The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Binatone HomeSurf 742 Review

Print page
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Binatone HomeSurf 742

Average Customer Rating:
2.595 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
15 of 37(41%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

The Binatone HomeSurf 742 lets you enjoy the full tablet experience. Equipped with the powerful Android 4.2.2 Jelly Bean and a fast processor, it's the perfect device for using the 1 million+ apps available on the Google Play Store.

Ideal for gaming, web browsing and more.

The Binatone HomeSurf 742 has a dual core processor behind its smooth casing that gives you all the power you need to play games, surf the net or watch videos. The processor is capable of fast multitasking so you can quickly switch between web browsing, emails and videos.

Perfectly portable.

As the name suggests, the Binatone HomeSurf 742 has a 7" display, making it the perfect size to carry with you while still being able to see and use the screen for entertainment. Screen quality is pretty impressive too and will allow you to enjoy your visual content.

Turn your tablet into a Smart TV.

The Binatone HomeSurf 742 is perfect for enjoying TV anywhere. Either download movies from the Google Play Store, or stream content directly to your tablet using BBC iPlayer or Netflix. With fast Wi-Fi internet you won't get any lag, and the portable size of the Binatone HomeSurf 742 makes it perfect for lazing around the house.

A personal touch with video calling.

The Binatone HomeSurf 742 has three key features that make it perfect for video calling, an in-built mic, a loudspeaker and, most importantly, a front facing camera. Hook it up to your Wi-Fi, download Skype and you can talk to and see friends and family anywhere in the world as if they were stood right next to you.

Never forget a thing.

With more than 1 million apps available from the Google Play Store, it's good to know that the Binatone HomeSurf 742 can have its memory expanded to accommodate everything you'll want to download. You're able to add a 32GB microSD card to the tablet's 8GB internal storage, plenty to store thousands of apps, games, songs, videos and pictures.

The Android experience.

To ensure everything runs smoothly, the Binatone HomeSurf 742 has been given the powerful Android 4.2.2 Jelly Bean. This software lets you make the most of the tablet's processor, running reliably and efficiently while supporting 1 million+ apps. Jelly Bean brings some cool features like an enhanced frame rate for smoother moving images and facial recognition for added security.

So if you're looking for a portable and stylish tablet that can keep up with you then the Binatone HomeSurf 742 can do it all without breaking the bank.

Customer Reviews for Binatone HomeSurf 742
1 2 Next
Review 1 for Binatone HomeSurf 742
Not good
from grantham
,05 July 2014
I have used this for a couple of months and found it very slow and now when I went to it I found a small crack on the inside of the screen I left it in its box to have it looked at and the next day the crack was all the way across the front of it I always keep it in its box so that it is safe I got in touch with support and they just say nothing they can do I know that this was not caused by my self so not happy with the out come
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Portability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Review 2 for Binatone HomeSurf 742
Great Value for Money
from Coventry
,03 July 2014
I have bought three of these and had no issues with them what so ever. Use them for internet searching, downloaded various apps from Google play, using emails etc.
The camera is pretty terrible and the sound could be better but for £49 its solid, well made, very easy to use.
Clearly its not an Ipad or Galaxy tab and shouldn't be compared to one. As an entry level tablet its very good value for money
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Portability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Review 3 for Binatone HomeSurf 742
does a job
from oxford
,25 June 2014
Works well ...battery not ideal. Use for games for price its good. You get what you pay for. Charger is rubbish so use a phone charger its better like a samsung one. The use these in the display model in shop. So dont know they send a pin one with it. And cw staff recommended to use different charger.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Binatone HomeSurf 742
Binetone 742 home surf
from Cumbria
,22 June 2014
Had this a week. Very very slow. Can't seem to view photos or import pictures from my email account. Pretty rubbish. As the saying goes if it looks too good to be true then it probably is too good to be true!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Review 5 for Binatone HomeSurf 742
avoid at all costs even £40!!
from London
,16 June 2014
don't bother with this, I appreciate its only £40 and expect very little functionality however its total rubbish! The packaging is probably worth more than tablet!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Portability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Binatone HomeSurf 742
Don't be fooled!!!
from Bedfordshire
,14 June 2014
This product is excellent! Why? Simply because at such a low price I had to give top marks. Connection and downloading apps fast! Videos loading fast too. I will also add, I have an iPad Air therefore I can compare. Considering the massive price difference this is well worth it it's nippy, and excellent for my kids. They love it although (I was on there longer testing it out)!
I've read reviews where some people are bit harsh, seriously for that price it's amazing! If you want top marks in all and looks obviously pay much more and you'll have and Ipad or Samsung! However this tablet is good for teenagers adults and kids!
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Binatone HomeSurf 742
o dear
from uk
,11 June 2014
I was so happy when i recieved my tablet....however everything on it is easy to work, unfortunately my tablet wont connect so doesnt work....the wifi is constantly on...it just wont connect an keeps saying no internet connection...however my laptop and everything is working....sorry....very annoyed
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Portability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 8 for Binatone HomeSurf 742
Extremely slow
from Somerset
,09 June 2014
I bought 3 for my kids and husband for Christmas luckily on a half price sale. I don't think any of them use it any more as they have got fed up waiting for a programme to open or the tablet to just respond to something. Game play is also very slow and so is internet viewing, even though we have fibre optic broadband.
I downloaded Clean master on one of them and it did speed it up a little but not enough to bring the enjoyment back.
I felt they were a total waste of money and would not recommend to anyone.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Review 9 for Binatone HomeSurf 742
its okay but there's defo better ones
from leicester
,14 May 2014
Battery dies really quickly. It is good for games but if you really like games you will have to keep it on charge. I have had mine a week and the most my battery will last is about two hours. It is a good size and there is a decent camera. Only got front camera too. Quite slow to top it all off. So regret going for this tablet.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Portability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Binatone HomeSurf 742
Binatone Home Surf742
from leeds
,26 April 2014
For a start 8gyg may sound ok but....you will have less than this as the operating system is on there plus programs that are embedded on the flash drive plus the internal SD card will be limited to how much space you can actually download any apps to it
Also 512 ram memory is poor very poor it will be slow and unresponsive buy this and your buying what amounts to a piece of junk so my opinion for what its worth get over to a reputable web site and get better.....binatone don't make anything that lasts.also does not say if the unit will be upgradeable to kitkat version of android
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Portability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Binatone HomeSurf 742
good starter for children
from sussex
,02 March 2014
This is a budget buy so ideal for children to play games. Battery life is poor have run it down and recharged several times as suggested in the manual but it hasn't improved. I suppose you get what you pay for
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Portability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Binatone HomeSurf 742
useless
from london
,28 February 2014
This product is very third class touch system is very poor its take alot time cant make video call its useless waste of money no battry life u can use 1 hour i buy this tablet 4 days ago and in really troublei sugess that don't buy it plz
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Portability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Binatone HomeSurf 742
from London
,17 February 2014
The product you sold to me is damaged, it just stopped working after two weeks. Where is the value for my money?
Can I return it. Where can I return it because I bought it on line. What do you what do you want to bring when I am returning it, is the purchase order number enough, besides, is it OK to send some one to return it for me. Thank you.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Portability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Binatone HomeSurf 742
Its ok
from Worcestershire
,01 February 2014
I am totally clueless when it comes to computers and the like but even I realise that this tablet is WELL slow. But having said that it does what i need it to do.
ABOUT AVERAGE (ish)
I have put that I would recommend this product but ONLY for people that want the basic
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Binatone HomeSurf 742
No prob whatsoever
from wirral
,31 January 2014
No probs at all with this tablet..7 year old grandson most impressed !! and he,s used to using his Dads mega expensive ipad ! Easy to set up,battery fine,haven,t tried everything it does yet but what I have tried/downloaded etc has been fine. Thoroughly recommend.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Binatone HomeSurf 742
Dissapointing
,27 January 2014
I am only 16 years old so I was crippled by a budget to buy a tablet. I decided that this would be ok so I picked it up. What kills it is the fact that the screen is unbearable to view in portrait and the viewing angles are poor in landscape as well. Also I have had a view issues with Netflix including issues with video and audio syncing and also I have timed out a couple of times. Just buy a Nexus 7, while it is more expensive, it is well worth the money.
 
My Product Recommendations
Google™ Nexus 7 Wi-Fi 16GB (2012)
4.5 out of 5(139)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Review 17 for Binatone HomeSurf 742
Worthless, waste of time and money
from Govan, Scotland
,18 January 2014
totally useless, keeps crashing then sticking on binatone page, then refuses to turn off... don't waste your time or money to be disappointed, rubbish
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Binatone HomeSurf 742
Great tablet but awful battery!
from Southampton
,09 January 2014
Bought this tablet only yesterday knowing that it would do me just fine however having not really used it all day and 2nd time having to put it on full charge is a bit of a joke
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Binatone HomeSurf 742
Very poor
from Wallasey
,06 January 2014
Bought this for my 5 year old, as she was always on her daddy Nexus, Would recommend you pay the extra for a better product.
Very Slow, unable to cope with basic functions.
Would NOT recommend
Very Disappointed
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Binatone HomeSurf 742
very poor
from e.sussex
,31 December 2013
bought just before xmas as a present .Decided to try it before, after seeing reviews.the screen when tilted slightly lost all image and the sound from the mono speaker wasnt very loud even at full volume. On the plus side it had a sd card slot. Returned for refund ,very cheap and nasty would not expect to be sold at c.p.w.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Portability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1 2 Next