The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home
Shop Now At The Carphone Warehouse
Most Popular

Nokia N8-00 Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Nokia N8-00

Average Customer Rating:
4.164 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
98 of 122(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

Discover what you can do with the new Nokia N8 - a powerful phone with amazing photo and video features.

Nokia N8 has the largest camera sensor of any phone to date, and a high-quality 12 Megapixel lens complete with Carl Zeiss Optics and a Xenon flash. You can take flawless photos and record HD videos of your favourite people and places, then post your pictures and movies straight to Facebook™, or show them off on your HDTV thanks to the phone's HDMI port.

Nokia N8 will soon feature the FX effects app, which uses augmented reality to add Hollywood-quality 3D effects to your HD video clips, from tentacles to ray guns! Add an effect, choose your soundtrack, and then share your clips on YouTube™ and Facebook™. The FX app will be available to download from Ovi Store in November.

Tap into apps, maps and more, via the 3.5 inch (640 x 360 pixel) OLED touchscreen. The high resolution screen displays up to 16 million colours, and has a 16:9 aspect ratio that's ideal for movies and web browsing.

N8 is the world's first Symbian 3^ smartphone, with tons of exciting new features and a three page scrolling homescreen with live internet-connected widgets. Personalise your phone by adding your choice of widgets to each of the three live homescreens, and make one for work, one for play and one for all of your contacts.

It's never been easier to stay in touch. Your Twitter™, Facebook™ and email accounts stay connected all day long, so you're always up-to-date with all the latest happenings in each of your networks. You can stay signed in to multiple instant messenger and email accounts, have several IM chats at once, and see all your texts in conversations, the way they were meant to be seen.

Nokia N8 is all about entertainment. You can store your favourite HD movies on the 16GB internal memory or on a microSD card (up to 32GB), ready to watch any time. With on-demand Web TV, and an exclusively customised BBC iPlayer app, you can access TV channels online, from CNN to Paramount, and never miss out on your favourite shows.*

The N8's powerful speakers pump out true Dolby® Surround Sound, and you can also hook your phone up to your HD sound system via the HDMI port, or enjoy up to 2 days worth of non-stop music playback on the go. Plug in your favourite pair of 3.5mm headphones, or connect a wireless headset, and take your tunes with you wherever you go.

Experience 3D gaming with the blockbuster racing game Asphalt 5, and the hillarious Angry Birds, both pre-installed. There are hundreds more games and apps to discover online at Ovi Store, and the Nokia N8 puts a world of entertainment in your hands.

Enjoy full web browsing with the Nokia N8's new, improved web browser, brilliant display, and speedy 3.5G and Wi-Fi connections. The N8 supports supports flash content and video streaming, as well as visual bookmarking. It's easy to search for, select and highlight details, save pages to visit again later and switch between several pages at once.

With free Ovi Maps forever and voice-guided navigation, the Nokia N8 will help you to find your way in over 70 countries worldwide. Turn by turn, by car or on foot. The 3D landmarks point out places of interest, and Lonely Planet and Michelin apps reveal information about your destination that you never knew.

The Nokia N8 is a high definition entertainment centre, smartphone and digital camera rolled into one. It's not all of this impressive techology that matters though, it's what you choose to do with it.

*Web TV services require an internet connection to work and may incur data charges when accessed via a 3G network connection. A Wi-Fi connection is recommended.

Why buy from us?

  Nokia N8 front Nokia N8 side Nokia N8 back Nokia N8 angle  
Customer Reviews for Nokia N8-00
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next
Review 1 for Nokia N8-00
FEATURED REVIEW
Nokia N-8
Faddi
from Bangor
,25 January 2012
The Nokia N8 is the best Nokia i've seen yet, with the latest Symbian^3 smartphone operating system and an amazing 12 megapixel camera with xenon flash and HD video recording. With a responsive touchscreen with pinch-and-zoom capability, GPS with free navigation software and maps, 16GB of onboard memory and great battery life, it's a strong all-rounder.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 2 for Nokia N8-00
FEATURED REVIEW
2 year contract and not an element of regret
demz
from Manchester
,06 November 2010
Had this for a 3days and its the most awesome piece of equipment ever, it has so many features i've hardly been on the app store, it crashed on the first day and i had to reset it but its been more than fine since, it's fast even on power saving mode, the battery seemed poor at first but this was cos i was using my old charger, with the original it really does lasts 2days + and i'm an extremely heavy user who's listening to music when i'm not browsing on doing other things, copied 9GB of the OC onto it and it played it in high definition tho it was an avi file and the phone didn't slow down a bit, i'm absolutely in love with this phone and have no regret getting a 2 year contract
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
219 of 239 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nokia N8-00
great phone
calumairilidh
from scotland
,01 February 2012
Great phone. Does everything I need from a phone. Easy to use and set up .Excellant features. Only negative point I have is that the phone can cut out during a call if you hold it too close to your ear,perhaps the touch sensitive screen is activated?? However this is easily overcome by not holding it too close or using the loudspeaker option if privacy is not an issue . I would recommend this phone.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 4 for Nokia N8-00
Faulty
Sue71
,30 January 2012
I opened the box as soon as it arrived from Carphone Warehouse and it wasnt functioning properly, so I took it to a store and they couldnt fix it so I got a refund
Age group: 40 - 49
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Review 5 for Nokia N8-00
Great Phone
DJL
from glasgow
,27 January 2012
This is a brilliant phone from Nokia , if you cant afford an iphone this is defo the one to go for it is so easy to use and feels solid in your hand with very good build quallity , the camera is 12mega pixels and out performs virtually all other phones cameras , massive onboard 16gb hard drive which is the same as your basic iphone 4s , the Nokia ovi store is simple and easy to use for all your apps , only let down is the battery is just average so you will probally have to charge it every couple of days but other than that its a great product at a fantastic price.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 6 for Nokia N8-00
great product
utab
from Chester
,26 January 2012
This is an excellent phone and the symbian software never fails . Quick and reliable with excellent features. Great music player wit fm transmitter. Built in GPS which works very well and no data transfer required, so free to use even abroad. Endless apps in the nokia store. The N8 is a great product, and those who thought Nokia is not competitive in the smartphone market should try this phone!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nokia N8-00
Excellent
reaperdan84
from wiltshire
,25 January 2012
After taking a few minutes to figure it out I'm finding this quite easy to use, the camera is excellent and takes hd videos with very good sound quality, the phone feels sturdy enough as it is but would be even harder to break with a case, the music player is decent but when you put it on shuffle but decide to select a track from your playlist yourself it will turn shuffle off automatically for some strange reason). The headset provided delivers superb sound quality, all in all, an excellent phone
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 8 for Nokia N8-00
Very good phone and a bargain at £199
Edward Bear
from Scotland
,24 January 2012
I bought my Nokia N8 in the Carphonewarehouse January 2012 sale for the bargain price of £199, which is excellent value for a phone of this capability.
With its sleek black lines and solid construction it looks very smart, well-built and pleasing to the eye (better built than the newer Nokia Lumina phone if you ask me).
This phone is of very robust construction, and has provision for a wrist loop (not supplied) which makes it ideal for worksite-type use where it could otherwise be dropped. When combined with the Case-Mate Safe Skin case (product code 17232111) the phone almost indestructible, making it ideal for the sort of offshore work I do.
The 12MP camera & flash is amazing and from what I can see is the best there is on a mobile phone - as far as I'm concerned, having a Nokia N8 totally eliminates any need for me to possess a standalone camera.
I like the fact that the phone has 16GB of built-in memory and can also take a micro-SD card as well. This made transferring my music and contacts onto this phone really easy.
The built-in music player and radio are great, and the speaker is plenty loud enough.
The 3.5" screen (which is roughly identical in size to that of the IPhone 4s...) is nonetheless a bit on the small side for my clumsy fingers and I sometimes struggle a bit viewing web pages on the screen without 'zooming in'.
Perhaps the two biggest drawbacks of this phone is that it runs on the Symbian operating system (rather than Android or Windows) and the phone doesn't seem to be as fast as some other smart Phones. This means that:
(a) some 3rd Party Apps (such as the British Airways App for checking in for flights) don't work on the phone.
(b) use of the phone's menus, browsing, etc, is not quite as slick as my wife's Galaxy SII or my son's IPhone 4S.
(c) likewise, the phone seems to be slower at browsing the web than the Galaxy SII or the IPhone 4S. Don't get me wrong - the N8 is OK for browsing, but I wouldn't say it's brilliant.
The new 'Belle' upgrade of the Symbian operating system (reportedly due for release in Feb 2012) will hopefully improve (b) and (c) though.
If Nokia released a version of this phone with a 4.3" (rather than 3.5") screen and running Windows (rather than Symbian) I would say it would be a World-beater. As it is, the Nokia N8 in its present form is still a very good phone and an absolute bargain at £199.
 
My Product Recommendations
Case-Mate Nokia N8 Safe Skin case - black
4 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 9 for Nokia N8-00
BEST PHONE AROUND
haze
from Edinburgh
,24 January 2012
This is a great phone!
It's worth every penny if not more. The features are great everything runs smoothly. It's very responsive, it's fast, it's got a fantastic picture. The camera is the best i've ever come across on a phone. 16gb storage is a god send especially with all the features.
The battery life on it is amazing for a smart phone. I can get away with charging it every three days on work day every 2 on days off as i use it more. I think most people think thats not a good thing but compared to most smart phones these days it's fantastic.
I'ts got a great media player.
Overall i couldn't be happier. It's money that i don't mind spending every month as i've got such a great product.
This phone will be the best for quite some time as other phones have a long way to go to catch up.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 10 for Nokia N8-00
First smart phone?
grayling
from MORPETH
,24 January 2012
after the first "dont throw it at the wall" moment I am finding this a very good phone that is good build, clear screen and excellent camera and playback. the memory is first class at 16gb with another 32 on a mini sd. really if you need more you should have a laptop instead.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 11 for Nokia N8-00
Nokia N8
Arfath
from london
,24 January 2012
The products is very light compare to other phone.it has got nice camera which playing a vital role of camera.it has nice music player with nice sounds.Overall i think it is good for use.the only one problem i got is the headphone i got with the phone sounds is not clear..
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Review 12 for Nokia N8-00
nokia n8-00
nokia user
from leeds
,24 January 2012
This i a very good phone is easy to use especially with the hints popping up every now and then.
what could be better is making the camera much more smoother like camcorders, hey ! we are in the age of future revolution.
It could do with been made more robust
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 13 for Nokia N8-00
Fisal
from London
,24 January 2012
Nokia N8 was Realy Amazing product od nokia. I used each and every applications and settings, its amazing the camara features is superior than any other mobile phones i use before. i only think is always connected to WLAN so i daily charge the battery.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 14 for Nokia N8-00
Camera great, phone clunky
Dervish
,24 January 2012
It has a fairly clunky UI, preferred maemo on the N900, still prefer that to android even, though webOS is good too. Better access to apps than the N900 and ability to still load maps for free all very handy.
As a phone it's sturdy, decent battery, especially at this price! Like most the camera is the reason I bought this though, outstanding.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 15 for Nokia N8-00
Long lasting battery
fikyoli
from Leicester
,24 January 2012
The phone is solid. I am particularly fascinated with the battery life of this phone. It take days for me to re-charge after a full charge compared with my HTC Desire S that I charged almost everyday.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 16 for Nokia N8-00
N8 Good more than Bad!
Stakker
from Chelmsford
,24 January 2012
My first touch phone - my previous being e71 with querty keyboard.
After a month I still can't get used to touch for typing - I'm even experimenting with Swype. It's more difficult negotiating aroung the device. The larger screen is a god-send. Don't be missled by the screen being 3.5", it is a very widescreen design and is not as large in portrate as an iPhone.
I have updated to Anna and the icons, sorry widgets, on home screen do not have text beneath and the icons are less explanative - the text I miss. This problem will be resolved when Belle is launched shortly.
Speed is good. Camera good, especially the falsh, but not as good as you are led to believe, it may be the best camera phone but it doesn't compare to a dedicated camera.
Two reasons I didn't choose iPhone: 1. at least twice as dear and 2. Nokia is more compatable with MS Outlook when syncing with PC.
Overall I think the N8 is good. I would have chosen N7 with qwerty keypad if it's camera was auto focus
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 17 for Nokia N8-00
Nokia N8
x
,24 January 2012
very good phone, easy to use and good easy menus to follow. It has a very very good camera. battery is average for all the appliacations you use.
All in all a very good phone
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 18 for Nokia N8-00
Best Camera ever!
jeve2002
from Ipswich
,24 January 2012
The Nokia N8 is a great phone I would recommend to anyone. Having only owned it for 3 weeks I have not used all the functions - and probably will never use half of them! But from what I've seen, I like it! The menu is easy to to use, although I keep forgetting there are 3 different screens! The camera is absolutely amazing, in fact better than the one we take on family holidays - and this is the main reason I choose this model. Texting is easy and the screen seems quite responsive, turning the phone round gives you a full keyboard if thats what you prefer. The only issue I have is internet / data use. My contract is text and calls only but I thought I'd be able to connect to my home broadband for free - but I got charged 83p for daily data use? Make sure you don't select any options/functions that require internet connection if you don't have a data allowance. This was a great choice for a handset - made even better by the fact it was free with the contract!
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 19 for Nokia N8-00
Excellent phone
lolly
from LONDON
,24 January 2012
i bought this phone for my son as i have already got 1 it's the best nokia i've owned, everything about this phone is great the only downside is it will turn itself off and then back on about once aweek like it's rebooting itself but even with that i would still buy 1
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 20 for Nokia N8-00
Brilliant Nokia product
cmbio
from Nottingham
,24 January 2012
N8 is a reliable sophisticated Nokia phone. It has all features you need or think about it. I used it for about 2 weeks. It was amazing especially the navigation will guide you turn by turn without any cost! My only concern about this excellent product is that it is a bit slow, so you have to be patient with it.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 Next