that allows you to view all your messages, photos and videos. There is a 2.0MP camera with this phone that is ideal for taking pictures of friends when you are out at nightclubs or simply having fun.This smart phone features a qwerty keyboard which lets you type with greater ease. There is an optical trackpad to allow you to browse through the internet, using a NetFront 3.5 browser, and social networking sites. You can connect with friends through native SNS, Multi IM and email accounts.The Ch@t has Bluetooth® with Bluetooth® messenger so your mobile can communicate with Bluetooth® enabled devices. Wi-Fi and USB offer you fast connections to internet pages.With the Ch@t 335, you can use it as a camera, or listen to the built-in MP3 player and FM radio to listen to your favourite music when you are sitting on a train. This phone includes headphones.This phone has a 520hr standby time and 12hr talk time. It comes with a rechargeable lithium ion battery.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Ch@t 335
value for money
rower
from plymouth
,06 April 2011
I have had this phone now for 3 months. My children had Blackberrys for Christmas and I fancied the idea of upgrading from old phone and accessing the internet and emails. Chose the Chat over the Nokia 3 for looks really.
As it turns out I haven't used it for emails - screen too small and I'm never far from a computer. Internet access OK although find it drops out /seizes up and again screen small to see properly.
I like the qwerty keyboard, and find it easy to use, also like the radio - headphones are fine, photos OK.
The tracker pad is very sensitive even on 'slowest' setting. I often end up ringing wrong person or opening up something other than I meant too. Think the Nokia 3 would have been better for me in that respect.
Instruction booklet lacks detail but I call into carphone warehouse for help when not sure what button does what
for e.g how to turn off the answer on any key pressed mode! !
Battery lasts me 3-4 days (not a high user mainly calls and texts up to 10 of each a day!)
I haven't used apps as don't 'do' facebook etc.
Overall happy with this phone the tracker pad is main drawback in my opinion.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Ch@t 335
S'okay
chlobo
from Chester
,30 March 2012
This phone is ok ish. When I first got this phone from o2 it came with no usb cable so I had to buy one. I loved this phone at first, it was my first phone with that type keypad and I loved it. I could text easy and do stuff on it.
I've had it for about 9/10 months, and now it's horrible!!! I know that's a long time but it's horrible. The trackpad won't move left or right, or up and down so I have to use the volume keys to go up or down or try and set shortcuts. I have to turn it on and off constantly to try and get it to move and sometimes even then it doesn't work! So this limits what I can do.
However, it never freezes on me,. but even if it did, I can't access the battery compartment easy.
I'd recommend you to buy but don't use it for any longer than 8 months. Enjoy all the features while they last.
The camera is amazing tho, don't let this put you off, just don't use the phone for very long periods of time!!
Oh and you can't have any apps or games on it as it is not compatiable with samsung apps. use kies for music and images
Good Luck ;)xx
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Ch@t 335
Looks better than it is
ahhlii
,28 January 2012
Upon 1st buying the phone I thought that it would be a nice simple upgrade from my Samsung genio qwerty (which broke in an awful concert/twitter accident) yet I found myself regretting my mistake for the past few months. I just wanted a simple phone with decent features which had a good keyboard. I did get the decent features as it does have easy access to facebook/twitter/msn/text messages as it has a scrolling bar on the homepage which is optional and quite nice to use, yet it would be better if they actually loaded and didn't take at least 5 minutes to load. It would also be a lot better if keys actually responded suring texting, as I type quite quickly something as simple as 'hello' often turns out as 'hlo' meaning I have to go back and re-edit my text messages which is extremely annoying, especially when you're in a rush or in the middle of something important.
I'm extremely disappointed with this product and wish I had repaired my old phone some how. If you're looking for a phone with a good keyboard, then this is not one for you.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Ch@t 335
Unashamedly Simple
Scoob
from Leeds
,06 April 2012
I have had experience with more sophisticated, flashier phones, but I tend to become bored by some of the complications that come with having an HTC, iphone, Blackberry etc. This phone was recommended to me as my main purpose for the phone was to socialise and to use email for business, and for that it has been brilliant. I have not had any issues with reliability (even though it has been dropped in the bath on one occasion, and on the floor numerous times) it isn't too big and really thin so it doesn't annoy you when it sits in your pocket and the battery on my particular phone lasts nearly a week without a charge (perfect for festivals). I would not reccommend this to anyone who sees their phone as a lifeline for business because it doesn't have nearly the same amount of features as the more expensive models but I don't think thats the point of this phone. I strongly reccomend this phone to previous Blackberry customers who have been dissapointed, like myself. Overall opinion, a simple, value for money, honest phone.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Ch@t 335
A very good fone
Dudley
from Brum
,23 September 2011
This phone is a briliant mobile. A few faults like the keypad is a bit slow to respond and sometimes it freezes also it turns itself off sometimes and the battery life is quite bad. Despite some of these faults though, it is a brilliant phone. The keypad is a good keypad however i do fnd the blackberry curve keypad easier to type on and the display is excellent. It fits very well into yur hand (its not to heavy, like a blackberry) and the apps that are available to download are quite good even if yu have to pay for them espaecially the facebook app is very good but yu do have to go on facebook on yur computer, click download to your fone, type in yur number and they have to send yu a text for yu to download it. The dictionary is very useful, especially in english lessons :) Overall it is a very good mobile for any person. Samsung have done quite a good job for a blackberry copy and the only recommendation i would give is the blackberry curve 3g but only for the 3g option.
 
My Product Recommendations
BlackBerry Curve 3G
4.3 out of 5(493)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 Next