The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home

Apple iPhone 4s 16GB Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Apple iPhone 4s 16GB

Average Customer Rating:
4.591 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
575 of 607(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

iPhone 4s

Possibly the most owned smartphone in the world, iPhone 4s has a classic look, but is full of features. Reliable, easy to use, it’s ideal for just about anyone, and is a great alternative to brand new phones as it still has plenty of power and features, but is more economically priced.

The essential tech specs.

The battery of the iPhone 4s is 1,432mAh, giving a standby time of up to 200 hours and talk time up to 8 hours. The 3.5” screen is one of the sharpest around and has particularly lifelike colours. Resolution is 640x960, giving it 330 pixels per inch (PPI), a very high score. Running iOS 6 means it has the latest software, and the brand new iOS 7 is due around October 2013. The dual core 1GHz A5 processor was designed specifically iPhone 4s, so it’s perfect for the job. An 8MP camera is still one of the best around, and with 16GB of on-board memory, there’s lots of space for music and photos.

Overview Image
Overview Image

Siri, your voice activated personal assistant.

Simply ask Siri to help you send messages, set reminders or search information. It understands not only what you say, but also what you mean, so you can speak naturally. It can even use information from your iPhone – such as your locations, contacts and contact relationships – to provide intelligent, personal assistance1.

Dual-core A5 chip.

iPhone 4s is a fast and powerful smartphone. The A5 chip delivers up to 2x faster performance, so it's quicker at launching apps, loading pages in Safari and taking photos. And with up to 7x faster graphics, gameplay is even more amazing2.

Overview Image
Overview Image

8MP camera, HD video recording and iCloud.

With a custom-lens and a new 8-megapixel sensor, iPhone 4s takes superb photos. You can also record 1080p HD video with image stabilisation. iCloud stores your music, photos, documents and more, and wirelessly pushes them to all devices. Automatic, effortless and seamless – it just works. iCloud is the easiest way to manage your content, because now you don't have to3.

Why you'll love an iPhone.

There are so many reasons why iPhone is the world's best-selling smartphone. It's so easy to use, you don't need a manual. The hardware and software are engineered by Apple to work together perfectly. And iPhone gives you truly long battery life. Some people settle for any smartphone. But iPhone owners love their iPhone 4s.

iPhone will lock itself to the network of the first SIM card that is used in the phone. Subsequently attempting to use it on any other network, for example by replacing the SIM card, may mean it becomes permanently unusable. SIM free iPhones can only be used with a UK-network SIM card, and will not accept foreign SIM cards.

1. Siri is available only on iPhone 4s and requires internet access. Siri may not be available in all languages or in all areas, and features may vary by area. Mobile data charges may apply.
2. Compared with iPhone 4.
3. iTunes in the Cloud music feature are not currently available in all countries. iCloud requires iOS 5 on iPhone 3GS or later, iPod touch (3rd or 4th generation), iPad or iPad 2; a Mac computer with OS X Lion; or a PC with Windows Vista or Windows 7. Some features require a Wi-Fi connection. Some features are not available in all countries. Access to some services is limited to 10 devices.

Overview Image
Customer Reviews for Apple iPhone 4s 16GB
1 2 3 4 5 ... 31 Next
Review 1 for Apple iPhone 4s 16GB
FEATURED REVIEW
Great phone packed with useful features
Steveflash89
from North Yorkshire
,07 November 2012
Bought this as I was looking to purchase a new smartphone and the deal I got on the contract for this phone was very good and suits me well. Love the features on the 4S especially Siri and the panoramic camera mode. Easy to use and great for keeping my life organised, ideally I'd want more battery life. Other than that nothing else to criticise at the moment...not an apple fanboy just like it for what it is a really good smartphone!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
477 of 910 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Apple iPhone 4s 16GB
PurpleCookie
from Manchester
,25 January 2014
Love this product and cant imagine an alternative that is up to its standard. Ill not waiver from Apple now without a very good reason. iPad Air on order! Would recommend to anyone and everyone.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Apple iPhone 4s 16GB
Should have got an iPhone earlier
Mrs B
from Manchester
,19 October 2013
Have only had the iPhone 4S a few days. But love it already. It's stylish and so easy to use. The camera is brilliant too. Which means I can take great photos where ever i am. Would definately recommend this phone to any one.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
50 of 100 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Apple iPhone 4s 16GB
Great
Nanny
from Milton Keynes
,13 October 2013
At first I didn't think I would be able to use an I phone but after the first couple of days it's the best thing I've brought you can do everything on it only downside is the battery life I have to charge it everyday
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
78 of 160 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Apple iPhone 4s 16GB
Rolly
from Birmingham
,13 October 2013
Bought this phone on my daughters recommendation. I am a bit of a techno phobe and find this really easy to use. I do find that the battery life is a little short
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
81 of 162 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Apple iPhone 4s 16GB
battery life shocking
artifi
from cheltenham
,11 October 2013
A real surprise after a old phone ( which received emails but had poor internet) that I can barely get through a day at work without recharging the battery. Had hoped to listen to music etc. but worried that battery will run out and wont be able to make important calls or receive them from my children. Have turned off as many functions as I can, which defeats the object of a smart phone. Will see how it goes. Yesterday resorted to using airplane mode which means its more useless than a cheap pay as you go. The extra functions are lovely but the battery isn't good enough.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
106 of 207 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Apple iPhone 4s 16GB
Amazing
Saz
from Dundee
,10 October 2013
The phone arrived within a few days of ordering. I literally took it out of the box and started using it. Everything was easy to use and very simple. The web browsing is so fast and everything works smooth. Best phone out there, can't imagine topping this.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
61 of 123 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Apple iPhone 4s 16GB
Great phone and easy to use
Jo Brum
from Birmingham
,10 October 2013
I haven't had an iPhone before but really impressed, great features and so easy to use and navigate. Battery life is quite good but fine down to 12% by the early evening with apps running in the background but still better then my old phone, highly recommend x
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
71 of 146 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Apple iPhone 4s 16GB
My 1st iPhone
Yummymummy84
from Manchester
,09 October 2013
It's fantastic I'll definitely be sticking with iPhones in future :) apps are great, it's easy to use, I can do everything and anything on it, camera is great, Siri is helpful, it's just all round fantastic
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
54 of 107 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Apple iPhone 4s 16GB
Still great even with newer editions out
gazza
from Guildford
,02 October 2013
Still great even with newer editions out. Looks trendy but buy a decent cover as looks very fragile! Sound quality for music is awesome. For the battery life, if you use it a lot you'll probably need to charge it every day which is a lot for me probably as this is my first smart phone (I think this is about the average for a smart phone). Can check emails, takes good photos, simple to use - you'll be addicted for the first week you have it! Overall, great phone!
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
102 of 202 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Apple iPhone 4s 16GB
First iPhone
Monsellboy657
from Leicester
,02 October 2013
First iPhone I've had brilliant phone could do with a longer battery life but perfect for what I use it for easy to use good media player and a great phone all round
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
67 of 136 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Apple iPhone 4s 16GB
I don't need a 5S or a 5C
boogiek
from Bucks
,02 October 2013
I have just upgraded from a 3GS. I have an iPad mini with cellular and 4G so don't need that on my phone. I did need something faster/better than the 3GS so this was the logical next step and of course cheaper than the 5S or 5C. I have tried android devices , both tablet and phone and whilst they are fine, the fact is we have numerous apple devices across the family so it's easier ( so easy ) to keep everything we have, music, films, contacts, etc by staying with Apple.
Another consideration was that we have our chargers , sound docks, car kits etc for 30 pin and I don't want ot have to switch to adapters for new connector
If you want a smartphone and don't need the additional features of the 5 series then why wouldn't you save yourself some cash.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
64 of 129 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Apple iPhone 4s 16GB
Not sure yet
Choc milk13
from West Midlands
,02 October 2013
I don't like the qwerty kyboard as I miss my T9 type txt as I'm so slow on qwerty.the phone freezes daily too.also aftr different ways n help,my sim contacts r still not in my phone.wud benefit frm a memory card slot too imo
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
10 of 20 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Apple iPhone 4s 16GB
Bj
from North
,02 October 2013
A very good looking phone easy to use and fairly quick to operate although battery life is short but probably no worse than similar types of phones.
Overall I would def recommend it.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
6 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Apple iPhone 4s 16GB
Awesome I Phone
aussiebruce
from North Yorkshire
,26 September 2013
I love it thanks CPW, another awesome product from Apple, easy to use, easy to set up, easy to navigate through the phone and apps, it's one of those things you think how did I manage before.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
38 of 78 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Apple iPhone 4s 16GB
Good phone
Stacey
from Edinburgh
,26 September 2013
Ordered this iPhone 4S by accident, meant to get newer model but not disappointed. Great wee phone with great battery life. I have an ipad but this is my first iphone but basically the same only difference is I can call and it fits in my pocket. Enough free apps without having to pay. Bit heavier than new models and heavier than my old phone which will take some getting used to. Recommend to those whose who don't want to pay the price for newer models.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
38 of 75 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Apple iPhone 4s 16GB
My Best Phont
Snappy
from Durham
,19 September 2013
Happy with the phone and service I received from the Carphone Warehouse. Give me option of alot more social networking with my family and friends great
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
87 of 177 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Apple iPhone 4s 16GB
Great Product
Happymama
from Fife
,19 September 2013
Upgraded from the iPhone 4 to 4s. Really enjoying improved camera and the Siri function is helpful at times. Overall, happy with the phone and no complaints.
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
87 of 170 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Apple iPhone 4s 16GB
as great as everyone says!
Ginger John
from Edinburgh
,13 September 2013
My first iPhone and it's every bit as good as I was led to expect - fast, slick, clear and a pleasure to use in every way. And it's just the right size, not too big like so many phones are these days. Only problem has been setting up email, but in my experience this is always a total pain on all phones and computers and is more to do with conflict between tiscali, bt and vodafone than anything to do with talkmobile or apple!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
120 of 237 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Apple iPhone 4s 16GB
Brilliant phone
Tim1870
from Nottingham
,13 September 2013
Faultless phone. Looks and operates superbly, and at a terrific price too. Very intuitive to use. I was considering a Samsung Galaxy S4, but I am glad I changed my decision. Delighted with my upgrade and would recommend to anyone.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
118 of 235 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 31 Next