The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home
Shop Now At The Carphone Warehouse
Most Popular

Nokia Lumia 520 Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews

Nokia Lumia 520

Average Customer Rating:
4.164 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
567 of 660(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Overview Image

Nokia Lumia 520

As a first smartphone, a secondary work phone or a social network addicts dream, the Nokia Lumia 520 is perfect. It's also sturdy with all the software features of a high end Windows Phone 8 mobile.

Overview Image

The essential tech specs.

The battery of the Lumia 520 is a decent 1430mAh, giving you over 9 hours of talk time and up to 360 hours of standby time. The 4" display has a resolution of 480x800, making for a sharpness of 233 pixels per inch (PPI). A dual core Snapdragon S4 processor running at 1GHz powers the phone, along with the Windows Phone 8 software. When it comes to the camera, there’s a 5MP camera for good shots in all conditions, and with 8GB or memory, plus space for a microSD up to 32GB in size, there’s lots of space for photos and music.

Overview Image

Add a magic touch to your photos.

The Nokia Lumia 520 comes with a 5MP camera that'll give you sharp, colourful photos come night or day. It's also got digital lenses built in. These are camera apps, exclusive to Nokia and guaranteed to wow your friends. You can add animation and motion to your shots with Cinemagraph, take multiple photos with a single click using Smart Shoot, making editing effortless to get the perfect shot. And with Panorama, you can get epic wide screen shots. Plus, the touchscreen is super sensitive so you can even use it when wearing gloves or with your fingernails

Overview Image

Nokia Music - the music you love, free!

With Nokia Music you can stream over a hundred free* music playlists straight out of the box. There's no sign up, no subscription and no ads. Just enjoy exclusive playlists of every genre from Indie Rock to R&B, compiled by stars and experts of the music world. Or create your own mixes based on the artists you love. You can even download whole channels to listen offline. And when you discover a new favourite track, just post a link to your social networks to share it with friends.

Overview Image

Free HERE navigation apps.

The HERE collection of apps built into the Nokia Lumia 520 are amazing value – they're free after all! HERE Maps lets you view high quality, super accurate maps for practically any country in the world, and you can download them too, so they’re available offline, helping you avoid data charges. They’re so detailed; even the insides of shopping malls are mapped. If you're driving, HERE Drive (UK & Ireland) gives you turn by turn voice directions. And if you need to get across town on public transport, HERE Transit plots your quickest route, including departure times and walking distances.


* Streaming or downloading music over your mobile data connection may involve the transfer of large amounts of data so please check with your provider.

Customer Reviews for Nokia Lumia 520
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 33 Next
Review 61 for Nokia Lumia 520
A new smartphone world
Cornelius_G
from Bangor, NI
,12 May 2014
Purchased this phone as my introduction to smart phones and I haven't been disappointed. Looks good, easy to use with a whole range of apps and features for me to take advantage off. I'm also impressed with windows 8 phone. Battery life is ok, charging is easier as my kindle and samsung chargers also fit, allowing me to leave chargers in other locations and not carry them about. I use it daily, a great phone for those introducing themselves to smartphones or someone who is after a good basic smartphone.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
109 of 211 people found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Nokia Lumia 520
Unreliable, with common faults
Fedup520owner
from st leonards
,11 May 2014
I have had this phone for 11 months, It has died twice needing to go back to car phone warehouse to be fixed which has wiped off all the data which is inconvenient
My phone has not been dropped or abused so their is no excuse for the same fault happening twice
The on off button is temperamental, a common fault apparently and the camera is very slow to focus and of poor quality.
The plus points are that its easy to use and not to big but owing to the poor design and build quality I would advise anyone else to stay clear.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
74 of 153 people found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Nokia Lumia 520
You can rely on Nokia
Spot
from Devon
,07 May 2014
This maybe the lowest spec and the cheapest, but, it's easy to use and you can rely on a Nokia. An intuitive phone which meant minimal looking at 'how to' and able to get on and use it!
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
101 of 193 people found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Nokia Lumia 520
Good Easy to Use Product
going modern
from Scotland
,07 May 2014
Easy to use, will get used to different applications. Could be more expensive than my old phone eg with data download, it was really basic. Seems to fit what I want though :-)
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
101 of 193 people found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Nokia Lumia 520
Great
Kewlcaj
from Oxford
,06 May 2014
Great little phone. Bought for my daughter and she seems to love it!!! She is always on it and seems to get everything she needs. Great little camera too!
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
94 of 185 people found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Nokia Lumia 520
Great phone
brav
,03 May 2014
Love my new nokia lumia 520 what a bargain at £70 i paid for it sim free i can play my fav songs on nokia radio even download them free to play when im offline lovely idea, its fast smooth and its getting windows 8.1 soon so even more features coming, a had samsung before an expensive phone but it was so large and very overrated in my opinion this is far better.
Age group: 30 - 39
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
101 of 203 people found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Nokia Lumia 520
Good cheap windows phone
kay
,30 April 2014
For the price this is a good windows phone, so much so I bought three of these. upgradable memory, cheap battery, nice colours and good screen quality.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
147 of 283 people found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Nokia Lumia 520
worst phone ever
Sally
from Blackpool
,30 April 2014
Very disappointed in Nokia lumia 520 phone kept freezing, was unable to answer calls unable to turn off poor battery life not up to Nokia's usual high standard. Would not recommended to anyone. It is the worst phone I have ever had as need to buy new phone after 4 months of using. And screen is easily broken
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
160 of 308 people found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Nokia Lumia 520
my nokia 520
dajab
from Southampton
,30 April 2014
Although I have not had my phone long it is adequate in form and function but it would of been nice if a screen cleaning cloth had been included with the phone
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
162 of 322 people found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Nokia Lumia 520
Great Phone
Real1234
,30 April 2014
Great Little phone - quick - reliable and easy to use. For the price you are paying for it, it was a really good buy. The only negative is that the screen is a little hard to use on a really sunny day.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
164 of 311 people found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Nokia Lumia 520
for an old person perfect!
peterse9
from london
,28 April 2014
As a 67 year old with no previous experience with Computers I find this very easy to use. I had a Samsung android before but this is so much easier to use. Samsung is very complicated when I compare it to this. it has so many features, I can even connect my PC to my mobile's wifi (my neighbour showed me) and for the price is a total bargain. Go an buy one and if it breaks buy another one! the built quality is ok, but I haven't spent £400-500 so that's expected. In comparison to my more expensive Samsung this feels smoother and faster. Very pleased and love the free maps (no internet needed). Real bargain, and well suited for older people.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
171 of 323 people found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Nokia Lumia 520
Rubbish
tomhard
from london
,26 April 2014
positives to this phones are:
-nice sleek looking
-easy to use
- touch screen is really good
-takes okay photos but has no flash
- loud speakers
negatives are:
-poor battery life
-camera stopped working after 8 months of using it
-keeps freezing
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
132 of 258 people found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Nokia Lumia 520
What a cracker
PB
from Somerset
,26 April 2014
I find this phone an absolute joy to use, I have had both samsung and HTC phones in the past but this is on another level - I was a little worried reading some of the reviews about cracking the screen etc but this phone seems just as hardy as any other phone I've had (well apart from an indestructible alcatel in the 90's) The OS (windows) is a joy to use, although does take a little getting used to. The camera is fantastic, only 5mp - looks more like 15mp, especially with the add ons you can get. The navigation is cracking, internet is quicker than any android device I've used. The battery is average, if you're a heavy user you will be charging it every night, I get around 1.5 days out of it. This phone is absolutely brilliant and for the price its unbelievable, I think it is only beaten by the top of of the range iPhone, samsung s4 etc at 4 times the price. Would I recommend it? YES YES YES
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
109 of 212 people found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Nokia Lumia 520
Trying to be a computer - with a 4" screen
Steve B
from West Yorkshire
,23 April 2014
This device was listed under phones on Carphone Warehouse website. It runs on a PC operating system and includes Microsoft Office so it's more like a mini tablet with phone. I think it's trying to do too much for it's size. It needs to be bigger to do all it sets out to do, or smaller and make it just a camera phone / music player. Trying to work on spreadsheets with only a 4" screen is not fun!
Some screens rotate 90° when the device is held in portrait orientation, which can improve visibility - but for some reason not all. Perhaps this needs an infamous MS patch to fix.
The camera is typical for devices this size - OK for small Facebook photos but not for quality prints or full screen viewing on a laptop. There's no flash but a snapshot camera like this doesn't justify one.
The music player is good - a strong point, but the SD card slot is not as accessible as on many previous Nokias. The back has to be removed to swap cards; fiddly.
The power switch is easily activated accidentally - a serious defect. Previous Nokias were far better protected against that..
With an improved media player but worse power switch and SD card access Nokia have taken a step forward and two back.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
148 of 292 people found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Nokia Lumia 520
Great Value - Good for Personal / Business
JamesV
from West Midlands
,23 April 2014
Had this phone for about a week now and after going through a number of HTCs and Samsungs I can honestly say this is the most reliable and simple to use (once you get used to the unique interface) phones I've used.
Good Points:
Open, create and edit Microsoft documents, massive plus as I use this phone for work as well.
In my opinion the highest quality camera for the money (would happily use for cards / small posters)
As of yet hasn't struggled to process any tasks (including running apps, creating documents and playing music - some simultaneously)
Bad Points:
Battery life could be better but still get a couple of days out of it and sure this would be improved if turned off mobile data and bluetooth...etc.
Slightly large handset (some see this as a positive) but I'm 6'1 and struggle to hold it in one hand completely securely whilst typing...etc. Although it is about the same size as the iPhone and smaller than the S4...I think!
Other than that a great phone, especially for the price and would happily recommend as a good mix between personal and business use but probably would not suit as a first smart phone or for those just looking to play games and music. There are probably better phones like the S3 mini for this purpose.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
143 of 286 people found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Nokia Lumia 520
nokia
baggies
from west midlands
,23 April 2014
intructions to the fone are not easy u cant find things wen u downloaded them the radio is poor quality it is so complecated and hard to use and hard to work out there was no instruction manual on how to sort the fone
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
132 of 257 people found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Nokia Lumia 520
Poor
Toby
from Huddersfield
,22 April 2014
Six days after I received the phone, it simply stopped working. Cannot access anything, all my work related photos cannot be viewed. Certain apps were unable to be downloaded. Awaiting to return it to Carphone Warehouse just as soon as I can get the time off work.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
107 of 216 people found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Nokia Lumia 520
fab!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
lola
from london
,22 April 2014
i brought it for my mum and i have to say it was FAB it work well easy to use and has FAB color.
I LOVE IT SO DOES MY MUM
THX LOLA ROSE...............
 
My Product Recommendations
BlackBerry Z10
4.4 out of 5(315)
 
 
 
Huawei Ascend Y300
4.3 out of 5(531)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
88 of 185 people found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Nokia Lumia 520
Love it!!!
sweets
from Edinburgh
,19 April 2014
I bought this phone as my other one broke and I love it. There were a good variety of colours to choose from and so I went with blue. It is very easy to use and has many good features. I used to have android on my old phone and so wasn't sure about windows 8. However, I find it similar to android and I feel it is just as good. There are many apps and games to choose from and also a wide range of music which you can download. The battery life is long and charges up quickly. The quality of the camera is high and good. Overall, I am very pleased with this phone and would definitely recommend it to others. Great product!!!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
42 of 90 people found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Nokia Lumia 520
Disapointing
oreo
from Aberdeen
,30 March 2014
Phone is easy to use and love the colour. Only had it for 6 months and power button no longer works. Having to use camera button to switch it on which is frustrating.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
55 of 112 people found this review helpful.
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 33 Next