The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home
Shop Now At The Carphone Warehouse
Most Popular

Nokia Lumia 1020 Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Nokia Lumia 1020

Average Customer Rating:
4.482 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
50 of 56(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

Nokia Lumia 1020

The Nokia Lumia 1020 is the only smartphone with a 41MP camera sensor, meaning it gives absolutely unbeatable photos. Sleek, portable and with all the features you need from a smartphone, it also features full HD video with zoom (4x 1080p and 6x 720p) and Nokia Rich Stereo Recording for incredible video and audio capture even at loud music concerts.

The essential tech specs.

Inside the 1020's body is a 2,000mAh battery, good for 384 hours of standby, or 13 hours 20 minutes of talk time. On the front is the impressive 4.5" touchscreen with its resolution of 768x1280, which is 720p HD. The score is pretty high at 332 pixels per inch (PPI). Windows Phone 8 is the software running on the Lumia 1020, and the 1.5GHz dual core Snapdragon® Plus processor offers plenty of power for games, photo editing and fast web browsing. On the back is the best camera on a smartphone, 41MP lens with Zeiss optics. There's 32GB of storage, enough for all our photos and photos.

Overview Image
Overview Image

Images captured like never before.

The Nokia Lumia 1020 will let you take photos and videos that no other smartphone can match with its 41MP camera. PureView technology ensures that the hardware and software give you excellent colour reproduction and clarity, while Optical Image Stabilisation keeps the camera in the phone rock steady – perfect for night shots and videos. And with the super high megapixel count, the high resolution zoom is incredible.

Nokia Pro Camera.

Preinstalled on the Nokia Lumia 1020 is the Nokia Pro Camera app, special and unique software that makes your photos come alive. This lets you capture high resolution photos, zoom into details and reframe them as new images in seconds. You can also adjust the focus, shutter speed, white balance and exposure with the easy, intuitive controls. That's not all the Nokia Pro Camera can do. It'll let you shoot in super high resolution, which means you can zoom in close to your shot after you've taken it. Then rotate, reframe, crop and share new images as many times as you want.

Overview Image
Overview Image

Huge array of pro settings.

Capturing stunning images is easier than ever with the Nokia Lumia 1020. You'll be able to take your photos to a new level by adjusting focus, shutter speed, white balance, zoom, and more with easy and intuitive controls. Take the shot you want, anywhere, and get the most professional looking shots ever.

Ultra realistic video capture.

The Nokia Lumia 1020 is perfect for capturing sharp, detailed 1080p HD videos, and you can even zoom into your videos up to six times without losing image quality. The Nokia Rich Recording software lets you capture distortion-free, stereo sound – so you can relive the moment as if you were there again.

Overview Image
Overview Image

Get a free Camera grip case with built in battery!

The Camera Grip Case for the Nokia Lumia 1020 makes your 1020 even better for taking photos, with a grippy shape and large camera button. It's got its own battery too, which doubles the battery life of your 1020. And right now you'll get one free when you buy the Nokia Lumia 1020!**

* To claim your free grip, go to nokia.ly/cameragrip. Application is via online only. The offer only applies to customers who have purchased a qualifying Nokia Lumia 1020 promotional handset from Carphone Warehouse online, or a call centre between 01.05.14 and 03.08.2014. Open to residents of the UK aged 18. Closing date for receipt of applications is midnight 17.08.14. The off er is subject to availability. For full terms and conditions, see nokia.ly/cameragrip
Customer Reviews for Nokia Lumia 1020
1 2 3 Next
Review 1 for Nokia Lumia 1020
Great Camera, worlds worst OS
RoboJeebus
from North Yorkshire
,24 June 2014
I have owned the lumia 1020 for a little over 9 months now, since purchasing the camera I have struggled with dreadful battery life, Nokia's answer? turn off all but the bare-bones features to get anywhere between 10 and 12 hrs battery life, I bought a smartphone, I shouldn't have to disable all of the smart features to achieve a full working day on a single charge, invariably the phone is let down by this as the battery is usually dead by the ed of the day, so no calling the wife to let her know I will be 10 mins late or getting in touch with the lads to arrange a post work drink, I live the life of a hermit now, unable to check facebook or send e-mails I have to wait til I get home...Late...to a disgruntled spouse who is annoyed I couldn't call to say as much.
Miserable experience, I have reverted back to my previous hardware and I am now paying off the handset for the next 18 months, great, I will not make that mistake ever again. AVOID!!!
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
41 of 83 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nokia Lumia 1020
Fantastic Phone
ps
,11 June 2014
Great screen. Windows Phone O/S integrates very well with my desktop computer and Xbox. The 8.1 upgrade will make it even better. Some apps missing from the store, but most of the big ones are there. Too early to comment on reliability. Best phone I've ever owned.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
67 of 131 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nokia Lumia 1020
fantastic device.
will
from northern Ireland
,02 June 2014
This mobile is fantastic. Camera best there is in any phone. Call quality is fantastic even in parts where other devices can let you down. Battery is ok. Same as any other phone. But if you get the camera grip for days out it really makes a difference.. I'm using the 8.1 on my 1020. I promise of you try it. You will forget android in a heart beat.. I use this mobile for personal and business use.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
101 of 201 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nokia Lumia 1020
lumia 1020
kiffy68
from Stoke
,21 May 2014
I really like this phone. I am visually impaired so i have the yellow one which makes it a lot easier to find if i put it down around the house. The screen is big which means i can have txt etc larger than normal but not lose where i am . Its so easy to pin anything web pages apps etc to your home screen, so you have all the things you use more readily available.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
128 of 256 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nokia Lumia 1020
<3
Taf
from Cambridge
,14 May 2014
Love it! Really nice to use, and I'm blown away by the camera - the pictures are great, I can't pretend I know everything it does and I'm still getting my head around all the possiblities
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
137 of 269 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nokia Lumia 1020
nokia 1020
normy
from banbury
,14 May 2014
The best mobile phone I have ever had. Brilliant photos and plenty of photo apps in the app store. Fast function keys and easy to use. The large camera lens doesn`t cause any problems, while holding the phone during phone calls and you don`t really notice it.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
128 of 253 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nokia Lumia 1020
Broken After Two Days
Stokesy
from Beeston
,03 May 2014
I have got to take the mobile back to the store again! I took my old one back as that was faulty on Thursday the 1st of May. And it broke last night on the 2nd of May!
So another trip to Carphone Warehouse to get another one.
If I have problems with this one I will be requesting another model
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
114 of 233 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nokia Lumia 1020
best phone yet
pete
from north west
,29 March 2014
Camera features are really good quality and can zoom in without losing quality. Battery life last for about a day charge every night. Always on the internet on phone which works great. Screen size and quality is amazing. Screen is not too big and still big enough to enjoy movies or gaming. App are great pretty to choose from. Phone its self look great people are jealous
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
121 of 234 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nokia Lumia 1020
amazing buy now !!
oli
from rugby
,22 March 2014
Okay so i wasn't all that into taking photos but when you have such an amazing camera how can you not ? The features are amazing and i have had this phone for 5months now and had no problems at all , the apps are great and sharing photos is very easy with nfc where you just tap your phone with someone elses and it sends instantly. Now that i have got a windows phone 8 i am not going back to any other phone , extremely happy with this phone.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
109 of 222 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nokia Lumia 1020
best phone ever
sianna
from west sussex
,19 March 2014
I usually use an iphone but recently fancied a change and i honestly cannot fault the Nokia lumia 1020, definitely prefer it to the iphone and highly recommend it to anyone :) x
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
108 of 224 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nokia Lumia 1020
good phone
yellow belly
from sandy
,12 March 2014
It is a good phone to use and it is good on battery and down load is quite so yes i say it is a good phone to use and it is a good color yellow and it is a good smart phone and to use it is good and exercise.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
117 of 244 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nokia Lumia 1020
Good phone, shocking battery
Mobile phone
from Cumbria
,11 March 2014
The phone looks nice and the camera is great. I have gone to this from an I phone and found that there were far more apps available on the I phone. The nokia has some good features and if the apps get better it will be good. HOWEVER the battery is shocking. If I charge it before I go to bed, by morning it has lost 30% of its charge and by 3 in the afternoon it is down to 25%. All this without using the phone, how can a battery lose that much with no use! If the battery was good I would have given the phone a score of 4.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
117 of 225 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nokia Lumia 1020
Replaced iphone 4
WinchesterDave
from Winchester
,05 March 2014
Replaced my iphone 4, not regretting it so far.
Great camera.
Easy to use.
Not as many apps in windows store but it will no doubt get better with time.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
66 of 132 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nokia Lumia 1020
Nokia 1020 32GB Black Review
Techpunch
from North
,01 March 2014
I have had a wide array of phones from the Xperia Z, Nokia Lumia 800, Note 2, Iphone 5, Blackberry Q10 and so. So you can safely say ive experienced the mainstream software platforms. What windows is doing (or should be thinking in doing) is to fit in between ios on one side and android on the other. I believe this is what windows provided. The security of ios with some freedoms of android, without the "closed in" feeling of ios and the open all ares feeling of android. The nokia 1020 feels great in the hand and has a very aesthetically pleasing design. It has a quality feel. The screen is nice and crisp and offers amazing graphics (although this isnt why you should be buying this phone). The black update has made some good quality changes to the software, although the camera apps/add ons could be cleared up abit and made to look less messy. Nevertheless the camera is the best i have seen on a mobile device, the clarity and quality is excellent although sometimes a little over saturated (thats me just being picky). In my opinion no camera phone would come close to the camera on the 1020. The phone is speedy with a good chip set and its not laggy in any way but that is to do with how the software is operated and controlled just as much as the processing power. i feel the phone looks best in all black with the poly carbonate uni body although the white looks quite good. It comes in the 16, 32 ans in some cases 64gb versions. If you are a keen photographer and media user then i would advise atleast the 32gb version bearing in mind the space on the windows cloud backing service that is also available. This phone best suites people who dont want the ties up feeling of ios but neither want the viruses of android. windows does have its issues but if these are resolved with regular updates then with the windows phone you will have the best of both worlds. Making phone calls are easy and clear and very good quality although the sound on making calls could be a little louder. The app market isnt bulging with quality apps but theres enough to keep you busy for the mean while. Furthermore the mapping service and sat nav gps system is as good as the ones on the ios and android services although it could do with a layout change and other aesthetic changes. Battery life is good, with good usage and background data the phone can last a good 11 hours before it hits the 20% mark. Ergonomically it is a well balanced phones with everything you could ask for in a mobile device with easy access to you emails. Migrating over from another platform is easy with easy steps and you are able to get your gmail contacts etc onto windows.. I strongly recommend this phone to people who want a change of platforms. NOW the scores out of 10(being exceptional); hardware: 8.5 software: 8.5 ease of use: 9 features: 8 camera: 9.5 app market: 7.5 overall 8.5 - The Nokia 1020 is an amazing phone with everything you need in a phone and more! With windows/Nokia team behind the software and hardware and regular updates, in 4 years time windows will have a similar if not bigger chunk of the mobile device market!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
78 of 152 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nokia Lumia 1020
Ex iPhone user
Ex iPhone
,28 February 2014
I initially felt that choosing a Windows phone was a bit of a gamble, having been an iPhone user for about 5 years, but I absolutely love this phone. The camera is excellent, the Windows tile system is gorgeous and easy to use, and overall I am very pleased I made the change. I use a Mac at home, so had to download the Windows Phone for Mac app to sync the phone, but it all worked smoothly, and I was able to easily copy music over. Very pleased!
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
73 of 139 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nokia Lumia 1020
such a let down
ajej0207
from yorkshire
,23 February 2014
Ok to be fair it was my first windows phone ! I got this mainly for the camera . Very complicated - basic apps work very poorly , lots of apps unavailable or with glitches . Camera - seems to be 3 separate cameras - never knew what I was using and sharing to specific albums was impossible ! Didn't do much on it and battery went very quickly ,Such a hassle to navigate.
My advice is if your familiar with windows great if not avoid at all costs - android is so much easier and ios so much more reliable - huge disappointment - I returned it within 3 days .
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
74 of 146 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nokia Lumia 1020
Nokia v iphone
shinexxx
from Bournemouth
,19 February 2014
Had an iphone for 4 years big step to pull away after so long with iphone .
After shall we say less than an hour i was hooked and wondered why i had stuck with apple so long its just the phone to be seen with the best of the best ?
IT IS NOT THE BEST IN FACT ITS becoming boring .
NOKIA LUMIA 1020 WOW.
Its totally on your wave length almost one step ahead of you it likes to make things simple and fun .
setting up and customising was so much fun with way more options than iphone any ring tone any message tone
any choice of colour tiles windows functions are so slick !
when i got my iphone and connected it to my PC it was a long drawn out proses downloading itunes syncing phone
looking for updates ? dose apple think we have nothing better to do than sit watching my phone update all night ?
My new windows phone was welcomed to my PC like one of the family and was synced and ready for data and photos in less than 5 mins and had my files and photos on it from my PC in less than 15 mins wow
i had a custom ring tone and text tone within 2 mins my email and Facebook was set up in 10 mins with live updates on my home screen wow !
OH I am sorry did someone say iPhone ?
NO THANKS APPLE WE ARE OVER !
Summing up !
If you have an APPLE PC you need an iphone
If you have a windows PC You Need the new windows phone they speak the same language.
No more clues people
Many thanks.
 
My Product Recommendations
Nokia Lumia 1020
4.5 out of 5(56)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
83 of 161 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nokia Lumia 1020
Great phone
hrt03011992
from Lincoln
,12 February 2014
Left my iPhone 4s for this beauty and so glad I made the switch! Great battery, great camera, beautifully aesthetically and ergonomically pleasing. Very happy I took the leap!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
64 of 127 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nokia Lumia 1020
amazeballs
kazza
from Manchester
,12 February 2014
Nokia fan but lumia 800 noo after owning for 2 years decided either the 1020 or iPhone 5s and im glad I chose the 1020 I won't say to much everything about it is phenomenol, and now after black update even better U can change msg tones lol
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
51 of 103 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nokia Lumia 1020
Awful battery life
DSG
from Huddersfield
,08 February 2014
Great phone - especially the camera!
Impressed with how much Windows Phone has caught up. I didn't get stuck for apps like I was worried about.
Unfortunately the battery life is awful. It just will not get through a day of light use making it useless as a phone!
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
56 of 104 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 Next