The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home
Shop Now At The Carphone Warehouse
Most Popular

Nokia 301 Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews

Nokia 301

Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
36 of 42(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

Nokia 301

For camera lovers and internet nuts, the Nokia 301 is a durable and well styled little phone that lets you get on the net wherever you are, and take great photos so you’ll never miss a special moment.

The essential tech specs.

The Nokia 301 has a large 1,110mAh battery that stays charged for up to 39 days on standby, or up to 6 hours when making phone calls. It has a roomy 2.4” screen with a resolution of 240x320, giving a pixel density of 167 pixels per inch. You’ll also get a 3.15MP camera and expandable memory, up to 32GB with a microSD card.

Portable and practical.

With a compact body and lightweight of just 100.5g, the Nokia 301 is a phone that won’t weigh down pockets and will fit in any bag you’ve got. This makes it practical no matter your fashion style, where you’re going or what you need to do.

Get on the net everywhere.

DMake a busy life easier with your Nokia 301. Jump online to sync your contacts, calendar and emails with Mail for Exchange to make your life easier – all your info will automatically appear on your phone. Jump on the net anywhere and send emails superfast with the Yahoo!, Gmail and Hotmail apps that are ready to use right away.

Customer Reviews for Nokia 301
1 2 3 Next
Review 1 for Nokia 301
Will be loved by 'classic' Nokia fans
from Greater London
,24 July 2013
This is a modern, stylish looking phone with a good sized keypad and a generally sized screen. The case is all plastic and the backing plate is particularly flimsy feeling, however when the phone is in one piece it feels quite solid and will easily survive a few drops.
I mainly bought this phone for use of basic features, and here it seems to do quite well. I haven't had the chance to make a call yet but the phone supposedly support HD voice so this should be quite clear. The texting interface is ok but could perhaps be improved. You can choose between a classic inbox or threaded texting, and the threaded interface is nice and benefits from the large screen, however the predictive text interface isn't as smooth as it could be (you get a little drop down list on every word you type that covers part of what you have written). I also noticed that it takes quite a few more button presses to send a text than on the Nokia C2-01.
The camera is fine, as an SLR user this is never going to be able to compete, but when I needed to quickly photograph a document for later reference it came in handy and seemed fairly sharp.
I'm not a major user of mobile internet but when I needed to quickly look up train times the Nokia browser seemed to perform relatively fast. I wouldn't want to regularly browse the net on this device though.
There are a few other apps like converter and calculator which function as you'd expect.
The battery life seems very good (since Nokia released a software patch). I fully charged the phone about 5 days ago and it is still on 3 of 4 bars. I can see myself getting a couple of weeks out of it with light use.
Overall I'd say this phone is about the closest I've found to the old fashioned Nokia's that we all remember. If you're not a fan of smart phones and want something more solid with a battery life that doesn't require you to carry round the charger everywhere, with a decent screen, stylish looks and a few features like internet and a camera, I'd thoroughly recommend this phone.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nokia 301
Can't really go wrong
from Dunfermline
,06 August 2013
I've had smart phones for years and I'm fed up with their chronic battery life. I wanted something that handles calls and texts well, has a good battery life and has a camera that can take reasonable snaps. I remembered the old nokia series 40 from years ago and so I did some research to see if there were any new phones of a similar design. If a camera is essential you've got 2 choices....the nokia 206 and 301. The 301 has a useable camera whereby the 206 gets by with 1.3mp.... far from ideal. The only thing that was putting me right off the 301 were reports of a poor battery life. Can't say I've experienced this. Having said that, I reduced the screen brightness, switched to gsm, checked software v2.51 and switched off homescreen and don't use data. So far I've made about 30 mins of calls and sent 20 texts over 3 days and the battery indicator has only just lost 1 bar. Fab.
There is one downside to this phone and that is its lack of ability to contact sync with google. It will contact sync with hotmail and various others via Microsoft exchange but as google no longer supports that I found myself a bit snookered. I got around this by opening a hotmail account, copying my contacts from google across to hotmail and then syncing the 301 via Microsoft exchange to the hotmail account. Job done. For this hassle I gave the features 4 stars.
However, I can receive and send google mail no problem via the on board mail app.
Summary. If you want a basic phone to call and text, take reasonable snaps and a battery that seems to last a long time then you can't beat the nokia 301. And by the way, no one can text faster than I can using this phone.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
23 of 41 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nokia 301
Good phone, bit awkward for music
from Dumfries
,11 October 2013
Battery-
i use it quite a lot for music and pictures so i have to charge it twice a week.
Music-
it doesn't have a dedicated music button, as my previous two nokias did, which is annoying, and it doesn't have volume buttons on the side, which is odd, so you have to open the music player to control volume.
a feature i'm enjoying is that if you stop a track in the middle, it remembers later where you were in it, even if you've played other tracks in between. i have put audiobooks that i downloaded onto a microSD card and the tracks are 30 mins long, so it's great not to have to struggle to find my place again.
internet-
i live in the countryside so the internet take forever to load, but i didn't expect it to be good.
screen-
you can adjust the screen brightness whch is great when you often text i bed, it doesn't hurt your eyes
my previous phone was nokia touch and type x3-02, i prefer this model which does not have a touch screen. the touch screen was fun, but there were less options in the "options menus" for some reason with that phone, i don't know if it's the same with the new nokia touch and type phone
colour-
i have it in blue, which looks great. i initially thought it would look a bit too much , but actually i'm really happy with my choice, i would recommend it
size-
it's slightly taller and thicker than my previous (aforementioned) phone, which i didn't like at first but makes it more easy to hold and text with one hand.
I'm glad i got this phone, as it had the basic features that i like and they've been updated i subtle ways
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
86 of 164 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nokia 301
Excellent reliable product
from Wirral
,23 October 2013
This stylish reliable phone has all I wanted plus some. Well made as you would expect and get from Nokia, easy to find your way round, lots of settings to customize for your needs, within a couple of days you will be fully conversant with all the features. Long battery life with normal use (6/7 days) Use mine to Phone/text and occasional internet mostly. (4/5 days with heavier use and less if you surf the web all day.) Smart camera is better than expected with panorama, self portrait and sequence, vocal instruction to make sure your in screen. HD voice ready is superb. Good tip with 5 colour choices check them all out before you settle for your choice. I am more than pleased with my purchase, would highly recommend this phone for people who don't want a touch screen or Android. Nice size and weight easy keyboard use with short fingers like mine. Check all the phone details listed above, they are accurate, if they tick your box buy it you will be delighted with it. Finally just one point that could be important, there is no flash on camera.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
94 of 170 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nokia 301
Great Phone
from Scotlaand
,19 June 2013
Well i have down graded from a blackberry pearl 9105 and i love this little phone as it does weverything i need and more.
One major tick box for me was that the phone had to have a normal keyboard and non of this querty or touch screen stuff!
It has a much greater range of network coverage.
Operating system is very easy to use making the phone customisable.
Can get my emails pushed though when they arrive with the different apps on the phone.
Internet access is very quick compared to what i am used to.
Audio quality is great on the phone.
Cant say anything bad about the camera apart from the fact its not auto focus and there is no flash but the picture quality and screen quality are great with superb colour quality.
I think the only real downside to me is that there is no threaded txting but saying that there may be an app that i am not aware of off at the moment.
I think this is a great affordable phone for those who are looking for a non smart phone which is as close to a smart phone as you can get.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nokia 301
Very pleased with this Nokia 301
from Yorkshire
,29 September 2013
Had an old basic Nokia for years for texts mostly and it is clearly never going to wear out, although has been through several batteries. The Nokia 301 is an excellent replacement, what you might call a 'smart dumb phone'. It has a reasonable range of options: camera, games, calendar etc. It has a counter for keeping track of call and text usage. Good range of ring tones and settings. It has a sent box for texts - a vast improvement on the ancient model I had before! Text messages can be viewed in conversation format if required.
I mainly use the phone for texts and occasional phone calls so I'm not using all its capabilities but on this usage I have had a fortnight between battery recharges, so it's very reliable. It lasts well when the battery displays only one bar, so plenty of warning to recharge it. It can be used for internet too but I have this turned off.
I have the cyan model - a brilliant turquoise blue, which makes a change from the standard black.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
52 of 99 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nokia 301
The thinking man's phone.
from Barnsley
,09 October 2013
Not everyone wants a smart phone. Many of us (mainly grown-ups) just want a simple, stylish, communication device and that's exactly what the Nokia 301 is. All I want from my mobile phone is the ability to send and receive text messages, make and receive phone calls, provide a wake up alarm and have a camera facility (although that's not essential). Thankfully the Nokia 301 does all these things in a tidy, stylish, easy to understand package. Personally I'd get rid of the Facebook icon and ability to download aps because some of us just want phones to be phones. Leave all that nonsense to the smart phones. The battery life is excellent if you use the phone in the traditional sense. If you start surfing the net all day I'm sure battery life will suffer but what do the complainers expect?
All in all this is a great mobile phone for adults. Oh and the cyan blue case makes it extremely easy to locate (something not so easy with a black phone). Very happy customer.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
60 of 106 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nokia 301
Good Phone
from Wirral
,10 July 2013
I got this as an upgrade from the very basic Nokia 100 phone a couple of days ago and can already say with conviction that it is very good, certainly for its price.
It is packed with many semi-smart features such as social media applications and the ability for emails to be forwarded with a notification system for both these respective traits.
I did not buy this for the camera although that is an added bonus.
The S40 operating system allows plenty of customization of the phone and is certainly simple and easy to use.
The screen is large, not touch screen large, but this is to accommodate for the comfortably sized alphanumeric keypad.
All in all a good phone for the price and certainly good as a main phone, not just a second phone. And with a built in FM radio!
PS: this phone does have threaded texting, along with sent and received folders; the threaded texting is found under conversations.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Portability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nokia 301
A new-age classic
from Manchester
,12 June 2013
A great phone for texting and all the usually phone features. The screen is big enough too.
The only down sides is that if I miss a text/call then nothing appears on the screen - whilst the screen light has gone off - to tell me this, so I have to keep pressing it to see if anyone has messaged; which in turn reduces the battery. I know displaying something on screen may also reduce the battery, but it would be nice to have the option. The battery is supposed to last a month, but even on my light use I can't see how that is possible.
The text tones could be louder to hear in the street too - the volume just isn't loud enough, so again, I have to press to see.
Apart from that, I am really quite happy with my purchase.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Portability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nokia 301
Brilliantly Easy to use!!!
from Ferndown Dorset
,22 January 2014
I bought this phone for my husband! As he is no tech-geek it had to be simple and above all a NOKIA!!! He has used Nokia phones for years and,as long as the bluetooth works for his handsfree-kit he was happy! He loved the blue colour of the new phone,found it easy to set up and it charges the battery surprisingly fast! The battery lasts quite some time as well! This is the perfect phone for Beginners,Low-Tech Geeks or the older Generation!!There is Internet accessabillity for those who need it,and maybe he want to use it in the future! The only little downscaler was that it was a little hard for us to find access to the Ringtones on the phone! This could be made a little easier in future phones!!!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
91 of 181 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nokia 301
No touch screen
from London
,09 August 2013
This 301 uses only buttons, familiar to anyone who ever had an older Nokia. It is small and easily goes in any pocket. I actually hate mobile phones so if I say this is tolerably well made, simple to use as a phone, as a texter and as a camera, this is high praise. It does some other things as well, which I will never understand because firms don't make proper instruction books anymore. There is a way to turn off the 3G, perhaps being on all the time results in the poor battery life some complain of. My battery is good for several weeks of light use. The sound is good, the numbers on the screen are large and clear, it has a bright blue case and isn't expensive What's not to like?
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
39 of 67 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nokia 301
Great Nokia classic
from London
,04 July 2013
This is a great phone based on Nokia's classic values.
Pros are;- modern design, strong build quality,large clear screen, S40 software good enough for many people, long battery life, good camera and media player; usable occasional web browser, well spaced out keys, good value for money.
Cons are:- No external volume buttons, no USB cable included in box, does not work with Nokia PC suite.
This phone could be described as semi-smart, and is suitable for those put off by the touchscreen experience.
Well done to CPW for being brave enough to stock this phone, as it doesn't meet the current touchscreen fashion.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nokia 301
nokia 301
from Scotland
,22 June 2014
Had it for three months and very disappointed in what seemed a good buy.
Still struggling with features, folders & files, camera jams & goes blank every few photos, can't get bluetooth to work, Nokia up date used all my pay-as-you-go and stopped, the user manual is only available on non-nokia websites which we don't trust.
The Nokia website is confusing with Microsoft takeover, no user manual for the 301, nokia 301 comes uo C3-01, or Lumia.
Still longing for my old samsung but I'm stuck with this for the moment, then it's in the bin, my first and last Nokia experience..
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
38 of 76 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nokia 301
Good value straight forward phone
from Reading
,22 January 2014
This phone might be a bit basic for some, but suits me fine. The little booklet it comes with is not great at explaining the features though - took me ages to work out how to make a call! Not tried using the internet on it as I use a computer for that. However, only turned on at evenings and weekends, and I have adjusted all the settings as suggested and the battery still needs charging twice a week! Went back to a Nokia after I did not get on with a Samsung as I had found the Nokia more intuitive - not so sure now but on the whole am happy!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
119 of 228 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nokia 301
Exellent Handset, Absolutely terrible battery life
from Birmingham
,21 July 2013
First of all I am bit mystified how some can say the battery in this handset is any good, perhaps I am one of the unlucky ones who has one with a software bug in mine, that has not been resolved with the latest firmware update. The battery life is quite possibly the absolute worst I have ever seen in a Nokia, even an android can last longer.
However this does not change the fact that this is a really good handset and very easy to use, its quite fast and typing is a charm.
I could go on....... but I wont
 
My Product Recommendations
Nokia Asha 201
4.1 out of 5(128)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nokia 301
Excellent buy
from Chatham
,31 May 2014
I used the CPW exchange policy to get this Nokia on Pay and Go as I found the windows based one too complex for my needs. I only want to phone and text people plus the very occasional photograph. It is a very nice phone, easy to use and very straightforward for someone who finds
it difficult to relate to somewhat more complex technology. Keep it simple is very appropriate. I have no need to use the internet here. I am retired so it suits my purposes.I spend less than £10 per month on calls and texts.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
72 of 135 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nokia 301
Brilliant little phone
from Chester
,31 July 2013
This is a brilliant little phone! I take it to the farm everyday and despite being dropped, squashed and battered it`s still alive! like any nokia it`s survived a bit of a wetting. The only real negative I can find for this phone is that I can type faster than the phone can spell, (for any teenager out there) it`s a bit annoying so have to use one hand. cracking little phone though. Small, reliable, and like an old brick with a facelift and better camera, screen apps etc. Would recommend to anyone.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
13 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nokia 301
Beats a smart phone!
from London
,17 July 2014
It's probably a sign of advancing years but I have had enough of smart phones that are too smart for their own good. I have thrown mine away and gone for the Nokia 301 which does all I want from a phone - which is to make and receive calls and send the odd text. I don't want to play games, read emails, listen to music and nearly go under a bus because I'm so engrossed in my phone I don't look where I'm going. The Nokia 301 is easy to use, does what it's told - it's good to go back a few years!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nokia 301
More of the same please.
from Birmingham
,04 June 2014
I've owned this phone for a week now and can already say quite confidently that it's the best I've ever owned.
If it had an energy efficient and very basic wifi and sat nav it would be a work of genius.
So much better than battery draining, over rated and overpriced smartphones. I've owned three different smartphones and they're all rubbish!
Nokia should make more phones like this and less phones with useless apps and features that only serve the purpose of draining the battery.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
74 of 149 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nokia 301
I'm very happy
,19 September 2013
What you feel about this phone will likely depend on your perspective. Mine is as an upgrade from a Nokia 100 basic phone, not as an alternative to a smartphone. My other phone is a Galaxy S3.
The 301 has a good battery life, it's an excellent phone and it gives you easy access to Whatsapp and a low grade Facebook app. I can (and do) sync my calendar using mail exchange.
Recommended
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
43 of 82 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 Next