The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home
Shop Now At The Carphone Warehouse

HTC Touch HD 2 (Windows Phone) Review

Print page
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

HTC Touch HD 2 (Windows Phone)

Average Customer Rating:
3.582 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 51
34 of 55(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

Discovers an easier, more intuitive touch interface with the HTC HD2. Super slim, it boasts a cinematic widescreen for stunning media playback and seamless web browsing.

This stunning Windows Phone has a fast 1GHz processor, plus 448MB of RAM, so you will always receive quick updates, and there won't be any lags when switching between apps or web pages.

Boasting the world's first capacitive touch technology on a Windows Phone, the HD2 is ultra responsive to your touch. Zoom in and out of web pages or emails with a simple pinch, type up responses quicker on the large onscreen keyboard, and navigate through menus with only the touch of your finger. Make sure to invest in a screen protector, which will keep scratches, smudges and fingerprints from damaging your new phone.

With the brand new HTC Sense™ interface, you will get a phone that is personalised to you. Sense gives you one-touch access to what's important, from your text message editor to your email client. You can easily add or remove apps or prioritise essential features, like your calendar and weather widget, to be shown on your home screen.


If your friends are your priority, HTC HD2 makes keeping in touch easy. This tabbed phonebook will pull together contact information for each of your friends, from their email address to their Facebook ID, then display every update, message or phone call on a unique contact screen.

With the HTC HD2 everything flows seamlessly. Sync your mobile with your Facebook, Twitter, email, instant messenger and YouTube accounts to see every new tweet, update, message and video as soon as it's online.

Access the internet via 3G or Wi-Fi and browse the web in incredible detail on the big, bright display.The HD2 has a 5 Megapixel camera with dual LED flash, and tons of customisable settings, ideal for that perfect picture.

The HTC HD2 is a multimedia powerhouse of a mobile phone, and is packed to the rafters with impressive apps and essential features including, multitouch GoogleMaps, motion games and Bluetooth 2.1. Purchase a microSD memory card, up to 32GB, and turn your smartphone into a mobile media centre filled with photos, movies and games! You'll also need to protect your new mobile with a durable case, which will keep it looking its best for much longer.

 

Why buy from us?
Customer Reviews for HTC Touch HD 2 (Windows Phone)
Review 41 for HTC Touch HD 2 (Windows Phone)
Best touch screen phone so far...
from London
,08 March 2010
This is a great phone! I've used many including Iphone, older Windows mobiles, Nokia and this phone is the best touch screen phone I've used so far. Its a organised phone for business. Everything works out the box, comes with all the apps you'll need for everyday use and is easy to setup. Call quality is excellent and the SPB mobile shell makes it a good if not the best Windows mobile device on the market nowadays. I highly recommmend it
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
23 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 42 for HTC Touch HD 2 (Windows Phone)
Best Phone in the market!
from London
,07 March 2010
If not the best phone in the market, one of the best this one. You will fall in love with its speed and its 3D graphs, especially the weather wallpaper. The only disadvantage you will have is the battery life, merely one day!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
7 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 43 for HTC Touch HD 2 (Windows Phone)
Pure Quality
from north east scotland
,19 February 2010
Having spent the best part of 2 weeks comparing handsets i opted to go for the HD2 over the I Phone 3gs.
With out doubt the correct desision,
The Hd2 is a far superior Handset to the I Phone, Its has a faster Processor and a top quality screen, photos and video are displayed Beautifully and the sound quality is far better than the iphone through the loud speaker. (i phone very quiet)
The phone is extremly easy to use and is packed with features to suit all levels of experience.
Every aspect of this phone makes it a pleasure yo use from one touch access to social networking watching bbc iplayer to making phone calls,
one let down is battery life, 1 day!
this is far from a put off tho.
would highly recommend this to any user.
Hd2 9/10
Iphone 3gs 7.5/10
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
60 of 61 people found this review helpful.
Review 44 for HTC Touch HD 2 (Windows Phone)
Best phone in the Market ... seriously!
from Derby
,05 February 2010
Without a doubt the best phone in the market! If the Iphone was the device to set the industry standard, this phone takes that standard to a new HIGHER level! Its been three years since my last contract, I was waiting for the device that is truly revolutionary and this is it. WM6.5 does show up here and there and it is much improved from the previous version but all credit goes to HTC!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
24 of 28 people found this review helpful.
Review 45 for HTC Touch HD 2 (Windows Phone)
WASTE OF MONEY
from NOTTINGHAMSHIRE
,26 January 2010
Looked and sounded excellent phone then got home found had to download everything wasnt in the leaflet as promised.
Sound Very Distorted. GPS, Email, Weather and travelling about constantly coming up connection error.
Contacted HTC and told us to do a soft reset and full factory reset DID NOT WORK. Still got the same problem from day 1 after having it nearly 2 weeks.
Tried to use Tom Tom Traffic connection through Bluetooth via data WOULD NOT let the TomTom connect through the server kept saying CONNECTION ERROR.
NOT A GOOD PHONE AT ALL. HEARD EVERY EXCUSE UNDER THE SUN ABOUT WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS AND STILL NOTHING.
TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
23 of 50 people found this review helpful.
Review 46 for HTC Touch HD 2 (Windows Phone)
Top Phone Overall
from London
,25 January 2010
We were given these phones for business use throughout our company and intially after hearing what model it was I wasn't too excited!
Couldn't have more wrong as it's a great business tool and good all rounder. Great for use with Outlook links & great to be able to view attachments clearly.
The camera is decent too as you normally have to compromise this feature on this type of phone.
Only one small gripe and that is that when trying to type is can be a little jumpy and the keypad is quite small - but then you can always buy a stylus.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
2 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 47 for HTC Touch HD 2 (Windows Phone)
Good phone if u know how 2 use WinMo
from Reading
,24 January 2010
Simple if u dont have a clue how 2 use Windows Mobile Phone don't buy this phone coz it will b 2 problematic for u.
Every1 elso who don't like the Iphone and want a mobile phone with great camera(after hotfix), super fast processor and nice clean 3d menu if which u can change everything using tools available at xda developers, buy it ! also internet is very fast and after few tweeks it can regonize type "n" wifi.
build quality is brilliant with anti scratch protection screen and cover also i do like leather pouch that i was given when bought this phone.
its type of phone that u either love or hate.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
8 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 48 for HTC Touch HD 2 (Windows Phone)
please dont buy htc hd2
from GRAVESEND
,24 January 2010
I NEVER SEEN A BAD PHONE LIKE HTC HD2, I AM USING T-MOBILE SIM BUT PHONE AND T-MOBILE BOTH ARE USELESS, WASTE OF MONEY,
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
4 of 56 people found this review helpful.
Review 49 for HTC Touch HD 2 (Windows Phone)
Worse phone ever!!!
,20 January 2010
I got this phone after xmas and i though it was a great phone until it kept crashing and the camera did not take pictures clearly i am very disappointed with this phone!!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
11 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 50 for HTC Touch HD 2 (Windows Phone)
Not as Expected
from Birmingham
,29 December 2009
Main problems -
1). Battery life - 1230 mA battery not sufficient for such a big screen (now T3 has come up with new battery which looks like lump on the back, could be ound on the internet). Battery gets consumed very fast when using internet
2), Volume control-
(a)volume button does not work properly when screen is off, sometimes starts forwarding/rewinding tracks instead of volume
(b) once you pause music form headphones, try starting after two minutes from button on the headphone - wont work
(c) - Separate volume controls are complicated, you change system volume, ring volume changes automatically. Its a headache when using silent mode(not vibrate) as you increase song volume and ring also gets activated.
(d) No volume control when using youtube application
3). Task Manager - Applications remain open and everytime you need to open Task Manager and close from there,very hectic sometimes
4). Display - Landscape format not supported in all of the applications
5). No Java application support
6). Text message problem persists sometimes even after updating hotfix from HTC
ADVANTAGES:
1). Brilliant screen - very fast and biggest screen and very fast processing, feels like flowing water, a great experience
2) Speed - its fast and didnt hang even once since I am using it
3) HTC Sense - Intelligent software with some great features like it knows when you pick it up and then reduces ring volume
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
63 of 74 people found this review helpful.
Review 51 for HTC Touch HD 2 (Windows Phone)
Forget the iphone... this is 'the' phone to have!
from London
,15 December 2009
Amazing to look at, easy and light to carry around, you can navigate around the different functions with ease, surf the internet with great speed, the touchscreen is a dream to use.... I could go on and on, but basically xmas has come early for me and I'm over the moon with this phone! :)
Way better than the iphone, and you can do so much more with this... its a must have for people who love the latest technology/gadjet/phone, and definatley ''the best'' out there at the moment. Apple have just been beaten by HTC with this gem, it really is that amazing! A must have for Xmas... Thank you HTC :)
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
165 of 174 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for HTC Touch HD 2 (Windows Phone)
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Average Customer Rating : 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 4 out of 4
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Battery life 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Features 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Reliability 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5