The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Binatone Homesurf 7 Review

Print page
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Binatone Homesurf 7

Average Customer Rating:
3.829 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
35 of 41(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

The Binatone HomeSurf 8 touchscreen tablet is an affordable, family-friendly device that will keep you entertained. This compact, lightweight tablet is designed to be easy enough for everyone to use ¿ with a roomy TFT display that you operate using a stylus pen or the tip of your finger.

HomeSurf 8 runs the Android operating system, so it gives you access to lots of handy Google services, such as Google Internet Search desktop feature for quick internet searches. You can use Homesurf 8 to access a wireless network and access your personal email accounts including Gmail, Hotmail and more.

When on a long journey or out and about, HomeSurf 8 makes it easy to stay entertained. It's got a built-in eBook reader, music player and internet browser, so whether you're a YouTube fan, a music buff or you want to get engrossed in the latest bestselling title from your favourite author, you can do it all with just one device.

A leatherette case is provided as extra protection, it also enhances the eBook reading experience giving users a real book feeling.

HomeSurf 8 has a 2GB internal memory which is roomy enough to store your favourite photos, songs and video clips. You can expand the memory with a microSD card, or a high capacity microSD card, and keep even more media files with you when on the move. The built-in speakers and 3.5mm headphone slot allow you to listen to your music and movies privately or share them with friends.

For extra convenience the HomeSurf 8 comes complete with a handy docking station/ stand meaning you can take a break from holding the device and it will remain fully charged for your next trip out. The docking station has integrated stereo speakers for enhanced music and video playback.

The HomeSurf 8 is a great value tablet that would make an excellent gift for anyone.

Customer Reviews for Binatone Homesurf 7
Review 21 for Binatone Homesurf 7
Funky Pink
from Preston
,22 July 2009
Good phone for younger kids but no memory card feature so can't add many songs or photos to phone memory. Nice colour for girls (bright pink) and loud ringtone volume, all in all a simple to use phone which appeals to 7-11 year olds or people who don't want anything to complicated.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
9 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Binatone Homesurf 7
My Magnificent Motorola
from Wales
,04 December 2009
I love this mobile almost as much as the TV zapper.
It looks good, has a really cool display and is dead easy to use. One fantastic feature is the casing material which gives super positive tactile feedback and it doesn't slip out of your hand like some mobiles.
I'm going to put one in my wifes Christmas stocking.
GREAT!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Binatone Homesurf 7
all right phone
from oxford
,26 November 2009
I got this phone as my first phone when i was eight it was all right them but by the time i was nine it was pretty rubbish holds about one song 13 photos 60 texts. the features on this phine were'nt very good to be honest the best feature on it was the tetris game. this phone is pretty sturdy and only has a couple of chips in it even though i've dropped it like ten million tines
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Binatone Homesurf 7
Good and bad
from Worcestershire
,16 September 2009
The keys are not easy to press accurately, they are not positive so I have to use my nail. I think they will start malfunctionning quite quickly. I like the way it operates though because the processes are very logical. I always have Motorola because texting and using their phones are so easy to do. The battery life leaves a bit to be desired, it is not even as good as my old V525.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Binatone Homesurf 7
Decent wee phone :)
from n.i.
,15 October 2009
I had this phone for like 3 years and it was totally greaat :) , it was dropped a million and one times and still survived . it was really great and i loved it :) , it's good for people who like textin alot but not great for those who are wanting songs or photos because this is the reason i moved on from it . however it's a great wee phone for maybe young teenagers with the pink :) .
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 2-5 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Binatone Homesurf 7
ghd hair irons
from preston
,01 August 2009
motorol w377 adequate for a low price, bought for my son due to low price as he either looses them or they get stolen, soon found his way round all features. Battery seemed to need charging qite frequently. All in all I'm very happy with this product, as it's always been a reliable mean's for my twelve year old son to let me know when he needs me to pick him up and know where he is.
Good buy.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Binatone Homesurf 7
Solid phone
from Herefordshire
,16 August 2009
Wanted simple clamshell phone with radio, as work as gardener and clamshell is good for protecting phone and stops you making calls by mistake and is easier to accept calls when wearing gloves. Radio is great when out in the garden. Unit has performed well and been reliable. Ability to take photos of plants is great and camera works fine. Motorola text prediction is weird and takes getting used to.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Binatone Homesurf 7
spot on
from dorset
,22 November 2009
im not one for modern technology and have had these phones for about 3yrs now.i have tried others yet come back to this model for the simple fact is.....its simple to use.i love it and find it so reliable and very good for coverage on the move.even my hubbys signal on his very expensive phone isnt as good as on my motorola.ok so some features arent up to scratch but for the price its well worth every penny.it does what it says on the box.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 2-5 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Binatone Homesurf 7
ok
from southampton
,27 December 2009
its a great phone i love the stylish glitzy colours and the way it flips up.i also love the fact that it lights up when you`ve got messages,missed calls or when you`ve got low battery.however it doesn`t have very good memory space and you can`t put any songs in plus the battery life is rubish as you have to keep recharging it! overall it`s an okay phone with upsides and downsides!i`d recommend it for people who want an average phone with an average price!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
11 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Binatone Homesurf 7
Motorola's worst yet
from Wolverhampton
,03 February 2010
I got this phone as a replacement on insurance for my Motorola Rzr.
I thought that phone was bad but this is the worst I've ever had. The battery life is short but most are these day. The features are basic at best and horribly difficult to use.
Sometimes it stops sending texts and if it switches off all the predictive text it's remembered is lost.
And despite the picture this phone is really chunky and ugly - it's very thick so you can't fit it in your pocket.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Binatone Homesurf 7
not bad but almost worst phone ever had exept a no
from leeds
,26 August 2009
is a basic phone and its easy and simple to use is very easy to text people and its got a radio is easy to call people and the camera to when peole riing or text you it tells you by giving a simple virbrating sound this phon is basic and is very easy to use but it has very little memory if you are looking for a basic phone this is the phone to get and its easy yo work and your phone screen wont get scrated cause its a fli up and this phine wud be great for a 1st phone for a kid
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
5 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Binatone Homesurf 7
Okay for what you pay
from Oxford
,07 October 2009
The Motorola W377 is a good-looking handset which feels sturdy and reliable, and which lies comfortably in your hand. Buttons are a nice size (good for texting!) and the centre menu button is a shortcut for executing commands. The image on the screen is clear, and the sound is excellent (phone calls and radio). Basic setup of the phone is straight forward.
So far, so good. Unfortunately, the W377 is letting you down with the camera, which simply does not deliver in any indoor situations (a highly likely place to use it!). It does a good job outside, but inside there's not enough light for the tiny lens. It really should have come with a LED flash, because it is useless as it is.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ratings-Only Reviews for Binatone Homesurf 7
Based on the average of (9) ratings-only reviews
Average Customer Rating : 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 9 out of 9
Ease of use 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Features 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5