The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home
Shop Now At The Carphone Warehouse
Top-Rated

HTC One Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews

HTC One

Average Customer Rating:
4.603 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(229 Reviews) 229
209 of 229(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

HTC One

For party goers, camera lovers and music fans, the HTC One is an elegant, top of the range smartphone with spectacular specs. The aluminium body gives it a real premium look, while the advanced UltraPixel camera is designed specifically to give you better pictures in low light.

The essential tech specs.

Inside the metal body is a 2,300mAh battery, giving the HTC One 479 hours of standby time and letting you make calls for up to 18 hours. It’s powered by a 1.7GHz Snapdragon 600 quad core processor and Android Jelly Bean 4.1. An update to 4.2.2, is free and available now. The 4.7” screen has a resolution of 1080p HD, making it the sharpest screen on the market with 469 pixels per inch (PPI). The UltraPixel camera is 4MP, but has one of the largest light sensors to give it excellent performance and sharpness, especially in low light situations. For storage, there’s 32GB of built-in memory.

Overview Image
Overview Image

Refined aluminium, zero gap design.

The machined aluminium makes up the entire body, making it a tough yet beautiful phone. Run your finger down the back and it's perfectly smooth, even down to the camera fitting and metal joints – that's the zero gap construction, underlying the fantastic build quality. Then there's the feel; at 9.3mm it's thin, but the tapered edges make it feel even more slender in your hand, making it comfortable and easy to use with one hand.

Revolutionary camera: The UltraPixel camera.

Cameras are all about light, the more light the camera can collect and process, the better the image, especially in low light conditions. The UltraPixel camera of the HTC One has three advantages when it comes to collecting more light: a larger pixel, a larger aperture, and a larger sensor than other smartphones. The result? 300% more light enters the camera than leading 13MP smartphones. With all this light and data, the advanced ImageChip 2 processor can get to work creating photographs with more shades, more colour accuracy and greater image sharpness. In short, a better photograph.

Overview Image
Overview Image

HTC Zoe: A new way to store your memories.

The UltraPixel camera doesn't just do great shots, it has advanced features too. Tweak the colour balance, choose awesome presets and filters, edit your photos, and use the special HTC Zoe™ feature. Turn on Zoe™ mode and your HTC One will automatically capture up to 20 photos and a 3 second HD video. After that, the HTC Gallery mode takes over, giving you moving image previews of your content, so you can see exactly what was going on. Then, you can get HTC Zoe™ to create highlight films of numerous moments. These montages use sequence images, videos and the 3 second Zoe videos against a backdrop of music to make a cinematic masterpiece.

Beats Audio™ and HTC BoomSound™: Share the sound of your albums and videos.

Beats Audio™ is famous for producing stunning, rich sounds, and the HTC One has the technology built-in, so through headphones everything sounds amazing. When it's time to share your music for a group get together or to watch a quick YouTube™ clip, there's HTC BoomSound™ - that's two front facing speakers. No more tinny smartphone speakers, these are loud, bassy stereo speakers for showing your friends and family the sounds you love.

Overview Image
Customer Reviews for HTC One
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 Next
Review 21 for HTC One
htc one m8
from newcastle
,22 April 2014
Top quality , great phone and. Excellent features for taken photos and editing, great feature when answering phone by just lifting next to ear . Easy to use and connecting to the web. Love the design .
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
131 of 267 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for HTC One
one of the best
from Bradford
,29 March 2014
Ive had this phone since last october. Its easy to use! Quick on the net&holds around 5000 pictures! Ive dropped it about 7583829 from high too, and its got only scratches, its hard to break! Its battery can go all day while you're texting&playing music while its on a mid brightness as well. Its easy lay out, easy everything! One of best phones ive had!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
136 of 285 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for HTC One
Great phone
from Bristol
,28 March 2014
this phone is everything you could need. it works fast, has a clear display and is built very well. i have had no issues so far and i love it. i would recommend this phone.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
161 of 318 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for HTC One
Joke
from Halifax
,27 March 2014
Battery is shocking on this phone and so is the signal! It's awful!!!! Vodafone are charging me 42 per month for this phone and it doesn't even work on the net!! The battery on this phone is terrible, not even using net cos it doesn't work and having to charge every day!!!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
160 of 330 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for HTC One
love this phone
from peterborough
,24 March 2014
It's smart looking, easy to set up and use,battery life good,prefer this phone than the I phone I had before,defo recommend.hope this review helps xxxx
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
173 of 354 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for HTC One
Very Good Phone
from Farnham Royal
,24 March 2014
This is the first time I've opted for a HTC mobile.
I've only had the phone a matter of days, so I haven't really had time to get familiar with all its functions.
Generally it seems like a great, solid and reliable phone and I can see why its a popular choice. I'm impressed!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
131 of 257 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for HTC One
HTC One not all it's cracked up to be
from worthing
,23 March 2014
Upgraded from a Samsung Gallaxy s11 in Jan 2014 after reading reviews saying it's the best thing since sliced bread, all of these people must have upgraded from really bad phones to find the HTC One that good. To give an example, i tried to write this review on the offending phone but type one letter and screen jumps and keyboard goes so to type next letter i needed to find text box, tap where next word is to be, type next letter and gone, again, so i'm doing it o my pc, most infuriating. I have found this phone quite ridiculous and infuriating, it's not any faster than my old Samsung, the screen it no better or clearer, the beets audio gimmick is well just that, a gimmick, battery life it only slightly better than the Samsung, as long as i don't use it, for anything, then it lasts nearly 2 days, use it though and watch the battery indicator go down. Why is the contact list called "people" call it contacts like every phone i have ever owned, it took me 3 days to get to grips with that one, the alarm is too simple but just ok. The camera is nothing special as they would like you to believe, the Samsung had a good camera, 10mp and took far better pictures in lower light conditions. It won't connect to wifi unless it's the latest generation of wifi equipment being used so doesn't work with any wifi hot spots. In conclusion i am disappointed with this phone, only the battery life is slightly better than my old Samsung, the screen jumps around, if i'm looking at photos on facebook and want to make them bigger it makes them smaller and won't let me make them the original size, typing in text boxes can be a nightmare, can't expand the memory or change the battery. Not impressed with this supposedly impressive phone.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
103 of 208 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for HTC One
Disappointed
from Edinburgh
,20 March 2014
When I went to upgrade from my Samsung S4 I was originally going for the Nokia Lumia 1520 or 1020 but was told going from an android phone to a windows would be a mistake and I would regret it so I opted for the HTC One. I should have listened to my heart. After 2 weeks of having the phone the screen started flashing and scrolling so took it back and they replaced it for a new one which after 1 week is now doing the same so having to take this one back I really don't want the same phone but seemingly they can only replace it for the same model. Not a happy bunny :-((((((
 
My Product Recommendations
Nokia Lumia 1520
4.9 out of 5(27)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
111 of 219 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for HTC One
Outstanding!
from Newcastle upon Tyne
,20 March 2014
Easily the best phone I've ever used and that includes an iPhone 5s and a Samsung Gallaxy S4. The build quality is excellent, and the features are endless, I'm still overly amused at the ability to controll my Youview box and set recordings for programmes. The only letdown is battery life, but that's partially Androids fault for running all your apps in the background where as iOS doesn't do that. Seriously, there's really no reason not to choose this, as you'll easily get throughout a day before your battery starts to weyy off a bit. For lovers of aesthetics and functionality.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
102 of 208 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for HTC One
great new phone!
from London
,19 March 2014
Recently bought this phone on a new contract as my old one had expired. Very impressed! I wasn't looking forward to a touch screen keyboard but it's not that bad after a bit of practice. Screen gives beautiful displays of photos and videos. Camera is great quality too! Phone feels thin and fragile so I bought a hardback leather case for it as I don't want to risk breaking it if I ever drop it.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
99 of 214 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for HTC One
No Regrets
from London
,18 March 2014
Opted for HTC 1 over the iPhone 5s and have no regrets. For versatility and ease of use you can't go wrong with this phone and screen size is a real bonus as well. Some reviews have criticised the camera but using it in well lit conditions it produces really good results, a decent camera was a big selling point for me and I'm not disappointed!
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
65 of 126 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for HTC One
from Kent
,12 March 2014
I love my new HTC, I wasn't sure which colour to go for but in the end chose the Gold and was very pleased with my choice, its not a blingy gold it is much more subtle, it is also very lightweight considering its size, I find it very easy to use, the sound is excellent too, I would certainly recommend the HTC one
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
117 of 233 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for HTC One
HTC ONE
from London
,12 March 2014
Great phone,fantastic sound,the headphones that come with it look cheap but there great one of the best I've heard, there Beats Audio, BUY ON YOU WONT BE DISAPOINTED.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
116 of 219 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for HTC One
Great when new and after a few months pants!
from Oxford
,07 March 2014
HTC do not build a phone to last! It damages so easily and has the phone has now overheated and melted it's own charging port, meaning it is very difficult to charge, sometimes if it's off it will just about charge! Battery life has always been poor, however it does have some great features like Beats Audio and the amazing lyrics app you can get with one of the android updates. If you want to buy a HTC don't buy it in sliver, all the marks so up really badly! It always doesn't receive photos well and often fails to recognise it's own sim card. I had an old LG Optimus L3 before and I liked that more than the HTC One overall and that says a lot. Camera is also pants and the phone just ignores what you ask it to do. For example you put it on silent within around 5 minutes it's on vibrate mode, why?
 
My Product Recommendations
LG Optimus L3 2
4.5 out of 5(54)
 
 
 
 
 
HTC One Mini
4.7 out of 5(93)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
114 of 229 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for HTC One
Best phone ive had to date
from Scotland
,28 February 2014
This is my 3rd HTC and they just keep getting better and better. The response time of the phone is great and never laggs on me I'm thoroughly enjoying using this phone and to top it all off it looks and feels amazing. I would definitely recommend this product
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
122 of 253 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for HTC One
Move over iPhone!
from Wiltshire
,28 February 2014
Took a little risk moving over from iOS to android (always been an apple girl) just needed a change and this change was brilliant! Its easy to use, completely customizable (can't customise anything with the iPhone, YAWN!) and its absolutely gorgeous! I'd recommend this to anyone and everyone :) one thing tho, battery could be better but what can you do? :3
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
116 of 228 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for HTC One
Great choice
from West yorkshire
,28 February 2014
Was undecided between this and iPhone that I've used for work before but really glad I chose the Htc. Does everything I need and more with ease and speed.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
120 of 238 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for HTC One
HTC One
from Halifax
,21 February 2014
Does everything I wanted it to do. Downloading iPlayer, streaming Eurosport and taking photographs is easy and efficient. Good solid phone and very clear display. The speakers mean you cna watch a movie without needing amplification or earphones in a quiet atmosphere at least. I find texting and phoning is easy and the screen keyboard is usable.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
128 of 244 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for HTC One
Htc one
from Norwich
,18 February 2014
Always had iPhones but think I have found a phone better well happy with it and the sound on it it top rate :-) good pic on screen as we'll love it !!!!!
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
140 of 274 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for HTC One
Quality with Value for Money
from South Wales
,14 February 2014
Having had an older HTC phone I was a little apprehensive to buy one again, however after reading independent reviews in on-line magazines and seeing how well it scored on battery life and ease of use I thought it was worth trying the HTC One. I was not dissapointed. The phone is a solid piece of kit that with it's large screen is easy to use. It's so easy to set up with the HTC link function we can use on the PC and then easily update these settings onto your phone over your intenet connection.
So far I have not found anything to dislike about this phone.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
125 of 242 people found this review helpful.
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 Next