The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home
Shop Now At The Carphone Warehouse

Nokia Lumia 820 Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Nokia Lumia 820

Average Customer Rating:
4.394 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(104 Reviews) 104
89 of 104(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

The Nokia Lumia 820 has been designed to be as useful as possible in everyday life. There's world-leading photo and video capabilities, expandable storage, a glorious 4.3" HD touchscreen, a powerful dual core processor to deal with even the most demanding of tasks, and even free built-in turn by turn satellite navigation.

Great looking screen, even use it with gloves.

The 4.3" display of the Nokia Lumia 820 uses ClearBlack technology that gives you super dark black colours, great colour brightness and even performs superbly in bright sunshine. Should it be cold outside for a few days, thanks to the supremely sensitive nature of the touchscreen you can still use your Lumia 820 with gloves on.

Fantastic camera and video experience.

With a Carl Zeiss lens on the back of the Nokia Lumia 820, it's clear it means business. The 8MP camera, combined with a Smart Shoot feature lets you take multiple photos with a single click so you can edit photos effortlessly to make the perfect picture. This is great if a friend of yours always times their blinks for when you're pressing the capture button!

Powered by Windows Phone 8.

The latest Windows Phone gives you more smoothness, more features and even smarter Live Tiles. These are boxes on your homescreen that update with information, like the weather, Facebook™ updates and more. The information changes as the app they're linked to receives updated information – and they come in loads of different colours for easy personalisation. Windows Phone 8 also comes with full Microsoft Office 365, so you can power through work tasks wherever you are.

Excellent Nokia-only built-in apps.

Nokia has given its Lumia range specific built-in apps, and the 820 is no different. There's Nokia Drive that offers free turn by turn voice navigation for your region - even without a data connection. It includes speed limit warnings, traffic alerts and downloadable additional maps. You'll also get Nokia City Lens. Launch it to reveal an on-the-street view of what's around you with your camera's viewfinder. Instantly see all the cool, hidden places, like the cozy, local restaurants behind the big-brand tourist traps. And Nokia Mix Radio lets you listen to hundreds of playlists for free – even offline!

Super fast internet even on the go.

The Nokia Lumia 820 is a 4G ready* phone. This means that it will be compatible with the new, faster networks in the UK that will be rolled out in the next few months. With a 4G connection you'll have internet download speeds some five times faster than current 3G speeds, no matter where you are, and also experience improved reception and reception coverage. It's the next big thing in smartphone technology.

Wireless charging – charge up without plugging in.

You can power up your Nokia Lumia 820 without cables or plugs. Simply lay your Lumia on a charging plate (wireless charging plate sold separately) until you're ready to go. Put a plate in the kitchen, the office, the bedroom; the more plates you have, the more places you can easily charge.

Qualcomm® Snapdragon™ processors.

Mobile that’s more powerful, more personal, and less power hungry. Did you know that different technologies work faster, smoother and more efficiently when they’re designed to work together? We think that’s a pretty smart approach, so that’s how we designed our Qualcomm® Snapdragon™ processors. Qualcomm Snapdragon processors use best-in-class technology and deliver what your friends will envy— quick, smooth surfing, visually stunning graphics, and robust performance. Being power-smart, they deliver the precise amount of power you need right when you need it, ensuring consistently great performance without compromising battery life. Snapdragon processors make it possible for you to fully enjoy all the reasons you’d wanted a Smartphone in the first place. Click here to Learn more about Snapdragon.

*In order for the Lumia 820 to access a 4G network it will need to receive an over the air software update. The date for this software update has not yet been announced.4G is a new network infrastructure that will be offered by varying networks in the coming weeks and months. You will need a 4G connection before you can access the 4G network, and you will need to speak to your network provider to determine whether they will be offering a 4G network, and when it will be active. The Nokia Lumia 820 is fully compatible with the current 3G network infrastructures that are in place across network providers.

Customer Reviews for Nokia Lumia 820
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next
Review 1 for Nokia Lumia 820
Awesome Phone!
from Exeter
,29 November 2012
I was a little hesitant at switching to a Windows Phone having had an Android before. However it is not a decision I regret, I have been thoroughly impressed with Windows Phone 8 especially it's bold colours, clean graphical style, and it's intuitiveness. There are some minor issues I have with the operating system such as the fact there is no system wide rotation lock, which is quite irritating. But other than that and the presently slightly under stocked app store there isn't much to complain about.
The specs of the phone don't let down either. The fast processor easily copes with pretty much anything you do on the phone with no lag. The battery, for a modern smartphone, is actually quite reasonable, it relativity easily does an entire day even with quite a lot of use. Plus it's removable, so you can replace it if you need more juice on a long trip, or after it's maximum capacity has diminished. Talking about removability the micro-sd card slot is a very welcome addition meaning you can potentially add up to 64GB of extra storage! The replaceable cases are also a nice touch and gives a way to personalize an otherwise relativity generic looking phone.
I found that the wireless charging case has been particularly useful as although it seems like a fad, simply putting the phone on a slate to charge is a lot easier than having to find the connector every time, maybe I'm just lazy though! Additionally it prevents those occasions when you think you've put your phone on to charge and them you realise later the connector must have fallen out half way through and now you have a phone that'll die any second.
The camera is easy to use, especially due to the inclusion of a physical camera button (I don't know what manufacturers were thinking when they ever made phones without one!) It takes pretty good pictures as well, although don't expect anything amazing. The Nokia lenses are also a lot of fun to play around with.
Physically the phone is well built, although you might find you're afraid of breaking it when you first try to open, it the back takes a lot of fingernail use and patience to pry off! The phone is relativity slim and light, not astonishingly so but defiantly not a heavy or bulky. Actually this was one of the things that appealed to me over Nokia's other offering the Lumia 920, the 820 has about the right balance of size. It has a large enough screen to play games or watch videos, but it's not so large that carrying the phone around becomes a burden.
Overall I am very impressed with the phone, and the few bug bears I have with the phone I expect will be sorted out in subsequent software updates anyway. So I have no reservations about recommending this wonderful phone.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nokia Lumia 820
Solid and Reliable
from Mid Suffolk
,17 November 2012
I have been using this for one week and am just getting used to all the features that Windows 8 has to offer
Firstly, do not believe the criticism levelled at the screen, on paper the specs may suggest it is a fairly poor resolution when compared to Retina but the Nokia 820 works well in reality giving good colour and strong blacks thanks to AMOLED, video playback is superb
The phone itself is built like a tank, weighing in at 160g this is no wimpy super slim smartphone and can feel heavy in the pocket but works well with one hand. The build quality is what you would expect of Nokia although I would recommend a screen protector as the glass is not Gorilla, only scratch resistant. The control buttons are standard, on/lock, volume and camera all placed down the right side. The design itself is solid and conservative, no bells or bling allowed here, although if you want to jazz it up you can go for a bright red or yellow cover. Ah yes - the cover - probably the most difficult one to remove in my experience. The secret is to push out with your thumb on the recessed camera/flash panel while at the same time prising away with your nail at the right corner.
Once opened up the phone reveals battery, SIM and SD card holder - at last SD in a Windows phone which proves they do listen eventually, although SD is not hot swappable but you can have up to 64GB
Home screen is probably the best and most flexible available right now , tiles can be sized and coloured and moved to suit exactly what you need
Camera has had poor initial reviews, but like the screen, do not believe all you read, in the real world it works well and is at the better end of the market with useful apps from Nokia to enhance performance
Internet browsing is fast on IE 10 even just using 3G, so will be interesting to see what 4G can offer to improve this - this phone is 4G enabled along with NFC although this has hardly got off the ground yet
Call quality is very good with the speaker being one of the loudest around and with an app you can record your calls direct to the cloud
Battery life is adequate considering what the phone can do, I have squeezed out 2 days useage before charging on the new fangled wireless charger which works well
Overall I would recommend this phone as a good solid all rounder which has enough technology loaded in to keep it current for several years, no real gripes or cons spring to mind - just get into training to remove the battery cover
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nokia Lumia 820
Phone needs work
from Nottingham
,08 March 2013
I was very excited about having a windows phone and the compatibility aspects. The opportunity to have microsoft office functionality on the phone was a real draw. I also like the fact that they have gone with a mini usb charger - making it compatible with other products I bought for my previous phone - not like other manufacturers. Having had the phone for a week I have enjoyed using it and some of the functionality is great - e.g. editing word files etc even when not at my computer, there is much that will frustrate me over the course of my 2 year contract. In fact, I am already dreading having this phone for that long. For example, the on/off button is exactly where I tend to put my fingers when I want to make a call! It doesn't display useful information on the front screen - such as call signal (which you only see when you select to make a call) or battery life etc - there may be a way to do this but I haven't found it yet. It has an attach feature in emails (which you would expect) but in the email app (once you have created an email) you can only attach a picture - to attach any other files (e.g. word file, video) you have to go to the file, select share and then create a new email. This means you can't reply to an existing message stream if you want to attach anything - v annoying. There are a number of other slight frustrations but this review is probably long enough already. I am sure that Nokia will eventually iron out these problems, but currently I just don't think they have put enough thought into the ergonomics of the phone design or the functionality. It is also very breakable - as I have already found out - fell about 1 foot onto vinyl, screen bust and core buttons not working. Carphone warehouse do not currently stock any accessories (tried 2 stores) for this product and the shock proof case I ordered over the internet hadn't arrived yet.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
14 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nokia Lumia 820
A Great Windows Phone
from Brighton
,05 December 2012
I've found the Nokia Lumia 820 to be a great phone, very easy to use and to setup.
I have not had chance to really test out the battery life but it does look like it will easily handle most day to day tasks without the need to be charged throughout the day unlike my old Nokia N8 and even older Blackberry Storm.
The features on this Windows 8 Phone are excellent, whether you're planning to use it for personal or business uses it should have enough features built into the phone, if you need more features then head over to the Windows Phone App Store and no doubt you will find an app to bring you that feature.
The free apps and games in the Store are a bit limited but more and more are being added but the store does have plenty of apps and games to choose from.
Just remember to read any reviews as some apps aren't compatible with the Windows Phone 8 yet.
Overall this is a great phone that most users will find a pleasure to use, the touch screen keyboard is also one of the best I've ever used... no more hitting the wrong key by accident and having to retype it over and over again like I've have with all other touch screen phones I've used.
So would I recommend this phone... A BIG MASSIVE YES it's an awesome phone, it looks great, it works great and so easy to use.
#####
The one thing with the Nokia Lumia 820 though is,
Not all Micro SD cards are compatible with the phone, I found the first one I brought and tried didn't get recognized, the second one a Samsung 32GB Class 10 (model code - MB-MSBGA/EU) works great and was recognized straight away.
So be careful where you order from to make sure if the Micro SD card isn't compatible with the phone you can return & exchange it.
#####
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nokia Lumia 820
Why bother with Apple?
from Lincoln
,01 December 2012
I have been using windows phone 7.5 on a Lumi for the last 8 months, but upgraded to thhe Lumia 820 as soon as it was released. It is certainly an upgrade from the 710 and is rumoured to get even better in Q1 2013 when Microsoft have hinted that they will release the Apollo+ update. this should add a further raft of new features. The phone itself is incredible, and with the metro UI it is impossilbe not to enjoy the interaction with your phone. Neither iOS or Android can match the experience of using a WP device. I would recommend using Youtube to watch videos on how the operating system function, and to check out amazing Bokie apps like "City Lens". I fyou use this phone to the full eg Skydrive, messenger , facebook, twitter, outlook, hotmail you will find it to be an amazing piece of kit. If you are some one who travels alot, then your experiences will be enhanced by Local Scout, Nokia Drive+, City Lens, Nokie Journey, I wouls also urge you to join Nokiabetalabs and run some beta Apps such as Mokie xpress for Lumia, this is an excellent way to browse the web whilst mobile on lower data packages. This phone will not disappoint you, buy with confidence. View knowyourmobilereview onyoutube too.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nokia Lumia 820
So far so good!
from Lancashire
,21 November 2012
I had a 1st gen WP7 before this (samsung omnnia 7) and the nokia is a significant improvement over it. As usual Nokia delivers on quality and I suspect the phone will join my other old nokias when i'm finished with it and probably even outlive me!
Phone wise, there isnt much to distinguish it from other windows phones, the wireless charging is great, build quality excellent and the wireless charging is actually worthwhile - I had thought this a gimmick until i started using it! I'm looking forward to a time when wireless charging speakers become affordable with this too.
Windows phone 8 is pretty good, nice to use, full of features and free of the clutter of android and staleness of iOS. It can be a bit wierd at first but once you work it out it's actually very logical. For example theres no need to launch facebook and twitter apps, just go to the people hub and its all in a feed. Upload photos to skydrive (cloud storage) and they show up in the photos hub - i have a few hundred in there and they just stream to the phone when i need to show someone. The apps are a bit lacking, but this wont be a problem for most people.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nokia Lumia 820
Love it!
from Somerset
,10 June 2013
The Nokia Lumia 820 is the perfect phone for me! The more I use it, the more i discover new amazing features which I was totally unaware of when buying it! Compared to other smart phone contracts on the market, the Nokia Lumia 820 seems to give you so much more than your money, something which I love. The screen is so responsive and the windows 8 set up is easy to navigate and gives you so many choices to personalise the design and colour schemes allowing you to create your dream phone layout and set up. I also loved the camera which with 8 megapixels is just fine for me as a novice and produces sharp colours and clearly defined shapes. I'm adjusting to the battery life which goes about 24-36 hours, compared to my old phone which went for days! However, it seems all phones are this way now and with a super easy wireless charging option I think it's just a case of getting into a new routine. Only real downside is that it's too large for most standard phone cases and I'm struggling to give it that extra protection at the moment! Overall I love it and would recommend it to everyone!!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
199 of 381 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nokia Lumia 820
Good value, but camera could be better
from Lincoln
,28 November 2012
The phone has the benefit of not being too large and it is quick to operate, but the camera is not really very good. It is possible that a software update could correct this. The back is quite difficult to remove, but i found the fact that the battery just sits in a slot and falls out when the back is removed, to be quite annoying.
The phone has just about every app that i use and i certainly do not require the contents of the Android or apple app store, so that is not a concern for most people. Call quality is good and the screen is reasonable.
The only issue with the screen would be the fact that it is Amoled and they have extremely vibrant colours which are perhaps a little too bright.
Having had a Nokia N8, i do miss the quality of the 12 mega pixel camera and for me, that is the biggest problem. However, the phone does have the benefit of being future proof with the 4G connection only needing a software update to activate.
Overall, it is an adequate phone that does everything i want, but i do feel that Nokia should have done better with the camera.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nokia Lumia 820
a great change
from edinburgh, united kingdom
,02 December 2012
I can't remember the last time I had a Nokia phone. I have always been an Android user. I can definitely say that since having the Nokia Lumia 820, I have been enjoying the latest Windows Phone 8. Its quick user interface is faster than my Android with the Gingerbread version.
The live tiles make the screen feel alive. There's not much apps as I hoped but I've got what I needed like the news, weather and bus travels.
The camera and its different lenses are very nifty. I quite enjoyed Cinemagraph. You can edit the photos in Creative Studio which I always do. You can also take Panorama photos . The 8MP camera at the back is very clear but the VGA camera at the front is just okay. The front camera is not very good for night time shots.
Battery life lasts only a day for me. I make a lot of calls and web browsing so that is totally justifiable. The weight of the phone is a bit heavier than the usual iPhone but that doesn't bother me.
I have had this phone for 2 weeks now and I am really enjoying this purchase. Best purchase I've had in a while.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nokia Lumia 820
Happy
from Northants
,19 July 2013
Major ex-Android user, I got bored with the slows, glitches and constant re-flash of Android. I wanted corporate backing quality but Blackberry is a flop and Apple are too expensive for what you get. This fits in perfectly. The camera is ace, the phone is lightening quick, and the main apps are ther.... in time we'll get some mor ebespoke ones. The browsing is a doddle and it doesnt matter how many app si install it doesnt go slow!
I bought mine, then my colleague bought his 920, however, I dont think the 920 is worth the premium for the features and mine looks way cooler... i have removable storage too, cheers! Good value at free ,with £15pm and defo better than any android. Be aware, you dont get the funky charger or an SDCARD so order with it. Only drawback are the less bespoke appsi got used ot on android (app for everythign attitude) and the weight. Nice interface, fast, and quality by nokia make this a gem - oh an dI found out it plays xbox live games, only on lumia! :)
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
155 of 299 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nokia Lumia 820
Good solid smart phone
from Lancashire
,16 August 2013
For those who are concerned about security Windows Phone 8 on Nokia Lumia 820 comes with full Microsoft enterprise security not only is it the most secure phone OS on the market it's also the most reliable. Perfect for Music, Taking full HD photos and full HD 1080p videos it has full facebook and twitter integration as well as connection to all popular email providers. The user experience is clean, fluid and crisp and the display very colourful and vivid. The build quality is probably the best i have seen from any manufacture. You have all the feature you expect from a smart phone with the bonus the best security on the market not to mention a dual core 1.5Ghz processor with 1GB Ram and 8GB internal storage with the option to expand to 64GB with an micro SD Card and you get 7GB free online storage from Skydrive. You get full GPS service from Here Drive+ and Here maps and Microsoft office mobile for creating, editing and managing your documents.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
27 of 52 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nokia Lumia 820
Nice phone, but.........
from East Anglia
,03 March 2013
Good points first - very easy to use (and I hadn't used Windows 8 before). Good clear and responsive screen. Texting a doddle, with a good choice of words scrolling across the top. Decent camera. Easy to sync. contacts etc.
Bad points - It freezes. Constantly. I ended up exchanging the phone three times (so had four in total) and it happened with every single one of them. The soft reset didn't always work, and I would have to resort to a hard reset. In all cases the phones (when they sprang back to life) would revert to Saturday 1 September at 5.46am - I think that date and time is now embedded in my mind as I've seen it so often! When the same fault kept happening on different handsets, a Google search revealed this to be a common problem (also effects the 920's). Battery life was also poor, but probably due to the amount of resets I needed to do each day. I've now got a HTC One X and not experienced any problems since.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
16 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nokia Lumia 820
FEATURED REVIEW
well done nokia
from birmingham
,14 November 2012
Waited a while for the new lumias to land, and really glad i did. The younger brother to the flagship 920 easily holds its own.
fast, feature packed and gorgeous to look at and hold. Ignore people bemoaning the lower resolution screen, it looks great and although its no retina display it is perfectly adequate for the new windows 8 interface, app wise its a bit lean compared with apple and android but it is getting there and expect Microsoft and Nokia to push developers hard now w8 is out in the open...
wireless charging is a dream addition and you will wonder how you managed plugging cables in! UK spec 820's ship with a charging shell as standard and Carphone warehouse threw in a charging plate! Plus Microsoft are throwing in a free windows 8 upgrade DVD. Its the phone that just keeps giving!
live tiles work really well and overall windows 8 mobile is shaping up to be a serious contender
highly recommended
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
343 of 538 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nokia Lumia 820
Amazing phone
from Surrey
,15 November 2012
Where to start? I bought this for the wife as she wanted a new phone rather than my iPhone cast offs as they kept becoming unreliable after a couple of years. Functionality wise this phone is amazing, the Nokia apps themselves are a real stand out, the screen size is much nicer, battery life easily extended to two days of reasonable use, sound quality was top notch and the slickness of the operating system was a marvel - such a difference to my iPhone 4s which all of a sudden feels antique. The only criticism is a slight like of apps but for a new entrant there's still huge numbers and I understand that these will be increasing quickly as its apparently fairly easy to port from Windows 8 to Windows Phone 8. I've ordered myself a Lumia 920 now as I have been wowed by this phone, but as a techy feel the need for the best possible spec, though if it didn't exist I'd be a happy owner of this 820.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nokia Lumia 820
Good from outside, flaky inside
from London
,06 March 2013
Phone has a very solid look and feel. Although it has a removable back cover, you'd be surprised to see how solid the build is and if it fell it would never separate into two parts. However when it comes to software, it's not that solid anymore. Phone would freeze/crash/restart roughly every second day, sometimes on fundamental features like making a phone call! Windows 8 interface is lovely, eye-catchy and easy to use, but it is flaky! Needs updating to make the software more robust.
What I also found annoying is the earpiece comparing to other phones is very small, you really need to keep it directly on your ear-hole. If you move it a little, you would not hear the conversation anymore. Other phones simply have bigger earpieces. This is a minor problem comparing to software reliability.
Music quality listening with headphones is very good, notably better than my Blackberry 9900.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
9 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nokia Lumia 820
Fab phone!
from London
,30 November 2012
Pros: beautiful clear display with decent sized text for emails. Really easy set up, first time i have connected to work email and calendar without any hitch. Love windows 8 and customisable live tiles. Very fast esp nokia sat nav, and internet browsing. Battery life about 2 days at present with mainly phone and email use. wireless charging is great.
Nokia radio is fun, get to hear latest music tracks for free. Still lots of features i havent explored, like free Nokia maps and sat nav for the world, games etc. Easy MS office use, i just download docs and read them without additional software. Skydrive works without any probs.
Cons: heavier than i expected, though it does feel solidly built as a result.
Verdict: really lovely phone and very easy to use, and loads of features which i have not fully explored yet. Love it!!
 
My Product Recommendations
Nokia Lumia 820
4.4 out of 5(104)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nokia Lumia 820
A mixed bag
from Reading
,29 November 2012
I decided to move away from Apple phones and try a Windows phone. Overall I'm really pleased with it, I really like:
- The design
- The colours
- The camera
- The ability to personalise the home screen
- The keyboard
- Available smilies
- Wireless charging
But I don't like:
- The battery life is AWFUL
- There aren't many apps available and the ones that are can be very buggy i.e. Words with Friends, Whatsapp and Facebook
- The internet browser isn't that great - tends to revert to mobile pages which can be annoying
- It tends to jam/crash a fair bit
- The cover is very difficult to get off
- It's quite big and heavy.
All these cons I'd already ready about in reviews previous to ordering.. and for the sake of a cheaper price per month than having an iPhone I can live with it. Still loads of room for improvement.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nokia Lumia 820
Average
from London
,20 May 2013
When i first got this phone i loved it and thought it was brilliant, i also thought that the battery life was great. My phone said there was 22 hours of use left, which was right. But within a week when my phone was fully charged it said there was 12 hours left and it actually died within 8 hours.
Also my phone wont charge, and i have to mess around with the charge for about 30 minutes until it will decide to charge and my full charge use is only 20 mins now anyway. If you like having apps dont go for this phone because they don't have many, go for an iphone.
However the camera is good and the picture on the screen is really clear.
So if you have the money to buy a wireless charger and keep getting new battery's then its a must buy but for the average joe then id get something different!
 
My Product Recommendations
Nokia Wireless Charging Plate - Red
 
 
 
Windows Phone 8X
4.4 out of 5(42)
 
 
 
Windows® Phone 8S by HTC®
3.8 out of 5(75)
 
 
 
Apple iPhone 4s 16GB
4.6 out of 5(607)
 
 
 
Nokia Lumia 520
4.2 out of 5(671)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
16 of 33 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nokia Lumia 820
Nothing different
from cumbria
,08 November 2012
Im a massive lover of new tech and decided to try the new windows 8 operating system.Ive had a lumia 800 and found it to be the worst experience ever with many issues and poor customisation.After trying this after all the hype ive returned it.Same old operating system and blring tiles.Bluetooth is only for accessories amd no file transfer and i still cant customise ringtones with mp3s.Sadly this is going to be another massive fail for nokia and windows.For me also the lack of decent apps is also a killer.The build qulity is like that of and old htc and feels cheap.In all ill stick with the galaxy s3 a far better more uselful piece of kit.Im sorry not to agree with all the nokia fans but i wont be recommending the same old thing to any friends.Save your money and buy the gs3 or iphone5.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Portability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
2 of 40 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nokia Lumia 820
Nokia Lumia 820 - a very nice piece of kit!
from North Lincolnshire
,15 January 2013
I was fed up with my iPhone 3GS as I found it slow to connect, respond and not very intuitive for me.
Having looked around at a lot of different phones and operating systems I really liked the Windows Phone 8 format so I decided to purchase the Nokia Lumia 820 as it also look good, felt solid and robust, and testing out one in the shop, found the operating system worked how I needed it to as well.
My new Nokia Lumia 820 Red is living up to all I expect and works excellently in combination with the Windows Phone 8 System.
I have only given the battery and reliability ratings 'good' as I haven't had the phone long enough to provide a good review of those factors.
For me, this is what I expect a smart phone to be, thank you Nokia and Microsoft.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next