The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home
Shop Now At The Carphone Warehouse
Most Popular

Nokia Lumia 520 Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews

Nokia Lumia 520

Average Customer Rating:
4.15 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
572 of 671(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Trade-in offer Trade-in Store Finder View deals View deals

Overview Image

Nokia Lumia 520

As a first smartphone, a secondary work phone or a social network addicts dream, the Nokia Lumia 520 is perfect. It's also sturdy with all the software features of a high end Windows Phone 8 mobile.

Overview Image

The essential tech specs.

The battery of the Lumia 520 is a decent 1430mAh, giving you over 9 hours of talk time and up to 360 hours of standby time. The 4" display has a resolution of 480x800, making for a sharpness of 233 pixels per inch (PPI). A dual core Snapdragon S4 processor running at 1GHz powers the phone, along with the Windows Phone 8 software. When it comes to the camera, there’s a 5MP camera for good shots in all conditions, and with 8GB or memory, plus space for a microSD up to 32GB in size, there’s lots of space for photos and music.

Overview Image

Add a magic touch to your photos.

The Nokia Lumia 520 comes with a 5MP camera that'll give you sharp, colourful photos come night or day. It's also got digital lenses built in. These are camera apps, exclusive to Nokia and guaranteed to wow your friends. You can add animation and motion to your shots with Cinemagraph, take multiple photos with a single click using Smart Shoot, making editing effortless to get the perfect shot. And with Panorama, you can get epic wide screen shots. Plus, the touchscreen is super sensitive so you can even use it when wearing gloves or with your fingernails

Overview Image

Nokia Music - the music you love, free!

With Nokia Music you can stream over a hundred free* music playlists straight out of the box. There's no sign up, no subscription and no ads. Just enjoy exclusive playlists of every genre from Indie Rock to R&B, compiled by stars and experts of the music world. Or create your own mixes based on the artists you love. You can even download whole channels to listen offline. And when you discover a new favourite track, just post a link to your social networks to share it with friends.

Overview Image

Free HERE navigation apps.

The HERE collection of apps built into the Nokia Lumia 520 are amazing value – they're free after all! HERE Maps lets you view high quality, super accurate maps for practically any country in the world, and you can download them too, so they’re available offline, helping you avoid data charges. They’re so detailed; even the insides of shopping malls are mapped. If you're driving, HERE Drive (UK & Ireland) gives you turn by turn voice directions. And if you need to get across town on public transport, HERE Transit plots your quickest route, including departure times and walking distances.


* Streaming or downloading music over your mobile data connection may involve the transfer of large amounts of data so please check with your provider.

Customer Reviews for Nokia Lumia 520
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 34 Next
Review 61 for Nokia Lumia 520
DO NOT BUY!
from London
,27 May 2014
the phone is very fragile, battery drains fast, you cant get the latest apps from the store because the phone doesn't support it and lags. DO NOT BUY!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
142 of 273 people found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Nokia Lumia 520
WORST PHONE EVER!
from East Midlands
,27 May 2014
Like all Nokias...best used as a door stop. Bulky peice of rubbish that spends half its time loading. May be the Windows operating system rather than the phone but its generally slow and dull. None of the features work right and the general layout and features are long winded and awkward. Better of with the easy, uncomplicated and trusty android. Once again Microsoft you have messed up.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
105 of 207 people found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Nokia Lumia 520
Worst phone ever
from preston
,22 May 2014
I have had 6 months now. I cant get my phone connect with apple on Bluetooth all the games and apps are i copied version so they are rubbish.do not buy this phone if you do you will realise why i wrote because it is a rubbish phone and also has rubbish glass i dropped on an angle yesterday about a meter high up and the screen is smashed every were but still works for now.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
154 of 323 people found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Nokia Lumia 520
totally anazing
from london
,21 May 2014
Extremely easy to use when i compare to my last android rubbish. I had to reset my htc cause all my contacts were wiped out. This one already saved them inside hotmail so no more lost contacts again. Apart from that it is a Nokia and it works. It is not the best quality screen, but wasn't expecting more for £80. But i will buy Nokia again when this breaks. It just works and easy to transfer stuff to my pc.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
141 of 282 people found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Nokia Lumia 520
Probably
from East Midlands
,21 May 2014
Companies these days always ask for this but make no allowance of the capability of the customer to make the required assessment.
if I was a "tech-head" i might be able to0 give it, The ratings are guesstimates!
the one thing I would say is that the accompanying "instruction leaflet with the phone is a waste of paper & print.
That you all want us to buy your goods & then, without thought to the capability of the masses, put the instructions of how to use them inside, beats me.
We ended up at the local CPW to get them sorted.
THE GOOD GUY DID WELL.
Expertise: novice
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
129 of 262 people found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Nokia Lumia 520
Good quality phone at good price
from Kent
,21 May 2014
Good quality phone at good rate on monthly contract - works out cheaper than my old phone on pay as you go. Easy to use and I enjoy using emoticons. Still getting used to all it can do - camera, radio, internet.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
120 of 243 people found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Nokia Lumia 520
What a lovely phone
,18 May 2014
Superb value its lovely and Nokia radio is just excellent choose your fav singer's or play a mix of different songs depending on your favorite singers you have chosen lovely other app's to for even more download s very handy games and other things to great value and its smooth fast great
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
131 of 254 people found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Nokia Lumia 520
Would NOT recommend
from East Midlands
,18 May 2014
I have had this phone for almost six months. It has been nothing but trouble. I have returned one as the camera wouldn't launch. With this one, the lock button is horrific. It was fine for a couple of weeks before the button lost a lot of sensitivity and I had to remove the case to press the button. A lot of buyers have issues with the lock button. Seriously, this phone may look good, but it really is NOT worth it. Nokia has let me down massively.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
68 of 135 people found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Nokia Lumia 520
Worst phone purchase ever
from Stroud
,16 May 2014
Windows phone that can't communicate with Windows / Microsoft PC. Can't get emails, can't transfer documents without using Sky, even when plugged in to the PC, can't get contacts from PC. Only thing it does well is take photos, I should have bought a camera! Have wasted hours on it and still I'm going to have to buy another phone and I'm now tied in to a contract!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
119 of 233 people found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Nokia Lumia 520
Nokia lumia 520
from Berkshire
,14 May 2014
Very easy to use, has everything I need and more, great phone for great price. Can download easy, battery life is great, easy to hold and fit into pockets
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
121 of 243 people found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Nokia Lumia 520
Cheap Windows phone if 3G not important
from London
,13 May 2014
Good the price (around £100 new for a generic) but beware that 3G reception is rubbish! My Lumia has connected via 3G once in two weeks - it is a not a mobile network issue as I can connect via 3G using the same SIM on my iPhone just fine.
If you are a heavy data user/depend on 3G - this is not the phone for you. However, if you want a cheap and functional smartphone and do most of your data usage via WiFi, it is worth a look.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
98 of 197 people found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Nokia Lumia 520
A new smartphone world
from Bangor, NI
,12 May 2014
Purchased this phone as my introduction to smart phones and I haven't been disappointed. Looks good, easy to use with a whole range of apps and features for me to take advantage off. I'm also impressed with windows 8 phone. Battery life is ok, charging is easier as my kindle and samsung chargers also fit, allowing me to leave chargers in other locations and not carry them about. I use it daily, a great phone for those introducing themselves to smartphones or someone who is after a good basic smartphone.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
109 of 211 people found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Nokia Lumia 520
Unreliable, with common faults
from st leonards
,11 May 2014
I have had this phone for 11 months, It has died twice needing to go back to car phone warehouse to be fixed which has wiped off all the data which is inconvenient
My phone has not been dropped or abused so their is no excuse for the same fault happening twice
The on off button is temperamental, a common fault apparently and the camera is very slow to focus and of poor quality.
The plus points are that its easy to use and not to big but owing to the poor design and build quality I would advise anyone else to stay clear.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
74 of 153 people found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Nokia Lumia 520
You can rely on Nokia
from Devon
,07 May 2014
This maybe the lowest spec and the cheapest, but, it's easy to use and you can rely on a Nokia. An intuitive phone which meant minimal looking at 'how to' and able to get on and use it!
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
101 of 193 people found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Nokia Lumia 520
Good Easy to Use Product
from Scotland
,07 May 2014
Easy to use, will get used to different applications. Could be more expensive than my old phone eg with data download, it was really basic. Seems to fit what I want though :-)
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
101 of 193 people found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Nokia Lumia 520
Great
from Oxford
,06 May 2014
Great little phone. Bought for my daughter and she seems to love it!!! She is always on it and seems to get everything she needs. Great little camera too!
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
94 of 185 people found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Nokia Lumia 520
Great phone
,03 May 2014
Love my new nokia lumia 520 what a bargain at £70 i paid for it sim free i can play my fav songs on nokia radio even download them free to play when im offline lovely idea, its fast smooth and its getting windows 8.1 soon so even more features coming, a had samsung before an expensive phone but it was so large and very overrated in my opinion this is far better.
Age group: 30 - 39
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
101 of 203 people found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Nokia Lumia 520
Good cheap windows phone
,30 April 2014
For the price this is a good windows phone, so much so I bought three of these. upgradable memory, cheap battery, nice colours and good screen quality.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
147 of 283 people found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Nokia Lumia 520
worst phone ever
from Blackpool
,30 April 2014
Very disappointed in Nokia lumia 520 phone kept freezing, was unable to answer calls unable to turn off poor battery life not up to Nokia's usual high standard. Would not recommended to anyone. It is the worst phone I have ever had as need to buy new phone after 4 months of using. And screen is easily broken
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
160 of 308 people found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Nokia Lumia 520
my nokia 520
from Southampton
,30 April 2014
Although I have not had my phone long it is adequate in form and function but it would of been nice if a screen cleaning cloth had been included with the phone
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
162 of 322 people found this review helpful.
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 34 Next