The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home
Shop Now At The Carphone Warehouse

Motorola Gleam Review

Print page
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Motorola Gleam

Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
22 of 32(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

Motorola Gleam is a colourful clamshell phone with two displays - one on the outside that lights up when calls come in, and one on the inside for all your photos, widgets, features and contact details. It's fun, easy to use and full of handy features.

Remember the fashionable Motorola Razor? Gleam has an even slimmer, more attractive design, with metallic accents and two bright screens that make staying in touch a breeze. The keypad has large, evenly spaced keys that make dialling and texting easy.

Motorola Gleam is full of handy features to help you make the most of every day, including Bluetooth® support, so you can swap files between your phone and PC or add a wireless accessory, and a simple WAP internet connection for checking your email and downloading wallpapers and widgets.

Add to that a fixed focus 2 Megapixel camera for snapping photos and videos, a built-in FM radio you don't need a headset to listen to, and a handy MP3 player, and you've got a capable, affordable phone that really looks the business.

You can purchase a microSD memory card, up to 16GB, and store your favourite tunes on your mobile, ready to enjoy anytime.


Why buy from us?
  Motorola Gleam front Motorola Gleam side Motorola Gleam back Motorola Gleam angle  
Customer Reviews for Motorola Gleam
1 2 Next
Review 1 for Motorola Gleam
FEATURED REVIEW
No nonsense phone
Ellie
from Cheshire
,11 January 2012
I have a touchscreen which since the day I bought it has driven me mad. Sometimes could not answer etc. I decided I wanted a phone that looked like a phone, operated like a phone but had additional features if I wanted to use them.
The Gleam fulfills all of these requirements. It is so easy to use (I have had a Motorola before) it lookes stylish, if you use only as a phone as I have over Christmas the battery life is fantastic. As I have only had it for a couple of weeks and not used all the features at once not sure what the battery life would be but can say to date it is great.
If you want a phone that looks good, does what it says and you like me are fed up with the touchscreen nonsense this is the phone for you. And, the cost of the phone is great one of the cheapest I looked at yet functionality and style say expensive.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Motorola Gleam
Too retro
Mac
from West Midlands
,20 January 2012
I know this phone is a 2G sim product but Motorola have not impr oved it at all from its earlier model.Not hard to see why they have lost so much ground from earlier days when they set the trend with flip phones.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Motorola Gleam
great great phone
happytrouble
from Cambridge
,15 January 2012
I just bought this phone yesterday as I had it exchanged for nokia c2-02 that I bought and didn't like. I went to search for something I could possibly have instead and I found motorola gleam. I absolutely love the stylish quality about the phone, it looks freaking expensive and I've always loved the flip style of phones :), and there is not many of them out there due to the touchscreen madness that we're surrounded by.
Writing text messages is perfect and suitable for people with larger fingertips just as myself, and the phone is big enough to allow you to write with two hands or one.
The only downside for me is that apparently you can't change the text message tone but that's no such a big deal as it has more ups for me then downs. The microphone is awesome you can hear whoever is on the other side loud and clear. There is an option to put your mobile phone charm on as well.
There is one more thing and that is that you can't use the taken photo as your wallpaper as it indicates that the picture is too large. Other than that I am more the happy with the purchase. The internet is fairly quick as well but I am not a heavy user anyway. All in all , when it comes to texting, calling and looking stylish its a win :D I would highly recommend.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 4 for Motorola Gleam
Daymo's Gleam Review
daymo
from Lancashire
,10 January 2012
I recently purchased my Motorola Gleam and I am happy with the handset. I have used many of the new smartphone genre models, but i wasn't using them to the extent a smartphone should be used so i went shopping around.
I wanted something that was
-easy to use
-had great battery life
-and had great settings for hearing the phone in noisy environments.
After much searching on the internet i finally found the Motorola Gleam
It is a decent looking flip phone, has incredible battery life, so easy to use and has a great "outdoor profile setting" which comes in extremely handy for me as i work in a noisy environment.
The Motorola Gleam isn't going to impress your friends that have been sucked in by the 'Smartphone' Generation, but it ticked all the boxes for me. Very happy
Daymo
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 5 for Motorola Gleam
Motorola Gleam
tandob
from Workington, Cumbria
,10 January 2012
Love this phone. Great to look at. Large keypad. Only slight criticism (and this may be me not using it properly!). I would like caller number to be displayed on front cover and I would also like to be able to set individual ring tones for callers. Otherwise perfect and would definitely buy again!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Motorola Gleam
BRILL EASY TO USE PHONE
garden lil
from LIVERPOOL
,01 January 2012
THIS I THE BEST PHONE FOR MY HUSBAND HE HAS EVER USED . LOVES IT. AS HE IS NOT VERY GOOD WITH ALL THESE LATEST PHONES. SO THAMK YOU MOTOROLA ONCE AGAIN. FOR ANOTHER BRILL PHONE.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Motorola Gleam
???why???
flora
from Dorset
,22 December 2011
Ii bought this to replace my aging V3. What a comedown !! It has bee a disappointment. I have sold it on !! Back to my V3 again.
I saw this and thought brilliant Motorola are back in business. Sadly this phone is a waste of money. When you recieve a call the number does not display on the front of the phone which is always the best feature of a flip phone...but not on this one. The front of the phone only displays the time and an envelope for missed texts. There are no reminder beeps which the older motorolas always had. The texting is horrible compaired with the old system. The menu need too many button presses to do anything and you cant alter half of it . I guess this is not a Razor and is not sold as one but I`m surprised Motorola would bother making such a phone after they had produced some great ones in the past. Don`t waste your money!!
Sorry Motorola you've not got it right AGAIN.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Motorola Gleam
Great look and features for low price
Designergirl
from North Wales
,09 December 2011
The phone is designerish and looks good, works great, nice large number keys. I wanted the red one but seems they are only available in the USA! great pity. Easy to use.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Motorola Gleam
cheap flip
nibs
from london
,07 December 2011
bog standard flip phone works well for a cheap flip.ideal for a second mobile going out and dont want to take the expensive one,slim lightweight very easy to use.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Motorola Gleam
Best phone I've owned
Pete
from Bingley
,30 November 2011
Slim and slick looking with all the features you really need without going over the top for the image. Easy and quick to use just love it who needs an iPhone!!!
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Motorola Gleam
Why cant other firms make a lovely phone like this
Raven
,22 November 2011
I love my little Motorola its fun to use, battery does last longer than average. the features are rather nifty as well. Pity that other makers of phones dont make a flip phone in their group of phones as they do stand out, keys are bigger , one can view sms easily without having to dash for glasses all the time. Oh and my mother can read this without her glasses as well.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Motorola Gleam
awsome little phone
Lee
from uk
,21 November 2011
this phone is realy handy along comes with the looks are very nice too all an all very good would recomend it Buy IT! its a cute little phone with awsome fun games too this phone is good for bisinees as well as for your kids maybe even a spare very buisniss looking type i think its stylish phone :D
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Motorola Gleam
NEW GLEAM
BEP
from Yokshire
,19 November 2011
NEW GLEAM is brilliant , some reveiws i have read are not true i.e clock and date cannot be taken of the display it can.The display is very clear,digets are easy to use especialy with me having large fingers.Cannot fault the mobile.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Motorola Gleam
cool phone
lulucool
from nottingham
,03 November 2011
i love this phone it's very easy to use and the keypad is amazing. the screen is great and the camera is brilliant i loved taking pictures. worth the money i paid
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Motorola Gleam
Motorola gleam
LeeLee
from Wales
,26 October 2011
Absolutely love the simplicity of this phone. So pleased wit h my purchase wouldn't change it for the world. How ever, the only thing that bus me if the receiving of and mms message, because now i have to access my received picture via the internet, on the networks website T Mobile.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Motorola Gleam
Absolutely splendid mobile
miken
from Gateshead
,15 October 2011
I bought the Motorola Wilder a few weeks ago and quite like it, but I always fancied a Motorola flip. I bought the Motorola Gleam and I've never been more happy with a mobile.
It looks good, feels good, and the battery life if phenomenal. And, not that I use it often, the music quality if fine with me. This is definitely the mobile phone for me!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Motorola Gleam
Gleam dont shine
bevb
from Nottingham
,21 September 2011
Nice looking phone shame about the performance.You can"t use your photo"s as wallpaper because files are to big and there is a ruddy great clock that you cant get rid of right in the middle of the display
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Motorola Gleam
greatphone
coolperson
from nottingham
,23 August 2011
i love this phone the design is so great and the lights are great too it has a WAP browser and the features are great too. I think this better than the v3.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
18 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Motorola Gleam
Awful !
Roy
from Leeds
,21 August 2011
Pros: stylish look, keypad is bigger so good for texting. battery life is excellent.
Cons: Internal earpiece sound quality is very poor. I have changed the set once, but it has the same prob. What's the point of buying a phone if you can't listen properly? Music player and picture quality are awful.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
3 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Motorola Gleam
Motorola Gleam
FridgeFreezer
from Birmingham
,16 August 2011
light and easy to use, for those who are not intereted in techno phones and like the fell of keyboard to text, this is the phone for you.
Some nice extras like the flashing when messages arrives, and the welcome message.
For those that only wnat to call and text I would reccomend
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
1 2 Next