The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home
Shop Now At The Carphone Warehouse

Nokia Lumia 520 Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews

Nokia Lumia 520

Average Customer Rating:
4.214 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
511 of 583(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Overview Image

Nokia Lumia 520

As a first smartphone, a secondary work phone or a social network addicts dream, the Nokia Lumia 520 is perfect. It's also sturdy with all the software features of a high end Windows Phone 8 mobile.

Overview Image

The essential tech specs.

The battery of the Lumia 520 is a decent 1430mAh, giving you 14.8 hours of talk time and up to 360 hours of standby time. The 4" display has a resolution of 480x800, making for a sharpness of 233 pixels per inch (PPI). A dual core Snapdragon S4 processor running at 1GHz powers the phone, along with the Windows Phone 8 software. When it comes to the camera, there’s a 5MP camera for good shots in all conditions, and with 8GB or memory, plus space for a microSD up to 32GB in size, there’s lots of space for photos and music.

Overview Image

Add a magic touch to your photos.

The Nokia Lumia 520 comes with a 5MP camera that'll give you sharp, colourful photos come night or day. It's also got digital lenses built in. These are camera apps, exclusive to Nokia and guaranteed to wow your friends. You can add animation and motion to your shots with Cinemagraph, take multiple photos with a single click using Smart Shoot, making editing effortless to get the perfect shot. And with Panorama, you can get epic wide screen shots. Plus, the touchscreen is super sensitive so you can even use it when wearing gloves or with your fingernails

Overview Image

Nokia Music - the music you love, free!

With Nokia Music you can stream over a hundred free* music playlists straight out of the box. There's no sign up, no subscription and no ads. Just enjoy exclusive playlists of every genre from Indie Rock to R&B, compiled by stars and experts of the music world. Or create your own mixes based on the artists you love. You can even download whole channels to listen offline. And when you discover a new favourite track, just post a link to your social networks to share it with friends.

Overview Image

Free HERE navigation apps.

The HERE collection of apps built into the Nokia Lumia 520 are amazing value – they're free after all! HERE Maps lets you view high quality, super accurate maps for practically any country in the world, and you can download them too, so they’re available offline, helping you avoid data charges. They’re so detailed; even the insides of shopping malls are mapped. If you're driving, HERE Drive (UK & Ireland) gives you turn by turn voice directions. And if you need to get across town on public transport, HERE Transit plots your quickest route, including departure times and walking distances.


* Streaming or downloading music over your mobile data connection may involve the transfer of large amounts of data so please check with your provider.

Customer Reviews for Nokia Lumia 520
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 30 Next
Review 61 for Nokia Lumia 520
Simples!
Deja1436
from Wales
,12 February 2014
A lovely phone with great features. I love its simplicity, yet sophisticated additions! Comprehensive use in a subtle, neat format. I fully enjoy using this phone and would recommend it to anyone who is fed up with over-complicated technology!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20 of 35 people found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Nokia Lumia 520
fair price in good technology
nathan
from surrey
,12 February 2014
I have bought this one for my niece doing in her BDS in uni.She love it and praise for me giving her as a nice gift.she was surprise all those future technology in that phone.she was loving it every moment.thanks Nokia and car phone warehouse.
Nathan,Surrey
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
11 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Nokia Lumia 520
Ozzie
from Newark
,12 February 2014
Nice phone lighter than an Apple 5S. Easy to use since I am registered blind but I can make out large tiles.......
Camera very easy to use even my 5 yr old Grandson can work it out!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
11 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Nokia Lumia 520
welshboy76
from south wales
,12 February 2014
Easy to use and really good battery life compared to other phones i've had. Would recommend this phone to others. .....................................................................................................
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
11 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Nokia Lumia 520
emmah
from swansea
,11 February 2014
Bought for my son for his 1st contract phone, he loves it, battery is good, he likes the camera quality, the facilities he has are great, as it's connected to xbox live, a very happy child
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
9 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Nokia Lumia 520
Good
Sas
from London
,11 February 2014
This is the first time I am using a Nokia phone for about seven years ago. It is compact and lightweight. It is easy to use and the price I bought it's a bargain. I will recommend this phone .
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Nokia Lumia 520
Nokia Lumia 520
Trojan
from Plymouth
,11 February 2014
i got this phone only a couple of days ago and am loving it the battery life is good and the speakers are quite good also its easy to navigate and there for i would recommend anyone buys this.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Nokia Lumia 520
Very neat and compact
Oibe
from Suffolk
,11 February 2014
Really nice little phone! Good choice of colours-makes a change from just black or white.
Quite easy to use, but I have my daughter to teach me as she has the same phone. The written instructions were limited so first time users may take a while to work it all out?
The battery life is quite short, needs recharging frequently but it does have a battery life prolong app, which comes in handy when charger is not accessible
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Nokia Lumia 520
Nokia 520
Tattybogle
from Nottingham
,10 February 2014
Good phone with lots of good apps available and great coverage on Vodaphone, plenty of cheap accessories on the market for it would recommend a wallet style case, the screen protector and a stylus pen if using gaming apps.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 70 for Nokia Lumia 520
Wouldn't recommend
RiRi6810
from London
,09 February 2014
Overall, the features are great and I love the fact that the battery life is so long. But I've been continuously attempting to charge my phone for over 2days; it charges but it won't go to 1%. For this reason,I wouldn't recommend this phone
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Nokia Lumia 520
Satisfactory
Aura12
from SHEFFIELD
,08 February 2014
Nokia Lumina 520 is good value for money, however it is classed among the cheaper smart phones. The phone works well however it sometimes hangs while loading a website. Sometimes it feels like as it will take for ever to load a web page. I would recommend this phone only for those who can not afford to buy phones worth or over 200 pounds.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Nokia Lumia 520
my nokia
lozza
from walsall
,07 February 2014
Great.phone only one thing i don't like the phone does freeze a lot and im still trying to sort out the talking sat nav the sat nav is the reason i brought this phones but overall i do like this phone
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Nokia Lumia 520
Great deal
Freckles21
from Fife
,07 February 2014
Bought this for my 16 year old son. He's found it easy to use, hooks up to his xbox account and does everything a smartphone should. No complaints in this household plus we got it on a really good pay monthly deal.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Nokia Lumia 520
great phone
justme1254
from london
,06 February 2014
this phone is great for its value you can play games so smoothly there is no laggyness and the camera is great and it would be even more better if it had a flash...the battery is AMAZING it lasts me up to 10 hours which is great for music games and entertainment this is like the best purchase ever must buy i defanatly would recomend
p.s i didnt know what i would do without this phone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
11 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Nokia Lumia 520
not a good phone
londonpaul
from london
,01 February 2014
I have had nothing but problems with this phone such as the buttons on the side not working so i couldn't turn it on also the sat nav not working and the phone constantly freezing.its only my opinion but think carefully before buying this phone.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
95 of 200 people found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Nokia Lumia 520
great economical set
jp
from London
,01 February 2014
A great phone that is affordable. Easy to use, with a familiar interface, even if it is my first window's mobile. Who needs millions of apps that they are not going to use?
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
86 of 171 people found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Nokia Lumia 520
wouldn't really recommend
cads87
from Liverpool
,01 February 2014
camera is ok nothing to brag about, seemingly easy to navigate, graphics are great, range of apps are a bit poor and sometimes shut themselves down, ok if you need a quick fix phone
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
92 of 183 people found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Nokia Lumia 520
Nokia Lumia 520 nice and easy but too touchy
fish#
from Yorkshire
,31 January 2014
My first Smart phone. I found it intuitive to use almost as soon as I picked it up, unlike several Android phones I tried.
Good points. I love the smooth way you can slide between screen views and I like being able to customise the front page with button sizes that suit me. Having internet access is useful, although I'm a light user; news and weather mainly. Camera is good considering its a phone.
I'm enjoying using the Nokia overall. Having access to Office and email in a familiar format is good. I like having an app for GPS location on a map.
Bad points. One thing that does annoy me quite a lot is the screen sensitivity. I find my hair brushes the screen when I talk on the phone and this sometimes cuts off the call, even though I turned down the sensitivity setting. I have no way of knowing that the call has ended until I wonder why the other person hasn't responded. So how much did they miss? Grrr. Apparently other people have had this problem too, though there may be some kind of update/fix sometime. The go back arrow needs more pressure than going forward. Well, it needs a sharp tap on occasions. Sometimes I just go back to the main menu instead.
I was a bit disappointed that there isn't any easy way to synchronise my desk Outlook with the phone. Wasn't that the point of having a Windows phone? If it does become possible I'd want to go from my computer to my phone, rather than leaving my data in some cloud!
There are still things I've not really explored yet, but have all the things I need. So apart from the very few things that irritate me at times, I do like the phone. It is a lot more versatile and pleasant than my old Samsung M110 (except that was waterproof - yes, I dropped it in a stream and a few other places and it kept working - and the battery lasted for weeks, unlike the few days with Nokia). Wouldn't swop back now for a main phone. Though may keep the Samsung for emergency use when I'm in chest waders!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
126 of 240 people found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Nokia Lumia 520
lumia 520
DEEDEE
from Lanarkshire
,31 January 2014
Camera on phone is excellent and give first rate photes, phone was easy to get used to and working from menu to menu is easy.size of phone is not to big and screen is good size
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
128 of 243 people found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Nokia Lumia 520
great phone
lynieboy89
from London
,29 January 2014
Bought this phone in september of last year, and still pretty happy with it.
Good features:
- Siri like voice control which allows you to search the net, open programs, write notes and play music.
- Nokia maps, drive and transit are amazing. All work offline too, use nokia drive as a satnav and its amazing, never wrong, amazed that its free as well as working offline.
- camera is decent when focused
- rssponsive screen
- good music player
- nokia music is also an amazing app that comes pre loaded, great play lists that can be downloaded and listened to offline.
- can do conference calls (3 way)
- has the majority of iphone emoji's although they are slightly different
- pressing the back button brings up a task manager, useful for switching between apps
Bad features
- apps such as vine randomly shut down
- phone sometimes randomly restarts itself which is annoying
- windows app store is bad, mainstream apps are often not available on windows phone, ie youtube, instagram and snapchat, although sometimes unofficial copies are available
- quality of some apps can be quite bad
- actual build of the phone is quite plasticky.
- search button on the phone, in my opinion, is not needed, and as the phone is quite sensitive, can be easy to touch/brush the button accidently.
Despite its downfalls, if you're looking for a cheap phone which looks, performs and competes like a more expensive smartphone, because of its low price, I would give it a try, if you don't like it, you've only spent around £70 on it :)
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
130 of 254 people found this review helpful.
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 30 Next