The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home
Shop Now At The Carphone Warehouse
Top-Rated

HTC Desire 500 Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

HTC Desire 500

Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
42 of 44(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

HTC Desire 500

The HTC Desire 500 is a brilliant smartphone if you’re a music lover, app-a-holic, budding photographer or social networking nut. The 4.3” touchscreen is beautiful and perfect for cruising through your media.

The essential tech specs.

The HTC Desire 500 has a 1,800mAh battery, meaning you’ll get up to 435 hours of life on standby or 12 hours if you’re making phone calls. It’s powered by a 1.2GHz quad core Snapdragon 200 processor and Android 4.1.2 Jelly Bean. The phone has a 4.3” screen with a resolution of 480x800, giving a pixel density of 233 pixels per inch. You’ll also get an 8MP camera and 4GB internal storage that can be expanded by up to 64GB with a microSD card.

Snap happy wherever you are.

Social people need a social smartphone with a great camera...and the HTC Desire 500 has just that! Capture more images and miss less moments with the multi-shot burst mode that lets you take lots of pictures in an instant. The VideoPic setting allows you to get both videos and pictures at the same time. While the HTC ImageChip provides great shots, even with movement and poor lighting conditions. And your Desire 500 will even automatically create short highlight reels out of your photos.

Four times the power wherever you are.

Powering the HTC Desire 500 is a 1.2GHz quad core processor. With four cores your Desire 500 can do four times the work of a single core chip, meaning it can load webpages faster, run multiple apps at once without lagging and offer super smooth video streaming. And don't forget, high end games are perfect too!

Ear-blowing authentic sounds.

If you need a soundtrack wherever you go, the HTC Desire 500 has you covered. With Beats Audio™ built-in, all of your sounds will have enhanced bass, mids and treble so every album you own will sound its best. Better yet, Beats Audio™ actually boosts game music and movie soundtracks – in fact, everything you hear through your phone.

Customer Reviews for HTC Desire 500
1 2 3 Next
Review 1 for HTC Desire 500
HTC come upp trumps
IRS
from Glasgow
,02 May 2014
What I would expect from HTC. A phone which is setting the trend for others to follow. Always been an HTC fan. Still not disappointed. This phone has it all.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 2 for HTC Desire 500
HTC Desire 500
Gazza
,23 April 2014
Having moved on from an HTC Wildfire the screen on the Desire is a refreshing size, most of the annoyances found living with the Wildfire have gone and the Desire is fast, not much in way of base memory but a card can resolve this, up to 64 GB.
Other than the minor points as an average user I find this phone very competent, don't care what the "idealists" think I reckon HTC have produced a very good phone with top end features placed sensibly in the market. Reliability speaks for itself, this is my second HTC in three years.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 3 for HTC Desire 500
First I-phone gizmo
Beeblebrox
from Bracknell
,27 March 2014
My old QWERTY died at a very inappropriate moment so this was bought very quickly. It has a few functions that I will never use ie. Facebook and Twitter and a few others. My biggest bugbear however is that it did not come with a comprehensive user manual. Going to the Samsung site is OK but I had a job finding the right answers. Especially how to switch off the screen lock as it didn't unlock when a call came in. Getting used to it now. My techy daughter put my custom ring-tone on it so I'm happy. Weighs a bit in the pocket but at least you know it's there.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HTC Desire 500
best phone
th
,24 March 2014
Great phone, value for money, it has top end features for the price. Having previously had top end phones, this by far is a very good phone to compete with the top end phones even though it is a mid range phone. Very good features, the camera and video are really good and has a quad core processor. The internet is really fast but the only downside to this phone is the battery life which is like all the HTC phones, if you do a lot of internet browsing the battery doesn't last very long. Overall I would definitely recommend this phone
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HTC Desire 500
Great all round phone
Snoopy
,19 March 2014
Fantastic phone, good battery life, had it for 2 weeks now.
Only problem is that the on/off button on the top of the phone is quite hard to press so it takes some getting-used to, also case is definitely necessary but they can be bought cheap anywhere.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HTC Desire 500
htc desire 500
pauly
from Glasgow
,19 March 2014
This is my second mid-range HTC phone. Very pleased with it, easy to use, feature packed, crystal clear screen. Only complaint is that you can't disable blink feed.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HTC Desire 500
Excellent for price
R.Begum
from Birmingham
,13 March 2014
The phone is great for its price, camera front and back are amazing for a mid range phone and it's really easy to use recommend to anyone on a budget or wanting a phone with most features of a top end phone.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
6 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for HTC Desire 500
Excellent handset
user1997
from scotland
,12 March 2014
Super easy to use, excellent camera quality, loads of storage, beats sound is incredible. However, one thing I dislike is access to the battery/sim card/sd card, removing the screen rather than the back is confusing and difficult. On the whole a really good product, would 100%recommend
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HTC Desire 500
HTC Desire 500
Grumpy
from Midlands
,05 March 2014
Upgrade from HTC Wildfire .
Good value for a phone with this specification , slim ,light , fast quadcore processor , not 4g but who cares , 4g coverage is so limited anyway .
Screen is crisp and clear , blink feed can be annoying , but that`s HTC ! Battery cover a little flimsy could easily be damaged when removing . Some problems reported but not experienced any yet .
Great for those who don`t want high monthly or purchase cost`s compared to HTC one .
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
10 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HTC Desire 500
Worthwhile upgrade
custardkris
from Warminster
,05 March 2014
Upgraded from an HTC desire .Different menu but you get used to it and the different features. Very quick to open from shutdown. Voice search is good. Screen is as good as anything I have tried. Nice phone for general use.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
6 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HTC Desire 500
Excellent Purchase
Scohier
from Liverpool
,05 March 2014
This phone for me, is brilliant. Costs half the price of one of the high end smartphones and is on par with what they offer. The screen is bigger than an iPhone's. It's thinner than an iPhone and using the phone is almost exactly the same as it's big brother, the HTC One. Buy this phone. It's one of, if not the best mid ranged smartphones available.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
6 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for HTC Desire 500
htc 500 desiree
vader
from suffolk
,28 February 2014
the monthly tarrif on this phone is brilliant I had an I phone for years and this phone is just as good, better even? And it's so much more cheaper per month. The camera is great also.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
6 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for HTC Desire 500
Glad I chose this one. Best phone so far,
Deedee
from London
,28 February 2014
I had been previously using an iPhone 4s. My neighbour had the HTC Desire 500 so I tried his, and could immediately see it was straightforward to use, a pleasure to hold, with a crystal clear screen. It's a mid range phone. Maybe not quite as fast and multi functional as the iPhone but is a pleasure to use. Swype typing feature makes typing so much faster than touch screen typing, large clear screen is terrific to use for watching videos or surfing the net. The camera has some great editing features and somehow this handset is easier and more logical to use than apple. Do buy an sd card as storage is limited. Oh, and its very lightweight and flat!
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for HTC Desire 500
Brilliant Phone
DSM Man
from Essex
,25 February 2014
After reading reviews here, I decided to buy it, since then I never regretted, it has been brilliant buy, the features, easy to use and above all the battery life is very good, my phone is always on and in use, but I charge the battery after every 3 or 4 days when is half full.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for HTC Desire 500
Great phone, great price!
PowysGirl
from Powys
,25 February 2014
I would recommend this phone if you are looking for a mid-range smartphone for browsing, listening to music/radio and taking the odd picture or video. As you get what you pay for, the camera is not great (so I would not recommend if you want it to take lots of high quality pics), although I have not found any problems with the speed of opening messages or web pages, playing games or accessing emails and other accounts online. HTC have their own online storage area called 'Dropbox' which works just like any others out there, and seems to work without any problems. The usual apps are available as it is andriod Jelly Bean, along with iplayer, banking apps etc. Battery life is great for me, as I am a light user it can last up to 48hrs, even with browsing on wi-fi at home for a few hours. The phone looks good (mine is White), is easy to use, and feels sturdy enough to last for some time. It has slot for MicroSD card so storage should not be a problem. It does not have 4G however, but not a problem for me as this is not available in the countryside where I live.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
5 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for HTC Desire 500
Will
from London
,19 February 2014
Great phone, easy to use, good screen, quick. Would definitely recommend to a friend. Works all the apps that I want. Works as well if not better than an iPhone for a fraction of the price.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
8 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for HTC Desire 500
Great value HTC device
satisfied_customer
from South East
,19 February 2014
Bought as an upgrade on a cheap contract via CPW website, very quick delivery and CPW Customer Services were helpful in getting SIM activated. Subjectively the phone is fast to use, with no lags, great performance. Have had several HTC devices before & been pleased with them, the storage is a bit low on this one but adequate unless you want to download large games. A memory card is essential if you want any music or take many photos !! A bit early to judge reliability but so far, so good ...
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for HTC Desire 500
Splendid
Adey
from Gloucester
,12 February 2014
The phone is very easy to use. It's very sleek and really cool. It's also very beautiful and so slim. The screen is good enough to watch movies. And to listen to music. The sound system is very good.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
11 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for HTC Desire 500
Great phone at a remarkable price
Wibble
,12 February 2014
First smartphone but seems excellent at this tariff. Lots of features within, including beats audio which I was not expecting. Son had been boastful re. his Nokia phone but now seems quite jealous!
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
7 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for HTC Desire 500
Excellent
sgevans
from Surrey
,12 February 2014
I bought this phone for my daughter on contract. It was one of the cheapest smart phones available and is on par with other smartphones double its price.
Its fast, takes crystal clear photos.
cons.
Cannot get rid of the HTC home screen
battery life could be better
regardless, a highly recommended phone!
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 of 9 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 Next