The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home
Shop Now At The Carphone Warehouse
Top-Rated

HTC One Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews

HTC One

Average Customer Rating:
4.673 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
193 of 208(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

HTC One

For party goers, camera lovers and music fans, the HTC One is an elegant, top of the range smartphone with spectacular specs. The aluminium body gives it a real premium look, while the advanced UltraPixel camera is designed specifically to give you better pictures in low light.

The essential tech specs.

Inside the metal body is a 2,300mAh battery, giving the HTC One 479 hours of standby time and letting you make calls for up to 18 hours. It’s powered by a 1.7GHz Snapdragon 600 quad core processor and Android Jelly Bean 4.1. An update to 4.2.2, is free and available now. The 4.7” screen has a resolution of 1080p HD, making it the sharpest screen on the market with 469 pixels per inch (PPI). The UltraPixel camera is 4MP, but has one of the largest light sensors to give it excellent performance and sharpness, especially in low light situations. For storage, there’s 32GB of built-in memory.

Overview Image
Overview Image

Refined aluminium, zero gap design.

The machined aluminium makes up the entire body, making it a tough yet beautiful phone. Run your finger down the back and it's perfectly smooth, even down to the camera fitting and metal joints – that's the zero gap construction, underlying the fantastic build quality. Then there's the feel; at 9.3mm it's thin, but the tapered edges make it feel even more slender in your hand, making it comfortable and easy to use with one hand.

Revolutionary camera: The UltraPixel camera.

Cameras are all about light, the more light the camera can collect and process, the better the image, especially in low light conditions. The UltraPixel camera of the HTC One has three advantages when it comes to collecting more light: a larger pixel, a larger aperture, and a larger sensor than other smartphones. The result? 300% more light enters the camera than leading 13MP smartphones. With all this light and data, the advanced ImageChip 2 processor can get to work creating photographs with more shades, more colour accuracy and greater image sharpness. In short, a better photograph.

Overview Image
Overview Image

HTC Zoe: A new way to store your memories.

The UltraPixel camera doesn't just do great shots, it has advanced features too. Tweak the colour balance, choose awesome presets and filters, edit your photos, and use the special HTC Zoe™ feature. Turn on Zoe™ mode and your HTC One will automatically capture up to 20 photos and a 3 second HD video. After that, the HTC Gallery mode takes over, giving you moving image previews of your content, so you can see exactly what was going on. Then, you can get HTC Zoe™ to create highlight films of numerous moments. These montages use sequence images, videos and the 3 second Zoe videos against a backdrop of music to make a cinematic masterpiece.

Beats Audio™ and HTC BoomSound™: Share the sound of your albums and videos.

Beats Audio™ is famous for producing stunning, rich sounds, and the HTC One has the technology built-in, so through headphones everything sounds amazing. When it's time to share your music for a group get together or to watch a quick YouTube™ clip, there's HTC BoomSound™ - that's two front facing speakers. No more tinny smartphone speakers, these are loud, bassy stereo speakers for showing your friends and family the sounds you love.

Overview Image
Customer Reviews for HTC One
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 Next
Review 21 for HTC One
HTC ONE Great but for battery and camera
Mike
from Brighton
,13 February 2014
First of All - great upgrade service from Carphone Warehouse. Everything went smoothly, just like it should.
The phone itself is really good. The screen is large and sharp. Good colour. At first the phone seemed too big to operate with one hand, but I managed to get used to the size. HTC transfer tool is brilliant, it transferred everything from my old phone without problems. Andriod system is fast and reliable but there is too much clutter installed by default. The camera is so so but I didn't do extensive tests. The battery seems a bit inadequate for this kind of phone. it lasts a few hours with average use. After disabling some default apps battery life is now considerably longer.
Overall good phone
Mike
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
110 of 215 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for HTC One
Great phone
sophiebabe
from Poole
,12 February 2014
Love this phone, easy to use, looks good. upgraded from iPhone wish I'd done it sooner. Great sound. Plenty of help on phone if you are unsure of what to do. Would highly recommend this phone.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
71 of 148 people found this review helpful.
Review 23 for HTC One
HTC touch buttons
Deacon
from Nottingham
,12 February 2014
I very much like the overall HTC product which is why I went from the Desire to the Sensation and now the One. The product has been consistant everytime and still performes well after handing down the last unit to family and friends after and upgrade.
My only issue with the One are the sensitivity or lack of sensitivity of the two base touch buttons. They require multiple hits before reacting. I cant see an adjustment for them. I may have to contact the seller for advice and maybe a return. I hope nothing untoward is going on, I really like the product.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
77 of 147 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for HTC One
my favourite
micky
from inverness
,12 February 2014
Only phone I would have. I have had other brands but as a music lover, this is definitely the best. The colour is fantastic. Battery lasts longer than others. And the sound from the front speakers is excellent. Been using HTC for 2years and just signed on for another 2.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 2-5 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
46 of 91 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for HTC One
htc one
l33t
from Cardiff
,08 February 2014
Nice phone, pleasant experience ordering. Will definitely use the car phone warehouse again.
The HTC One has a top class processor and ram coupled with a very nice screen. Ease of use is apparent from the first touch and for a change the vendor software is useful and non-buggy.
Must say I am very pleased with the phone and would recommend it to anyone regardless of techpertise.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
51 of 94 people found this review helpful.
Review 26 for HTC One
Overated
mzjyjh
from West Hartlepool
,08 February 2014
Poor design, menu style leaves a lot to be desired. Poor volume control placement, ability to reduce volume without knowing. Missed calls. Poor vibration.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
43 of 89 people found this review helpful.
Review 27 for HTC One
HTC ONE
xOLLiiEo
from Derby
,07 February 2014
Fantastic phone. I upgraded from Samsung galaxy S3 and what a difference in terms of quality. This phone looks great and oozes quality. The screen is one of the best I've seen on a phone. And the build quality is second to none. If you want iPhone good looks and quality without ios then this is the phone to go for. The operating system is slick however there are some nuances within HTC sense that take a while to get used to.The lack of a physical home button takes sometime to get used to but isn't such a big deal. Overall a great phone that I can't praise enough.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
37 of 80 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for HTC One
Hank
from Margate
,04 February 2014
Excellent sound, super fast and very clear graphics.
The camera effects are really nice and enjoyable.
I really like this product and would really recommend it to friends.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
42 of 84 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for HTC One
best phone ever
jimmy
from sheffield
,03 February 2014
excellent all round!!! :) can't fault the phone to be honest, camera quality is brilliant and beats any i phone I've seen so far or any other phone on the market in my opinion and the mobile internet on these phones is unbeatable, well happy, best phone ever!!!!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
21 of 42 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for HTC One
9/10. GREAT FOOON.
JUST. PLAIN. GOOD.
from Laaandan.
,26 January 2014
-Looks good.
-So much more to personalise than the iPhone.
-Great HD Screen.
-Even better sound!
-All round great phone!
I would recommend this phone to anyone starting from scratch on smartphones or to an advanced smartphone user.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
90 of 171 people found this review helpful.
Review 31 for HTC One
Best phone out there...try it
abs247
from hull
,23 January 2014
Well just what i need and expect from a HTC phone so cant fault it so far...speed,graphics,battery and general use seem very straight forward and absolute pleasure to own one...will score it a 9/10 any day or time.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
83 of 156 people found this review helpful.
Review 32 for HTC One
HTC ONE IS GOOD
Dunc
from London
,22 January 2014
Only had the phone a couple of weeks, but really liking it so far. Easy to pick up and use, and as a nice side note, HTC transfer app meant I easily moved over all contacts, messages and pictures from my old phone.
Looks really sleek, got the Blue model, a very pretty thing it is.
Screen is amazing, and the speakers are incredible for a phone. Free headphones are pretty smart too. Camera ain't all that, but not a big concern for me.
Not sure on the blinkfeed yet, but easily turned off (have left mine on, just changed home screen to the standard widget page).
Be a bit careful when choosing tariff though, 4G phone, but only those tariffs specified as 4G are such.
All in all, a lovely phone, looks and sounds great. Fits perfectly with my needs.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
97 of 182 people found this review helpful.
Review 33 for HTC One
Beautiful Phone
Tinkerbelle
from London
,22 January 2014
I bought this phone because I have never owned a decent smart phone, and after heaps of research, decided to go for the HTC one in blue. It looks good, obviously, and it has heaps of brilliant features, but most phones these days do. The thing that makes this phone so beautiful is the feel of it when you hold it. It feels premium. There's no plastic edges, and the screen displays great HD images. The only problem I have is the battery life, which only seems to be an issue when I'm playing lots of games. The camera is fantastic, and the speakers are really good quality. Definitely a good choice of phone.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
87 of 163 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for HTC One
great phone no nonsences
loving life & the htc one
from northern ireland
,22 January 2014
I find the HTC one has a lot of easy to use features and although the camera isn't the best on the market it's still excellent. Zoe is superb the ability to remove unwanted passersbys from photos is a handy wee tool. The battery life is ok but its the same as anything else it depends on the usage. BlinkFeed is fine for a quick look at all your social feeds but doesn't just do the job right in my opinion. The processor makes the HTC fast and reliable, the screen is like fluid it's fantastic to touch and look at. I Would say HTC have done extremely well making this phone. Not to many other companies have managed to keep it simple but effective
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
79 of 162 people found this review helpful.
Review 35 for HTC One
nervous choice, paid off
swampy
from peterborough
,22 January 2014
Moving from the iPhone to the HTC was a big decision, but ultimately one I am pleased I made. The phone is nice, looks good, is functional and has the app and music support I was worried i might not get. The only downside I've had so far is not pairing with my vauxhal insignia for music, but this is resolved with a backless, unfortunately this doesn't allow stearing wheel control
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
66 of 132 people found this review helpful.
Review 36 for HTC One
Excellence in Blue!
Bradders
from West Yorkshire
,19 January 2014
A great handset with quality features. HD screen and camera make it an ideal handset for the out and about photographer plus the dual front facing speakers make it a music lovers dream. HTC blink feed and the usual ease of use Android operating system make it a great all rounder. Quality and excellence at a price to fit the average pocket. Call in to your nearest Carphone Store and have a go with the demo. You'll not be disappointed.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
111 of 217 people found this review helpful.
Review 37 for HTC One
Best Purchase
Lovely
from London
,17 January 2014
The phone is really lovely and amazing. It looks absolutly sleek and all features are very hands on. My only niggle is battery life is worse than expected. sorry i can not give all 5 stars for this phone, however, i am still enamored with it.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
104 of 210 people found this review helpful.
Review 38 for HTC One
A big suprise
Jack
from Reading
,17 January 2014
I fancied a change and made the switch from iphone after 6 years and thought I might struggle with a new operating system. I had no need to worry, within the first day I was completely at ease with this phone. Very happy with my choice and wish I'd made the move years ago.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
99 of 196 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for HTC One
HTC Blows every other phone out of the water.
MickGlasgow
from Glasgow
,17 January 2014
Just upgraded my phone from the HTC Xe and my god have they done it again.
Superb phone, so much you can do on it and the battery life seems to be long lasting.
The camera and its features are also superb.
Would definitely recommend this.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
100 of 201 people found this review helpful.
Review 40 for HTC One
htc 1
hgwgray
from arbroath
,10 January 2014
Good enough phone although much the same as all other smart phones had galaxy note b4 n very little difference it's by far not a bad phone but it's 2014 and smart phones have little between them now
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
121 of 244 people found this review helpful.
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 Next