The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Nokia Lumia 520 Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Nokia Lumia 520

Average Customer Rating:
4.15 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(671 Reviews) 671
572 of 671(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Trade-in offer Trade-in Store Finder View deals View deals

Overview Image

Nokia Lumia 520

As a first smartphone, a secondary work phone or a social network addicts dream, the Nokia Lumia 520 is perfect. It's also sturdy with all the software features of a high end Windows Phone 8 mobile.

Overview Image

The essential tech specs.

The battery of the Lumia 520 is a decent 1430mAh, giving you over 9 hours of talk time and up to 360 hours of standby time. The 4" display has a resolution of 480x800, making for a sharpness of 233 pixels per inch (PPI). A dual core Snapdragon S4 processor running at 1GHz powers the phone, along with the Windows Phone 8 software. When it comes to the camera, there’s a 5MP camera for good shots in all conditions, and with 8GB or memory, plus space for a microSD up to 32GB in size, there’s lots of space for photos and music.

Overview Image

Add a magic touch to your photos.

The Nokia Lumia 520 comes with a 5MP camera that'll give you sharp, colourful photos come night or day. It's also got digital lenses built in. These are camera apps, exclusive to Nokia and guaranteed to wow your friends. You can add animation and motion to your shots with Cinemagraph, take multiple photos with a single click using Smart Shoot, making editing effortless to get the perfect shot. And with Panorama, you can get epic wide screen shots. Plus, the touchscreen is super sensitive so you can even use it when wearing gloves or with your fingernails

Overview Image

Nokia Music - the music you love, free!

With Nokia Music you can stream over a hundred free* music playlists straight out of the box. There's no sign up, no subscription and no ads. Just enjoy exclusive playlists of every genre from Indie Rock to R&B, compiled by stars and experts of the music world. Or create your own mixes based on the artists you love. You can even download whole channels to listen offline. And when you discover a new favourite track, just post a link to your social networks to share it with friends.

Overview Image

Free HERE navigation apps.

The HERE collection of apps built into the Nokia Lumia 520 are amazing value – they're free after all! HERE Maps lets you view high quality, super accurate maps for practically any country in the world, and you can download them too, so they’re available offline, helping you avoid data charges. They’re so detailed; even the insides of shopping malls are mapped. If you're driving, HERE Drive (UK & Ireland) gives you turn by turn voice directions. And if you need to get across town on public transport, HERE Transit plots your quickest route, including departure times and walking distances.


* Streaming or downloading music over your mobile data connection may involve the transfer of large amounts of data so please check with your provider.

Customer Reviews for Nokia Lumia 520
1 2 3 4 5 ... 34 Next
Review 1 for Nokia Lumia 520
good phone
,31 August 2014
needs battery work but it works and it has a great camera . BUT the apps are terible and lasts a day maximum not using it i wouldnt go and get anouther maybe samsung s4 mini next
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 2 for Nokia Lumia 520
Unbelievable price
from NYC
,25 August 2014
Great phone that is even better with the update of 8.1. Love Cortana. Also love the texting features with the keyboard only problem I've ever had is the camera. For this price this is an absolute steal
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: beginner
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nokia Lumia 520
poor dont buy this phone!
from england
,19 August 2014
This phone has hardly nothing on it. I am wanting to buy an iphone. I hate it the only good thing about it is the battery life. No games that are good! :|
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
8 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nokia Lumia 520
Would not recommend at all!
from London
,14 August 2014
well I've had this phone for around 9 months now. at first i had no issue with the phone, however it was quite difficult to use at first and can be very confusing. as i used up more of the memory on this phone, it started to get slower. the buttons are very fragile and my volume button and lock button stopped working, making it very difficult for me to unlock my phone. i would definitely not recommend this phone to a person who drops their phone a lot as the buttons will stop working. currently, this phone is a headache, it freezes all the time, when i get messages it vibrates non stop and times, doesn't charge properly and shuts down by itself and when i turn it on the date and time settings change completely. it shuts off countless amount of times during the day, which is not good when it is needed the most. camera quality is very poor. apps in store are not good at all. some good things are that the memory is quite good, nokias own photo editing app is good, the phone is quite thin in size. hope this helps ;)
 
My Product Recommendations
Motorola Moto G™
4.7 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
12 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nokia Lumia 520
great budget phone
from Doncaster
,10 August 2014
When I bought this phone I had doubts but it proved me wrong. Great battery life,great features,great reliability,great weight,great ease of use. It is great in the city and great in the country. Here maps are amazing.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
8 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nokia Lumia 520
cant download anything
from londonderry
,08 August 2014
After the first 2 months of this phone i couldn't download anything.and the games for this phone are terrible. Don't buy this phone its the worst phone i ever had
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nokia Lumia 520
Awful
from London
,07 August 2014
possibly the worst smartphone going. When making calls my phone used to switch off and wouldn't turn on so if the person I am calling doesn't pick up my voicemail would run for ever completely wasting my minutes. My texts would never go through and the apps were awful . Same happened to my friend . Don't recommend this phone
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
3 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nokia Lumia 520
its not bad
,06 August 2014
I had trouble with mine alot of errors and i havrto say apps in store arnt all that good mosst dont even work or load which is bit strange i also found you couldn't always get earphones to work when i pushed jack into phone sound would still come out of speakers strange i have now swapped it for a htc desire 610 and its excellent and its running android which has far better apps that actually work.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nokia Lumia 520
So close!
from Sheffield
,04 August 2014
Was really impressed with this phone for the price. Dual core, decent internal memory plus memory card option. Nice big clear screen that you wouldnt usually expect on a £60 handset. Unfortunately after just 12 days the camera button stopped working. Obviously i could have just exchanged it for another brand new 520 handset after only 12 days but after a search online i discovered that this is a common fault with this phone. Real shame because it was so close to being the best value entry level smart phone.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
7 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nokia Lumia 520
Must get!
from lymington
,04 August 2014
Really good phone for first phone! Windows phone 8.1 is a must get! (watch video how to get)
Must have 2014 phone!
5 stars all the way for Nokia!
#windowsphone #nokia
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nokia Lumia 520
Great and light
,03 August 2014
This phone is just the right size not too big and not too small it's lovely and light had a large Samsung phone before I found it much to large so I exchanged it for this lumia and it find it far more manageable only thing there's no flash on camera but hey for £8 a month think I'll cope lol get one it has a lovely fast screen and u can have loads of music on it which I think is great from Nokia radio and apps and games of coarse I highly recommend it lovely and great price who needs a Samsung lol.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nokia Lumia 520
This phone seems to do most things
from Whitby
,29 July 2014
This is my second smart phone, I hated the first one as I have Arthritis in my hands and found the touch screen to be slow and unreliable, this is the exact opposite it is really fast and accurate, and scrolls to different apps easily. I find the apps are generally good for the phone and all are reliable so far. the built in memory is good and it uses the added memory with no issues.
I find the battery is a long way short of the advertised amounts but I do use Bluetooth and WiFi for most of my internet as this is far cheaper and faster than mobile internet though this is not as bad as it used to be with block purchase.
I love the phone though it is not perfect, it does what I need and more so I can easily recommend it as a starter though windows makes it very adaptable and useful.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nokia Lumia 520
Love it!
from Worcester
,22 July 2014
I bought this phone because I've always had really cheap ones and wanted to treat myself to a smartphone. All I really wanted it for was the social media side of it (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat etc.) and I can honestly say it's the best decision I made! Very very easy to use and incredibly reliable. I've had it since September 2013 and I have had absolutely no problems at all with the software. Very quick and easy to use for the basic texting and calling as well. Lots of apps that I thought were only available to Apple/Android are on the Nokia store, and are just as good, if not better, although there are a couple that you can't get (all the important ones are there though!). Camera isn't great but I wasn't too bothered about that personally. The battery life is fantastic and even as it gets older it can last a day and a half with a lot of internet and apps use. I drop it all the time and the screen has only cracked once - easily and cheaply repaired and no other damage to the phone at all. Overall, super impressed with the Lumia 520 and would recommend it to anyone and everyone!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nokia Lumia 520
from Bristol
,14 July 2014
I bought this phone as a cheap replacement for my broken LG Nexus, to keep me going to the end of my contract.
I have to say I am thoroughly impressed with it. It cost £60, has great build quality, it is easy to use, and has a decent range of apps to keep me entertained (though admittedly not as many as you would get on Android). It transferred all my data from my broken phone automatically, so I didn't have to painstakingly get everything moved over, and it has been great from the word go. For the price, you really can't ask for anything more.
It is so good, I am genuinely considering keeping it as my main phone and just getting a sim only contract next time round.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
25 of 48 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nokia Lumia 520
Good Phone
from Blackburn
,14 July 2014
Its a good phone and all, but, the battery life is shocking, any extended use, doing anything drains the battery very quickly.
Ease of use, well its a windows phone, with the windows 8 OS, while a good OS , if you have never used it elsewhere it can be a pain.
Features are actually OK, Facebook, is an app created by Microsoft, and it has some issues. Lots of other things dont even make it onto the os as yet.
Reliability? It is a Nokia after all.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nokia Lumia 520
great smartphone
,12 July 2014
Different to an android and nice works in a different way and a nice change and loads of music apps to download and mix radio which is really great some good games but could have more, smooth and very fast camera is good even though there is no flash its very cheap and well the worth the money had a moto g android before but I like this better I recommend it to anyone.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
24 of 46 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nokia Lumia 520
Best Budget Smartphone!
from Cambridge
,08 July 2014
Since losing my phone at a festival recently, I just wanted to get a simple smartphone to keep me entertained until a couple months time (when I can upgrade). Having owned the Lumia 620 in the past, this 520 seems similar yet faster!?
The Windows store has finally got back Whatsapp, has Instgram (BETA), Spotify and the other social media apps you need. It's fast switching between applications, the sound from using the headphone jack is good and can get pretty loud, and the camera is okay for a device that cost me £50! It even records in 720p! Perfect for day time snaps.
The screen is a bit small for watching videos on (either via your micro sd card or Netflix), but only really using this phone for keeping in touch with family/friends and the social media apps.
The battery (when charged to full) has lasted me over a day and a half (I use the phone a lot of the time). It has 8 gig onboard storage (more than any other smartphone in the price range).
Overall I'm really chuffed with this phone, but don't forget it's just a simple standard smartphone that won't let you down!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
67 of 127 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nokia Lumia 520
Cheap but great quality
,06 July 2014
I bought this phone as it was only £50, expecting it to be an average but not very good smart phone. This phone has however exceeded my expectations, it looks great, it has a fantastic quality touch screen, it comes with loads of built in features and it is an all round great phone.
The apps available on the app shop aren't as good as the ones on android or ios but there are some useful apps and good games, there are often many versions of the same app that come up when you are looking for them so you must look carefully for the best one. Another problem I had was the settings, they were not as clear as I expected and I found it quite difficult to change some of the settings because I was confused by them.
Overall, despite the faults, this is a brilliant phone and it is great value for money.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
52 of 99 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nokia Lumia 520
520 Two weeks on
from Scotland
,02 July 2014
We have two of these attractive mobiles, both had minor setting up problems that were promptly sorted out by CPW and Talkmobile staff. Getting used to Windows after some years using Android is not difficult. The tiles quickly make sense and are a quick means of getting to the service you want. Cannot really comment on reliability too much but so far no problems. Would recommend this phone to all but those who really need the top end models. Excellent for most users.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
142 of 267 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nokia Lumia 520
worst purcahae ever
from Bodmin
,30 June 2014
I have used this Nokia lumia for a few months and all it has done is problems and I haven't been able to go and buy a new phone for ages and thought this lumia would be good! Waste of £100!! I never git the £10 airtime that comes with the phone there is not enough apps the memory is poor i have 3 apps on my phone and now i have no memory and these are small apps (Facebook twitter and tumblr) the charger broke within a week the headphones never worked the buttons all break easily the back is cheap fragile plastic l!! Need i go on! So i have given up and bought a galaxy fame! I did have an iphone before and even that battery lasted longer than this rubbish!! I BEG YOU DONT BUY THIS PHONE !!!;
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
182 of 368 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 34 Next