The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home
Shop Now At The Carphone Warehouse
Most Popular

Nokia Lumia 520 Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews

Nokia Lumia 520

Average Customer Rating:
4.164 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
566 of 659(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Overview Image

Nokia Lumia 520

As a first smartphone, a secondary work phone or a social network addicts dream, the Nokia Lumia 520 is perfect. It's also sturdy with all the software features of a high end Windows Phone 8 mobile.

Overview Image

The essential tech specs.

The battery of the Lumia 520 is a decent 1430mAh, giving you over 9 hours of talk time and up to 360 hours of standby time. The 4" display has a resolution of 480x800, making for a sharpness of 233 pixels per inch (PPI). A dual core Snapdragon S4 processor running at 1GHz powers the phone, along with the Windows Phone 8 software. When it comes to the camera, there’s a 5MP camera for good shots in all conditions, and with 8GB or memory, plus space for a microSD up to 32GB in size, there’s lots of space for photos and music.

Overview Image

Add a magic touch to your photos.

The Nokia Lumia 520 comes with a 5MP camera that'll give you sharp, colourful photos come night or day. It's also got digital lenses built in. These are camera apps, exclusive to Nokia and guaranteed to wow your friends. You can add animation and motion to your shots with Cinemagraph, take multiple photos with a single click using Smart Shoot, making editing effortless to get the perfect shot. And with Panorama, you can get epic wide screen shots. Plus, the touchscreen is super sensitive so you can even use it when wearing gloves or with your fingernails

Overview Image

Nokia Music - the music you love, free!

With Nokia Music you can stream over a hundred free* music playlists straight out of the box. There's no sign up, no subscription and no ads. Just enjoy exclusive playlists of every genre from Indie Rock to R&B, compiled by stars and experts of the music world. Or create your own mixes based on the artists you love. You can even download whole channels to listen offline. And when you discover a new favourite track, just post a link to your social networks to share it with friends.

Overview Image

Free HERE navigation apps.

The HERE collection of apps built into the Nokia Lumia 520 are amazing value – they're free after all! HERE Maps lets you view high quality, super accurate maps for practically any country in the world, and you can download them too, so they’re available offline, helping you avoid data charges. They’re so detailed; even the insides of shopping malls are mapped. If you're driving, HERE Drive (UK & Ireland) gives you turn by turn voice directions. And if you need to get across town on public transport, HERE Transit plots your quickest route, including departure times and walking distances.


* Streaming or downloading music over your mobile data connection may involve the transfer of large amounts of data so please check with your provider.

Customer Reviews for Nokia Lumia 520
1 2 3 4 5 ... 33 Next
Review 1 for Nokia Lumia 520
Love it!
smemily
from Worcester
,22 July 2014
I bought this phone because I've always had really cheap ones and wanted to treat myself to a smartphone. All I really wanted it for was the social media side of it (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat etc.) and I can honestly say it's the best decision I made! Very very easy to use and incredibly reliable. I've had it since September 2013 and I have had absolutely no problems at all with the software. Very quick and easy to use for the basic texting and calling as well. Lots of apps that I thought were only available to Apple/Android are on the Nokia store, and are just as good, if not better, although there are a couple that you can't get (all the important ones are there though!). Camera isn't great but I wasn't too bothered about that personally. The battery life is fantastic and even as it gets older it can last a day and a half with a lot of internet and apps use. I drop it all the time and the screen has only cracked once - easily and cheaply repaired and no other damage to the phone at all. Overall, super impressed with the Lumia 520 and would recommend it to anyone and everyone!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
9 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nokia Lumia 520
Impressed
from Bristol
,14 July 2014
I bought this phone as a cheap replacement for my broken LG Nexus, to keep me going to the end of my contract.
I have to say I am thoroughly impressed with it. It cost £60, has great build quality, it is easy to use, and has a decent range of apps to keep me entertained (though admittedly not as many as you would get on Android). It transferred all my data from my broken phone automatically, so I didn't have to painstakingly get everything moved over, and it has been great from the word go. For the price, you really can't ask for anything more.
It is so good, I am genuinely considering keeping it as my main phone and just getting a sim only contract next time round.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
24 of 47 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nokia Lumia 520
Good Phone
Wooley
from Blackburn
,14 July 2014
Its a good phone and all, but, the battery life is shocking, any extended use, doing anything drains the battery very quickly.
Ease of use, well its a windows phone, with the windows 8 OS, while a good OS , if you have never used it elsewhere it can be a pain.
Features are actually OK, Facebook, is an app created by Microsoft, and it has some issues. Lots of other things dont even make it onto the os as yet.
Reliability? It is a Nokia after all.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nokia Lumia 520
great smartphone
fanfare
,12 July 2014
Different to an android and nice works in a different way and a nice change and loads of music apps to download and mix radio which is really great some good games but could have more, smooth and very fast camera is good even though there is no flash its very cheap and well the worth the money had a moto g android before but I like this better I recommend it to anyone.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
23 of 45 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nokia Lumia 520
Best Budget Smartphone!
sldouglas
from Cambridge
,08 July 2014
Since losing my phone at a festival recently, I just wanted to get a simple smartphone to keep me entertained until a couple months time (when I can upgrade). Having owned the Lumia 620 in the past, this 520 seems similar yet faster!?
The Windows store has finally got back Whatsapp, has Instgram (BETA), Spotify and the other social media apps you need. It's fast switching between applications, the sound from using the headphone jack is good and can get pretty loud, and the camera is okay for a device that cost me £50! It even records in 720p! Perfect for day time snaps.
The screen is a bit small for watching videos on (either via your micro sd card or Netflix), but only really using this phone for keeping in touch with family/friends and the social media apps.
The battery (when charged to full) has lasted me over a day and a half (I use the phone a lot of the time). It has 8 gig onboard storage (more than any other smartphone in the price range).
Overall I'm really chuffed with this phone, but don't forget it's just a simple standard smartphone that won't let you down!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
65 of 124 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nokia Lumia 520
Cheap but great quality
Banananananananana
,06 July 2014
I bought this phone as it was only £50, expecting it to be an average but not very good smart phone. This phone has however exceeded my expectations, it looks great, it has a fantastic quality touch screen, it comes with loads of built in features and it is an all round great phone.
The apps available on the app shop aren't as good as the ones on android or ios but there are some useful apps and good games, there are often many versions of the same app that come up when you are looking for them so you must look carefully for the best one. Another problem I had was the settings, they were not as clear as I expected and I found it quite difficult to change some of the settings because I was confused by them.
Overall, despite the faults, this is a brilliant phone and it is great value for money.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
51 of 98 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nokia Lumia 520
520 Two weeks on
Mitch
from Scotland
,02 July 2014
We have two of these attractive mobiles, both had minor setting up problems that were promptly sorted out by CPW and Talkmobile staff. Getting used to Windows after some years using Android is not difficult. The tiles quickly make sense and are a quick means of getting to the service you want. Cannot really comment on reliability too much but so far no problems. Would recommend this phone to all but those who really need the top end models. Excellent for most users.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
135 of 255 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nokia Lumia 520
worst purcahae ever
Unhappy BUYER
from Bodmin
,30 June 2014
I have used this Nokia lumia for a few months and all it has done is problems and I haven't been able to go and buy a new phone for ages and thought this lumia would be good! Waste of £100!! I never git the £10 airtime that comes with the phone there is not enough apps the memory is poor i have 3 apps on my phone and now i have no memory and these are small apps (Facebook twitter and tumblr) the charger broke within a week the headphones never worked the buttons all break easily the back is cheap fragile plastic l!! Need i go on! So i have given up and bought a galaxy fame! I did have an iphone before and even that battery lasted longer than this rubbish!! I BEG YOU DONT BUY THIS PHONE !!!;
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
173 of 351 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nokia Lumia 520
The best phone on the market in my eyes
Mousses
from Poole Dorset
,29 June 2014
I love the 520 I think it's easy to use has everything I want and need from a mobile phone, I have had lots of phones but would deffo say the 520 has been the best I've had by far.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
173 of 347 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nokia Lumia 520
Shocking!
Jolene
from Staffs
,29 June 2014
This is by far the worst phone I have ever purchased.
The on/off button broke after a few weeks. I have to remove the battery if I want to switch it off. The volume keys are now on the way out and the phone is not even 12 months old. The camera button is now temperamental. When I make calls if it goes to voicemail the screen goes blank meaning I cannot end the call. I have lost count of the 10 minute messages of nothing of I have left people therefore using my minutes and bumping up my bill. This phones scores 0/10 for reliability, If you decide to buy one, make sure you get insurance to pay for all the things that WILL go wrong with it.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
152 of 315 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nokia Lumia 520
Its not the best
Fred2002
from Derby
,29 June 2014
This phone certainly isnt the best phone out on the market bacause first of all theres no front facing camera and flash light for the other camera the edges are hardly curved so it can get quite uncomfortable The battery also isnt the best either But on the plus side the 4 inch screen is just the right size for me.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
181 of 349 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nokia Lumia 520
No problems so far!
Twistedstarkid
from Gloucester
,26 June 2014
I've had this phone for a month now and I have to say that this is defiantly the best phone I've ever had! It's got all the features I need and I have the best deal! The battery life is about 2 days max which isn't the best but then iPhones last about 5 hours and I've gotten in the habit of charging it every night! Would defiantly recommend!!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
203 of 396 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nokia Lumia 520
best phone ever
zosia
from LONDON
,26 June 2014
easy to use however apps are not brilliant but that does not matter to me ! LOVEW IT SO MUCH xxXXXXxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
182 of 368 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nokia Lumia 520
nokia 520
freddy
from derbyshire
,26 June 2014
great product no complaints easy to use. Funky colour I like the battery life and the apps, great service arrived quickly as stated. Windows phone in my opinion underrated.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
142 of 295 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nokia Lumia 520
Nokia Luma 520
startrek21
from Wells Somerset
,26 June 2014
Not as easy to use as my i phone 4s but i have only had the phone for less then a month,so till trying to get use to it,but finding it hard to add contacts to the phone instead of e mail and also it still will not let me set up a nokia account as it keeps saying no net work but the phone is connected to wifi
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
149 of 287 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nokia Lumia 520
easy
lumiaUser
from Manchester
,26 June 2014
This phone is really easy to use. It doesn't take ages to set up and the music quality is fantastic. It has a strong WiFi connection and is simple to work out. If there is any faults in this phone it will be no front camera, the camera isn't so great at night time and it revolves around windows (obviously with it being a windows phone) so the apps in the appstore will be different to android (i.e can cost or isn't available). If youre thinking of buying this phone maybe do a more in detail review about it. Apps such as snapchat aren't available as of yet. The battery life is extremely good and the sound quality is amazing. This phone is a must have for people who text, talk and social network a lot.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
146 of 273 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nokia Lumia 520
Carl
from kent
,26 June 2014
Not enough games like on the Iphone App store but still a good phone. Excellent battery life. Ive had phone uncharged for over three days and still battery life left.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
36 of 71 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nokia Lumia 520
ok phone
kittles
from dumfriesshire
,25 June 2014
phone is easy to use,shame theres no front facing camera or led flash if it had these two features it would be a fab phone.good battery life.good wi fi connects quickly and easily,
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
46 of 89 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nokia Lumia 520
Good phone
User69
from Coventry
,25 June 2014
First smartphone I've had. I wanted something straight forward, easy to use and fairly basic. This is that. Looks nice, works well, only had it about a week but I'm pleased so far.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
37 of 74 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nokia Lumia 520
MAJOR H4VOC
from Southampton
,25 June 2014
Easy to get used to and it works with my 360 and xbox one brilliant sound quality when i play music and youtube videos and its camra has no flash but the quality of the photos is really clear and i will rate this phone 4 stars overall as it does take a while to get used to
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
39 of 82 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 33 Next