The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home
Shop Now At The Carphone Warehouse
Top-Rated

BlackBerry Torch 9810 Review

Print page
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

BlackBerry Torch 9810

Average Customer Rating:
3.756 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
54 of 78(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

Do more with a choice of touchscreen or QWERTY
Powered by Liquid Graphics™, the 3.2” touchscreen elevates your picture viewing, gaming, HD videos and more to a whole new level. Instant touchscreen swiping, pinching and zooming speed up office work. Need accuracy for those long emails? Simply slide out the legendary BlackBerry® keyboard you know and love.

Discover more

Like cutting edge technology? With Wikitude you can get the story on a landmark, read reviews on a restaurant you just passed or scan a crowd to see how far away your BBM™ contacts are, just by looking through the camera. Simply point the lens and the touchscreen will layer information across a real-time video image of the world around you.

BBM now lets you have voice chats for free over Wi-Fi.

BlackBerry® Messenger (BBM™) version 7 is taking the social networking experience to a whole new level with the new BBM Voice feature. BBM Voice lets you make free voice calls to other BBM users all over the world using a Wi-Fi® connection*. Know instantly when BBM friends are available for a voice call and with the split-screen feature, you can talk and text at the same time, so for example, you can send a picture to your contact while talking with them. You can also check other BBM text chats, check email, or navigate to other apps while engaged on a BBM Voice call.  BBM™ 7 also uses your BlackBerry ID, which then lets you back up your BBM profile and contacts so you can automatically restore your data to a new BlackBerry smartphone.

Recording paradise (5MP camera for photos or videos)

With 8GB of on-board memory and the ability to expand using a microSD card up to 32GB, you can use the 5MP camera to take pictures and capture HD videos without holding back.

Make an instant connection

Thanks to HSDA and 3G technologies you can access high-speed mobile networks, Wi-Fi® networks and available carrier hotspots, and go from the office, to the coffee shop, to the airport and home again, and never be without the net at your fingertips.

Next generation software

The smooth BlackBerry® OS is a real breakthrough, offering incredibly fast page load times, better web–based gaming, HTML video support and seamless scrolling and zooming. If you’re forever on the move and need a smartphone that can keep up, the BlackBerry® Torch 9810 is the ideal companion. Business needs are catered for with powerful multitasking, travelling covered by Wikitude and BlackBerry® Maps, while the Liquid Graphics™, 3.2” touchscreen provides a window to all the entertainment you need.

Snapdragon™ processors by Qualcomm®.

The digital brains inside the smartest devices. The Snapdragon family of processors are designed using best-in-class technology. Everything that your smartphone needs is built right into one chip – the CPU, the graphics processing unit (GPU), internet connectivity software, power management and multimedia features. This means Snapdragon processors give great efficiency and battery life while still providing power and multitasking abilities. Learn more about Snapdragon™.

* BBM requires a BlackBerry service plan. The BBM Voice feature requires a Wi-Fi connection with access to the internet and may not be available in all markets

Customer Reviews for BlackBerry Torch 9810
1 2 3 4 Next
Review 1 for BlackBerry Torch 9810
FEATURED REVIEW
Keyboards are king
from Sussex
,25 November 2011
Seriously addictive, and yet so simple to use. Never has a blinking red light had soo much pull !! The keyboard, whilst small is easy to use, and makes you want to type lengthy replies everytime you get a text.
Whilst the apps may not be as expansive as the others, it still has pleny that serve there purpose well.
As an alternative to the other operating systems, i cant complain, battery life is on par, if not better than my last android phone, and i dont feel so worried that the always on connection is always on!.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
82 of 94 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BlackBerry Torch 9810
love it
from manchester
,22 January 2013
i dont know what everyone is complaining about.. i had this phone for a long time and its honestly the best phone i ever had it looks good and is easy to use id recommend it to anyone
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 3 for BlackBerry Torch 9810
dont get this phone!!
from london
,03 January 2013
the phone always freezesand does not have a good battery life i have had my phone replaced twice now because it has gone wrong and it has gone wrong again so i will be soon getting yet a nother replacement and if the next phone goes wrong i finally get to come off of my contract and get another phone. i would never reccomend this phone.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
3 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BlackBerry Torch 9810
Avoid at all costs!!!!!
from Oxford
,03 January 2013
I had a Blackberry curve and when this came out, I thought I would give Blackberry one more try....and I wish I hadn't!
I got the phone and after a few months the screen died. Carphone Warehouse were excellent and sent it back for a direct replacement.
Now the buttons have stopped working and has been sent back again for another direct replacement.
The only goog thing about Blackberry....the 2 year warrenty...and you will need it!
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BlackBerry Torch 9810
bad service
from london
,29 December 2012
this phone i dont recomend anyone buying i brought mine in july and have had non stop trouble
blackberry messenger dont work my internet dont work if i was to recomend a phone it would be and i phone
 
My Product Recommendations
Apple iPhone 4 8GB
4.6 out of 5(265)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BlackBerry Torch 9810
Good but...
from birmingham
,23 December 2012
I have had this phone for quiet a while and am swapping now to the htc 8s. I will truly miss this phone as it is great in many many ways but after a while the whole thing sort of just fell apart and the battery decided to die every few hours. After a few months its not what you expect from a phone that costs as much as it does. I feel that this is the best ever ever blackberry made but the software lets it down.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Review 7 for BlackBerry Torch 9810
mint phone
from newcastle
,18 December 2012
Defo the best out off all the blackberrys! Many diff ways to use it, excellent camera, over all a brilliant phone! Wish I got this as a first blackberry!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BlackBerry Torch 9810
from bradford
,13 December 2012
I read peoples review before bying the phone. Everybody complained about battery life. What I found is that make sure you switch all opened site off and your battery will be fine. Easy to use slick. Just what you expect from a blackberry.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 9 for BlackBerry Torch 9810
from sheffield
,11 December 2012
i got this phone for my birthday in august, i had it for a month, less and it kept restarting, i delt with it, but then it restarted non-stop, i couldnt do anything on my phone, later on the keyboard and the touchscreen broke, i had the blackberry 9360 before this and never had no problems,my battrey life was great but other than that its an awfull phone.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BlackBerry Torch 9810
from Ilford
,05 December 2012
Fantastic little phone. Really pleased with it. Would definitely recommend it to anyone purchasing a new phone. Very easy to use and set up, and a nice size and design. Very sleek. Love it.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BlackBerry Torch 9810
9810
from Nottingham
,16 October 2012
Very similar to the 9800; externally looks exactly the same other than the back panel is silver. I'm not convinced the processor makes it any quicker, and it still takes an age to re-boot or to load new programmes. Battery lasts about 12 hours if using it a lot, or 18 hours otherwise. I love the keyboard and ease of use of the device, but other than that, I'd probably have gone for an i-phone. I'm surprised Blackberry really haven't made a phone to compete seriously with the i-phone. Clearly they have an audience (like me) who are happy to take second best just because we are lazy and like the keypad. I think if i-phone made a phone with a keypad like this, I'd switch, even if it meant doing so mid-contract and losing money.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BlackBerry Torch 9810
Repeatedly stops working not due to misuse
from Shrewsbury
,09 October 2012
Bought it, month or so after it broke (software), replaced no worries, month or so after it broke (stopped charging), replaced no worries, 2-3 months after it broke (software), month or so after it broke (software), replaced it no worries the day I went to pick up this replacement the phone was assumed to have no battery charge so was charged in store for about 45 minutes for me to go back and pick it up to find out that the replacement phone AND battery wouldn't charge or switch on before I even got to pick it up. So yeah. Very poor show from Black Berry
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
5 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BlackBerry Torch 9810
Best blackberry I brought
from Dorset
,30 September 2012
This phone has never let me down, being clumsy like me I always drop them and I've dropped this so many time and its never once broke, it's got scratch marks but still in one peace. This phone is great for keeping in touch with family and friends. Out of the blackberry's that I've had this one has by far the best camera!!. I once had a curve, I dropped it out of my pocket and the screen smashed, this one I done the same it's perfect! One let down is the keyboard is slightly small, but I have small fingers so for people like me it's fine, it's a really cool phone!! I would recommend this to any blackberry lovers! Xx
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
11 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BlackBerry Torch 9810
Decent phone
from London
,27 September 2012
What I like about this phone is the fact I have a touch screen as well a physical keyboard.
It's a decent phone easy to use. If you're not one for apps then this phone is perfect. Though battery life isn't up to much and I wouldn't recommend getting a white one as mine's chipped.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BlackBerry Torch 9810
I Love It
from Edinburgh
,22 September 2012
I have had this phone for a while and although the little clock that appears when things are loading is very irritating every other feature is awesome! Twitter and BlackBerry messenger in particular are great !
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BlackBerry Torch 9810
from Scotland
,16 September 2012
Hi I bought this and I don't thinks it very good Its very slow and freezes all the time and it locks the screen all the time I would not recommend this Product to my friends.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BlackBerry Torch 9810
Worst phone I have ever had!
from Leeds
,15 September 2012
I hate this phone! I'm not fussy about phones and have never had a problem with any of my mobiles in the past but I can't wait to get rid of this one. No specific problems, ie breaking or anything it's just awful to use and has really put me off blackberrys.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Review 18 for BlackBerry Torch 9810
GREAT PHONE!
from London
,09 September 2012
I know some people have complained about this phone but ive had this phone for just over a week now and i have found no faults with the phone, its fast and easy to surf the internet and apps download in seconds!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BlackBerry Torch 9810
my phone
from gravesend
,09 September 2012
i recently brought this phone in may and the 4 buttons @ the bottom , just above the key board have stopped working accasionally the scrolloer would stop aswell at the moment my phone is aboout to go into repair ,i have only had the phone 4months and it is falling apart
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Review 20 for BlackBerry Torch 9810
Purchase worth it
from Birmingham
,06 September 2012
This is the phone I admire most out of all blackberrys and am looking foward to have it longer period it's got all features other phones don't have and I haven't accessed all features as yet. My son is loving it as he can communicate with friends free on BBM
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 2 3 4 Next