The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Avoca 8 8GB Wi-Fi Review

Print page
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Avoca 8 8GB Wi-Fi

Average Customer Rating:
3.461 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
9 of 13(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

The Avoca 8" is packed with power to allow you to enjoy the full tablet experience. Equipped with Android 4.2 Jelly Bean and a superfast dual core processor, it's the perfect device for using the 50,000+ apps available on the Google Play Store.

Superfast gaming, web browsing and more.

The Avoca 8" has an impressively powerful processor behind its sleek casing that gives you all the power you need to play games, surf the net or watch videos. The 1.5GHz dual core processor is capable of running loads of complex apps at once so you can quickly switch between web browsing, emails and videos.

Perfectly portable 8" screen.

The Avoca 8" has a not too big, not too small 8" screen, making it the perfect size to carry with you while still being able to see and use the screen for all your entertainment. Screen quality is pretty impressive too and will allow you to enjoy your visual content from anywhere.

Turn your TV into a Smart TV with HDMI output.

If an 8" screen doesn't seem big enough for you, the Avoca 8" has a mini HDMI port, meaning you can plug it into any HDMI enabled TV and view movies and play your apps on the big screen. In effect, by adding a mini HDMI cable you can turn any TV with a HDMI port into a smart TV by putting what's on your Avoca's screen onto your TV screen – the internet, video calls and more.

A personal touch with video calling.

The Avoca 8" has three key features that make it perfect for video calling, an in-built mic, a loudspeaker and, most importantly, a front facing camera. Hook it up to your Wi-Fi, download Skype and you can talk to and see friends and family anywhere in the world as if they were stood right next to you.

Never forget a thing.

With more than 850,000 available from the Google Play Store, it's good to know that the Avoca 8" can have its memory expanded to accommodate everything you'll want to download. You're able to add a 32GB microSD card to the Avoca's 8GB internal storage, plenty to store thousands of apps, games, songs, videos and pictures.

The Android experience.

To ensure everything runs smoothly, the Avoca 8" has been given the latest version of Android 4.2 Jelly Bean. This software lets you make the most of the tablet's powerful processor, running reliably and efficiently while supporting 850,000+ apps. Jelly Bean brings some cool features like an enhanced frame rate for smoother moving images and facial recognition for added security.

So if you're looking for a powerful, portable and stylish tablet that can keep up with you then the Avoca 8" can do it all without breaking the bank.

Already got an one? Click here to visit the Avoca tablet support site.

Please note that the back of this tablet is white.

Customer Reviews for Avoca 8 8GB Wi-Fi
Review 1 for Avoca 8 8GB Wi-Fi
bad wifi
from aylesbury
,29 October 2013
i have found the tablet will only work in strong wi fi signal areas my net book and smart phone work ok the tablet poor signal slow download screen ok for price and good enough to watch you tube if wi fi pick up was curable excellent for the price as is dont buy
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Portability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Avoca 8 8GB Wi-Fi
amazing
from nottingham
,26 October 2013
brilliant quality screen so good and bright good for gaming and watching movies defo would recommend it gonna tell family member it a good one for the kids and grown up at christmas
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Avoca 8 8GB Wi-Fi
avoca 8
from Nottingham
,06 October 2013
i bought this tablet about 2 weeks ago and i can say for the then price of £79 it was a steal
touch screen is very responsive
scores well on the antutu benchmark
dont listen to what the product website or staff say this tablet will happily support a 64gb micro sd
i had to reformat the card but it showed up on the system and i put music and photos on the card and could view on the device
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
18 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Avoca 8 8GB Wi-Fi
NOT BAD
from suffolk
,14 September 2013
bought as a birthday present for 9 yr old son, very easy to set up nice size screen, bought mainly for gaming, my son is very pleased with it, the only fault i can pick is the battery life doesnt last very long when being used for games, only approx 2 hours which will be a pain on long car journeys
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
9 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Avoca 8 8GB Wi-Fi
If it wasn't a freebe with a phone!
from sheffield
,12 September 2013
Totally useless, apps stop working, freezes every 5 minutes, and reboots it's self every few minutes. I might just have a bad one or it's a total peace of junk.
(And its rebooted itself once while writing this review!)
Expertise: intermediate
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Portability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
6 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Avoca 8 8GB Wi-Fi
Definitely worth £79
from London
,10 September 2013
Size and weight are ideal - lighter than a Kindle Fire and just as big - with considerably more functionality.
Screen resolution is excellent.
Apps downloaded so far all seem to work.
Has an MS Office look-a-like pre-installed (called Kingsoft Office) , syncs with Word/Excel and works pretty well - some high-end things in Excel weren't able to be done, but otherwise was a pleasant surprise.
A previous review noted the wifi dropping off occasionally. I have also found that, but no worse than does my IPhone; indeed, it works well using my IPhone's 'Personal Hotspot' wifi connection, so is, in effect, fully 3G if you have that sort of data-package with your phone.
Internet browser is fine
Outlook is fine but strangely won't let me attach documents to EMails, only picture files - probably my lack of knowledge rather than a fault in the tablet.
Speakers are a bit 'tinny', but this is hardly an MP3 player!
Camera works fine - but obviously isn't an SLR...!
All told, you can't fault this for the money.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
6 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Avoca 8 8GB Wi-Fi
Perfect tablet for the price
from St Albans
,09 September 2013
This tablet works fast and fluent, wifi connection is stable, screen is good at a resolution of 1024 x 768. Fast performance as expected with 1.5 GHz dual core and 1GB of RAM.
Off course it cannot have all the features such as bluetooth, GPS and 3G for that price. However, it has many connectors for HDMI, USB and microSD card. I tried them and everything works fine.
Disadvantages are: the battery life 5-6 hours is not comparable with the likes of iPad, but acceptable
The screen is difficult to read outdoors under sunny conditions.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Portability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
5 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Avoca 8 8GB Wi-Fi
Poor battery
from Dorset
,06 September 2013
Looks nice but found problems with it from the start. The screen kept flipping back to the home screen. The battery was very poor and even when it was fully charged the battery charge dropped very quickly. It would not turn on unless the battery charge was at least 50%. The good thing was I took it to the local Carphone Warehouse shop and they refunded the money with no quibble.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Portability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Avoca 8 8GB Wi-Fi
Good value for money
from Stamford
,15 August 2013
Does everything I need ie surf the web, watch movies email Facebook etc. I know I could have bought a faster tablet but at twice the price and at my ,age speed is not everything it works well has reasonable battery life over 5 hrs and I am delighted with it so far also must mention the free next day delivery with messages giving me delivery times within 1 hr was spot on well done Carphone Warehouse!
:-)
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Portability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
6 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Avoca 8 8GB Wi-Fi
from London
,14 August 2013
It's simply amazing everything about is good. worth the buy I will make sure everyone knows about this product.
________________________________________
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Avoca 8 8GB Wi-Fi
A Steal for a Simple Tablet
from East Midlands
,12 August 2013
Does all the standard things you want, WI-Fi connection simple to set up, as with mail boxes, plenty of apps from App Market.
Only problem(s) I have encounted, WI-Fi connection wanders on off a little but might be our home connection and annoyed at apps that download and then refuse to work properly, Sky especially.....
Well worth £79.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Avoca 8 8GB Wi-Fi
rubbish best avoided
from Newcastle
,01 August 2013
It was fine for the first 20 minutes then it froze the screen went red and died. Tried in vane to restart it but no avail. You get what you pay for...
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
3 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Avoca 8 8GB Wi-Fi
it might be cheap but it's good
from London
,21 July 2013
£79 it's a steal. Light, the battery seems to last for ages 4-6hrs
Other than not having a keyboard it does exactly the same as my asus notebook i was replacing.
If i wasn't new to android I would have scored it higher, as the that was a a very steep learning curve. You only know what you need when you go to use it and it is not there.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
18 of 22 people found this review helpful.