The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Avoca 7 Wi-Fi 8GB Review

Print page
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Avoca 7 Wi-Fi 8GB

Average Customer Rating:
3.367 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
21 of 30(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Avoca 7 tablet accessories

The Avoca 7" is packed with power to allow you to enjoy the full tablet experience. Equipped with Android 4.2 Jelly Bean and a fast processor, it's the perfect device for using the 850,000+ apps available on the Google Play Store.

Superfast gaming, web browsing and more.

The Avoca 7" has a powerful processor behind its sleek casing that gives you all the power you need to play games, surf the net or watch videos. The processor is capable of running loads of apps at once so you can quickly switch between web browsing, emails and videos.

Perfectly portable 7" screen.

As the name suggests, the Avoca 7" has a 7" display, making it the perfect size to carry with you while still being able to see and use the screen for entertainment. Screen quality is pretty impressive too and will allow you to enjoy your visual content.

Turn your tablet into a Smart TV.

The 7" is perfect for enjoying TV anywhere. Either download movies from the Google Play Store, or stream content directly to your tablet using the BBC iPlayer app or Netflix. With fast Wi-Fi internet you won't get any lag, and the portable size of the Avoca 7" makes it perfect for lazying around the house.

A personal touch with video calling.

The Avoca 7" has three key features that make it perfect for video calling, an in-built mic, a loudspeaker and, most importantly, a front facing camera. Hook it up to your Wi-Fi, download Skype and you can talk to and see friends and family anywhere in the world as if they were stood right next to you.

Never forget a thing.

With more than 850,000 available from the Google Play Store, it's good to know that the Avoca 7" can have its memory expanded to accommodate everything you'll want to download. You're able to add a 32GB microSD card to the Avoca's 8GB internal storage, plenty to store thousands of apps, games, songs, videos and pictures.

The Android experience.

To ensure everything runs smoothly, the Avoca 7" has been given the latest version of Android 4.2 Jelly Bean. This software lets you make the most of the tablet's processor, running reliably and efficiently while supporting 850,000+ apps. Jelly Bean brings some cool features like an enhanced frame rate for smoother moving images and facial recognition for added security.

So if you're looking for a powerful, portable and stylish tablet that can keep up with you then the Avoca 7" can do it all without breaking the bank.

Already got an one? Click here to visit the Avoca tablet support site.

Please note that the back of this tablet is white.

Customer Reviews for Avoca 7 Wi-Fi 8GB
1 2 Next
Review 1 for Avoca 7 Wi-Fi 8GB
Avoca 7" tablet
from Haverhill
,17 October 2013
Brought this for my 4 year old to stop her using my iPad. For the price this tablet is great she loves it & feels very grown up. Games are easy to download & it's a lovely size for her. Little hands. I have already recommended this to a friend for her daughter. Thank you car phone warehouse for a great product
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
85 of 88 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Avoca 7 Wi-Fi 8GB
great for under £50 I can buy my kids one each
from Scotland
,29 October 2013
Perfect for my kids! And because it's android I can use play store to download all the good apps .I will probably be having a go in it my self to check Facebook and e-mails. Good for the Money and means I can buy them one each to stop the arguments over it! Perfect :)
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
13 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Avoca 7 Wi-Fi 8GB
Good price
from Wiltshire
,26 October 2013
If you get this tablet in the sale it is definitely worth it because you can get worse tablets for £129 but why don't you just spend £49 it is simple to use and is easy to fit in my satchel. I would recommend buying this in the sale with it's smashing price so buy it now!!!!!!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
28 of 31 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Avoca 7 Wi-Fi 8GB
Cheap but not powerful enough
from crewe
,29 June 2013
I've had this for a few days, I'm use to an ipad but thought I'd get an android thats smaller. First issue I had was with the Micro SD card, it fits but no instructions on how to insert it or retrieve it, it's easy once you know but looks like it will get wedged in the tablet.
Main issues are wifi - doesnt seem to picking up wifi outside, where as iphone and laptop do without issues. The general device isnt too bad but does struggle with the 512mb of memory installed, I find I have to keep closing apps to speed it up. I think the CPU needs upgrading to 1.4-1.6ghz to make it more responsive and increase RAM to 1Gb. - This device is probably ok for kids but not for anyone wanting to use it daily, considering returning it.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Portability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
28 of 33 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Avoca 7 Wi-Fi 8GB
Cheap to buy
from Birmingham
,09 October 2013
Bought this for my 6 years old boy and he is really happy to have this. Read lots of reviews which mostly are negative for this productive but I can say its worth of ur money.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Portability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
16 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Avoca 7 Wi-Fi 8GB
A Good Cheap Tablet
from North Yorkshire
,06 October 2013
I bought this for £49 and to be fair, you are not going to get a high end product for that price or anyway near. It's a cheap one to carry around and I keep my decent one at home. I bought it to stream movies and for internet use and even though it is very slow to start up, it does seem to do a decent job. I have XBMC installed and it runs perfect. Battery life isn't brilliant but more than enough to either stream a full movie or watch one from a micro SD card. Charging is very slow. The 4.2 Jelly Bean I like and there is no problem with it except it does part freeze now and again due to the 512mb ram. It's a case you have to give it time to respond. For the money I paid for it I would say it is well worth it. If you want better, then you need to pay more for one because you are not going to get it at this price.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
15 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Avoca 7 Wi-Fi 8GB
Great value for money
from London
,23 August 2013
The spec is so comprehensive there is not much you can't do with this tablet and for £49 it is a steal. Of course at this price you won't get maximum performance and a top class screen but nevertheless for me this product has been a pleasure to use so far. Fits comfortably in one hand too, unlike some of its more expensive counterparts.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Portability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
26 of 36 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Avoca 7 Wi-Fi 8GB
Best Purchase Ever
from Nottingham
,08 July 2013
This is the best purchase ever, Its really good , excellent for kids, its good for storing those temple run games and such but I think this Is brillant! 100% from me!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
15 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Avoca 7 Wi-Fi 8GB
Love it
from North Walea
,15 September 2013
I brought this to keep up with email when travelling. The email client software is excellent. My 8 year old son loved it so much for games that I brought a second one for him. Kindle app is great. Would recommend that new users play with the screen brightness settings and close apps with the icon in the bottom right corner, to keep performance up. Maplins are cheaper for extra memory (when I brought)
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
14 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Avoca 7 Wi-Fi 8GB
cheap and effective
,11 July 2013
Bought 2 of these....
upside...connnectivity, external 3G dongle support and MHL cable works great with external storage deveices.
Wifi works fine.
downsides...screen clarity online is so so...definitely has an odd view for text at times.
Volume could be better and screen could be a bit more touch sensitive.
Camera is oldschool webcam spec and it shows..barely good enough for skype.
Does struggle multi-tasking but tweaking the developer options helps.
battery life offline is quite good...easily a day of general use and best part of a week on standby.
BUT...for the money its a bargain media player , basic game pad and book reader....you can get better tablets but not for the money.
As a tablet at any price...3/10..no match for a Nexus 7 or ipad mini...as a cheap tablet to get a feel for the devices in general 8/10
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
13 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Avoca 7 Wi-Fi 8GB
great purchase
from York
,16 July 2013
Just does the job!
Really good tablet for the price. It looks slick, has all the features and you don't have to guard it with your life!
Would highly recommend and a great present for all the family.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
8 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Avoca 7 Wi-Fi 8GB
Happy with my tablet
,22 July 2013
I love my tablet, if I were to have a complaint it would be to be a bit more powerful but then I suppose I'd need to spend more money :-) My friends like how it looks and it will help pass the time when I'm on my hols, especially the flight ! I'd recommend this this to my friends.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
11 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Avoca 7 Wi-Fi 8GB
Not for me
,19 September 2013
Struggles to handle basic tasks with out crashing.
Bought the tablet for browsing reasons only and crashes even when using mobile friendly pages.
The sleep button is laggy, which leaves you confused as to if the tablet is on or off. The screen quality is poor.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
17 of 29 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Avoca 7 Wi-Fi 8GB
good tablet for price
from liverpool
,26 September 2013
for the price it is a very good tablet, it is slow to start but once going it is very responsive, this is my first tablet and am happy with it. easy to hold and use. the app stor is from android so very good and trusted.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
15 of 26 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Avoca 7 Wi-Fi 8GB
Great for kids
from Essex
,17 July 2013
I bought this for my daughters 8th birthday and she loves it. I'm not so sure it would be quick enough for me but its perfect for her and was a great price.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
11 of 19 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Avoca 7 Wi-Fi 8GB
It is what it is...
from Brighton
,27 July 2013
I knew what I was getting when I bought this tablet. There is no reason compare this to brand tablets. The best thing with this tablet is the lack of bloatware.
The first few times it boots up, it can feel a bit sluggish. Now it works as it should do.
Jelly Bean is impressive itself.
Overall: I would recommend this tablet to anyone. For £49 there is no longer excuse not having a tablet!
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
18 of 32 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Avoca 7 Wi-Fi 8GB
from Wales
,24 July 2013
I bought this to browse and check emails etc when I travel and so didn't want to risk carrying an expensive one and I have been pleasantly surprised! It is really excellent for the money.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
14 of 25 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Avoca 7 Wi-Fi 8GB
Good
from bedworth
,13 August 2013
Its a very good little tablets but the only problems is the battery if you played the games its runs out quickly but apart from that i am happy for my purchase and i wil recomend this to anyone who want cheap and affordable little tablets.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
9 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Avoca 7 Wi-Fi 8GB
Very good tablet for children.
from Dorset
,26 July 2013
I bought 3 of these tablets for my children and they are always on them. The tablets are good value for money and my kids are really happy about them.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Portability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
18 of 33 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Avoca 7 Wi-Fi 8GB
Problem
from London
,29 July 2013
The only problem is found a charger for it.I broke mine and is impossible to found another one.
Anyway the tablet for personal using should be fine(music,movie,games,internet ).Using for work i don't think is a good tablet.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Portability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
12 of 22 people found this review helpful.
1 2 Next