The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home
Shop Now At The Carphone Warehouse
Top-Rated

Nexus 5 16GB Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Nexus 5 16GB

Average Customer Rating:
4.69 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(390 Reviews) 390
376 of 390(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Overview Image

Nexus 5

The all new Nexus 5 couples a great mobile processor with pure Android software and an elegant design to create one of the most impressive and up to date phones around. The super fast processor and new Android 4.4, KitKat® software mean it runs as smooth as it looks.

Overview Image

The essential tech specs.

The Nexus 5 has a 2,300mAh battery that’s good for up to 300 hours life on standby, or up to 17 hours when you’re making phone calls. It’s powered by a 2.26GHz quad core Snapdragon™ 800 processor and the new Android 4.4, KitKat® operating system. There’s a 5” full HD display that has a super sharp pixel density of 445 pixels per inch, so it’s sharp and large enough for enjoying HD movies. You’ll also get an 8MP camera and 16GB of internal storage.

Overview Image

Capture the moments that matter.

The advanced new lens on the Nexus 5 captures 56% more light, giving brighter night shots and sharper action photos. There’s also optical image stabilisation, so you can stop worrying about shaky hands and blurry pictures – the lens in the phone is always kept steady. With Google+™, Auto-Awesome and your Nexus 5 you can automatically create animations, panoramas, photo collages and more from your photos. Auto-Awesome can also edit together the best parts of your videos into a short, beautiful film. From there it’s easy to change the look and feel of your footage, pick the right music and share with the people who matter.

Overview Image

Slimmer, lighter design.

The Nexus 5 is precision-built from strong, premium materials, and the simple design is super sleek. At only 130g and 8.59 mm thin, it’s the most powerful Nexus phone yet, but still ultra portable and easy to use, no matter how big your hands are. And it comes in both black and white, too.

Overview Image

Speed and power to spare on a stunning 5” display.

The 5” touchscreen gives you more room to do what you want, and better colours too. The 1080p full HD display lets you see every detail in lifelike colour with less glare and a wider viewing angle. With the cutting edge Snapdragon™ 800 processor you’ll race through games, whiz around the web and switch between apps at the flick of a finger.

Overview Image

Powered by Android 4.4, KitKat®.

The new Android 4.4, KitKat® software comes with a host of new features. There’s a smart dialler that automatically suggests the people you’re most likely to call. Don’t see them? Just type or say their name to search your address book and nearby places. There’s also Caller ID - Android will automatically match an incoming phone number to a person or business, even if they’re not in your address book. With wireless printing you can use any printer that supports Google Cloud Print™, or enable your printer by downloading an app from the Google Play™ Store. Android now as emoji icons too, so when you can’t find the right thing to say, don’t write at all. Just send a smiley face, a thumbs up, or any of the hundreds of emoji icons on the Google Keyboard.

Android, Google, Google Play, Nexus and other marks are trademarks of Google Inc.
The Android robot is reproduced or modified from work created and shared by Google and used according to terms described in the Creative Commons 3.0 Attribution License.
Customer Reviews for Nexus 5 16GB
Previous 1 ... 8 9 10 11 12 ... 20 Next
Review 181 for Nexus 5 16GB
fantastic alternative to iPhone
from Glasgow
,26 March 2014
So it took some convincing to leave iPhone, but this product is a great alternative with all the features of iPhone and Google combined. There is probably better phones that you are able to do more with, but this meets all my needs, and has a pleasurable screen which is sharp and easy to use. Camera could be better though. Thoroughly recommend!
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 182 for Nexus 5 16GB
from portsmouth
,14 November 2013
A good phone for the price. The speed is good compared to other phones. Camera is good. Overall its good. Only negative point is its battery, which runs for around 24. Hrs in normal average use.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 183 for Nexus 5 16GB
Nice
from Cheadle
,14 November 2013
Android is less scary with this beast. Wish KitKat had better SMS app but its easy enough to download another one. Some apps are not compatible yet - be careful. Big screen, good image quality and like muck off a shovel.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 184 for Nexus 5 16GB
Clean kitkat
,14 November 2013
i bought this phone as the review were good and it did not let me down it very light and its the true Google experience with no extra app from other phone companies that we never use. Its very fast and fluid and the best of all it has the "ok Google" auto response. But above all the price is just to good to be true.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 185 for Nexus 5 16GB
Awesome
,14 November 2013
Love it! My other half got the HTC one and I much prefer this. I prefer the layout and kitkat is great. Make sure you have it switched to US English to use google now. A few tweaks would make this best in market imho.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 186 for Nexus 5 16GB
Excellent value handset
from Birmingham
,08 November 2013
Coming from an Xperia Z this is a breath of fresh air. The pure Google experience is significantly better in my opinion that the 'branded' handsets and the hardware is fantastic. I was initially skeptical about the camera being 8MP but the clarity is fantastic. The battery is also incredible, however you will need to charge every day like most handsets. Highly recommended phone.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 187 for Nexus 5 16GB
good but not great
from Birmingham
,07 November 2013
Nexus 5 is a good phone overall but it can be a great phone if it has larger capacity of battery and better camera. Battery life is pretty rubbish if you use it outdoor with auto brightness setting, it actually drains the power from 100% to 90% in 20mins of usages, just browsing the web and search on Google map. Also the camera is very frustrating to use, compared to my previous phone, Samsung S3 and HTC One, very slow focus and take a while to process the photos, and under low light, it can take even longer if camera can ever focus on the subject then take forever to take the photo, so steady hands do required. Personally I do hope it's software problems as most online reviews mentioned and Google can fix them quickly or I might change the phone. I am bit disappointed because it's pretty basics, good battery life and great camera, nowadays with flagship phones.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 188 for Nexus 5 16GB
Good phone- check network
from Plymouth
,05 June 2014
Phone is great but choose network carefully - Vodafone is poor - how do I know? I have both a normal phone (O2) and the Nexus (Vodafone). Vodafone invariably has no signal where O2 is still up. On a Vodafone network it is better to consider this as a wifi tablet with a possiblity it could be a phone/ 3G tablet on occasion. As for the phone treat as a generally empty box and load up with apps - some you would think would be already there (e.g bluetooth file transfer and file manager) - battery life a day - Reliability no issues with phone but I would have to include network performance as part of the reliabilty and that is where it is let down. If you need to actually talk to people keep a normal phone ( 7 day life plus life on stdby) and stay away from Vodafone.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
57 of 117 people found this review helpful.
Review 189 for Nexus 5 16GB
Exceptional handset
from London
,06 June 2014
I love my Nexus 5! The screen is very clear and responsive, the controls are easy to use and it's still small enough to fit into my pocket on a night out (just about). The Google android system is why I bought the phone, there is no samsung or htc overlay meaning I can use the platform as it was intended. The camera takes good pics but the photo management system is shockingly bad and confusing. Backing up on google+ and then two apps to manage pics is really very annoying and stupid. Battery life, as with most smartphones is terrible. I'm a heavy user, loads of whatsapp messages, a few phone calls, quite a few emails and listening to my music means my battery is at 30% come midday if I haven't plugged it in to my laptop at work. But then my iphone 5 was worse so this is an improvement. Overall, a fantastic phone with a great screen and camera.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
53 of 109 people found this review helpful.
Review 190 for Nexus 5 16GB
Great Buy!!
,01 January 2014
i bought this phone as a replacement to my broken blackberry, the battery has only got better since i started using the phone as apps are optimizing battery saving so it lasts a good day with intense use i.e gaming phone-calls texting internet browsing. The screen is beautiful! 1080p looks great, good colours and viewing angles. The ear speaker is good clear quality in phone-calls but the loud speaker is bad but i only use headphones so whatever! camera is the second area of "budget" its alright but could be better, new updates make it better every time as its mostly in the software. it has top spec internals for a mid range phone price. even my friends with iphones regret not getting it as its half the cost. not to big in hand and charging is very fast as the smaller battery. I really do recommend this phone it will not let you down!
 
My Product Recommendations
Nexus 5 16GB
4.7 out of 5(390)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
47 of 95 people found this review helpful.
Review 191 for Nexus 5 16GB
nexus 5
from aberdeen
,27 November 2013
i'm a touch screen newbie and I can work it fine. Some things are taking longer to work out like accessing the phone book and making calls. text messages are now hangouts don't know why. Only down side of the phone is the notifications don't beep through my Bluetooth headset so you have to constantly check the phone and I am slightly deaf so I don't always hear the phone ring or beep when in the house. But when connected to my wifi it matches my computer. Quick office is a god send and the camera is excellent for my needs. Battery life is on par with my other phones meaning I have to charge it at night time but so far so good. Another useful review my 2 year old has thrown the phone on the wooden flooring a few times and the screen is still intact. This phone is bigger than other more popular phones so you will struggle to get a cover for it on the high street but online is fine.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
39 of 80 people found this review helpful.
Review 192 for Nexus 5 16GB
Love this phone
from North West
,25 June 2014
This is a great phone, beautiful large colourful screen, fast and efficient touchscreen, plenty enough memory and apps all work great. The phone is sleekly designed and light to hold considering the size of the screen. Very speedy to use. I will be looking out for another nexus when I upgrade, as I really love this phone.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
39 of 79 people found this review helpful.
Review 193 for Nexus 5 16GB
Outstanding Phone
from Derby, Derbyshire
,01 May 2014
For the price you pay, this phone is outstanding. The large IPS screen is amazing as image and video quality is superb. Easy to use and for the price you pay, you cant complain.
 
My Product Recommendations
Nexus 5 16GB
4.7 out of 5(390)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
37 of 76 people found this review helpful.
Review 194 for Nexus 5 16GB
,11 June 2014
Good phone i like the fact it has Android software mixed with good hardware I have had both the iPhone and a Galaxy in my opinion this phone has the best of both
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
37 of 75 people found this review helpful.
Review 195 for Nexus 5 16GB
Amazing
from Birmingham
,07 May 2014
Having alway been an Apple customer for the past 6 years and using apple computers for work, changing to the nexus was a huge decision and I'm so please I did.
The larger screen is a huge plus but the operating system and the way it seamlessly links with my google account is excellent, which is apples weak point and the reason I changed.
One of my concerns with changing was adding all my contacts but this was so easy by exporting/importing a v-card and took a couple of minutes - easy to find instructions online.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
34 of 69 people found this review helpful.
Review 196 for Nexus 5 16GB
I've wanted this for a while
from West Yorkshire
,25 June 2014
I have previously owned the Samsung Galaxy Nexus and I have always set my sights solely on the Nexus range.
This phone is a beast, the powers of android always amaze me and the Nexus is always the first in line for the newest software updates.
I have also purchased a couple wireless chargers, one for work and one at home so the battery life is no worry to me.
I recommend this phone whenever anyone ask for upgrade advice.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
33 of 67 people found this review helpful.
Review 197 for Nexus 5 16GB
awesome phone
from Southampton
,15 February 2014
Simply amazing, there are a few things I would like to see on the operating system like being able to highlight text and being able to print. The phone is super quick, awesome graphics, possibly the best phone on the market. It keeps cool as well, some other phones overheat when playing games or watching videos. The Nexus 5 stays cool as a cucumber!
The operating system has got some cool features like setting a cap on your mobile internet so you don't go over what is in your tariff each month! also, the "ok Google" feature is awesome, say "ok Google" followed by a question and google will answer it. You can get it to do things like set your alarm, see what you are doing on a certain day, see what the weather is like etc. The rear view camera is good, front view camera is nothing special. This phone also supports UMA (true wifi calling) however you need a sim card from orange for this to work.
Overall, I would say this is a really good phone. Can do everything the iphone 5s can do for £200 less, plus you get a much safer operating system, a full HD screen and 3.5 * more processing power.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
32 of 65 people found this review helpful.
Review 198 for Nexus 5 16GB
Great Phone, Great Price, No Commitment
from Thanet
,13 June 2014
Purchasing this phone in combination with sim only deal from Talk Talk has lowered my potential monthly bill by half, with the added bonus of not being tied in....I can change my phone whenever I like and if I am not satisfied with my provider I can switch....I am glad I bought via website as it was £10 cheaper than in store, it was delivered and I didn't have to tolerate the obnoxious woman at the Westwood cross store in Margate.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
28 of 57 people found this review helpful.
Review 199 for Nexus 5 16GB
Brilliant, BUT
from Gloucester
,19 February 2014
Excellent in all respects - if you only wanted a small tablet, but this is supposed to be a PHONE, and that it the one thing it does not do well, or indeed at all. When trying to hold a conversation, the person on the other end could not hear me or I was so "at the end of a tunnel" that it was an impossible talk. OK when switched to speaker mode ! Assumed faulty handset and swopped it.New one just as bad. Lots and lots on the internet about the problem and after trying various "fixes" I did get to a point of "acceptable" and in view of the other outstanding points about the phone, I am keeping it - but I regret that I cannot recommend it - if you are considering it - please search internet for Nexus 5 poor call quality and see what is out there. I am not alone !
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
26 of 53 people found this review helpful.
Review 200 for Nexus 5 16GB
from London
,19 February 2014
Coming from a windows phone, I loved the wide range of apps immediately. Kitkat 4.4 is very good, clear and fast. The main benefit of the nexus is its speed due to its fast processor and large RAM. You could argue the camera and battery life isn't good, which is the most common cons I came across with this phone. However the camera is good, it is enough for people or do not take lots of photos a day. The battery life is average and it lasts a day. Bear in mind most smart phones have this problem.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
25 of 51 people found this review helpful.
Previous 1 ... 8 9 10 11 12 ... 20 Next