The Carphone Warehouse Ratings and Reviews

Home
Shop Now At The Carphone Warehouse

Alcatel OT-800 Review

Print pageTop Rated Product
Product Reviews
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at The Carphone Warehouse.

Alcatel OT-800

Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
156 of 169(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.

Walk Out Working

The Alcatel OT-800 One Touch Tribe is an affordable messaging phone that makes sending emails and texts much easier.

With a full QWERTY keyboard you will be able to fire off instant messages, and update your status, in seconds.

The bright 2.2 inch display is great for viewing websites or streaming YouTube videos, and you can get online in no time via GPRS or EDGE.

Customise your keys to get one touch access to your favourite apps such as emails, social networks, weather updates and news reports.

Use the 2 Megapixel camera to capture the moment, then share your creations with friends via Bluetooth or multimedia message.

Expand your mobile's memory with a 4GB microSD card and store all of your favourite tunes and photos on your phone. Stay entertained with the FM radio and G-Sensor motion games.

Chat for longer with up to nine hours of non-stop talk time, and 35 hours of music playback.

The Alcatel OT-800 brings the convenience of a dedicated messaging phone to an affordable, budget handset. Make sure to invest in a protective case, which will keep your new Alcatel phone free from scratches, dust and smudges while it's in your pocket or handbag.

Taste card
  Alcatel OT-800 front Alcatel OT-800 angle Alcatel OT-800 side   
Customer Reviews for Alcatel OT-800
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 Next
Review 1 for Alcatel OT-800
FEATURED REVIEW
Alcatel OT-800
Nichola
from London
,02 September 2010
I like this smart little phone. It works like a blackberry for many times less the cost. The silver and white cover is very appealing and looks professional. The keyboard is easy to use as are all applications. The only drawback is the less favourable camera. The picture quality is poor but that is not a priority for me. Overall, this was a good purchase.
Age group: 40 - 49
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
92 of 102 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Alcatel OT-800
Recommend this phone!
Anon
,11 April 2011
When you see it you probably don't think its much but its the best phone I've ever had! The battery life lasts me about a week and I use my phone a lot during the day. Texting someone is so easy! It's basically a cheaper version of a blackberry! Most of the people I know managed to believe it was. 3 people I know now have it and don't regret it. It is extremely cheap for the features it has. I always end up dropping my phone but it hardly scratches or dents and would take a lot of force to brake! Love this phone so much!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 3 for Alcatel OT-800
world's best phone ever!!!!!!
verrrrrrrry ggggggggooooooodddddd
from london
,27 March 2011
i brought this phone when it came out and i never brought another phone. it's just like the blackberry torch but cheaper. so i would really recomond that you buy it because you wouldn't regret it
 
My Product Recommendations
BlackBerry Torch 9800
4.1 out of 5(195)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: over 5 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 4 for Alcatel OT-800
Rubbish
DancerSingerActress
from Inverness
,21 March 2011
This phone was the worst mistake I ever made! Sure if you never use your phone then this is okay but if you rely on your phone DO NOT BUY!! The font is very pixelated there is no wifi the camera is of very bad quality it costs money to send message on the palingro chat and the email system doesn't work! I think the mirror is a bad feature because it gets scratched Very easily. Definitely don't recommend this phone
 
My Product Recommendations
BlackBerry Curve 8520
4.1 out of 5(1,237)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Alcatel OT-800
Quit good a Phone
Sukie
from London
,14 March 2011
This phone is really good ... it is like a mini blackberry but it cost way alot lesser. But i recommend you the alcatel 0t 802 because it is a bit better ! i have a whole acatel phone collection and i found out it is better than all of the alcatel phones espiecally alcatel 0t 799.. i recommend this to you but would be even delighted to reccomend you the alcatel ot 802 :) thank you and have fun with ur phones!
 
My Product Recommendations
Alcatel OT-800
4.6 out of 5(169)
 
 
 
 
 
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Alcatel OT-800
Great little phone
Mike
from Durham
,09 March 2011
I have had this phone for 18 months & can highly recommend it. Very easy to access all it's feature & the keypad is excellent for texting. Battery life is outstanding. It has also survived coming of the roof of the car at 50mph, not many phones would survive that!
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Alcatel OT-800
I love this Phone
smiler007kitty
from Mansfield
,07 March 2011
Had this model for a year now and have loved it. Its nice and light so doesn't break so easily as I tend to drop phones a lot. Unfortunately I dropped it in water and although most of the functions have come back the text is jumbling so as the price of a new one is so good I am off to car phone warehouse to buy another. I would 100% recommend this phone.
Age group: 50+
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Alcatel OT-800
okayish phone
marcussss
from birmingham
,04 March 2011
its an ok phone but it does like to drop my texts its been doing that since i brought it in october other than that lovely phone
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Review 9 for Alcatel OT-800
Fantastic!!
Saron
,02 March 2011
This phone is simply the best phone i have ever had, and i have had many!! The keyboard is soooooo easy to use. Great Features and apps , easy internet access! Dont be put of by the fact that it is cheap and that its acatel i use it for work and it is great honestly BRILLIANT!!
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Alcatel OT-800
great!
cameron
,28 February 2011
best phone i have ever had in my life. it is exactly like a blackberry!
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Alcatel OT-800
its a owk phone.
rach
from ...
,21 February 2011
gud fone just aa bit confusin with the intant messegin & shud let you have free facebook & internet when i put credit in myy fone it still does not let mee use facebook so i downt see the point in the apllications but its a good fone for the price xxx
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery life 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Review 12 for Alcatel OT-800
Fantastic Phone
Dave
from Derbys
,21 February 2011
I had a Nokia 5800 Xpress and this phone is a million times better beleive it or not!
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Alcatel OT-800
alcatel ot-800
matt
,07 February 2011
ok so ive had this phone for abit
i regret buying this phone because it looks cheap and after having it for about a month or so the buttons started wareing away and started to look even worse
ok the phone is quite solid and survives alot of things
the speaker is quite good
but this phone lack alot of features
the camera isnt too good either .
overall if you want a phone that is quite solid and good for texting this is the one
Age group: Under 18
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Review 14 for Alcatel OT-800
Amazing
LarryMooMoo xx
,20 January 2011
Ok, yes maybe the buttons chip a bit, but by the time they do, you can already type on the qwerty keyboard without looking!! It will fit into Blackberry cases so you have plenty of choices there. The camera is not too good, but if you have a camera or an iPod in your bag then it doesn't matter!!! It goes through all sorts with me, from falling off my bed to falling down the the stairs onto a stone floor! It looks very smart, so you don't need to worry about bringing a neon pink star into your business meeting!! The battery life is good and is very easy to use can't find more than two faults in this phone, it is at a good price too.
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: over 5 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Alcatel OT-800
CANNOT DIE, BETTER THAN BLACKBERRY
2000AD
from SE England
,17 January 2011
I had a blackberry storm and torch before this and this phone is better than both. it is faster and loads internet better. it also looks better. if you want to fool your friends all you have to do is get a blackberry case and it looks the same. texting is easy and it cannot break. i am a butterfingers and have dropped mine in the sea, swimming pool, down 105 stone steps (in china) halfway down a waterfall (jamacia) and a car has gone over it. the most it has gained is a tiny scratch on the chrome bit so it is unreconisable. GET IT.
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
14 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Alcatel OT-800
amazing
john
from london
,16 January 2011
this phone is amazing and so easy to use if your looking for a cheap good phone buy this one
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
Expertise: beginner
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Alcatel OT-800
Great Phone For The Price!!
Lola-Pop
from Manchester
,12 January 2011
I had this phone for nearly 3 years and it still works like brand new!! There are only 3 things i can say bad about it, the camera is pretty poor, no flash and the keypad is chipped/paint came off. Apart from that this is an amazing phone! Especially if you like your social networking!! I wanted a blackberry but couldnt afford one but this is just as good as! It has so many great features like opera mini and motion sensor (plus i love the little scroll pad at the side) and its attractive! Definitly recommend this phone if your a facebooker like me :)
Age group: 18 - 29
I have used this product for: 2-5 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Alcatel OT-800
Great Budget Phone
alcatella
,12 January 2011
My favourite thing about this phone is the querty keyboard! it's so easy to use, i've not even had it long, and i can type without look at the keyboard!
it's great for messaging + internet use, i'd definitly reccomend this phone!
Age group: Under 18
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Alcatel OT-800
AWESOME!
Adam
from London
,10 January 2011
my friend had this fone so i bought it and it was brilliant fast working,easy to handle and my frends are all jelous and they think its a blackberry because it works so well
I have used this product for: 1-2 years
Expertise: expert
I use this product for: Business
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 20 for Alcatel OT-800
great fone
Sassy TT
from South Yorks
,08 January 2011
I have had this fone nearly a year and have found it to be excellent. I normally tend to favour Sony Ericsson, but since having this I dont look back!
Camera isnt fab, and in the dark is worse, I have had the chrome version and the print on the keys has come off, but other than that I cannot fault it. Initially had a few probs with mms but this got sorted (don't ask me how).
I have since bought 2 more so that when my original meets its maker I have replacements. Battery life is good, speaker fone is great, bluetooth speed fast......and loads of people think its a blackberry...so can even get away with a hint of posing hehe! You can even use the facia as a mirror for applying lippy!! (thats 1 for the boys! joke!) Hope this is helpful
Age group: 30 - 39
I have used this product for: 6-12 months
Expertise: intermediate
I use this product for: Personal
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery life 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 Next