The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home
Shop Now At The Carphone Warehouse
Most Popular

Nokia Lumia 800 Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Nokia Lumia 800

Average Customer Rating:
4.148 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
121 of 155(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

The Nokia Lumia 800 is a stunning smartphone with an iconic look. The curved 3.7" touchscreen includes Clear Black screen technology, cutting glare and keeping the screen easy to see even in bright sunshine. The 8MP Carl Zeiss lens camera is ideal for quality pictures on the go, while Windows® Phone 7.5 and a speedy 1.4GHz Snapdragon™ S2 processor keep everything super fast. Click here to see a video showing exactly what the Nokia Lumia 800 can do.

The social networking companion.

No one wants to miss the latest news from their friends and family, which is why the Nokia Lumia 800 integrates with Facebook™, Twitter™ and LinkedIn™ to instantly pull in the latest status updates so you'll always know what's going on. It's only seven seconds from pocket to uploading a photo to Facebook™. There's even face detection for instantly tagging your friends.

A unique smartphone look.

With a one piece body, the Nokia Lumia 800 is not only extremely compact and sleek, it's also one tough bit of kit. It'll take knocks and bangs like no other smartphone. The smooth, 3.7" curved glass touchscreen gives you crisp, bright visuals that almost jump from the phone. And because of the efficient insides, you get a superb battery life.

Faster web browsing.

Forget loading times, the Nokia Lumia 800 gives you high speed internet browsing thanks to Internet Explorer 9. It has wider support for websites, so you can look at more content than ever, and with a new, tidier toolbar interface, you'll see more of your favourite sites. With the latest and fastest Wi-Fi and HSPA support, downloads are practically immediate, so you can surf the web and enjoy the thousands of apps on offer whenever you want.

Microsoft® Office, on the run.

Now you can catch up on work whether you're in the office, on the train or waiting at the airport. With Microsoft® Office Mobile you can create everything from Word and Excel to PowerPoint documents. With improved functionality you now have more control, making it the next best thing to being at the office PC. And with the ability to sync with SkyDrive and add multiple Exchange accounts, you'll always be able to view and share the information you need.

The phone that finds new artists you'll love.

With Nokia, you have a choice. There's Zune®, an online music store full of amazing content. Browse and download your favourite songs, movies and TV shows, preview songs and even whole albums before you buy them. Or there's Nokia Mix Radio, which learns your music tastes and finds new artists you'll love. Between them you'll have access to 14 million songs.

Know where you're going, wherever you are.

Nokia Drive brings sat nav to your phone. You get full voice guided navigation with traffic alerts. Best of all, the Drive app and all UK roadmaps are preloaded free - so you don't need an internet connection to use it! If you want to find the nearest attractions or even the perfect cup of coffee, Nokia Maps (free download from Marketplace) is the app for you. Once you've read through reviews and tips use the walk navigation to get there fast.

Snapdragon™ processors by Qualcomm®

The digital brains inside the smartest devices. The Snapdragon family of processors are designed using best-in-class technology. Everything that your smartphone needs is built right into one chip – the CPU, the graphics processing unit (GPU), internet connectivity software, power management and multimedia features. This means Snapdragon processors give great efficiency and battery life while still providing power and multitasking abilities. Learn more about Snapdragon™.

The Nokia Lumia 800 is a perfect device for when you're out and about. It's tough, gives you access to all your social networks, has super fast internet capabilities, lets you work anywhere and even stops you getting lost. All this while playing your favourite songs - and some you haven't discovered yet - in the background.

Customer Reviews for Nokia Lumia 800
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 Next
Review 1 for Nokia Lumia 800
FEATURED REVIEW
Quality smartphone
Johnnyg
from London
,19 May 2012
Used to own Samsung Omnia 7, so was familiar with the O/S, but the Lumia looks & feels a million dollars in comparison.. screen is fantastic, fast & fluid in use, with useful Nokia apps like Satnav. It just works. Never fails. Battery a day; so I got a spare juice pack, but confident that future updates due in June (Tango release) will improve this further still. If you are coming from iphone or Android check the marketplace that there is an app (or equivalent) if you're really reliant on it. The number of apps is increasing daily, when they do get done they are usually awesome (like smugmug just recently)..
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
31 of 33 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nokia Lumia 800
highly recommend
d9jdm
from aberdeen
,22 December 2012
Been a while since my last nokia and it has to be said it has been worth the wait ! Great phone for the money, user friendly, packed full of features, user friendly,slick interface,
great customer service from the Aberdeen shop, o2 shop next door lost out on a sale due to their shambolic attitude to customers;
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nokia Lumia 800
great phone
callum
from leeds
,21 December 2012
had it one day now, fairly used to it but still need to pick up on a few more things. coming from an android phone i wasnt sure at first, i wanted this phone when it was released but opted for the htc sensation xl instead, and, im glad i have moved to this. great phone, no problems with it so far, loving the OS although you do have to get used to it, only problem i have is apps such as angry birds dont have free versions and there is a lot of apps on my old phone i cant get on this, but it more than makes up for it in other fields. another great thing is windows 7.8 is out very soon so will be almost as good as a windows 8 phone but for a fraction of the price
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 4 for Nokia Lumia 800
Very good but overrated
Bee
from Lincolnshire
,17 December 2012
After having BlackBerrys for the last 3 years I decided to try a Windows phone, although the phone is good, it has more downfalls, battery is just as bad as iPhones & BlackBerrys and notifications don't work on the majority of the applications. Although BlackBerrys have downfalls too, there's a strong chance i will return to them in the near future.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nokia Lumia 800
overall phone
Nick
from Oxford
,17 December 2012
Nokia Lumia 800 one of the worst phone i ever had in my life. and i would never ever recommend this phone to any one, since i had this phone, it's gone several times faulty. " The worst phone"
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nokia Lumia 800
never again!!
beviee
from stoke on trent
,15 December 2012
I had this phone on contract and gave partner my iphone 4s, i am now begging him to swap so i can have it back, this phone is not worth it take my advice and get an iphone!
If you try select something it selects something completely different, hardly any games to download, camera is rubbish, when texting it will randomly put spaces in so you have to keep deleting things, zune is such a pain to use! Itunes is way better took me 2days to finally get it to download on to my computer, battery life is pathetic!!
I wouldnt have this phone, get anything but! You will regret it if you do im now stuck in a 24 month contract with the worst phone ive ever had and ive had alot of phones in my life and i always find my way back to iphone!
Save yourself money and do not buy!!!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
4 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nokia Lumia 800
LUMIA 800
JWGEFF
from Leeds
,14 December 2012
Nice phone but features are not as good as my old c601.
The voice feature does not work for incoming calls.
Volume on radio through speaker is poor.
Otherwise ok.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 8 for Nokia Lumia 800
Great Product
Massclau
,14 December 2012
My son loved the phone, and thanked me everyday for such wonderful piece. I have to thank you 'Carphone team' for the lovely offer and service. Many thanks !
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 9 for Nokia Lumia 800
Brilliant Phone
Phoneswapper
from Glasgow
,13 December 2012
This is easily the best phone i have ever used and love it, i dont keep a phone very long usually its only weeks but i've had this a few months and will probably keep it til about march when i get a new phone on contract, only gripes i have with this phone is the lack of accessories ( was looking for a personalised cover ) and i dropped the phone the small door that covers the charger hit the ground and bent the door, the paint has cracked and the door was bent at the end closest to the headphone port, which has taken me weeks to straighten out and doesnt magnetise closed properly and i am struggling to find somewhere that sells a replacement for it
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nokia Lumia 800
Floss m
from Birmingham
,13 December 2012
Having switched from a Samsung phone which I couldn't get on with, found this phone a pleasure to use. Love the sat nav etc. superb. Just wish you could sort your photos from the phone and not have to use a PC. However a minor issue. Very sturdy phone, love it.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 11 for Nokia Lumia 800
Wellcome back Nokia
Bbbysherry
from Amersham
,11 December 2012
Nokia are back with a great phone the lumia800 is a good all round phone it does it all and very well and is about the best buy out there moment and is a joy to use don't spend a huge amount of. Money on other phones because this will do it all for less than 150 pounds at cpw
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nokia Lumia 800
BETTER THAN IPHONE
Essex mate
from Essex
,08 December 2012
Swapped my Iphone for this and don't regret it one bit, easy to use, fast to type on etc. A nice app to review your usage so no more shocking bills :)
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nokia Lumia 800
no windows
npic
from London
,05 December 2012
Can't download apps such as iplayer or mobile banking. games run really slow - the efforts seem to be on pointless animation of characters rather than just getting on with it. good camera though.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
1 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nokia Lumia 800
Couldn't be happier
ryse
,05 December 2012
I got this phone just after my birthday and it is truly the best phone I have bought! The battery doesn't die in the middle of the day and the touch screen is great!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nokia Lumia 800
Will never buy another phone again.
Fazzbugg
from Birmingham
,05 December 2012
In my opinion this phone is above and beyond the iPhone and any other smartphones out there at the minute. Its sleek design, customisation, features, apps, gaming, music, social-networking, and the simple things like calls and texts are all easy to access, understand and use. The microphone/speaker at the top of the phone however is a bit small, making it difficult to hear when on the phone - but that's only if I'm being picky. Get one!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nokia Lumia 800
simply amazing
DERP
from Birmingham
,03 December 2012
I bought this phone yesterday and just can't put it down. So many things to do, love the Xbox live integration. Has a lot of potential and is seriously underestimated by everyone. Only downside is the selection of apps, still has every single app I ever used on my iphone. Would recommend to anyone that's looking for a good phone within this price range
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nokia Lumia 800
Beviee
,01 December 2012
Upgraded to this phone as i was bored of my iphone 4s, think its a great phone and to all those who write bad reviews.... Its not the phone its the person using it!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nokia Lumia 800
A viable smartphone.
Mikey from Lymington
from Lymington Hants
,29 November 2012
Been using this phone for 3months now and battery life seems to increase with age I'm sure it would last for 2days no problem but I charge every day just to make sure.
Music player is a delight to use in my opinion better than iTunes( I use both). Strangely enough when I installed Zune my music from iTunes was transferred over to my Zune library even music I purchased from ITunes. So i have my iTunes library on my Lumia. Voice commands are fantastic. I use hands free all day and it never drops a call plus there is an amazing feature where if you recieve a text you just follow the commands in your ear to listen to the text and reply in text form without ever taking your phone from your pocket or touching your hands free,great if you are driving or on a ladder hanging on for dear life.
All the essential apps are there including Skype and even B T wi fi plus there are loads of reasonable apps to personalise your ringtones now. Screen quality is excellent even in bright sunlight. Contacts is a breeze to use and transfer from your old phone as long as it has Bluetooth . As far as durability is concerned - it's a tough phone,I dropped mine from on top of a conservatory roof on to a stone patio with no protective cover.
Just one tiny dent on a corner and no ill effects.
I would recommend this phone to any one.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nokia Lumia 800
dreadfull battery problems lumia 800
mikebt
from UK
,26 November 2012
beautiful phone and very easy to use. but has an inherent battery / power / charging problem, in that if the battery discharges fully, it does not have enough power in reserve to recognise a charger being attached to it, so cannot be charged, or powered up, to download the software fix available for this charging problem. phone becomes a glorified paperweight if the battery goes dead. Check it out on Google (nokia 800 wont charge).......a Shame as phone is beautifully desinged and really simple to use.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nokia Lumia 800
Great Phone!
Techh
from Bath
,15 November 2012
I have had this phone for about 4 months now and it is perfect for what I want! The only fault I've found is with the Bluetooth but I would have the same problem with an Iphone!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 Next