The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

BlackBerry Bold 9900 Review

Print page
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

BlackBerry Bold 9900

Average Customer Rating:
3.705 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
105 of 163(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

Get more choice with the touch BlackBerry® Bold™ smartphone. Featuring the iconic QWERTY keyboard you love and a brilliant new high-resolution touchscreen, BlackBerry Bold 9900 is slimmer, faster and smarter than ever before.

Iconic BlackBerry® Design

The touch BlackBerry Bold 9900 smartphone is lightweight and durable, with a brushed stainless steel frame and the thinnest form factor of any BlackBerry smartphone to date. You can reach out and touch your apps, emails and photos on the stunning 2.8" high-resolution touchscreen, and type with ease on the iconic BlackBerry QWERTY keyboard.

Loaded with power & performance

The BlackBerry Bold 9900 smartphone is powered up and ready to go, with a super fast 1.2 GHz processor for smooth, speedy performance, 8GB of onboard memory (expandable to 40GB if you buy a microSD card), dual-band Wi-Fi® for a faster web connection, and Near Field Communication* (NFC) technology for wireless payments.
*when available

NEW BlackBerry® 7 software

Experience BlackBerry® 7 - the next-generation BlackBerry OS software that gives you the ultimate BlackBerry experience. There’s Liquid Graphics™ for a great touch display and video playback, voice activated universal search can search through your entire phone, up to 40% faster web browsing and 720p HD video recording.

NEW BlackBerry® App World™ 3.0

(available from late September)

Explore the sleek new BlackBerry® App World™ storefront: a world of inspiration awaits you. There are thousands of apps to discover, from the hottest new games and entertainment apps to productivity suites and apps that help you stay connected with the people who matter most.

BBM now lets you have voice chats for free over Wi-Fi.

BlackBerry® Messenger (BBM™) version 7 is taking the social networking experience to a whole new level with the new BBM Voice feature. BBM Voice lets you make free voice calls to other BBM users all over the world using a Wi-Fi® connection**. Know instantly when BBM friends are available for a voice call and with the split-screen feature, you can talk and text at the same time, so for example, you can send a picture to your contact while talking with them. You can also check other BBM text chats, check email, or navigate to other apps while engaged on a BBM Voice call.  BBM™ 7 also uses your BlackBerry ID, which then lets you back up your BBM profile and contacts so you can automatically restore your data to a new BlackBerry smartphone.

NEW apps and services

BlackBerry® Balance and BlackBerry® Protect offer secure protection for your corporate and personal data, while Docs To Go lets you view, edit, and create Microsoft® Word files and view PDFs on the go. Into social networking? Then you’ll love the improved Facebook 2.0 and LinkedIn apps. If you want reviews about restaurants and museums there’s Buzzd, and if you need in-depth info about your surroundings, grab Wikitude – both are downloadable from BlackBerry App World. You can also download the BlackBerry® Travel™ app for travel planning, and BlackBerry® Bridge™ for easy linking to the BlackBerry® PlayBook™ tablet.

Qualcomm® Snapdragon™ processors.

Mobile that’s more powerful, more personal, and less power hungry. Did you know that different technologies work faster, smoother and more efficiently when they’re designed to work together? We think that’s a pretty smart approach, so that’s how we designed our Qualcomm® Snapdragon™ processors. Qualcomm Snapdragon processors use best-in-class technology and deliver what your friends will envy— quick, smooth surfing, visually stunning graphics, and robust performance. Being power-smart, they deliver the precise amount of power you need right when you need it, ensuring consistently great performance without compromising battery life. Snapdragon processors make it possible for you to fully enjoy all the reasons you’d wanted a Smartphone in the first place. Click here to Learn more about Snapdragon.

BlackBerry® Bold 9900 - the flagship BlackBerry® smartphone that delivers ultimate performance.

BlackBerry®, RIM®, Research In Motion® and related trademarks, names and logos are the property of Research In Motion Limited and are registered and/or used in the U.S. and countries around the world. Used under license from Research In Motion Limited.

** BBM requires a BlackBerry service plan. The BBM Voice feature requires a Wi-Fi connection with access to the internet and may not be available in all markets

Customer Reviews for BlackBerry Bold 9900
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 Next
Review 1 for BlackBerry Bold 9900
FEATURED REVIEW
Great Phone
VP74
from Warwick
,21 February 2012
Just upgraded to a 9900 from an 8520 and am very happy with it (although it's early days yet).
Good Points:
1. Great design.
2. Intuitive, user friendly features and functionality - trackball, touchscreen, menus, etc. are all very simple to use (and I'm no phone geek!)
3. Good keyboard - easy to use and not too fiddly.
4. Fast browsing speed.
5. High Defintion screen is a good size with great resolution / clarity.
6. Lots of clever apps available.
Bad Points
1. Weight - a minor grumble given all the features the phone comes with.
2. Battery life could be much better. 24 hrs if running 3G, wi-fi, apps, etc.
Top phone all round. Buy one today!
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
230 of 283 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BlackBerry Bold 9900
Terrible reception
lozi
from Bicester
,18 July 2013
No signal, never had any problems with former Blackberrys. If I take the sim out and put it back into other Blackberry, I am able to get full signal..
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
8 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BlackBerry Bold 9900
Brilliant Phone !
computermick
from Harrogate
,17 July 2013
Received my new phone and did the sensible thing. Charged it overnight. I have had Bluetooth and Wireless on all the time. Made 43 minutes of calls. Downloaded all my contacts from google and read numerous e-mails on it. It has been on for two days solid. The battery is still three quarters full. The only bad point is that it automatically answers the calls when removing it from it's holster. There may be a setting somewhere that I haven't discovered yet but it is a lovely, easy to use, good battery life device. I would recommend it to anyone who needs Blackberry services. Thanks go to Simon at C W in Harrogate.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
6 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BlackBerry Bold 9900
Good phone overall
Macca 13
from manchester
,17 July 2013
Phone its self is easy to use and the features are easy to find and install the battery is OK but thats all i like my new phone and have always had BB so i would not change to any other phone am looking forward to blackberry bringing and wowing all us customers with there new phone :)
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
8 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BlackBerry Bold 9900
best blackberry ever
ghost123
from london
,09 July 2013
great phone! very good features and reliability. but battery life can improve. loved the touchscreen and internet access also its got good grip to it.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BlackBerry Bold 9900
best phone ever
bootilicious
from bristol
,05 July 2013
i love the phone alott and it is the best ever i also love it because of bbm and that means that i can chat to my friends without extra cost(considering i pay for the phone) and mine looks best
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BlackBerry Bold 9900
Good all rounder
Az_86
,29 June 2013
The Blackberry Bold 9900 is a great handset built solidly much better than the older bold's e.g. the 9700 and 9780. Keyboard is comfortable and quiet to use, handset fits nicely in the palm of your hand. Touch screen is beautifully clear and responsive, the only draw back is battery life and blackberry world app's are very limited. I have found as long as you keep it up to date it is very reliable. Will be looking into getting a Q10 but may make the jump Android come the new year.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BlackBerry Bold 9900
bad phone
doris
from sussex
,26 June 2013
only had it few days and is freezing, the speaker doesnt work properly, contacted customer repairs was advised to take to my local store to exchange for a new one, will be doing this tomorrow. would not reccommend.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 2-5 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BlackBerry Bold 9900
Not so BOLD
Fancy Nancy
from Hull
,11 June 2013
Only had this phone blackberry bold 9900 for over 18 Months when it decided to die on me 2 woks ago . Would not switch on and red light kept flashing .Tried changing the battery to no avail . Apparently it's a common fault with this model i was told by a phone technician its a software fault .....So come on Blackberry technicians how can this be resolved ?
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BlackBerry Bold 9900
Good
queeni
from London
,03 June 2013
I just got the blackBerry curve today and am happy with what it looks like and definitely the colour (white). It hasn't frozen on me so far and i have still got to get used to everything. It's my first BB and bought it because of the qwerty keyboard and the BBM. I like the way you scroll. Really! I have not had an exciting phone as this before. I had a samsung and it froze, so i thought with all my family having BlackBerrys before the iphone came out, i should get one. And for the price, I think it's great.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BlackBerry Bold 9900
BAD
fghjkn
from LONDON
,24 May 2013
it keeps freezing and i had to buy a new battery the next month i have to take out my battery like 3 times a day which is very annoying DON'T BUY IT YOU'LL WASTE YOUR MONEY
 
My Product Recommendations
BlackBerry Bold 9790
4.2 out of 5(55)
 
 
 
Apple iPhone 4s 16GB
4.6 out of 5(607)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BlackBerry Bold 9900
Worst phone I've ever purchased.
Jacko
from Bath
,19 May 2013
Do not buy this phone. I made the foolish mistake of signing up to a 24month contract with this piece of junk. Crashes constantly, freezes, battery's rubbish. It frustrated me so much I ended up smashing the thing up and now left trying to find a cheap iPhone to buy to see out the rest of my contract until I can upgrade!! STAY WELL CLEAR!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
3 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BlackBerry Bold 9900
NOT GOOD
nemo
from swansea
,12 May 2013
ive had this phone for just 6 months and it no good in the first month i had it, it kept freezing, i have to take the battery out at least twice a day. The battery is terrible, i also never have any service and it's now starting to be slow too. I wish i read the reviews on this before i bought it . not a good phone!!!!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BlackBerry Bold 9900
Good Phone? NO
Nickname
,11 May 2013
This phone freezes, stops woorking and has a poor battery life. Wish I never brought this thing. I would not buy a blackberry again because of this. There are many better phone at a cheaper price as well. Blackberry need to update and stop these constant issues.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BlackBerry Bold 9900
carphone
bevis
from nottingham
,25 April 2013
this is best blackberry iv add i n my life so u have got to try an buy it because its touch screen so that means u can swipe or touch so it is very useful for people at age 16 or over so thanks for bringing this phone out xx
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BlackBerry Bold 9900
not very good is it tho? sozziles
blackberry
from london
,24 April 2013
all blackberries are rubbish especially on vodafone DO NOT GET ONE. Got this for my friend broke in two days after we bought it and the battery is not good why get this phone get the iphone 5!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! much better and cheaper then when i bought it. Vodafone always charges more. peace out homies
 
My Product Recommendations
Apple iPhone 5 16GB
4.6 out of 5(748)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
0 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BlackBerry Bold 9900
my new phone
weemash
from west lothian
,07 April 2013
this is a good phone overall i upgraded from older version i like the touch screen far easier to use compared to other blackberrys without that dont have it. would definately recommend this phone.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BlackBerry Bold 9900
not a good buy
danielle
from fermanagh
,26 March 2013
I have only had this phone for 3 months and its give me nothing but hassle, freeze's all the time, turns itself off all the time. not happy with this phone.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BlackBerry Bold 9900
Best Phone Ever
mouz
from Wiltshire
,25 March 2013
i'm loving the nice sleek phone design and the 1.2ghz prossecer. im so gald that i bought this phone and would defo reccommend too all age groups, for personal reach and business. I know manyu people always think that BB's always freeze. i have had this phone for quite a while now and has not froze once, and im quiten the media user.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BlackBerry Bold 9900
Best Blackberry I have got Yet
Crafto
from Halifax
,24 March 2013
Lots of people write reviews on her saying that it is not very good but I find this phone amazing is really easy to use and is very stylish. I think that this is the best blackberry that I have ever go I say to don't read the reviews that other people have put because they believe that it is rubbish but I think this is the best blackberry so far because this blackberry does not crash at all when I use it. I would highly recommend because this is the best blackberry I have ever used you should get it I would get this phone over and over again please do get this blackberry amazing.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 Next