The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home
Shop Now At The Carphone Warehouse

Nokia Lumia 1020 Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews

Nokia Lumia 1020

Average Customer Rating:
4.531 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
44 of 49(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

Nokia Lumia 1020

The Nokia Lumia 1020 is the only smartphone with a 41MP camera sensor, meaning it gives absolutely unbeatable photos. Sleek, portable and with all the features you need from a smartphone, it also features full HD video with zoom (4x 1080p and 6x 720p) and Nokia Rich Stereo Recording for incredible video and audio capture even at loud music concerts.

The essential tech specs.

Inside the 1020's body is a 2,000mAh battery, good for 384 hours of standby, or 13 hours 20 minutes of talk time. On the front is the impressive 4.5" touchscreen with its resolution of 768x1280, which is 720p HD. The score is pretty high at 332 pixels per inch (PPI). Windows Phone 8 is the software running on the Lumia 1020, and the 1.5GHz dual core Snapdragon® Plus processor offers plenty of power for games, photo editing and fast web browsing. On the back is the best camera on a smartphone, 41MP lens with Zeiss optics. There's 32GB of storage, enough for all our photos and photos.

Overview Image
Overview Image

Images captured like never before.

The Nokia Lumia 1020 will let you take photos and videos that no other smartphone can match with its 41MP camera. PureView technology ensures that the hardware and software give you excellent colour reproduction and clarity, while Optical Image Stabilisation keeps the camera in the phone rock steady – perfect for night shots and videos. And with the super high megapixel count, the high resolution zoom is incredible.

Nokia Pro Camera.

Preinstalled on the Nokia Lumia 1020 is the Nokia Pro Camera app, special and unique software that makes your photos come alive. This lets you capture high resolution photos, zoom into details and reframe them as new images in seconds. You can also adjust the focus, shutter speed, white balance and exposure with the easy, intuitive controls. That's not all the Nokia Pro Camera can do. It'll let you shoot in super high resolution, which means you can zoom in close to your shot after you've taken it. Then rotate, reframe, crop and share new images as many times as you want.

Overview Image
Overview Image

Huge array of pro settings.

Capturing stunning images is easier than ever with the Nokia Lumia 1020. You'll be able to take your photos to a new level by adjusting focus, shutter speed, white balance, zoom, and more with easy and intuitive controls. Take the shot you want, anywhere, and get the most professional looking shots ever.

Ultra realistic video capture.

The Nokia Lumia 1020 is perfect for capturing sharp, detailed 1080p HD videos, and you can even zoom into your videos up to six times without losing image quality. The Nokia Rich Recording software lets you capture distortion-free, stereo sound – so you can relive the moment as if you were there again.

Overview Image
Overview Image

Buy a Nokia Lumia smartphone and get £54 of free entertainment!

When you buy a Nokia Lumia from Carphone Warehouse, you’ll get £54 of games and apps, right out of the box. You’ll get a £20 Xbox voucher to spend in the Windows Phone Store and Xbox Store on the latest movies, TV shows, games and apps. You’ll also get nine free Gameloft games like Assassin’s Creed, Asphalt 7 and Shark Dash. And redemption’s easy!*

*Buy a Nokia Lumia 625, 1020, 1320 or 1520 and get a free voucher worth £20 for purchases of eligible apps and games in the Windows Phone Store or for the purchase or rental of movies and TV shows from Xbox Video. You can also install free Gameloft games from a predefined selection. The Gameloft Offer includes a selection of nine games, worth a total of £34 (Nokia Lumia 625 is limited to select five games, worth a total of £16.75). Offer only applies to original purchases of the specified Nokia Lumia smartphone models from authorised retailers in the UK made between 14 April 2014 and 30 June 2014. App vouchers available while stocks last. You must be at least 18 years old and a resident in the UK. Visit our help site for full terms and conditions and how to claim.
Customer Reviews for Nokia Lumia 1020
1 2 3 Next
Review 1 for Nokia Lumia 1020
best phone yet
pete
from north west
,29 March 2014
Camera features are really good quality and can zoom in without losing quality. Battery life last for about a day charge every night. Always on the internet on phone which works great. Screen size and quality is amazing. Screen is not too big and still big enough to enjoy movies or gaming. App are great pretty to choose from. Phone its self look great people are jealous
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 2 for Nokia Lumia 1020
amazing buy now !!
oli
from rugby
,22 March 2014
Okay so i wasn't all that into taking photos but when you have such an amazing camera how can you not ? The features are amazing and i have had this phone for 5months now and had no problems at all , the apps are great and sharing photos is very easy with nfc where you just tap your phone with someone elses and it sends instantly. Now that i have got a windows phone 8 i am not going back to any other phone , extremely happy with this phone.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
17 of 33 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nokia Lumia 1020
best phone ever
sianna
from west sussex
,19 March 2014
I usually use an iphone but recently fancied a change and i honestly cannot fault the Nokia lumia 1020, definitely prefer it to the iphone and highly recommend it to anyone :) x
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
25 of 46 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nokia Lumia 1020
good phone
yellow belly
from sandy
,12 March 2014
It is a good phone to use and it is good on battery and down load is quite so yes i say it is a good phone to use and it is a good color yellow and it is a good smart phone and to use it is good and exercise.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
37 of 81 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nokia Lumia 1020
Good phone, shocking battery
Mobile phone
from Cumbria
,11 March 2014
The phone looks nice and the camera is great. I have gone to this from an I phone and found that there were far more apps available on the I phone. The nokia has some good features and if the apps get better it will be good. HOWEVER the battery is shocking. If I charge it before I go to bed, by morning it has lost 30% of its charge and by 3 in the afternoon it is down to 25%. All this without using the phone, how can a battery lose that much with no use! If the battery was good I would have given the phone a score of 4.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
50 of 94 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nokia Lumia 1020
Replaced iphone 4
WinchesterDave
from Winchester
,05 March 2014
Replaced my iphone 4, not regretting it so far.
Great camera.
Easy to use.
Not as many apps in windows store but it will no doubt get better with time.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
46 of 92 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nokia Lumia 1020
Nokia 1020 32GB Black Review
Techpunch
from North
,01 March 2014
I have had a wide array of phones from the Xperia Z, Nokia Lumia 800, Note 2, Iphone 5, Blackberry Q10 and so. So you can safely say ive experienced the mainstream software platforms. What windows is doing (or should be thinking in doing) is to fit in between ios on one side and android on the other. I believe this is what windows provided. The security of ios with some freedoms of android, without the "closed in" feeling of ios and the open all ares feeling of android. The nokia 1020 feels great in the hand and has a very aesthetically pleasing design. It has a quality feel. The screen is nice and crisp and offers amazing graphics (although this isnt why you should be buying this phone). The black update has made some good quality changes to the software, although the camera apps/add ons could be cleared up abit and made to look less messy. Nevertheless the camera is the best i have seen on a mobile device, the clarity and quality is excellent although sometimes a little over saturated (thats me just being picky). In my opinion no camera phone would come close to the camera on the 1020. The phone is speedy with a good chip set and its not laggy in any way but that is to do with how the software is operated and controlled just as much as the processing power. i feel the phone looks best in all black with the poly carbonate uni body although the white looks quite good. It comes in the 16, 32 ans in some cases 64gb versions. If you are a keen photographer and media user then i would advise atleast the 32gb version bearing in mind the space on the windows cloud backing service that is also available. This phone best suites people who dont want the ties up feeling of ios but neither want the viruses of android. windows does have its issues but if these are resolved with regular updates then with the windows phone you will have the best of both worlds. Making phone calls are easy and clear and very good quality although the sound on making calls could be a little louder. The app market isnt bulging with quality apps but theres enough to keep you busy for the mean while. Furthermore the mapping service and sat nav gps system is as good as the ones on the ios and android services although it could do with a layout change and other aesthetic changes. Battery life is good, with good usage and background data the phone can last a good 11 hours before it hits the 20% mark. Ergonomically it is a well balanced phones with everything you could ask for in a mobile device with easy access to you emails. Migrating over from another platform is easy with easy steps and you are able to get your gmail contacts etc onto windows.. I strongly recommend this phone to people who want a change of platforms. NOW the scores out of 10(being exceptional); hardware: 8.5 software: 8.5 ease of use: 9 features: 8 camera: 9.5 app market: 7.5 overall 8.5 - The Nokia 1020 is an amazing phone with everything you need in a phone and more! With windows/Nokia team behind the software and hardware and regular updates, in 4 years time windows will have a similar if not bigger chunk of the mobile device market!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
50 of 94 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nokia Lumia 1020
Ex iPhone user
Ex iPhone
,28 February 2014
I initially felt that choosing a Windows phone was a bit of a gamble, having been an iPhone user for about 5 years, but I absolutely love this phone. The camera is excellent, the Windows tile system is gorgeous and easy to use, and overall I am very pleased I made the change. I use a Mac at home, so had to download the Windows Phone for Mac app to sync the phone, but it all worked smoothly, and I was able to easily copy music over. Very pleased!
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
46 of 85 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nokia Lumia 1020
such a let down
ajej0207
from yorkshire
,23 February 2014
Ok to be fair it was my first windows phone ! I got this mainly for the camera . Very complicated - basic apps work very poorly , lots of apps unavailable or with glitches . Camera - seems to be 3 separate cameras - never knew what I was using and sharing to specific albums was impossible ! Didn't do much on it and battery went very quickly ,Such a hassle to navigate.
My advice is if your familiar with windows great if not avoid at all costs - android is so much easier and ios so much more reliable - huge disappointment - I returned it within 3 days .
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
50 of 99 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nokia Lumia 1020
Nokia v iphone
shinexxx
from Bournemouth
,19 February 2014
Had an iphone for 4 years big step to pull away after so long with iphone .
After shall we say less than an hour i was hooked and wondered why i had stuck with apple so long its just the phone to be seen with the best of the best ?
IT IS NOT THE BEST IN FACT ITS becoming boring .
NOKIA LUMIA 1020 WOW.
Its totally on your wave length almost one step ahead of you it likes to make things simple and fun .
setting up and customising was so much fun with way more options than iphone any ring tone any message tone
any choice of colour tiles windows functions are so slick !
when i got my iphone and connected it to my PC it was a long drawn out proses downloading itunes syncing phone
looking for updates ? dose apple think we have nothing better to do than sit watching my phone update all night ?
My new windows phone was welcomed to my PC like one of the family and was synced and ready for data and photos in less than 5 mins and had my files and photos on it from my PC in less than 15 mins wow
i had a custom ring tone and text tone within 2 mins my email and Facebook was set up in 10 mins with live updates on my home screen wow !
OH I am sorry did someone say iPhone ?
NO THANKS APPLE WE ARE OVER !
Summing up !
If you have an APPLE PC you need an iphone
If you have a windows PC You Need the new windows phone they speak the same language.
No more clues people
Many thanks.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
56 of 107 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nokia Lumia 1020
Great phone
hrt03011992
from Lincoln
,12 February 2014
Left my iPhone 4s for this beauty and so glad I made the switch! Great battery, great camera, beautifully aesthetically and ergonomically pleasing. Very happy I took the leap!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
51 of 103 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nokia Lumia 1020
amazeballs
kazza
from Manchester
,12 February 2014
Nokia fan but lumia 800 noo after owning for 2 years decided either the 1020 or iPhone 5s and im glad I chose the 1020 I won't say to much everything about it is phenomenol, and now after black update even better U can change msg tones lol
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
44 of 86 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nokia Lumia 1020
Awful battery life
DSG
from Huddersfield
,08 February 2014
Great phone - especially the camera!
Impressed with how much Windows Phone has caught up. I didn't get stuck for apps like I was worried about.
Unfortunately the battery life is awful. It just will not get through a day of light use making it useless as a phone!
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
48 of 87 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nokia Lumia 1020
Nokia 1020
Nainex
from Exeter
,30 January 2014
Easy to use, great build quality and some very useful apps like Data Sense.
Camera is really good, but I need some more time to play with it to get the best out of it. But I think this will be my best ever phone.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
61 of 113 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nokia Lumia 1020
Fantastic phone but...
Bobby
from Cumbria
,29 January 2014
I have had this phone a little over a week now,found it really hard switching over from android/iOS to windows and some of the apps are quite basic. I'm hoping that it soon catches up as I love the look and feel of the phone. It seems really sturdy unlike some o the newer nokia a which I found quite flimsy. The camera is fantastic and lots of filters to fiddle with. It's ideal if you like taking a lot of pictures which I do. I also like the fact that all my texts,Facebook and Twitter messages all go into one place,saves you going in and out of apps. The screen is so clear and gives a really sharp picture. I'm hoping that I eventually get it cracked as I feel like a fish out of water with windows! Get you fingers out windows with the snapchat and whatapp apps as they are very basic and two of my favorite apps to use! All in all I would recommend this phone xx
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
48 of 102 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nokia Lumia 1020
best phone ever
kirsty22
from wirral
,22 January 2014
Amazing phone, great to use and not as complicated as it looks. The colour yellow is lovely. 4G is quick and easy to use. The camera takes perfect and detailed pictures. Overall a top quality phone, i'm more then made up with it =)
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
56 of 113 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nokia Lumia 1020
better that an iphone or htc.. etc
becky25
from berkshire
,17 January 2014
I highly recommend this phone. So much better that all the other makes. It does take a bit to get your head around how it works but once you are used to it it is fab!!
Love it love it!!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
69 of 137 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nokia Lumia 1020
beats iphone
dizzy
from preston
,13 January 2014
I've had iPhones for as long as I can remember but fancied a change. It was a little daunting but now i'd never go back. This is best phone I've ever got, I still have my iPhone 5 and graphics, sound, camera, apps and style don't compare. Amazing and would definitely recommend it. Although the Lumina does need a music shuffle button and that is my only criticism.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
81 of 163 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nokia Lumia 1020
best buy yet!
shortand
from Gloucester
,18 December 2013
Its got everything you could want on a phone. Easy to use. Good battery that lasts longer. Excellent! The letters are big enough to see.only thing is that phone is a little slippy and could easily slip out of your hands if not careful.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
122 of 234 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nokia Lumia 1020
Apple to Windows - No Regrets
moonkalf
,05 December 2013
I recently bought a Sim Free Nokia Lumia 1020. So far I am in love with the yellow colour, it stands out and turns heads. The phone feels great in the hand, from pictures the extraordinarily large camera on the back of the device looks kind of an eye sore. In person it actually looks really good and professional, does not make the phone difficult to hold and it just feels like a well built piece of kit in general. Only thing i could suggest is for windows, to update apps like Facebook and twitter so they are more user friendly. I also love that instagram is now available on windows phone. My previous phone was an iPhone 4S and I definitely recommend this product over any other Apple device. Love it, worth every penny!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
122 of 228 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 Next