The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home
Shop Now At The Carphone Warehouse

Alcatel OT 880 Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Alcatel OT 880

Average Customer Rating:
4.069 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 28
22 of 29(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

Alcatel OT-880, or One Touch Xtra as it's aptly nicknamed, is a stylish touch & slide handset designed to make social networking and texting easier.

This curvy, chrome-accented phone has a full QWERTY keyboard with separated keys that feel natural to use, as they're laid out in the same way as your PC or laptop keyboard.

The bright, 2.4 inch touch screen can be customised with your choice of widgets, from social networking applications to shortcuts for your music player and digital camera. Make sure to invest in a screen protector, as the durable film will keep your phone's touchscreen free from scratches, smudges and fingerprints.

OT-880 has a smart status bar that shows you all the latest events, from missed calls to messages, and tells you which applications are running; so you're always in control.

The GPRS/EDGE internet connection gets you online and chatting with friends, whether you prefer to communicate via email, IM or your favourite social networks! You can manage all of your email and IM accounts on your mobile phone, and receive every message sent to multiple accounts in one universal inbox.

OT-880's long battery life gives you up to 9 hours non-stop talk time from one full charge; so you can email, IM and chat for longer.

The built-in digital camera is great for capturing snapshots while out and about, which you can share with friends via Bluetooth or MMS, and set as a contact picture or as your wallpaper.

Music fans will enjoy listening to their favourite tunes using the built-in media player. Purchase a microSD memory card, up to 8GB, and store more music on your mobile phone. You can plug in your own headphones via the 3.5mm jack or connect a wireless Bluetooth headset.

With its classy looks and great controls; Alcatel OT-880 is a great choice for those who want to do more on the move. This is a unique, stylish mobile made for networkers and media fans. Protect your new Alcatel phone with a mobile case, which will stop scratches and dust from spoiling your phone when it's in your bag or pocket.

Why buy from us?
  Alcatel OT 880 front Alcatel OT 880 side Alcatel OT 880 open  
Customer Reviews for Alcatel OT 880
1 2 Next
Review 1 for Alcatel OT 880
FEATURED REVIEW
Great Phone :)
from Bristol
,25 July 2011
This phone was a great phone for me to use for everything.
----It has a easy use of internet
----Easy to send/receive text messages
----Good Camera
----Easy slide to QWERTY keyboard
----Easy typing on QWERTY keyboard
over all a great, cheap phone :) I would strongly recommend this phone.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Alcatel OT 880
okay if you need it short term
from fife
,28 December 2011
I have had this phone for 15 months now. For the first few months I was happy enough with it, it was basic but okay. It then started to play up. I started having problems with the touch screen not responding eventually I couldn't even use it to unlock the phone but instead had to use the button on the side. I also found myself chasing the touch commands for emails and missed calls as it kept thinking I wanted something else and opened that instead. My son and daughter have on rare occassions used it and they also were totally frustrated with it. Getting a new phone now as I have given up on it.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Review 3 for Alcatel OT 880
I miss you!!!
from Malta
,24 September 2011
Well I had this mobile (until I lost it!) and I'm not going to say it is the best you can buy but at such an affordable price I can say that it is quite a good phone. The keyboard was very comfortable. The phone was very cute (everywhere I went everybody liked it). You can choose the applications you want to be shown on the menu. The battery life in my case was very good ... sometimes it even lasted a week!! and most of the days around 5 days. It is very easy to use. However, sometimes the touch screen started to freak out and did not respond accordingly but when so happens all I need is to do calibration (the calibration wizrd program on the phone itself) and it will turn back to normal. I would recommend this phone. Thanks
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Alcatel OT 880
DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE
from london
,19 June 2011
This phone is the worst phone ever
the touch screen does not respond to touch and this is just 6months after buying it
it has a mind of its own..and doesnt respond to anything sometimes at all
thank God for the key board.. that is the only thing am able to use.
the camera is rubbish..battery life rubbish
inshort just a rubbish phone
alcatel just tried to do a touch screen phone cos every other person was doing it
i must say your not good at it alcatel
now am gonna have to say money to get another phone
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery life 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
2 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Alcatel OT 880
,12 March 2011
Loads of people go on saying how it's quite a cheap phone etc etc but the truth is it's the most AMAZING phone that I've ever had. The slide out keyboard is the best feature and makes texting a lot easier. Buy it!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Alcatel OT 880
Okay, not worth £99
from worcester
,01 March 2011
The screen is not very touch sensitive, making it clunky and hard to use, but you do get used to it.
The camera is poor quality.
It also lacks some of the features expected of phones, such as password protection on messages.
However, good battery life, there are some good features and it does texting, calls and the like well enough.
Overpriced though. It may look sleek but it really isn't as good as you expect from looking at it on the internet. Look around more.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Alcatel OT 880
Dunno
from Cumbo
,11 November 2010
this fone is the best that the alcatel has made.The OT 708 broke after 2 months but this one has been with me for 5 months and that is good and i know it will stay longer. When you buy it with tmobile you get 1 months FREE txt and 6 months FREE internet. The only things is that it is very sensitive and if you dont have the leather case and you drop it, it is possible for it to make a mark. Facebook is good it works perfectly but it is best to go on Opera mini ( its a mini internet) instead of the app because it take ages to write . If you have friends with palringo you can chat to them for free and there is a help service and a auto robot to speek to. you can download stuff from the internet and there are great apps to download EG snaptu.
 
My Product Recommendations
Alcatel OT 880
4.1 out of 5(29)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Alcatel OT 880
great!
from london
,10 November 2010
This phone is amazing the qwerty keybord is very easy to get your fingers on.The screen can be very sensitive but u get used to it after a while the camera is good quality it looks great!
ITS THE BEST PHONE I HAVE HAD IN AGES!!
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Alcatel OT 880
WOULDNT RECOMMEND!!
,05 November 2010
I got my phone new and when I uses it, all the settings were in the wrong place so i had to go to the shop again then ring them up until it finaly worked! The screen is so small that you can't press the buttons . Qwerty keyboard is ok and the images gallery is in all sorts of places! Rubbish camera.
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Alcatel OT 880
Brilliant phone ever
from London
,08 October 2010
this phone has everything the only thing is it needs more games but u can download them for free online.. i love this phone!!!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Alcatel OT 880
Keeps freezing
from Newcastle
,14 September 2010
I got this phone and soon it started to freeze the touch screen often freezes and the buttons dont always work!!! However my phone could of just been faulty.
 
My Product Recommendations
Samsung Soul
3.5 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Alcatel OT 880
Excellent, Despite The Settings!
from London
,27 August 2010
The new, Alcatel OT 880 is overall an excellent phone. It has got it all, good camera, mp4 and 3 players, video recorder, Java, Opera + much, much more.
Its only major downfall is the ease of use. I found it especially difficult to configure all of the settings, for none of the settings are actually in the right place!
However, once I had completed setting up my new phone, it was simply brilliant, and still is. The leather pouch is exceptional, and it is working brilliantly today, despite being dropped and left in the washer.
I would 100% recommend it.
 
My Product Recommendations
LG KS360
3 out of 5(609)
 
 
 
LG KS365
4.1 out of 5(80)
 
 
 
LG GD510 POP
3.9 out of 5(282)
 
 
 
Samsung Genio Touch
3.9 out of 5(319)
 
 
 
Samsung C3510
4.3 out of 5(26)
 
 
 
Samsung B3210 Genio Qwerty
4.2 out of 5(438)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
98 of 106 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Alcatel OT 880
amazing
,26 August 2010
it is the best phone i have ever got i woulde recomend it for every one it has got every thing you need it has a qurte key pad
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Alcatel OT 880
ot 880 alcatel
from derby
,07 August 2010
this is a brilliant little phone for little money far suprior to to many well known brands at the budget end in price. Opera mini web browser already installed along with social networks. Battery life is excellent, overall this is a little gem of a phone good looking too well worth buying.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
21 of 24 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Alcatel OT 880
best purchase
from bristol
,04 August 2010
this phone is just amazing got all aplicantions needed . texting and phones is easy. and the phone is easy to use
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Alcatel OT 880
i want it !
from blackwood
,01 August 2010
i havnt got this phone yet , im getting it for christmas (which is quite a while a way)it looks a really good phone and i love the quirty keybored cant wait to get this phone yippee!:)
 
My Product Recommendations
Alcatel OT 880
4.1 out of 5(29)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: Under 18
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Alcatel OT 880
awesome
from CORNWALL
,30 July 2010
i love this phone it's awesome i got it less then a week ago i got it at the carphone warehouse i love everything the key pad the easy touch pad one thing that annoys me is there is no games at all you haft to download it from web on your phone which I don't use apart from that it's a cool easy to use interesting attractive phone
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: novice
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Alcatel OT 880
It's GREAT!!
,26 July 2010
Im very picky with phones and i LOVE this one its the BEST and the chrome back is cool camera gives clear pics and i love this phoneee x <>
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Alcatel OT 880
Brilliant- everyone should have one
from Shropshire
,21 July 2010
I love this phone, i have only had it 3 weeks but i defiently recomend it!
It is very easy to use and to set up (setting).
im on a contract phone and didnt get internet (so carnt rate that) but all the other features are great... it has facbook, bebo and other friend/messaging things!
With a slid bar as well as touch screen its very good.
its stylish to (the back is funky - in chrome)
It doesnt come with a pen, but fingers work just as well :)
hope this helps,
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Alcatel OT 880
the best phone ever made
from Glasgow
,20 July 2010
this is the best its got a Full qwerty keypad with baclight and a touch screen. i recommend this to anu texter,social person, businmess person and teens.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: less than a month
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 Next