The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home
Shop Now At The Carphone Warehouse

BlackBerry Z30 Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

BlackBerry Z30

Average Customer Rating:
4.741 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
26 of 27(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

BlackBerry Z30

The BlackBerry® Z30 makes collaboration easy. Its stunning 5” display, unique BlackBerry® Natural Sound and BBM™ Video with Screen Share let you see what’s on the other person’s screen in vivid detail and hear the conversation like you’re in the same room.

Overview Image

The essential tech specs.

The BlackBerry® Z30 has a 2,880mAh battery that can last up to 384 hours on standby or up to 18 hours when making phone calls. It’s powered by a 1.7GHz dual core Snapdragon S4 Pro processor and BlackBerry 10.2 software. It has a 5” touchscreen with a resolution of 1280 x 720, which gives a pixel density of 295 pixels per inch. You’ll also get an 8MP camera and 16GB internal storage, which can be expanded by up to 64GB with a microSD card.

Overview Image

BBM™ Video just got better.

Do you find video calls still leave you feeling distant? With BlackBerry® Natural Sound on the BlackBerry® Z30 you’ll feel like you’re in the same room as the person you’re talking to. And with Screen Share it’s easy to work together or show off the latest family photos, without leaving your BBM Video call.

Overview Image

Focus on what’s important.

With BlackBerry® Priority Hub, all your messages are in one place and just a swipe away. And now the BlackBerry® 10 software gets to know you and learns which messages will be most important to you. That means you get the messages that matter instantly, leaving the rest to be checked when time’s less pressing.

Overview Image

Power through.

The innovative features of the BlackBerry® Z30 are powered by a big battery and fast processor. The impressive battery life means your phone will last the whole day so you can do more of what’s important. While the new processor makes everything more responsive, letting you do things more effortlessly.

Overview Image
Customer Reviews for BlackBerry Z30
1 2 Next
Review 1 for BlackBerry Z30
best phone ever
from london
,07 October 2013
I'm a hard core iphone user with the latest iphone5s. , saw the z10 from blackberry and played around with it, liked it and thought il get this z30, 1st battery life is amazing, I don't need to charge it, lasts all day, second sound quality is the best in any phone iv ever used (HTC one sorry but it's true). Operating system is soo refreshing, nothing is quiet like it and it is built to make your life too easy, yes it does take a day to get used to but it is mind blowing the things you can do and soo effortlessly aswell, camera is great with time shift, I can honestly go on and on, bottom line, I don't use my iphone 5s anymore, the z30 has completely erased it, aNd to think I got this phone just to mess around with it now I'm using it as my main fone is crazy, btw Omg Internet is soo fast and this is the only phone I know that still can open flash files. Get this phone, you won't regret it
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
186 of 274 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BlackBerry Z30
BlackBerry at its best!!!
from London
,18 October 2013
To all those users of quad cores, octa cores CPUs, 3GB to 16+GB of RAM, Brilliant screens that makes you wonder how was this tech possible??? And taking NASA quality pictures and videos???
LISTEN UP!!! The Z30 is ridiculously fast.
BlackBerry is going through a difficult time but don’t get it twisted, all tech companies have experienced similar difficulties…especially the mighty APPLE!!! BlackBerry smartphones is NOT for everyone, they primary focus is security and business, The Z30 is nice to hold, well-built and designed, the speakers sound quality is better than the HTC ONE, you won’t need to carry a spare battery or worried that the battery might run out before midday, this thing lasts more than 24 hours even with heavy use of internet browsing, emails, games, social apps and calls… Truly mobile! It has all types of modern connections like 4G, Bluetooth, NFC, MIRACAST, USB OTG, WIFI direct, Paratek Antenna technology, GPS, all the usual advanced Sensors etc. Android and IOS would lose the bet against BlackBerry 10 OS when it comes to communication department, Notifications and messaging is a beauty on Z30, the competition is not even close, The Z30 is an smart monster communication machine.
 
My Product Recommendations
BlackBerry Z30
4.7 out of 5(27)
 
 
 
BlackBerry Q10
4.2 out of 5(45)
 
 
 
BlackBerry Z10
4.4 out of 5(323)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
113 of 189 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BlackBerry Z30
return key
,27 January 2014
Such a great phone so quick and looks great better than any other. Also everyone saying there is no return key there is if you hold the sift and hit send it is a return... easy
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
32 of 53 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BlackBerry Z30
Best Blackberry Ever
from Devon
,05 March 2014
I was nervous upgrading to a new phone with a new operating system because, as I get older, I find new gadgets harder to understand and use (Windows 8 is a good example - Vista was much better in my opinion).
I could not have been more mistaken. I was at home with this phone straight away. The whole system is so intuitive and easy to use and the touch screen is accurate and responsive.
The Z30 has been slated in some quarters, I think because it is maybe not seen as so trendy as some other models. Anybody that shallow should steer clear but, if you want a top notch phone with superb software, then look no further. I have found that Blackberry's apps suit me down to the ground, but the phone can run Android offerings if required.
Well done Blackberry - I am so glad I did not jump ship to another brand as recommended in some stores!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
64 of 110 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BlackBerry Z30
Welcome to the future
from Lancashire
,24 June 2014
Unrivaled machine.
OS continues to evolve. class interface and multitasking.
Full android playstore is coming in few months, which is going to take BB to another level. More focuss will be needed on the high end handsets with design and hardware; aluminium case, full hd glass/saphire screen.
There is very little to be said about its reliability and its ease of use.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
29 of 50 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BlackBerry Z30
this thing is fast!
from Crewe
,12 October 2013
Having used a z10 that at times could be slow the z30 is lighting fast at everything it does! The step up in processor is obvious the battery life is stunning I batter my phone everyday with work mainly and the z30 lets me get all the way through the day with ease. The lack of apps will put people off but under no illusion the ones you need and use are there. The build quality is good not amazing but solid and you know it's there, the screen is super responsive I haven't noticed any lag at all as yet. Screen quality is great super blacks work well combined with super sound (well on par with the HTC 1 and that's saying somthing) overall a real work horse and not a toy, so if you need a power tool to get your through the day this is perfect.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
107 of 189 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BlackBerry Z30
Pure Class
from Belfast
,12 December 2013
There is just no operating system like the Blackberry 10. The performance of the QNX os continues again on the Z30. The AMOLED screen looks fantastic. The flicking through the phone with the thumb, no home button, no back button, it just flows. Going back to Android, Apple or Windows is like taking a step back 5 years, I've tried them all. 10.2.1 now installed, full android app runtime availability when required.
The battery lasts into a second day. Stereo speakers are really loud and clear for such a small device. Plug in a mouse, keyboard and screen, the os can handle it, great performance from the QNX.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
63 of 112 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BlackBerry Z30
Quite Simply, Amazing!
from Scotland
,07 May 2014
I've been completely blown away by this phone. Its a shame so many people believe the hype of the iPhone and Samsung's et al and all the negativity that has surrounded BlackBerry. If you want a powerhouse that does exactly what you need it to do then this phone is for you and plus the fact you can download Android apps to your hearts content makes it better than anything else out there in my opinion. Slick build quality and an amazing, intuitive OS for £25 pm. What's not to like!
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
54 of 96 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BlackBerry Z30
Better than advertised
from Kent
,28 May 2014
I have switched from an iphone 4 to the Z30.
Other friends have iphone 5c and 5s and this is simply a better phone. Faster processing, better with messaging and browsing.
The issues with apps are there but I use my phone for calls, messages and internet searches mostly and this phone is simply splendid.
Blackberry is not as popular as it was but I tired of Apple's apparent policy of profit at any cost... usually mine! There seem to be several ways to tie me in to Apple and penalties to leave...such as not receiving text messages if sent by friends by imessage. Apparently you have to switch this off before you leave. You can talk to support but will need to pay £25.
Having all you messages show up in one place is fantastic.
The operating system is different but actually easy to learn and makes much more sense to me than other systems. I am not particularly good at technology but this is a really good phone.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
51 of 93 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BlackBerry Z30
'No return Key'
from Midlands
,07 November 2013
First impression is it is a little large for a serious telephone user for business and is aimed more at the 'Play with my mobile' set who do everything else but make calls.
That is something i have to get used to being in the minority, however i do not know anybody who writes texts in continuous format and does not use paragraphs and finishes and signs off all on the same line. it is infuriating having no return key.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
99 of 183 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BlackBerry Z30
Wow! Unbelivably Great Smartphone
from Wrexham
,05 December 2013
I think my review here should be regarded as most authentic of all reviews. This is because I am a Lecturer in mobile communications and I have followed nearly all BlackBerry released smartphone models. I can confirm the following goodies; The Z30 model is entirely a revolution in the blackberry series with un-removable battery, though it is amazingly reliable compared to other mobiles I have reviewed. Display qualities are supper beyond exaggeration. Video recordings and images left virtual world to deliver real world experience with razor sharp qualities. The keypad is nice and spacious which provides better user interaction experience like a pc keyboard. The speed of the device is unbelievably great with unnoticeable latency. The physical shape is like an Android phone in the likes of HTC and Huawei smartphones. I have used this phone for 4 days and I can say it is an excellent deal. However, it has its own pitfalls for users in the UK in order to connect to BT Open zone WiFi. The inbuilt dictionary is not comprehensive enough. There is no return key on the keypad. Over all, Z30 is a great smartphone.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 2-5 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
61 of 113 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BlackBerry Z30
Smash your iPhone, Samsung, HTC and the rest!
from London
,25 February 2014
Simply put! For those who make deals, not excuses! Says BlackBerry and that's exactly what the new BlackBerry 10 OS phones are! Get one and throw way those iPhones, Samsungs, HTC and the rest in the bin! HIGHLY UNDERESTIMATED!
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
43 of 79 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BlackBerry Z30
One of the best smartphones out there
,29 May 2014
I have previously owned android apple and windows phones, and decided to give blackberry a try. This handset is amazing. The operating system is fantastic and after the first software update you can even port android apps! The hub management system and the gesture based controls work as a charm. We got so excited about this phone that all the family upgraded to this handset. Hub management system of all of your accounts is one of the best integrated systems i have seen. And all of this for a very very cheap price, specification wise being just under the most expensive smartphones out there. The only downside is the small battery, but we have fixed that by buying a second one. Buy Buy Buy, you will not be disappointed.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
48 of 91 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BlackBerry Z30
Amazing, completely different from curve and bolds
from london
,20 February 2014
Absolutely amazed with this BlackBerry device, nothing like the old curve or bolds used to be everything that was wrong with them has been fixed with the Z30. Great fast browser, amazing on screen keyboard, a beast of a battery (best battery I've come across lasts at least a whole 24hrs, stunning 5" super amoled HD display, love blackberry hub, flow and peek (feels and looks very intuitive), love that the os is gesture based so your not clicking buttons to go back pages etc like on the iphone, the gestures make iphone feel very old and dated, the hub is amazing, one stop shop for your social life! Great apps and games like despicable me minion rush, all the angry birds games, cut the rope series, Disney games, Skype, doodle jump and loads of others, you can now buy music and videos (movies) from blackberry world which is a great feature,The whole look and build of the device along with BlackBerry 10 os brings blackberry phones in to the year 2014 and away from 2007 with the curves. Check this phone out and you will be pleasantly surprised! great purchase and very very happy! :)
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
47 of 88 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BlackBerry Z30
Best Blackberry phone till date
from London
,02 March 2014
This is simply the best phone I have used. It is all about efficiency. The screen is sharp and beautiful. OS 10.2.1 means that you can get most apps from Android that are not on Blackberry World. The Battery will get you through the day on heavy use. The camera needs a little more juice but I prefer using my SLR anyways. I am proud to carry this phone.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
45 of 85 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BlackBerry Z30
Good Phone
from Kent
,27 March 2014
High quality phone with long battery life. Whilst there are many good features within the new BB10, including the best office package on a mobile I have found, some apps are missing from the store.
Nonetheless the total package more than makes up for it. A phone suitable for a productive person rather than a toy OS giving you things to play with. Your decision is what kind of person you are. Merely a consumer go with android or IOS. If you intend to do work with it I would certainly recommend this phone.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
36 of 68 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BlackBerry Z30
Don't leave the Dark Side
from Oxfordshire
,07 February 2014
Excellent. Have had BlackBerry's for years and very nearly left the dark side and bought an iPhone - glad I didn't, this Z30 is excellent. Easy to use, enough apps, the Hub is an excellent idea and the wifi signal & mobile signal seems stronger than my wife's iPhone here in our house. Recommend - you don't have to leave the Dark Side anymore.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
25 of 47 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BlackBerry Z30
good Product
from Stratford on Avon
,30 November 2013
Bought the phone against the wave. Too easy to knock a firm these days. Have found the phone easier to use than expected after having had a Blackberry Bold. Easy to find apps needed as I do not want it as a plaything. I am more than happy with the phone and would recommend
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
61 of 119 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BlackBerry Z30
Mixed blessings!
from CoDurham
,14 May 2014
This is obviously a serious piece of kit, BUT I've previously owned two Blackberry Bold's the last one 9900 (best phone ever) with their physical qwerty keyboards and easy to hold are missing on my new Z30. The BB10 software is not as easy to understand, so there was some frustration on set-up. Holding the phone is difficult - frightened of dropping or setting off an app! The emails aren't pushed through the same so you have to wait for them, and I cant have a Barclays Mobile app (none available) So good and bad with this phone, new software to come will make access to Android better though. Despite recent fears over BlackBerry's future, I would like to stick with them!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
49 of 97 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BlackBerry Z30
best blackberry
from Manchester
,09 December 2013
Battery can last two days at a push with heavy use. Love the hub where all calls text and emails are located no faffing in different folders. Most things are second nature to use once you are used to way it works.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
51 of 101 people found this review helpful.
1 2 Next