The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home
Shop Now At The Carphone Warehouse
Most Popular

Nokia 515 Review

Print page
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Nokia 515

Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
16 of 20(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

Nokia 515

For those who want the build quality, durability and feel of a classic Nokia phone, but with the fast internet speeds and app experience of a modern phone, the Nokia 515 is perfect.

The essential tech specs.

The Nokia 515 has a 1,200mAh battery that stays charged for up to 33 days on standby, or up to 5 hours 20 minutes when making phone calls. It has a 2.4” screen with a resolution of 320x240, giving a pixel density of 166 pixels per inch. You’ll also get a 5MP camera and 256MB internal memory, which is expandable by up to 32GB with a microSD card.

Good looking and rugged.

Crafted from aluminium that’s finished with a matt coating, the Nokia 515 looks and feels great. It’s sturdy and modern, making it a fashion accessory as well as a practical tool for keeping in touch. The screen is covered with Corning Gorilla Glass 2 that makes it super tough. The Nokia 515 will easily stand up to the bumps and bruises of everyday use.

Awesome connectivity.

Inside the beautiful, durable body is some state of the art tech. The Nokia 515 supports HD voice calls so you’ll feel like you’re in the same room as anyone you’re talking to. There’s also fast 3G mobile internet connectivity so you can make the most of the pre-installed social media apps. You could even use the 515 as a modem so you can get online on a laptop or tablet wherever you are.

Customer Reviews for Nokia 515
Review 1 for Nokia 515
Great keypad phone
Buff59
from Northumberland
,15 June 2014
If you do not want a touch screen facility, then this phone is great. It takes a while to sort out the home screen shortcuts (bluetooth, etc) and also the navigation key shortcuts, but when all is done and in place the phone is a dream to use. Battery life is greatly extended by switching off overnight and having an alarm on each morning to switch it on (5 days are better than 3!). For your alarm tones to be personalised you need to move the files from music files to those preset in the phone.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nokia 515
nOKIA 515
CAZACS
from manchester
,05 June 2014
Bought this for my hubby who doesn't like anything fiddly - Fab - Great size screen - Pleased with the overall look.
Takes great pictures and can clearly hear receiving calls
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nokia 515
dave
,14 May 2014
One of the best feature phones ever made with a touch of class about it, amazing battery and all the usual refinements u would come to expect from nokia
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
14 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nokia 515
OK but a few frustrations
rjh
from Herefordshire
,01 May 2014
Phone is small and basic. Easy to use except internet access which is a bit fiddlely. Also, battery does not seem to hold charge very well overnight when switched off (could be I have a duff battery). Overall OK if you want a simple phone with not many frills.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
8 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nokia 515
Simple Nokia
Nablus
,23 April 2014
One of the best simple Nokia phones , thank you again Nokia
Reception fantastic simple and easy to use one of the best companion for iPhone or any smartphone
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
12 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nokia 515
T.T.
from London
,24 March 2014
I am a big fan of Nokia phones. I do like the size, weight & the shape of the phone. But the battery life of the phone is very poor. I charged it last night to full battery, took it of the charger in the morning & left it for about an hour, then went to use it & noticed It was already a battery bar down.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
12 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nokia 515
If u dont want touch fone!
none
from London
,12 March 2014
I bought this phone for my wife as she doesn't like touch phones, she finds the type face a bit too sensitive. This Nokia does the job perfectly well. I went through the initial set up process and was mightily surprised at how easy it was to find things. She has used it for 4days now she is delighted with it. At least I got something right this time!
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nokia 515
x2 v 515
jt
from lancashire
,06 March 2014
Couldnt get the X2 so got the 515.... its not as sturdy as the x2...just wish there was more key phones available...not everyone likes touchscreen. jt
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
9 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nokia 515
a real phone
buffalo
from newcastle
,12 February 2014
This is a real phone with a good camera not a computer disguised as phone! It has all of the 'apps' for social media that people seem obsessed with if you need them. Unfortunately you cannot delete them but at least you do not have a touch screen that is forever going wrong
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
20 of 30 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nokia 515
its great
granmar
from northamptonshire
,30 January 2014
i am an old fuddy duddy who has had an old phone for years and finaly decided to get abit more with it. the phone is great easy to use plenty of apps that i do use. key pad not to small, i love it.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
11 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nokia 515
Nokia are going mad!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
PhoneGeek
from London, Dulwich
,17 January 2014
Are Nokia trying to play a joke or something??? This phone is stupid!!!!!!!! Trying to fit internet into a standard 1990s keypad!!! have Nokia lost heir minds??? And this phone is £100!!!!!!!!!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
12 of 53 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nokia 515
Not too bad
Tel
from Wales
,17 January 2014
It's a nice simple phone to use, however this phone is for someone who just wants a basic phone to use, will not be purchasing an upgrade of this version .
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
13 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nokia 515
Ugh!
Bob
from London
,10 January 2014
What a disappointment this phone was. So fiddly to do anything on and text so small. Gave up after an hour of trying to set it up and now very happy with Nokia Lumia 520, which is simple, clear and amazing value
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
13 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nokia 515
Good phone, but not for me
KayB
from Essex
,10 January 2014
I bought this as I've grown tired of touchscreen and hoped that a new Nokia would provide a suitable compromise. The fact is, it does, but I had trouble getting it to sign in to my email provider, and facebook. It has no Wi-fi, which if you have a good network signal at home on 3G is fine, but I have awful signal on any network at home, so it basically meant that the email/facebook would not update anyway, if I could have gotten it to work. But aside from that I love the personalisation capabilities of the phone, and it feels nice and solid with the metal casing. The buttons are easy to press and nicely spaced, no accidental button pressing.
So I'd say it's a very good phone, but I hope you have more luck with the installed apps than I did.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
14 of 23 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nokia 515
good enough for what i do
muzza
from Slough
,08 January 2014
Originally had a Windows phone but needed a change. Completely different way to operate taking me a while to master, however it's ok. Some options I prefer to a Windows phone, some the Windows phone does better or easier to use, like email and the alarm clock!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
12 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nokia 515
NOKIA 515
Gill
from LONDON
,24 December 2013
Good phone easy to use. Camera takes good photos. I always had nokia phone because simple to use and reliable. Dont like touch screen phones because they are too complicated to use.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
16 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nokia 515
REALLY DISAPPOINTED
UNSATISFIED
from Derry
,22 December 2013
I have had a Nokia 6500 for 4.5 years and it had no problems whatsoever. I bought the Nokia 515 2 weeks ago and have had many problems with it. It loses the network and it takes 5-10 minutes to send or receive a message. The keypad sounds go quiet and loud, especially on the left hand side and the middle of the keypad, the sounds will not stay normal! It also FREEZES!!!! Do NOT buy this phone!!! I would strongly not recommend this phone! It was a waste of my money.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
19 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nokia 515
Simple & easy to use.
Adapoole
from Tunbridge Wells. Kent
,18 December 2013
I've tried smart phones and just can't get on with them. I just wanted a simple to use phone that I could text and make calls on, as that's all I really want to do on it. The Nokia 515 is great. I've had Nokia's before and it feels so familiar. It does what it says on the tin and if I ever drag myself in to the 21st century it has all the other features I may need too.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
7 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nokia 515
Nokia 515
Tobius
from Wales
,05 December 2013
I've had this phone now for one week and, so far, I'm really pleased with it. I had a smart phone for two years but decided it wasn't for me. Being of the old school, I wanted to revert back to a either a flip phone/candy bar style. Looked around for some time until I saw the Nokia 515. This seem to provide everything I needed in a phone and, as I do not feel the desire to constantly be on the net - but I still would like to have the facility to do so- this phone is ideal for me. The phone is very easy to use with one hand, all features are clear and, the battery life appears to be excellent; no more having to charge my smart phone every day.....what a bind that was! All in all, I'm delighted with the Nokia 515 and, I got the best price from the Carphone Warehouse; great value and fast delivery. I've had my xmas gift early.....!!!!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
30 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nokia 515
A solid phone
Maharishi
from Coventry
,29 November 2013
Nice phone with a solid built quality. Battery life is excellent, I think it will easily last a week with one charge. Expandable memory card stores all my mp3 songs. A good example of a robust phone. I am very pleased with my purchase. Well done nokia.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
52 of 62 people found this review helpful.