The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Nokia Lumia 820 Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Nokia Lumia 820

Average Customer Rating:
4.394 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(104 Reviews) 104
89 of 104(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

The Nokia Lumia 820 has been designed to be as useful as possible in everyday life. There's world-leading photo and video capabilities, expandable storage, a glorious 4.3" HD touchscreen, a powerful dual core processor to deal with even the most demanding of tasks, and even free built-in turn by turn satellite navigation.

Great looking screen, even use it with gloves.

The 4.3" display of the Nokia Lumia 820 uses ClearBlack technology that gives you super dark black colours, great colour brightness and even performs superbly in bright sunshine. Should it be cold outside for a few days, thanks to the supremely sensitive nature of the touchscreen you can still use your Lumia 820 with gloves on.

Fantastic camera and video experience.

With a Carl Zeiss lens on the back of the Nokia Lumia 820, it's clear it means business. The 8MP camera, combined with a Smart Shoot feature lets you take multiple photos with a single click so you can edit photos effortlessly to make the perfect picture. This is great if a friend of yours always times their blinks for when you're pressing the capture button!

Powered by Windows Phone 8.

The latest Windows Phone gives you more smoothness, more features and even smarter Live Tiles. These are boxes on your homescreen that update with information, like the weather, Facebook™ updates and more. The information changes as the app they're linked to receives updated information – and they come in loads of different colours for easy personalisation. Windows Phone 8 also comes with full Microsoft Office 365, so you can power through work tasks wherever you are.

Excellent Nokia-only built-in apps.

Nokia has given its Lumia range specific built-in apps, and the 820 is no different. There's Nokia Drive that offers free turn by turn voice navigation for your region - even without a data connection. It includes speed limit warnings, traffic alerts and downloadable additional maps. You'll also get Nokia City Lens. Launch it to reveal an on-the-street view of what's around you with your camera's viewfinder. Instantly see all the cool, hidden places, like the cozy, local restaurants behind the big-brand tourist traps. And Nokia Mix Radio lets you listen to hundreds of playlists for free – even offline!

Super fast internet even on the go.

The Nokia Lumia 820 is a 4G ready* phone. This means that it will be compatible with the new, faster networks in the UK that will be rolled out in the next few months. With a 4G connection you'll have internet download speeds some five times faster than current 3G speeds, no matter where you are, and also experience improved reception and reception coverage. It's the next big thing in smartphone technology.

Wireless charging – charge up without plugging in.

You can power up your Nokia Lumia 820 without cables or plugs. Simply lay your Lumia on a charging plate (wireless charging plate sold separately) until you're ready to go. Put a plate in the kitchen, the office, the bedroom; the more plates you have, the more places you can easily charge.

Qualcomm® Snapdragon™ processors.

Mobile that’s more powerful, more personal, and less power hungry. Did you know that different technologies work faster, smoother and more efficiently when they’re designed to work together? We think that’s a pretty smart approach, so that’s how we designed our Qualcomm® Snapdragon™ processors. Qualcomm Snapdragon processors use best-in-class technology and deliver what your friends will envy— quick, smooth surfing, visually stunning graphics, and robust performance. Being power-smart, they deliver the precise amount of power you need right when you need it, ensuring consistently great performance without compromising battery life. Snapdragon processors make it possible for you to fully enjoy all the reasons you’d wanted a Smartphone in the first place. Click here to Learn more about Snapdragon.

*In order for the Lumia 820 to access a 4G network it will need to receive an over the air software update. The date for this software update has not yet been announced.4G is a new network infrastructure that will be offered by varying networks in the coming weeks and months. You will need a 4G connection before you can access the 4G network, and you will need to speak to your network provider to determine whether they will be offering a 4G network, and when it will be active. The Nokia Lumia 820 is fully compatible with the current 3G network infrastructures that are in place across network providers.

Customer Reviews for Nokia Lumia 820
Review 41 for Nokia Lumia 820
Fab phone!!
from Somerset
,12 March 2013
Got this phone for my daughter as didn't want to spend as much as an iPhone would of set me back..... And amazed, as good as my iPhone for sure. The screen is crystal clear and very sharp, camera is brilliant which is front facing as well.... Loads of apps to browse through.... For the price point you pay this is well worth it, extremely please and can't praise it enough.
Age group: 30 - 39
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 42 for Nokia Lumia 820
lovely nokia
from didcot
,12 March 2013
love my phone a bit hard for a strictly touch and type person like my self but getting the hang of it.
A bit disappointed in the fact it's not easy to get music from ipod to lumia so having to go back to shop to see how to do it as zune does not reconise my phone.
Battery life is not good but have solved this problem by putting it on charge each night while i'm asleep so have a full battery in the morn.
Overall lovely phone by nokia
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 43 for Nokia Lumia 820
Phone needs work
from Nottingham
,08 March 2013
I was very excited about having a windows phone and the compatibility aspects. The opportunity to have microsoft office functionality on the phone was a real draw. I also like the fact that they have gone with a mini usb charger - making it compatible with other products I bought for my previous phone - not like other manufacturers. Having had the phone for a week I have enjoyed using it and some of the functionality is great - e.g. editing word files etc even when not at my computer, there is much that will frustrate me over the course of my 2 year contract. In fact, I am already dreading having this phone for that long. For example, the on/off button is exactly where I tend to put my fingers when I want to make a call! It doesn't display useful information on the front screen - such as call signal (which you only see when you select to make a call) or battery life etc - there may be a way to do this but I haven't found it yet. It has an attach feature in emails (which you would expect) but in the email app (once you have created an email) you can only attach a picture - to attach any other files (e.g. word file, video) you have to go to the file, select share and then create a new email. This means you can't reply to an existing message stream if you want to attach anything - v annoying. There are a number of other slight frustrations but this review is probably long enough already. I am sure that Nokia will eventually iron out these problems, but currently I just don't think they have put enough thought into the ergonomics of the phone design or the functionality. It is also very breakable - as I have already found out - fell about 1 foot onto vinyl, screen bust and core buttons not working. Carphone warehouse do not currently stock any accessories (tried 2 stores) for this product and the shock proof case I ordered over the internet hadn't arrived yet.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
14 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Nokia Lumia 820
Good from outside, flaky inside
from London
,06 March 2013
Phone has a very solid look and feel. Although it has a removable back cover, you'd be surprised to see how solid the build is and if it fell it would never separate into two parts. However when it comes to software, it's not that solid anymore. Phone would freeze/crash/restart roughly every second day, sometimes on fundamental features like making a phone call! Windows 8 interface is lovely, eye-catchy and easy to use, but it is flaky! Needs updating to make the software more robust.
What I also found annoying is the earpiece comparing to other phones is very small, you really need to keep it directly on your ear-hole. If you move it a little, you would not hear the conversation anymore. Other phones simply have bigger earpieces. This is a minor problem comparing to software reliability.
Music quality listening with headphones is very good, notably better than my Blackberry 9900.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
9 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Nokia Lumia 820
Nice phone, but.........
from East Anglia
,03 March 2013
Good points first - very easy to use (and I hadn't used Windows 8 before). Good clear and responsive screen. Texting a doddle, with a good choice of words scrolling across the top. Decent camera. Easy to sync. contacts etc.
Bad points - It freezes. Constantly. I ended up exchanging the phone three times (so had four in total) and it happened with every single one of them. The soft reset didn't always work, and I would have to resort to a hard reset. In all cases the phones (when they sprang back to life) would revert to Saturday 1 September at 5.46am - I think that date and time is now embedded in my mind as I've seen it so often! When the same fault kept happening on different handsets, a Google search revealed this to be a common problem (also effects the 920's). Battery life was also poor, but probably due to the amount of resets I needed to do each day. I've now got a HTC One X and not experienced any problems since.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
16 of 27 people found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Nokia Lumia 820
Poor navigation
from Bedford
,28 February 2013
I use several phones, as I'm responsible for the company's phone contracts. I had a Nokia N8, which was excellent and bought this to get the updated excellent Nokia Navigation. Well, the navigation is a turkey. They've thrown away what they achieved on the N8 and started again. It is really poor - makes bad decisions and no traffic camera database.
Also, the only way to activate the screen is to touch to power button - if you are checking whether you turned it off at night, it just turns it on - aarrrrgggghhh! So irritating.
So, as a choice, the Samsung Galaxy S3 leaves it for dead. I've put my work Sim back in the N8!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
7 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Nokia Lumia 820
smart windows phone
from derbyshire
,21 February 2013
new user to windows phone impressed from offset little tricky at first to find way around ,camera not as good as n8 but still takes a lovely shot not so good in low light levels.overall very pleased like the texting software,
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
9 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Nokia Lumia 820
Nokia lumia 820
from Hampshire
,21 February 2013
I haven't had a Nokia phone in over ten yrs and I am loving this one it may appear chunky but it holds it's own yes the are a few apps you can't get for it but it makes up for that in many other ways I'm glad I held out for this cos Nokia have knocked it out the park on this one
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Nokia Lumia 820
Over 40
from Ashbourne
,20 February 2013
Now I got told by my 21yrs old son. Mother you shouldn't have that phone you don't know what your doing and it's wasted on you. Well he is wrong ,it took me day or two but I love this phone. Mostly for the features ,but the style and taking great pictures. This size took time to get use to ,but the screen is clear ,just right size to read. Battery good last couple days ,but I don't use the web as much as my kids. Nice in red matches my car, nails ha ha.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
8 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Nokia Lumia 820
glad im back with Nokia
from london
,20 February 2013
Im so pleased about this phone, color is fantastic, i got the red...suits me...apps games are great..kids loves the games....love it that Nokia is back...
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Nokia Lumia 820
from hull
,17 February 2013
Only had this product a week but am missing a few apps that are unavailable for this phone. other than that the phone is ok to use if a little chunky.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
8 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Nokia Lumia 820
Amazing!!
from Grimsby
,16 February 2013
Such a fast,easy to use phone, I'd say its better than the iPhone.
One of the only phones that you can PERSONALIZE to what suits you, the colours and your tiles.
Seems heavy and bigger than normal at first but after a few hours you'll be use to it. The only BAD side is there isn't as many apps as other phones but perfect for MUSIC lovers and GAMERS apart from that its perfect, wouldn't ask for a better phone now!!!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
8 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Nokia Lumia 820
Fantastic handset
from Hamilton
,15 February 2013
Excellent features, easy to use clear display.
Good battery life, fast responsive Internet connection.
Would highly recommend buying this phone. It's. easy to
Synchronise your contacts etc using windows.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
3 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Nokia Lumia 820
Don't let the pc version of windows 8 put you off
from Ipswich
,15 February 2013
Thought long and hard re buying this phone having previously had a samsung galaxy s. I weighed it up against the iPhone but the user interface won me over.
If you have windows 8 PC don't let that put you off, the mobile version is what windows 8 is really for, it works in every respect.
I find the way I can create tiles and group friends together really powerful. Somehow these tiles are more easily recognisable to me than the iPhones icons which I struggle with on my ipad.
Call quality is really good, very clear.
Battery life seems good to me I can go two days on a charge, but have a charge pad so just put phone on that when I am not using it.
Allin all very very pleased with my choice.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Nokia Lumia 820
really impressed
from yorkshire
,15 February 2013
Loads of free apps.love how u can personalize everything on the phone and back it up.great help from windows built in to the phone so you shouldn't struggle with any features.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Nokia Lumia 820
Windows Gr8 phone
from Peterborough
,15 February 2013
If you use windows 8 this is simply a must have. Leave the iPhones for the kids and bin your business blackberry, this is the way forward. Business tool or easy to use phone, it's just windows gr8!
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Nokia Lumia 820
I think I like it!!
from Margate
,15 February 2013
I am still new to the phone, but I think I like it! It is very different to my old BB Torch (which I liked) & it is taking some time figuring the 820 out. You could, if you were nasty, put this down to age. It seams to do everything I've needed so far & I am happy to carry on playing with it. I like the tiles & have spent a lot of time altering them as I keep changing my mind. If you fancy a change give it a go.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Nokia Lumia 820
Lovely phone
from Birmingham
,15 February 2013
Love my Nokia lumia 820, found it easy and fun to use and the only problem I've found is that it's quite slippy to handle as the casing is smooth, so brought a gel case and now problem sorted.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Nokia Lumia 820
Great Phone
from UK
,06 February 2013
The Nokia lumia 820 is such a great phone, i cant fault anything about it other than the fact that i have to reset it sometimes as the Nokia music app seems to be a little faulty, the battery life us average, it'll last a day at most, but i cant fault it on anything else, words of advice, get a screen protector and a case if you can, glass panel is easy to scratch, but overall a brilliant phone, i recommend it if your looking for a mid range reliable smartphone
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Nokia Lumia 820
Much better than WP7
from Cornwall
,04 February 2013
Lovely looking phone - both build and display. Not bad selection of apps. I'm really enjoying using it even if it is a bit bigger than I expected and battery life isn't great.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.